My fat colleague slept in the office a few times in a day

Boonsiong

How I know this ?
Cause I sit beside him a few times and he always slept at work.

Sometimes I can even hear him snoring.

I am not nasty , otherwise I could whistle blow to HR

Actually I don’t need to be nasty because I believe CEO can see him if he walks pass by

I check why middle age easily feel sleepy at work and here is the answer
Key words
Middle age men food coma

What is a food coma and should you be worried about it? | Shortys ...
A food coma is a normal state of sleepiness after a meal, but it can be more pronounced in middle-aged men due to hormonal shifts and age-related changes that affect insulin sensitivity and sleep regulation. Key causes include consuming large meals, foods with a high glycemic index, and alcohol, which trigger increased tryptophan conversion to serotonin and melatonin, promoting drowsiness. To reduce postprandial somnolence, eat smaller, balanced meals, choose low-GI foods, and chew slowly. If excessive fatigue persists, see a doctor to rule out underlying conditions like diabetes or insulin resistance.
Why Food Comas Happen
Tryptophan and Melatonin:
High-carb or high-sugar meals increase insulin, allowing tryptophan to cross the blood-brain barrier. In the brain, tryptophan is converted to serotonin, then melatonin, the hormone that induces sleepiness.
Large Meals:
Overeating redirects blood flow to the digestive system, which can make the body feel tired.
Insulin Resistance:
In middle-aged men, a decrease in insulin sensitivity can exacerbate the blood sugar fluctuations that lead to tiredness.
Alcohol:
Alcohol consumption before or with a meal can worsen drowsiness.
Tips to Reduce Food Coma
Eat Smaller Meals:
Split large meals into smaller portions throughout the day to prevent overwhelming your digestive system.
Choose Low-GI Foods:
Opt for foods like whole fruits, vegetables, beans, and whole grains, which are digested more slowly.
Take Your Time:
Chew food slowly and enjoy your meal to allow your brain to signal fullness properly.
Stay Hydrated:
Drink water instead of sugary soft drinks, which can cause rapid blood sugar spikes.
Incorporate Movement:
Take short breaks to walk or stretch after eating to help with digestion and alertness.
When to See a Doctor
Persistent Fatigue:
If you regularly experience extreme fatigue or "food comas," it's essential to consult a healthcare professional.
Other Symptoms:
Be aware of other signs of potential underlying issues, such as:
Increased thirst or urination
Unexplained weight loss or gain
Vision problems
Dizziness, bloating, or lightheadedness
These symptoms, along with consistent post-meal tiredness, could indicate a condition like diabetes or insulin resistance that requires medical attention.

There are 2 guys in my company who routinely fall asleep at work: 1 moonlights as a Grab driver after office hours while the other does the graveyard shift in security at a factory.

Are they middle age men ?
Fat ?
Big belly ?
If they are, most likely it is due to food coma
It is a health issue
But such health issue is due to their eating habit

Why you don't have your own room in the office ? Or at least a 1.8m height cubicle ?

After I came out from his room, auntie asked me this question
你有看到部长的大浴缸吗?

He requires assistance, so please take him to a hospital or consult a traditional Chinese medicine practitioner.

I don't mind them sleeping in the office but not as a bus captain when I am on board the bus.

I think only minister has room
I worked in MOM for few years and during that time Gan Kim Yong room in MOM had Italian bathtub
No lah. My first job I already had a cubicle like this liao:

1757568094454.png

Nowadays offices are mainly open concept
Bro, maybe u are a bit outdated
We had open concept for the clerical staff.

When I worked part-time at a securities firm, it was also open concept. I was surprised that the senior manager had only a cubicle. Then I began to realize like AVP all how siao one, AVP also cubicle. WTF !

It may not just be “food coma.” Constantly falling asleep at work and even snoring could also be linked to sleep apnea or other health issues. If it happens often, it’s probably better for him to get a check-up rather than just blame it on overeating.

likely he went to ktv last night
I suspect he is suffering from food coma
He always takes nap at 10am and 2 to 3 pm after breakfast and lunch
This is common and it also happens in Singapore parliament
Google this
Middle age man, food coma