Chitchat Sinkie Chiobu Bakery Owner suddenly dies at 35

Pinkieslut

Contestant & Bakery Owner Passes Away Aged 35​

The founder of 2112 Bakery was on the show ‘Creme De La Creme’. She leaves behind two kids and a husband.
Faraha Faeaz
20 Jun 2025 at 22:59
Bookmark

Share on FacebookShare on WhatsAppShare on TwitterShare on WeChat
2112 Bakerybakerybakeshoprojakpopiahswiss rollnutella cookiesnutella tartscheesecakecakespastrybaker2112OGOG BugiscafeCreme de la Creme2112 SnackdessertsMediacorp Baking Show Contestant & Bakery Owner Passes Away Aged 35

Michelle Goh, a 35-year-old mother of two and owner of 2112 Bakeryplus a rojak food court stall, passed away earlier this week. The cause of her death is not known at press time.

8days.sg reached out to her husband, Ken, who told us he will get back to us at a later date on the future of their bakery. He announced her passing in a Facebook post that read: “It is with deep sorrow and heavy hearts that I share the passing of my beloved wife, Michelle Goh, who left us on 17th June 2025.”

No part of this story can be reproduced without permission from 8days.sg.

In an interview with 8days.sg last August, Michelle told us she was running a bakery beneath an HDB block in Toa Payoh, along with a rojak and popiah stall at Yew Tee Square’s Kopitiam, where her bakes were also sold. The Toa Payoh bakery was later relocated to OG Bugis in December 2024, as a fancier cafe with dine-in.
Another stall, named 2112 Snack Delight at Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre, appears to be run by Michelle’s mum. It sells prawn fritters, you tiao and curry puffs. It is currently unclear if the eateries will continue to operate.

1of1

Found comfort in baking

2112 Bakery began as a home-based business in 2019, shortly after Michelle left her job as a nail technician. She told 8days.sg last year that she had been diagnosed with depression around that time and found comfort in baking and munching on Nutella cookies. That’s when her baking biz was born.

ADVERTISEMENT

She later joined season 2 of Mediacorp baking show, ‘Creme De La Creme’, to gain exposure for her sluggish business in Toa Payoh. She placed sixth out of eight contestants on the show. While her onscreen appearance generated some publicity for her, she revealed that her shop’s sales didn’t increase much. Last year, she told 8days.sg that her Toa Payoh bakery lost $19K and she was looking to relocate it to a better spot. She added: “I got very depressed [due to the poor business in Toa Payoh], so my husband asked me whether I wanted to just shut it down, but I didn’t want to waste my efforts. I know I can do it, I just need time”.

Talked about biz struggles on social media last Dec

ADVERTISEMENT

In a video post on 31 December 2024, Michelle told her followers on TikTok: “Having a business is a commitment, a passion. [It’s all about] making my parents proud, making my kids proud, or just myself [proud].” She went on: “The thing is, I feel good whenever I leave the shop at night – I keep smiling to myself, like, this is how far [I’ve come]. But there’s too much stress going on.” Her last few posts showed her holidaying in Japan sometime around May.

2112 Bakery’s signature bakes are its Swiss Roll ($4.50), Cheesecake ($6.50), Assorted Crispy Puffs ($2.20) and the snack that started it all — Nutella Cookies ($26).

2112 Bakery (cafe in OG Bugis) is at #02-02 OG Albert, 60 Albert St, S189969

2112 Bakery (with rojak & popiah) is at #02-222/224 Yew Tee Square Kopitiam, 624 Choa Chu Kang St, S680624.

2112 Snack Delight is at #01-42 Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre, 21 Canberra Link, S756973. More info via
website and Instagram.

How Is the Economic Downturn Affecting Singapore’s Rich?​

The Super Rich Are Choosing Singapore as the World’s Safest Haven

Photographer: Wei Leng Tay/Bloomberg
By Ishika Mookerjee
June 21, 2025 at 9:05 AM GMT+8
Save
Translate

__Placeholder Value__

You're reading the Singapore Edition newsletter
Go beyond the headlines with insights into one of Asia's most dynamic economies. Delivered weekly.

Bloomberg may send me offers and promotions.

By submitting my information, I agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
Each week we bring you insights into one of Asia’s most dynamic economies. If you haven’t yet, please sign up here.

This week, Ishika Mookerjee watches the economic downturn hit even the affluent; Reinie Booysen and David Scanlan queue up to get their holiday money in Singapore’s currency corridor; and Saira Asher tries a super-salty pizza.

Biting the Rich​

The sudden closure of 1880, one of Singapore’s archetypal private-member clubs for the rich, has been chalked up to bad maneuvers from the management, including an untimely expansion into Hong Kong and Bali. Some former members have taken to social media to vent their frustration.

But lurking in founder Marc Nicholson’s apologetic message to customers was a line that also reflects a broader economic reality — both the level of spending and frequency of visits by clients was “trending down,” he said.

1880 might yet see a revival, but the gathering political and economic clouds are gradually darkening the outlook even for the well off.

With businesses facing high rentals and rising costs, the uncertainties of a global trade war, a revived cold war and a rapidly escalating hot war in the Middle East are fanning worries for an economy that was already preparing for a technical recession. Singapore itself may currently only face Donald Trump’s “minimum” 10% reciprocal tariff rate, but 10% is more than the average profit margin for most companies, and the island is closely integrated with countries facing much higher tariff barriers.

