How much money does a worker need to retire in super expensive S'pore?

True Believer

Patient: "I am here for my medical review. I just retired after working for 40 years."
Doctor: "You need to sell your car and take public transport. In fact, try to walk more. Please eat less meat and more vegetables. It is also better to eat less at hawker centres and restaurants. Have more meals at home. Try not to go out too often."
Patient: "My medical test results must be really bad. What exactly is wrong with me."
Doctor: "You no longer have an income."

On the average. To maintain a comfortable lifestyle in sg is sgd $2k per person with house fully paid. Be it hdb or private. Children all independent.

You must be joking! Retiring at age 65 with S$2 million in the bank is pretty safe, but how to retire with only S$2,000 to your name?

This is how I would calculate if I have enough money to retire:

1. Life expectancy for male S'porean is 83 years
2. Current age 54 years for example
3. Savings and investments must last 29 years
4. Current savings and investments divided by 29 years
5. You get your budget for each year (taking into account inflation)

It is a fact that the wealthy have more options to occupy their free time after they retire. I notice many retirees enjoying their golf, tennis, bowling, swimming, enjoying a sauna, reading, eating and watching movies at their country and town clubs. Many also travel, shop, eat out and have hobbies that all cost money. Where do the poor elderly go to pass the day? I only see them at void decks, coffee shops, hawker centres, public libraries, community clubs etc. We need S$2 million or more to retire comfortably in the most expensive city in the world.

Honestly,Most sinkees cannot retire,they must work until they kick the bucket.:biggrin:
If we retire at 63 and the average life span of a S'porean male is 83, then we need to have enough savings and investments to last us at least 20 years. Without this, we just have to continue working. That is why we see so many seniors still working as cleaners, collecting cardboard and doing other menial jobs simply because they do not have enough set aside to retire in the most expensive city in the world.

Health is wealth
Even if 0 dollar, still can make money anytime

TS still living in delusion that he is living in pre-covid lol

Time have changed

风水轮流转

Health is wealth Even if 0 dollar, still can make money anytime TS still living in delusion that he is living in pre-covid lol Time have changed 风水轮流转
How much money do you think seniors like this old woman earn collecting used cardboard, or
are you as ignorant as Tan Chuan-Jin who insists that the elderly do this purely for exercise?

cardboard-collectors.jpg

Health is wealth Even if 0 dollar, still can make money anytime TS still living in delusion that he is living in pre-covid lol Time have changed 风水轮流转
How does an old man like you earn money without a job? Do you bend over waiting to be sodomised? Who would even pay you for that?

How much money do you think seniors like this old woman earn collecting used cardboard, or
are you as ignorant as Tan Chuan-Jin who insists that the elderly do this purely for exercise?

cardboard-collectors.jpg
Yes, I think seniors like these need to do exercise to show that they are still contributing something.

If they lie flat at home, chances to die alone at home is very high

If we retire at 63 and the average life span of a S'porean male is 83, then we need to have enough savings and investments to last us at least 20 years. Without this, we just have to continue working. That is why we see so many seniors still working as cleaners, collecting cardboard and doing other menial jobs simply because they do not have enough set aside to retire in the most expensive city in the world.
Most senior sinkees will face severe financial problems to survive daily without regular receipt of CDC Vouchers.:biggrin:

Yes, I think seniors like these need to do exercise to show that they are still contributing something.

If they lie flat at home, chances to die alone at home is very high
Truly,most will just lie flat at home and watch the world pass by.:roflmao:

Yes, I think seniors like these need to do exercise to show that they are still contributing something. If they lie flat at home, chances to die alone at home is very high
I guess you go outdoors to pee during a heavy downpour just to show that you are making a difference, even though it's hard to tell!

Why leetire? You will be more healthy and green by exercising collecting things to recycle

You must be joking! Retiring at age 65 with S$2 million in the bank is pretty safe, but how to retire with only S$2,000 to your name?

2000 bucks a month lah.................

for me even 1000 bucks also more than enough liao..................just makan normal food.................then stay home watch porn or youtube can liao........... :biggrin: