PAP reminds coolie gene Sinkies that COEs are for the rich and that low ses Sinkies to please fuck off.

Actually its true....cannot afford don't buy car....COE is one issue....what about running costs etc? Better to just depend on pubic tpt

got many millionaires ready buyers on these ATAS COE mah… fittest survived ;)

Actually its true....cannot afford don't buy car....COE is one issue....what about running costs etc? Better to just depend on pubic tpt
It is not the duty of the govt to ensure that more S'poreans are able to afford a car. As such, it boils down to affordability; if one is able to pay for a car, he may own as many as he is able to pay for. What is next? Will more S'poreans demand that prices of houses and condos be lowered so more than the current 15% of residents can afford private residences?

High SES defending High SES, low SES suck thumb take bus, mrt, and bmw
Not everyone can afford a GCB in SG. Is the govt expected to make such houses affordable to the masses?
Ministers-GCBs.png

The current pricing mechanism has caused a contraction with a multitude of marginal car owners giving up their wheels after the expiry of their COE. While it makes sense for the majority of the population in an urban metropolis to rely on public transportation, existing car owners are reluctant to give up something which has become an extension of themselves, and not merely a tool to get from point A to B.

Conspicuous consumption boosts our sense of identity and also conveys status and importance. In land-scarce S'pore, the less affluent have to make way for the wealthy; nowhere is this more clearly apparent than in car ownership. Unlike one’s private home, a set of 4-wheels is a possession that can be literally displayed at different places to a wider audience throughout the day. Car owners are perceived as wealthier and having membership to a higher social status group - not just to others, but also to themselves.

We have reached the day when only top earners are able to possess cars. This will, in fact, make car ownership even more attractive to those who can afford it.

Low SES sinkies who own cars are all fucktards. Buying the car is easy. But they are too retarded to think about the monthly installments, petrol cost, ERP, parking, maintenance..... and then they still have the cheek to complain about high cost of living. What a bunch of pathetic losers.

We have reached the day when only top earners are able to possess cars. This will, in fact, make car ownership even more attractive to those who can afford it.
The pap have no interest in keeping coe prices down...so to the ppl... if u want to continue with the rat race n get a car etc...its yr free will....but donch comprain bcos 65% supported such policies. For me , I choose pubic tpt so Its easier on my wallet...n my financial future. ...donch forget coe is only 1 component, vehicle licence, road tax, erp, fuel, insurance, maintenance...is not cheap...n all benefit pap hor....so why suffer extra for the establishment?

It is not the duty of the govt to ensure that more S'poreans are able to afford a car. As such, it boils down to affordability; if one is able to pay for a car, he may own as many as he is able to pay for. What is next? Will more S'poreans demand that prices of houses and condos be lowered so more than the current 15% of residents can afford private residences?
Tat y I donch own car n I live in HDB..bcos I cannot afford anything else n I live within ny means..

Low SES sinkies who own cars are all fucktards. Buying the car is easy. But they are too retarded to think about the monthly installments, petrol cost, ERP, parking, maintenance..... and then they still have the cheek to complain about high cost of living. What a bunch of pathetic losers.
Wow…

Pap does not want lower coe prices n the 65,% supports it. So donch comprain

SM Lee defends COE system ‘works quite well’, says no easy way to distribute COEs fairly and cheaply​

Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong has defended Singapore’s Certificate of Entitlement (COE) system, arguing it works effectively to manage scarce road space despite concerns over high prices. Speaking at the Economic Society of Singapore’s annual dinner on 15 July 2025, Lee stressed there is no simple or cheap way to distribute limited COEs fairly.

ACg8ocKWb2VrCA6yhtNa6gAtAVNcwhwGe2-lYp51wN6U11CqSaU5Yxnk=s96-c

Published

on

16 July 2025
Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong has defended Singapore’s longstanding Certificate of Entitlement (COE) system, calling it an effective mechanism to allocate scarce road space despite mounting calls for reforms to make it cheaper or more socially targeted.

Speaking during a dialogue at the 69th Economic Society of Singapore (ESS) Annual Dinner on 15 July 2025, Lee responded to questions about whether the system could be adjusted to benefit specific groups, such as families with young children or people with special mobility needs.

‘No easy way to make it cheap and fair’

Moderator Euston Quah, President of ESS, asked Lee whether COEs should be made more affordable for certain drivers who may have greater need for a car.

Lee was clear in his response: the existing system is intended to manage the country’s limited road space through market demand and supply, and any attempt to engineer it too finely to meet individual needs would fail.

“There’s really no easy way to make something which is valuable be distributed fairly, and at the same time, very cheap,” Lee said.

Lee elaborated that tailoring COEs based on personal circumstances would create excessive complexity for policymakers.

He listed examples: “How many kids you have, how young they are, whether you’ve got somebody disabled in the family, whether you have an elderly parent, whether your job requires you to travel extensively—these are very difficult to assess fairly.”