This week’s gloomy data at home included a surprise decline in May exports, followed by a steep drop in the nation’s forecast economic growth. In the central bank’s quarterly survey, economists and analysts predicted GDP will increase by 1.7% in 2025, compared with 2.6% in the March poll.

Vaccinated?
Could be die of suicide

2112 Bakery began as a home-based business in 2019, shortly after Michelle left her job as a nail technician. She told 8days.sg last year that she had been diagnosed with depression around that time and found comfort in baking and munching on Nutella cookies. That’s when her baking biz was born.

Vaccinated?

If we read properly, it was a depression upon depression.
When she was a nail technician, she was already depressed.
After she setup all the business, she was depressed by the high rental poor business.

So I guess she could have died from either suicide or working too hard, neglecting the health and together with depression . Vaccination could be the contributing factor for health causes if she was vaccinated.

After she setup all the business, she was depressed by the high rental poor business.

So I guess she could have died from either suicide or working too hard, neglecting the health and together with depression . Vaccination could be the contributing factor for health causes if she was vaccinated.
This is sad.
She could have just see things from a different angle.
Just work a leegular job.
Not everyone can be a business owner.
Force aiming for success is not worth.
Even the day you are successful your health will be poor.

I'm depressed too but I'm still around.

BS stories coming from the MINISTRY OF TRUTH.. yea I believed you lol...... either she died suddenly due to the PCB garbage zhams or woke up after realizing her kum gong-ness for voluntarily going for the PCB garbage zhams along with her family members, she got depressed due to constant pondering her kum gong acts and committed suicide.

quite nice looking leh....................got sex appeal despite being thin...................but looks like those that will give hubby the Big Green Hat leh..........

E

Contestant & Bakery Owner Passes Away Aged 35​

The founder of 2112 Bakery was on the show ‘Creme De La Creme’. She leaves behind two kids and a husband.
Faraha Faeaz
20 Jun 2025 at 22:59
Bookmark

Share on FacebookShare on WhatsAppShare on TwitterShare on WeChat
2112 Bakerybakerybakeshoprojakpopiahswiss rollnutella cookiesnutella tartscheesecakecakespastrybaker2112OGOG BugiscafeCreme de la Creme2112 SnackdessertsMediacorp Baking Show Contestant & Bakery Owner Passes Away Aged 35

Michelle Goh, a 35-year-old mother of two and owner of 2112 Bakeryplus a rojak food court stall, passed away earlier this week. The cause of her death is not known at press time.

8days.sg reached out to her husband, Ken, who told us he will get back to us at a later date on the future of their bakery. He announced her passing in a Facebook post that read: “It is with deep sorrow and heavy hearts that I share the passing of my beloved wife, Michelle Goh, who left us on 17th June 2025.”

No part of this story can be reproduced without permission from 8days.sg.

In an interview with 8days.sg last August, Michelle told us she was running a bakery beneath an HDB block in Toa Payoh, along with a rojak and popiah stall at Yew Tee Square’s Kopitiam, where her bakes were also sold. The Toa Payoh bakery was later relocated to OG Bugis in December 2024, as a fancier cafe with dine-in.

Another stall, named 2112 Snack Delight at Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre, appears to be run by Michelle’s mum. It sells prawn fritters, you tiao and curry puffs. It is currently unclear if the eateries will continue to operate.

1of1

Found comfort in baking

ADVERTISEMENT

She later joined season 2 of Mediacorp baking show, ‘Creme De La Creme’, to gain exposure for her sluggish business in Toa Payoh. She placed sixth out of eight contestants on the show. While her onscreen appearance generated some publicity for her, she revealed that her shop’s sales didn’t increase much. Last year, she told 8days.sg that her Toa Payoh bakery lost $19K and she was looking to relocate it to a better spot. She added: “I got very depressed [due to the poor business in Toa Payoh], so my husband asked me whether I wanted to just shut it down, but I didn’t want to waste my efforts. I know I can do it, I just need time”.

Talked about biz struggles on social media last Dec

ADVERTISEMENT

In a video post on 31 December 2024, Michelle told her followers on TikTok: “Having a business is a commitment, a passion. [It’s all about] making my parents proud, making my kids proud, or just myself [proud].” She went on: “The thing is, I feel good whenever I leave the shop at night – I keep smiling to myself, like, this is how far [I’ve come]. But there’s too much stress going on.” Her last few posts showed her holidaying in Japan sometime around May.

2112 Bakery’s signature bakes are its Swiss Roll ($4.50), Cheesecake ($6.50), Assorted Crispy Puffs ($2.20) and the snack that started it all — Nutella Cookies ($26).

2112 Bakery (cafe in OG Bugis) is at #02-02 OG Albert, 60 Albert St, S189969

2112 Bakery (with rojak & popiah) is at #02-222/224 Yew Tee Square Kopitiam, 624 Choa Chu Kang St, S680624.

2112 Snack Delight is at #01-42 Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre, 21 Canberra Link, S756973. More info via
website and Instagram.
expand too big at wrong time
$$$$ burning as rental spikes