• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

StarHub - An example of abuse by a monopoly.

head-in-sand

News media gloated that this monopoly GLC earned a profit of over 300 million in fiscal 2009. That is about a million a day.

Now what is so great about this company or its management whose only innovative function seems to device ways to enhance its Control N Denial business practice on a captive Sporn population.

It seem the entire management has only one objective in mind. How to further entrap and entice Sprons into more contracts signing and tie them down with penalties by abusing its monopoly status.

The management spends their whole working day thinking out ways and means to entrap Sprons. Other than that they have not shown any innovative skills, creativity or dynamism.

Why is its MD paid nearly 2 million dollars in salary ?
The top management also take home generous pay packs and perks.
What the heck are they doing ?. Can they show any evidence that
they are earning their salary for running a mediocre monopoly ?

This asks a question:

With such tight monopolistic control on the cable TV network, that literally force the Sporns to sign into contracts by giving them absolutely zero choice of other networks, this monopoly is holding people to ransom.

Therefore, when a monopoly force people into a situation to sign on the dotted line, then such contracts are not contracts at all. They are signed under duress. And contracts signed under duress are invalid or later declared as null and void in other countries. The companies and their management are also fined heavily with jail terms for practicing price fixing and other anti trust violations.

I mean in a true free market economy.
LOL

With such tight monopolistic control on the cable TV network, that literally force the Sporns to sign into contracts by giving them absolutely zero choice of other networks, this monopoly is holding people to ransom.

Therefore, when a monopoly force people into a situation to sign on the dotted line, then such contracts are not contracts at all. They are signed under duress. And contracts signed under duress are invalid or later declared as null and void in other countries. The companies and their management are also fined heavily with jail terms for practicing price fixing and other anti trust violations.

I mean in a true free market economy.
LOL
That guy kenna fucked by bros here about knowing nothing about contracts when he complain his contracted plan now cost more than the new promos .... is he back here ?

Amazing article this .... wanna rant also rant with sense right ? now he suggesting he signed contract under duress ? under what starhub monopoly ? I dun speak for starhub, left them to join M1 now .... but this article, I don't get it .... any bros can help my comprehension level :p ?

That guy kenna fucked by bros here about knowing nothing about contracts when he complain his contracted plan now cost more than the new promos .... is he back here ?

Amazing article this .... wanna rant also rant with sense right ? now he suggesting he signed contract under duress ? under what starhub monopoly ? I dun speak for starhub, left them to join M1 now .... but this article, I don't get it .... any bros can help my comprehension level :p ?

Superb..!
Not a word mentioned about the crass monopoly abuse of this GLC entity.

Or about the huge remunerations taken in by the top brass management for their stellar performance in running and managing this joke of a monopoly.

Instead you have selective comprehension problems in understanding the gist or ''ranting'' of this post.

Which can only be possible if you are a StarHub guy.

What under duress they will tell you, you took the free Netbook, the free LCD TV .....the free...whatever...when collecting those, 'gifts' was one, under duress?

More like under the influence of sales gimmicks with an irresistable urge to sign for something free and forget that they have to pay....and that by the way, the same mentality the 66.6% possess....no duress!!

What under duress they will tell you, you took the free Netbook, the free LCD TV .....the free...whatever...when collecting those, 'gifts' was one, under duress?

More like under the influence of sales gimmicks with an irresistable urge to sign for something free and forget that they have to pay....and that by the way, the same mentality the 66.6% possess....no duress!!

I am not referring to the other poster's issue with StarHub.
A contract is a contract and he is bound by it with or without the gifts.

Now, just take a look at the football channel broadcast fiasco.
The price fixing that was contemplated to be charged onto the viewers.

How is that, Cable TV in HD format is available in neighboring countries at less than half the price charged by StarHub - for more than 2 times the number of channels ?. And that too quality program channels like HBO, Fox Crime , Star TV etc. Why should a viewer have to pay 12 S$ per month for an additional set top box ?. These are plain rip offs, possible only with a commercial entity abusing its monopoly status.