According to Lee, designing a system to manage all these variables would likely collapse under its own contradictions.

COE as a proxy for road space

Lee described the COE as a proxy for Singapore’s limited road space. Its price rises and falls according to demand from prospective vehicle owners, ensuring that road congestion remains manageable.

The Government has adjusted the supply where possible. Lee noted that more COEs have already been issued to expand supply, acknowledging that this is one lever to moderate prices.

“If you want the price to be lower, then you must put out more COEs, which is what the Government is now doing. We took from the future. We are putting out 5 per cent, 10 per cent more, and therefore the supply is higher,” he explained.

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) announced that it would release up to 20,000 additional COEs across all five vehicle categories over the next few years, starting from February 2025.

Despite these measures, Lee cautioned that the core challenge remains unchanged: managing the demand for cars on limited road space.

He argued that some methods, such as Beijing’s lottery system for licence plates, would not suit Singapore’s needs.

No entitlement to cars

Pressed further by Quah on whether there should be concessions for special groups, Lee emphasised that while Singaporeans are entitled to affordable and efficient transport, there is no guarantee for car ownership.

“I can guarantee every Singaporean affordable, convenient transportation. I cannot guarantee every Singaporean an affordable car. It is different from HDB houses. Every Singaporean household can get one. But cars, no. Transportation, yes,” Lee said.

Lee suggested that for special groups, direct financial support makes more sense than adjusting COE prices.

“For example, if you have a child, it is better that I give you a bigger baby bonus rather than a cheaper COE. You can use that to buy a baby seat or help pay for a car,” he said.

He warned that indirect measures could lead to unintended loopholes and inefficiencies.

On trade and tariffs: Lee suggests protectionism may persist

The dialogue at the ESS dinner also covered broader economic challenges, including the United States’ growing protectionism.

Lee warned that the world may not return to the open trade norms that existed before 2 April, when President Donald Trump unveiled a new reciprocal trade policy.

“Once tariffs are in place and new businesses grow around that protection, they become very hard to remove,” he said.

Lee noted that then-President Joe Biden did not reverse Trump’s tariffs on China during his first term, showing how entrenched such policies can become.

He stressed that although the US has taken a more transactional approach to trade, countries that value free trade must continue to work together.

Lee highlighted the World Trade Organisation’s importance, despite its flaws.

He noted that the US’s disengagement from the WTO system could weaken global trade cooperation.

However, Lee believes that ignoring fundamental economic laws is unsustainable.

“You can fail to follow economic principles, but you cannot repeal an economic law. That’s just the way the world works,” he said.

In the face of US protectionism, Lee encouraged countries to deepen regional cooperation through groups like ASEAN and wider pacts such as the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership.

He urged governments to also expand trade ties with Latin America and Africa to diversify economic opportunities.

Public sentiment remains sceptical on COE, raise cost of living concerns

In comments on local news platforms such as CNA and The Straits Times, readers asked for a breakdown of how many COEs are taken up by private car owners compared to commercial buyers.

They expressed concern that private hire vehicles (PHVs), rentals, and car-sharing services could be driving up COE prices in Categories A and B, pricing out ordinary families.

Some commenters linked high COE prices with broader worries over Singapore’s cost of living.

PHV1.jpg
high-cost.jpg

They argued that expensive COEs, coupled with rising housing prices, push up overall expenses for households.

Others suggested that car rentals and PHVs benefit from high COEs, as these costs deter private ownership and drive more people towards ride-hailing or rental services.

Among public suggestions was a proposal to place commercial vehicles in a separate COE category to prevent them from competing directly with private buyers.

Some urged the Government to complement COE reforms with stronger traffic enforcement to raise driving standards and reduce unsafe driving, which would indirectly ease congestion.

They called for stricter penalties, including lifetime bans for reckless drivers.

PHV-commets2.jpg

Netizen proposes balance between free-market pricing and social equity

Another idea gaining traction is to strike a balance between free-market pricing and social equity.

Proposals include giving families, people with disabilities, and first-time car buyers a priority tier with discounted COEs.

Couples would pay the regular market rate, while individuals buying additional cars would pay a premium.

Advocates argue this model could encourage families to have more children by reducing the cost of car ownership for those with genuine needs.

COE-comment1.jpg

Share this:

This guy is a disgrace. Before election every can change, after election you die your own business. Hope he get his due punishment in the next realm.
He doesn't get to call himself LaoLan if his balls were growing the right side up

No money to buy car or buy landed freehold then use public transport or stay hdb. Instead of spending time grumbling why not work harder or smarter to make more money to achieve those dreams.

Put COE to collect tax. If people cannot pay for COE, only poor family with kids can apply for grant. What a brilliant idea using same way by our public servant all the time. Public housing using free land put in trust to HDB, priced high, then give grant to citizen back. Then the high taxes collected shared among CS & highest paid PM. Truly brilliant.
Did congestion go down? Are roads safer? No. Based on experience being on the road since 90s.