• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why PRs are so aggressive to buy HDB resales

kojakbt

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>28687.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>PRs are willing to pay very high prices for HDB resales for a simple reason: PRs think in terms of recovery of their "rentals". If PRs don't buy HDB resale but, say, pay $1,800 rental every month for a HDB 3 room, that will mean $1,800 down the drain every month with no chance of recovery. If they stay for, say, 20 years, they would lose $432,000 in total!

By buying HDB resales, they would ensure at least some recoveries of their rental payouts. This simple calculation will illustrate why they are so aggressive in their buying of HDB resale flats:

Through getting a max 30-year, 90% financing loan and their willingness to make a monthly payment of $1,800, they can in fact borrow up to $400,000! This means, they can easily afford to bid up the price of a 3 room HDB resale flat up to $440,000 (the current market price of a 3 rm at a hot area in Holland or Tanjong Pagar is about $350,000 only). They will have to, of course, cough up an additional $40,000 cash to supplement the 90% loan (assuming $0 COV).

Assuming 20 years later, they decide to get out of Singapore and sell their 3 rm HDB even at a loss of 20% (most PRs actually expect to sell their resale units back to the market at the same prices they bought, in the worst case), that would mean selling at about $350,000.
After 20 years, they will have about $180,000 balance of the mortgage loan to pay (see www.freemortgagecalculator.net, using 3.5% as the mortgage loan rate). After using the sales proceed to pay the balance of the loan, they will have $170,000 left. And after minus the $40,000 initial upfront cash they paid when they bought the flat, it will give them $130,000 - the amount they consider "recovered" from their "rental". This means, instead of losing $432,000 in the "pure" rental case, they only lose $302,000 in this case which works out to be $1,260 per month rental.

Now, what if they sell their 3 rm HDB at the same price of $440,000 they bought originally? Then, after minusing the $180,000 loan balance, they will get back cash of $260,000 and after minusing the $40,000 initial cash outlay, they will retain $220,000, the "recovered" amount from their "rental". Which means, instead of losing $432,000 in the "pure" rental case, they only lose $212,000. This works out to be $880 per month rental.

And don't forget, now that they own the HDB resale unit, they can also rent out their rooms to get further income, effectively making their stay here in Singapore free!
Hence, as you can see, the PRs have done their calculations and they have no qualms in bidding up the prices of HDB resales. No matter how, this is better than them renting the units. It's no wonder that nowadays, property agents love foreigners. And of course, our PAP also loves them. As long as PAP continues to give out PRs to foreigners like toilet papers, you will continue to see more aggressive bidding up of HDB resale prices!
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

but the smart ones know once u buy ..
u need to pay town council,tv licence , property tax ..

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>28687.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>PRs are willing to pay very high prices for HDB resales for a simple reason: PRs think in terms of recovery of their "rentals". If PRs don't buy HDB resale but, say, pay $1,800 rental every month for a HDB 3 room, that will mean $1,800 down the drain every month with no chance of recovery. If they stay for, say, 20 years, they would lose $432,000 in total!

By buying HDB resales, they would ensure at least some recoveries of their rental payouts. This simple calculation will illustrate why they are so aggressive in their buying of HDB resale flats:

Through getting a max 30-year, 90% financing loan and their willingness to make a monthly payment of $1,800, they can in fact borrow up to $400,000! This means, they can easily afford to bid up the price of a 3 room HDB resale flat up to $440,000 (the current market price of a 3 rm at a hot area in Holland or Tanjong Pagar is about $350,000 only). They will have to, of course, cough up an additional $40,000 cash to supplement the 90% loan (assuming $0 COV).

Assuming 20 years later, they decide to get out of Singapore and sell their 3 rm HDB even at a loss of 20% (most PRs actually expect to sell their resale units back to the market at the same prices they bought, in the worst case), that would mean selling at about $350,000.
After 20 years, they will have about $180,000 balance of the mortgage loan to pay (see www.freemortgagecalculator.net, using 3.5% as the mortgage loan rate). After using the sales proceed to pay the balance of the loan, they will have $170,000 left. And after minus the $40,000 initial upfront cash they paid when they bought the flat, it will give them $130,000 - the amount they consider "recovered" from their "rental". This means, instead of losing $432,000 in the "pure" rental case, they only lose $302,000 in this case which works out to be $1,260 per month rental.

Now, what if they sell their 3 rm HDB at the same price of $440,000 they bought originally? Then, after minusing the $180,000 loan balance, they will get back cash of $260,000 and after minusing the $40,000 initial cash outlay, they will retain $220,000, the "recovered" amount from their "rental". Which means, instead of losing $432,000 in the "pure" rental case, they only lose $212,000. This works out to be $880 per month rental.

