• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Ah Loong asked FT pets not to flash their wealth or drive Ferrari, otherwise JLB Sinkies not happy!

Pinkieslut

SM Lee urges immigrants not to flaunt wealth or 'zoom' their Ferrari or Lotus at night to show they've arrived​

SM Lee urges immigrants not to flaunt wealth or 'zoom' their Ferrari or Lotus at night to show they've arrived

Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong at Chatham House on Monday (Oct 27)
PHOTO: Ministry of Digital Development and Information
Dana LeongPUBLISHED ONOctober 28, 2025 12:18 PMBYDana Leong

Immigrants are necessary and welcomed in Singapore but need to be cognisant of the norms that govern society locally, said Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Monday (Oct 27).

Speaking at Chatham House in London during a working trip to the UK, SM Lee was asked a question about the immigration policy in Singapore and how the Government is able to mitigate associated risks while doing it in a non-discriminatory manner.

He spoke about 'How Singapore is surviving and thriving between China and the United States' at the dialogue.

"It is not an easy balance to strike," he said, adding that there will always be trade-offs.

Immigrants are key to Singapore's workforce and are "desperately-needed people to man our whole system", said SM Lee, adding that they make up one-third of the workforce, in jobs ranging from CEOs of banks and MNCs to construction workers.

With such a large proportion of the population comprising foreigners, there are bound to be security risks, for instance espionage and disinformation, and even social issues that may arise, he pointed out.

SM Lee said: "But we need them (immigrants), and we have got to accommodate them, and we have got to get them to understand what our rules are."

At the same time, Singaporeans need to be accepting of the immigrants, knowing that "they are here and helping us", he said.

"And they too, have family and children back home, and we have [a] responsibility for them while they are here," he added.

Immigrants urged to follow social norms​

On another point, SM Lee said that it is important for immigrants to be mindful of social norms in Singapore, to prevent any potential conflicts or unrest.

"Do not go around popping champagne which is $20,000 a bottle with sparklers, and do not zoom your Ferrari or Lotus or whatever down the middle of the road in the middle of the night just to let everybody know that you have arrived," he said.

"You would not have thought that that was something you needed to tell anybody, but sometimes it is helpful to remind them."

In addressing the question of being non-discriminatory when deciding on immigration policy, SM Lee also said that the Government "cannot be completely omnidirectional and direction-blind in taking either immigrants or transient workers".

The Government, he said, tries to manage the overall package so that "overall, I have got not just an economy which has the people it needs, but we have got a society which can maintain identity and cohesion".

He also urged immigrants to respect the country's rules and social norms.

"And it is not so hard if you want to be in Singapore - you can do that, but we will look after you," he said.

He then raised the example of how during the Covid-19 pandemic, the "tens of thousands of foreign workers" living in dormitories were taken care of.

He said: "People know that if they come to Singapore, that is the way Singapore works — the rules are strict, but this is not an inhumane system."

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/i...his-personal-approach-improving-govt-services

The ultra wealth should just take MRT and Bus to work mah since it is a culture here

This guy is so out of touch. lol foreigners flaunting their Ferraris. Knn most Sinkies only get disturbed from the stench of CECAs taking the packed public buses or get subjected to noise pollution from the ah tiongs.

Then please remove COE for Taxi/PHV .. encourage car-lite society

Cat.A $1,000 per year (Local only, for Elderly, Pregnant family usage)
Once the Driver's family no longer have Elderly or Pregnant wife
The COE will be adjusted back to $100K the following year
Driver can choose to buy the rest of the lease or return back COE once expiry

Cat.B $1 million per year ... If not how the Rich can flaunt their wealth

This guy is so out of touch. lol foreigners flaunting their Ferraris. Knn most Sinkies only get disturbed from the stench of CECAs taking the packed public buses or get subjected to noise pollution from the ah tiongs.
Leemember Wealth Tickling down effect
Sinki is always the bottom feeders mah

Then please remove COE for Taxi/PHV .. encourage car-lite society

Cat.A $1,000 per year (Local only, for Elderly, Pregnant family usage)
Once the Driver's family no longer have Elderly or Pregnant wife
The COE will be adjusted back to $100K the following year
Driver can choose to buy the rest of the lease or return back COE once expiry

Cat.B $1 million per year ... If not how the Rich can flaunt their wealth
You form a party, Samster will support u

This fucking asshole also hypocrite. Wanna invite the foreigners to come in because they are rich, but don’t want them to flaunt wealth! lol he should get a bunch of poor ones to come in la.

so he's like telling the rich they should not enjoy their wealth. lol doesn't make sense. might as well move to bermuda.

If you have it, you flaunt it. JLB sinkies not happy with that? Tell them to fuck off.

His ministers are living in a Good Class Bungalow, not flaunting? But most of his people living in a pigeon hole HDB flats.

What is the point of getting rich, if you can't flaunt your wealth ??

As only a paltry 10% of the SG population is able to afford a car, anybody driving one is considered flaunting his wealth - unless you are a PHV driver.