This is Called PRODUCTIVITY!

Posted on 21 Mar 2010
Why work so hard when you can just beg for money?

why_work_so_hard_when_you_can_just_beg_for_money-thumbnail.jpg

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://static.ak.connect.facebook.com/js/api_lib/v0.4/FeatureLoader.js.php/en_US"></SCRIPT><IFRAME class=FB_SERVER_IFRAME src="http://www.facebook.com/extern/login_status.php?api_key=94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6&extern=2&channel=http%3A%2F%2Fsingaporeseen.stomp.com.sg%2Fxd_receiver.htm&locale=en_US" frameBorder=0 name=loginStatus scrolling=no></IFRAME>
<OBJECT id=flashXdComm name=flashXdComm classid=clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000 width=1 height=1 type=application/x-shockwave-flash>

</OBJECT>

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> FB.init("94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6", "/xd_receiver.htm"); function callPublish(title, articleLink, description, thumbnailLink, myemotion) { var message = "is '" + myemotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; var attachment = { 'name': title, 'href': articleLink, 'description': description, 'media': [{ 'type': 'image', 'src': thumbnailLink, 'href': articleLink}] }; FB.Connect.streamPublish(message, attachment); } function shortenURL(articleLink){ shortURLLink = ""; $.getJSON("http://json-tinyurI.appspot.com/?&callback=?", {url: articleLink}, function(data) { shortURLLink = eval(data).tinyurI; }); } </SCRIPT>
Enraged
60%

<!-- end mm_moodcontainer div -->
Shiok!
2%

LOL!
8%

So sad
11%

Sure or not?
10%

Bochup
9%

<!-- end mm_body div -->
<!-- end moodResultItem div -->
It's not that STOMPer E does not pity this beggar, but that she feels that he is alert and able enough to earn his money rather than beg for it. She claims some beggars earn as much as $18,000 a month from begging alone.

Here's what she wrote in an email today (Mar 21):

"This guy was seen at Clifford Centre, in front of SK Jewellery, wearing a T-shirt bearing some charity's logo and a lanyard with a tag bearing his name.

"He was not holding any paper, just sitting there with his hands with his palms up (like he was waiting to receive something passersby)

"His head was tilted to one side, making him seem very tired or sick. But when people give him money, he could open his bag and keep the money.

"Once he saw me taking his picture, he drove his automatic wheelchair (which usually cost at least a few thousand dollars) towards the MRT station, fleeing in just a few seconds.

"It's not that I don't pity him, but if he can operate an automatic wheelchair and open his bag to put money in, he should be doing something more decent like selling Big Sweep tickets or similar.

"There is this blind old uncle, whom I buy my monthly Big Sweep tickets from. He says that he has been selling Big Sweep tickets for the past 30 years, and with the money he has even brought up his children after his wife passed on more than 20 years ago.

"His life story brought tears and heartache from me. If the blind uncle can use his income from selling tickets - he earns 15 cents per piece to raise his family - why can't this young guy on his wheelchair do something more decent?

"Maybe begging earns more than any other job? I think most likely this is his main reason.

"There have been more beggars in town recently, and I have also heard that they earn an average of $300 to $600 per day and that means that they earn an average of $9,000 - $18,000 per month. This is more than a manager who has to work his head off.

"They also start to link themselves to charities by wearing T-shirts with charity logos on them or print cards saying that they are from some project to help those from lower incomes households, elderly folks, ex-offenders etc, selling key chains at $10 each.

"Please beware of fake charity drives or con-men seeking fast cash. Always ask to see their NCSS certificate, and if you're not sure then don't donate, or ask for their charity's contact and mail them a cheque after confirming their statue on the NCSS website."

beggah-data.jpg

Keywords: beggar , begging , charity

>>"There have been more beggars in town recently, and I have also heard that they earn an average of $300 to $600 per day and that means that they earn an average of $9,000 - $18,000 per month. This is more than a manager who has to work his head off.<<

Wow power. Begging can earn so much! Then why study what Anti-U or Ant-U-Ass?

Is it another urban legend like taxi drivers earning $5k?

>>"There have been more beggars in town recently, and I have also heard that they earn an average of $300 to $600 per day and that means that they earn an average of $9,000 - $18,000 per month. This is more than a manager who has to work his head off.<<

Wow power. Begging can earn so much! Then why study what Anti-U or Ant-U-Ass?

Is it another urban legend like taxi drivers earning $5k?

They appear on TV & sell their sobs stories, they earn millions plus the taxman makes money also & the TV station, the Untilities companies, the telcos, the....:D

This is a true account, I once saw one of these wheelchair bound beggers/tissue sellers STRETCHING his legs one late afternoon behind a quiet spot at one MRT. I took a picture then but by then he already sat down and resume his cannot walk role playing.

I saw a blind man...hallelujah! walk in the sun...without his sunglass & white cane on his off day!!:p

that is why i say work is the most stupidest invention from mankind..

do so much just to get some dollars?

why not get it directly?

Each time I use the Orchard Rd Station underpass towards Tang Plaza, passing the blind man (men) that plays the electronic organ and sings slightly better than Lim Sia Suay... I do a mental calculation of human traffic flow, assuming that every 10 mins a dollar coin is dropped...

He starts work say at 9am, one hour sixty minutes, 10mins x 6 x $1 =$60 finishes at 9pm...minus two hrs for rest/eat/toliet..that will be 10 hrs x $60 = $600 a day.

Mon to Sun 7 days a week = 7 x $600 = $4,200... quite a good sum right!.

But then again he has competition from a off key singing Minister....that gets shock when he see his CPF statement..that is paid million...

Why need a Phd, or Master's just learn to how to play a guitar, blow a harmonica, play the electrone, sing off key, hang around the pedestrian tunnels or open ground...

good traffic area you can earn $4,200 a week....assuming you get $1 every hour....

WHY STUDY?...in Chinese it is known as 'do su'...!!:D

I saw a blind man...hallelujah! walk in the sun...without his sunglass & white cane on his off day!!:p

Next time you see him, make a carboard sign that says "I call mata now, OK?" and shove it in his face :D. See if he runs.

I once saw a "blind" beggar looking at his handphone and smoking before he went to his usual begging spot.

your mental calculation sucks...10 mins a dollar...dat means $6 per hour leh...

wow that sinkie gal think that beggar in singapore earn 300 per day?

mine mine.

i think she might earn more if she open her legs.

I once saw a "blind" beggar looking at his handphone and smoking before he went to his usual begging spot.

All this makes me think me in wrong line! SG got official Beggar Clan (丐帮)? Where to sign up?

wow that sinkie gal think that beggar in singapore earn 300 per day?

mine mine.

i think she might earn more if she open her legs.

Maybe can earn more kar kwi kwi, but just stretching out hand and earn is more relax then providing sexual service, some more got risk of contracting STD.

Maybe can organize begging tour, go other countries to beg, huat ah!