To stay competitive, PMET jobs to go to FTs, said PAP.

Lee+Hsien+Loong+good+jobs.jpg
Without the foreigners, there would not have 300 new jobs for sinkies, perhaps zero new jobs and more retrenchment.
CECA agreement is the wisest decision for sake of retarded sinkies, lol!

Without the foreigners, there would not have 300 new jobs for sinkies, perhaps zero new jobs and more retrenchment.
CECA agreement is the wisest decision for sake of retarded sinkies!
I am a firm believer that foreign competition for PME jobs makes S'poreans strive harder. However, under the PAP, SG citizens are actually discriminated against, with employers having a free hand to replace local PMEs with foreign labour. The govt does not dare upset these MNCs for fear that they will uproot and leave for countries in the region which are cheaper to operate in.

Graduates are not screwed if they study engineering: James Dyson in response to Economist article
British inventor and billionaire entrepreneur James Dyson, 78, said design and science students will hold up well in the age of artificial intelligence.
SINGAPORE - Today’s graduates are not doomed if they study engineering, despite a poor job market.
All I know is that none of the engineering graduates from my group of former secondary and JC classmates are still in engineering today because everything they learned in the early 1990s is now obsolete. These friends are now in marketing, facilities management, insurance, real estate, HR etc.

CECA agreement is the wisest decision for sake of retarded sinkies!
3643.jpeg

Singapore miracle mah

What is the optimum period for Gen Z workers to stay in a job?

Chart: Clara Ho Source: Money Mind Survey on Gen Z
IMG_6186.jpeg

Import Talents to take up PMET jobs ... local still get full employment with jobs like food delivery and grab drivers to feed families one .... U voted the papayas, U pay with the lifes of your offsprings and families. :thumbsup:

Grab is a high pay job mah
Some bro say grab pay is above 10k de woh
If u do tuition + Online Business + YouTubing + property agents , will definitely Huat big big in few years time

those were the elite top few lah ... maybe special model made by Grab management to make the sheepfold work harder for them .... :roflmao:

I do not blame the wealthy 15% who live in private homes for voting the PAP, who abolished estate duty. If you own a house worth $10 million, would you want to vote a govt who promises to restore a tax on the total market value of your cash and non-cash assets after you die? In the UK, the estate duty is 40% while it is 60% in France. A landed property owner's children will probably have to sell the $10 million house in order to pay the govt $400K to $600K in taxes, depending on how much the opposition govt levies.

U meant to say now the 65% voters are wealthy? :eek:

If u do tuition + Online Business + YouTubing + property agents , will definitely Huat big big in few years time
My young female colleague recently married a private tutor who earns enough to own a used Toyota Altis, but her parents objected because he does not have a stable income. Both her parents are civil servants, so I can understand why they believe in an iron rice bowl which they call "stable income". In this day and age, there is no more iron rice bowl in the private sector.

Hello Hello … SG is a wealth hub de woh

240000 millionaires In SG now
Silver Serpants 0.3-0.5m
PG and MG 0.2m
Chin cai Chin cai secure 0.9-1m votes Liao (33%)

Haven’t count those new PR who just get BTO yet…how to lose? In 5yrs time, their new flat MOP and fulfil their million dollar resale dream…u know lah cycle just repeat by next wave of new PR

Singapore’s 240,000 millionaires spur spending on luxury brands​

Spending is flowing across all segments of the luxury industry and brands are fighting for attention

• Pedestrians in the Orchard Road area, a global hub for tourism and high-end retail in Singapore. Photographer: Aparna Nori/Bloomberg

• Decades of pro-wealth policies have drawn high-net-worth individuals and built a robust finance sector, making it one of the world’s richest countries. PHOTO: BLOOMBERG
Published Mon, Jul 7, 2025 · 08:04 AM

[SINGAPORE] Luxury spending is defying a global slump in wealthy Singapore, a beacon for high-end retailers grappling with sluggish demand in major markets including China and the US.

Luxury sales in the South-east Asian city-state are expected to climb 7 per cent to S$13.9 billion this year compared to 2024, outpacing heavyweight regional shopping hubs Japan, China and South Korea, according to data shared with Bloomberg by Euromonitor International.

The country’s 2024 year-on-year growth surged past every other Asian market tracked by the analytics firm, except Japan. Next year, it’s projected to catch up to its 2019, pre-Covid-19 peak of S$14.7 billion.

Do not put words in my mouth! I only write that the owners of private residences (15%) would vote for the PAP. The rest voted based on the CDC vouchers and other goodies thrown by the MIW.