Look at the control and denial practices. StarHub has effectively cut off TV3 and TV2 channels by filtering it out. So viewers are stuck with the mediocre mediacorpse channels, if they chose not to buy into a StarHub contract.

StarHub sucks because it is a monopoly abuser and hence its top management does not deserve such high salaries, as they have no competition to content with.

Now what is so great about this company or its management whose only innovative function seems to device ways to enhance its Control N Denial business practice on a captive Sporn population.

It seem the entire management has only one objective in mind. How to further entrap and entice Sprons into more contracts signing and tie them down with penalties by abusing its monopoly status.

The management spends their whole working day thinking out ways and means to entrap Sprons. Other than that they have not shown any innovative skills, creativity or dynamism.

This is called sinkie business practise. Tell you guys to stay away from sinkies, didn't i?

If you want to change things you have to replace the top who are pulling all the strings.

The usual suspects: LKY, LHL,......

Spore elections is now more about economic survival than about being pro/anti PAP. Unless of course you are are already making millions.

If you want to change things you have to replace the top who are pulling all the strings.

The usual suspects: LKY, LHL,......

Spore elections is now more about economic survival than about being pro/anti PAP. Unless of course you are are already making millions.

what to change ?.
These people are just sitting and making easy money out of sporns.
You can just put a simple computer to do the job what the present
management is doing. It is so simple.

No competition and all day thinking of ways how to screw the sporns
more, trap him on longer contracts and make sure sporns have no'
escape route or alternate entertainment outlet to which he can
tune to while he waste in his pigeon hole with nothing to do.

what is the basis and justification for this management to be paid
even average wages ?
Absolutely nothing !

what to change ?.
These people are just sitting and making easy money out of sporns.

In Spore where the GLCs are concerned it's who you know that counts, Ask yourself why these clowns can get away with what they are doing & getting $$$$.

You will realise that the only way to improve things is to change the very, very top management. Without this change the policies of the GLCs will remain unchanged & GLCs will continue to overcharge.

09b10d32b1cee5a084906b8ed63f-grande.jpg

What abuse? I sue then u know ah! *chey*

In Spore where the GLCs are concerned it's who you know that counts, Ask yourself why these clowns can get away with what they are doing & getting $$$$.

You will realise that the only way to improve things is to change the very, very top management. Without this change the policies of the GLCs will remain unchanged & GLCs will continue to overcharge.

What is happening now is blatant crass protectionism (StarHub monopoly) at the expense of the Sporns. These people are simply sitting there and figuring out new ways to corner sporns with contracts that has no meaning as far as choice is concerned.

" You have choice of any cable TV contract you want, as long as it is StarHub ".

Ultimately thse so called GLCs end up as crumbling paper tigers, the moment they face the slightest competition. That is the fate of these GLCs.

Hence they will forever want Sporns as their exclusive sole makan source.

And there are literally hundreds of such parasite GLCs.

That is how they work.

GLCs are all monoplies, without these monopolies they wouldn't be able to pay their management & directors millions. I bet many of these directors are from the PAP.

If Sporeans were allowed freedom of choice I'm sure they would pick the cheaper competition such as Astro of Malaysia over Starhub. Just take a look at their cheap rates:

http://www.astro.com.my/getastro/packages/promo/new/details.asp?i=9

ALL these GLCs:SMRT, Singpower, Starhub, .... ,ALL of them overcharge..
These GLCs represent a hidden tax to all Sporeans

Remember to vote wisely otherwise be prepared to continue paying $$$$$$$$$ for a world class PAP .

What is happening now is blatant crass protectionism (StarHub monopoly) at the expense of the Sporns. These people are simply sitting there and figuring out new ways to corner sporns with contracts that has no meaning as far as choice is concerned.