Some ageing condos in Singapore struggle with failing infrastructure, inadequate sinking funds

@Boonsiong 含沙射影 ...can afford Coke or not ? :cool: :biggrin:
Knn..you really is 成语高手
20180730172743_219347.jpg

Those living on the lower floors do not want to pay for the lift upgrade, just like voting for HDB lift upgrade. They should allow private condos to use their CPF monies for lift upgrade. KNN, 100% property ownership cannot use CPF, but HDB lessee can use. 沒有道理.
The lifts at my condo are reaching their end-of-life, and in urgent need for replacement. Many residents - including children and the elderly - have been trapped inside over the past few years. However, there are several owners of ground floor units who have been blocking the replacement of these elevators owing to the estimated cost of $17K per household. It is obvious that they feel that the lifts are of little to no use for them. This may sound selfish, but I guess $17K is a lot of money even to condo residents.

Ok..I better tell my mother to sell the place i am living now when I get my bto

How much does a lift cost ?

A new lift may be installed for around $100,000. Elevators that reach the end of life and no longer have the required spare parts have to be replaced by an entirely new system which includes the car interior design such as panels, flooring and ceiling, the control panel, safety features as well as smart technologies.

And it costs $17,000 per household ?

The cost of such lift replacements in condos is usually apportioned based on share value. A unit with a higher share value i.e. a larger unit will pay a bigger portion of the total cost, while a unit with a lower share value i.e. a smaller unit will pay less. The $17,000 figure is an average amount, but some households would pay more while some would pay less.

Many of the residents at Bukit Timah condos are asset rich retirees who may not wish to fork out so much money for the replacement of the lifts. I am referring especially to the ground floor residents who are the ones who usually strongly oppose such moves. Developments more than 25 years old, often need to change the entire elevator system since the spare parts are probably no longer available.