• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tharm, why you spend $2.5 billion to retrain Sinkie Workers?

Just send all the hundreds of thousands of fake diploma, uncouth and criminally inclined FTs back, and there will be plenty of jobs left for sinkies. This solution is so simple, why you don't do it? Pay you multimillion dollar salary to shine your botak head izzit?

S$2.5b to be spent over 5 years on workers training Channel NewsAsia - Tuesday, February 23Send IM Story Print

S$2.5b to be spent over 5 years on workers training
SINGAPORE: The government is investing further in workers training, with the focus on older, low—wage employees. It has earmarked S$2.5 billion over the next five years for two new initiatives, said Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam when he presented the 2010 Budget Statement in Parliament on Monday.

First, a three—year Workfare Training Scheme will be introduced. This is aimed at giving employers bigger incentives to train their workers. The government will foot between 90 and 95 per cent of the cost of sending workers for training, via course fees and absentee payroll.

Workers will also get cash grants of up to S$400 a year when training is completed. There will also be a structured training programme for those with very low skills including those who may be out of a job.

The new initiative complements the current Workfare Income Supplement scheme, which pays workers to stay employed.

While it is targeted at older, low—wage workers, the training incentives are also open to younger Workfare recipients — those aged 35 and above.

Workfare will also be enhanced. From 2010, maximum payouts will go up by between S$150 and S$400, with more going to older workers.

For example, a 60—year—old worker will be eligible for an annual Workfare payment of up to S$2,800 — up from S$2,400 currently.

The eligibility criteria will also be expanded to include more workers. The current income ceiling is S$1,500, but from this year, those earning up to S$1,700 a month will get payouts too.

About 400,000 workers will qualify for these additional Workfare measures, which will cost the government an extra S$100 million a year.

Mr Tharman said: "This need for a comprehensive CET (Continuing Education and Training) system becomes more important as our workforce gets older. The government will help employers to invest in their workers, so they can keep building on their knowhow and maximise their value in the workplace

A school cleaner I knew went for 8 upgrading courses and was awarded with certificates. Later the school promoted this cleaner. But all the duties remained the same except that this cleaner was excused from washing the toilets. It was covered by a banga. Re-training don't help in certain sector, why put the money back to the training schools? It is better to give these workers cash.

Do bosses send their children on these subsidise courses instead of benefitting their workers? Many abuses are not looked into or not reported.

A school cleaner I knew went for 8 upgrading courses and was awarded with certificates. Later the school promoted this cleaner. But all the duties remained the same except that this cleaner was excused from washing the toilets. It was covered by a banga. Re-training don't help in certain sector, why put the money back to the training schools? It is better to give these workers cash.

Do bosses send their children on these subsidise courses instead of benefitting their workers? Many abuses are not looked into or not reported.

Then they retrain the Bangla to get lower workers levy to do what the SINkingporean's had gone retraining for...and SINkingporeans out of work...

and the Tartman annouce in budget 2020 that NTUC will retrain worker again, and Bangla gets retraining again...finally Bangla becomes SINkigporea boss, for Bangla got all the major quakifications to become a cleaning manager...and the SINkingporeans got all the certs for cleaning the table, latrines & floors..even a Diploma from the Jambam University man....:D

I remember lky was saying abt targeting the pmet groups for re-training. These pmet groups, professional, engineers, managers already very high educated. How is re-training going to help them? Engineers to go for dip in HR? Or lawyers to go for biz mgmt? Can someone enlighten me?
!&!!

The simple fact is that if the govt. don't let in all these FTs, there will be no need for $2.5billion in retraining spending. This money can be put to better use. These people who are going for retraining have been displaced by these FTs the PAP let in. All these people had jobs before an FT came in and undercut their pay by 50%. This is a very simple fact. The PAP is subsidizing businesses who are employing these cheap FTs. Even Tharm should know this.

The leeport did not specify the money is for Sinkees. In other words, the real beneficiaries could jolly well be FTrash again!

Well they did say its older workers and less educated workers and what not. I presume these to be sinkies, as new FTs supposed to have higher papr qualifications even if they are fake, and also are generally speaking younger.

The irony is, the trainers are FTs

Well they did say its older workers and less educated workers and what not. I presume these to be sinkies, as new FTs supposed to have higher papr qualifications even if they are fake, and also are generally speaking younger.

I remember lky was saying abt targeting the pmet groups for re-training. These pmet groups, professional, engineers, managers already very high educated. How is re-training going to help them? Engineers to go for dip in HR? Or lawyers to go for biz mgmt? Can someone enlighten me?
!&!!

PMET are susceptible to layoffs when industry focus changes..you want to see more PhD driving taxis instead of receiving Nobel Prizes??

why they neber send the cleaner to operate some cleaning machineries?

PMET are susceptible to layoffs when industry focus changes..you want to see more PhD driving taxis instead of receiving Nobel Prizes??

They don't care, as long as those Phd taxi drivers are not FTs.

!&!!

Aiya...send them to Anti-U-See training centres la. Can earn money from those trainees, and pretend to be good cop! Our gahmen not stoopid, just greedy hor!