• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Any Bros can explain S-League SAF FC to me?

I damn confused lah. How come a football club in the S-League that represents the Singapore Armed Forces has FTs playing in it who are neither current or former soldiers in the SAF, and who are not even S'poreans? WTF? It used to be at one time SAF FC was made up of regulars in the SAF and NSmen who were national soccer players or something like that. But now there are fucking Swedes, Croats, ex-Brits given instant Citizenships, Uruguayans, Koreans and japanese. How can this sort of line up possibly represent the SAF? I dun understand. I can understand the native born sinkies on the team all have probbaly gone thru their NS, and so fair is fair if they end up playing for SAF FC. But most troubling is how the SAF can field a team with so many FTs/non SAF personnel and claim that they represent the SAF and are ambassadors for the SAF. WTF? I suppose u can say the swedish guy and the Korean guy have served NS................juts not in this country. LOL. But still, it befuddles me.

While we are on this subject, why is there a team called Beijing in the S-League? Is there a team called Singapore in the China EPL? FAS, I have to hand it to you. WHat a bunch of fuck ups.

There are many football clubs in Europe and around the world that started out as keep fit communal clubs, but as their popularity grew, together with stature, the clubs became commercialised and bought over by investors.

In fact quite a few EPL clubs started this way.

There are many football clubs in Europe and around the world that started out as keep fit communal clubs, but as their popularity grew, together with stature, the clubs became commercialised and bought over by investors.

In fact quite a few EPL clubs started this way.

Yes, but none of them represent the country's armed forces. and in fact, SAF FC is still owned by the SAf and not bought over.

Some of the clubs in the Thai, Vietnamese and Indo super leagues are owned by the respective armies. Of course they are also not privatised.

Same business models perhaps. Uniquely ASEAN :D

Some of the clubs in the Thai, Vietnamese and Indo super leagues are owned by the respective armies. Of course they are also not privatised.

Same business models perhaps. Uniquely ASEAN :D

Yes, but aren't their players nominally soldiers serving in the army, but just attached to the army's football team. Since when are FTs playing for their army teams?

Not at all, they have foreign imports as well. Some of the key players who used to ply their trade here have gone over there, especially Vietnam. They pay alot better there, in USD (not that USD is in great demand nowadays, but still . . . )