And don't forget, now that they own the HDB resale unit, they can also rent out their rooms to get further income, effectively making their stay here in Singapore free!
Hence, as you can see, the PRs have done their calculations and they have no qualms in bidding up the prices of HDB resales. No matter how, this is better than them renting the units. It's no wonder that nowadays, property agents love foreigners. And of course, our PAP also loves them. As long as PAP continues to give out PRs to foreigners like toilet papers, you will continue to see more aggressive bidding up of HDB resale prices!
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

LOL, your thread is a good laugh for me. What fucked up logic! Uniquely S'pore. If the typical sinkie think like you, no wonder they keep voting in the PAP.

You left out a few minor details:-

1) Why would an FT PR having a price advantage in wages over his sinkie counterpart give up this advantage by buying a HDB flat and burdening himself with the large HDB mortgage debt? These people are having 8 or more individuals crammed into a HDB flat rental, each pay a couple of hundred dollars a month, and than send the rest of their wages back to China or India, whereever it is. On S$1000 a month, their family live like kings in those countries.

2) U think they will stay 20 years or more? Are u kidding, do you think these buggers want their sons to do NS? The PAP is giving PR out like candy. Many of them are getting PR are not married and to expect them to stay in Sinkieland and raise a family under such high cost living environment is nuts. Don't forget that you still have to satisfy the family nucleus critieria.

These new breed of PRs are different. They have no intention of making sinkie land a permanent home, unlike PRs from 40years, 30 years ago. They are here just to milk the system, and than fuck off. HDB records indicate that only a very small percentage of PR households in their flats. The prices of HDB flat going up is conveniently blamed on the PRs, in fact, its the HDB that has caused it, building as little as 2700 new flats just a few years ago when all the influx was coming in.

PR damn smart

They buy resale, live in one room, rent out other rooms, subdivide common room

One 4-room flat rent out 10 FTs even though HDB say only 6 maximum

They work shift, so when HDB come inspect, always pass

Anyway lancheow HDB hardly inspect, only after repeated complaints

Rent out 10 workers, landlord no need work, just collect rent

But headache for neighbours because dirty, smelly, cigarette smoke, noise, all

Chow cheebye HDB don't fuck care

PR damn smart

Spot on!!

Was visiting an old buddy to bai nian yesterday in his new 40-storey SERS flat at Toa Payoh Central directly opposite HDB HUB. His immediate neighbour had rented out the entire 5-room unit to a PRC couple who then subdivided the flat and rented out to their countrymen. I took a peep into the flat and that unit looked like a lodging house with double decker beds even lining the hall. My buddy told me there were more than 20 "residents" staying there.

1) Why would an FT PR having a price advantage in wages over his sinkie counterpart give up this advantage by buying a HDB flat and burdening himself with the large HDB mortgage debt? These people are having 8 or more individuals crammed into a HDB flat rental, each pay a couple of hundred dollars a month, and than send the rest of their wages back to China or India, whereever it is. On S$1000 a month, their family live like kings in those countries.

Aiyah, obviously we are talking about the white collar workers here on EP lah, not those cheap FTs. Those white collar workers (e.g. Indian IT fellas, banking execs etc) are here with their families. They typically earned $5-6K or even more. They don't have to crammed like those cheap FTs lah.

Just do a google search and you can see many PRs are putting ads to buy HDBs... many Indian PRs are looking for HDBs in Jurong West. Price over there is fast rising.

2) U think they will stay 20 years or more? Are u kidding, do you think these buggers want their sons to do NS? The PAP is giving PR out like candy. Many of them are getting PR are not married and to expect them to stay in Sinkieland and raise a family under such high cost living environment is nuts. Don't forget that you still have to satisfy the family nucleus critieria.

ok lah, even if you shrink it to 10-15 years, the point is this, it is still better for them to buy HDBs and sell it later than to rent it all the way.

PR singles? Not buying HDB resales? If you got friend who is a property agent, go ask them lah... who are the ones buying HDB resales now?

These new breed of PRs are different. They have no intention of making sinkie land a permanent home, unlike PRs from 40years, 30 years ago. They are here just to milk the system, and than fuck off. HDB records indicate that only a very small percentage of PR households in their flats. The prices of HDB flat going up is conveniently blamed on the PRs, in fact, its the HDB that has caused it, building as little as 2700 new flats just a few years ago when all the influx was coming in.

I never said the new PRs want to stay in Singapore permanently. Those who got a family here and want to stay in a decent house for a period of time, buying HDBs is still better than renting.

Your info about small % of PRs involved in resales transactions is wrong. HDB has just revealed that 20% of the overall HDB resale transactions are done by PRs... but that is from the time of liberalization till now. HDB dares not publish the data of % of PR transaction of last couple of years. But if you friends who are property agents, they will tell you that in the last couple of years, they have the impression that HDB resale transactions done by PRs are at least 50%!

Possibly Red Dot is the only farking country in the world that allows PRs to buy Public Housing.In other countries,PRs are only allowed to buy private properties BUT NOT PUBLIC HOUSING which are built :Donly for the citizens.

PR damn smart

EXACTLY! these PRs have done their calculations. By buying the HDB resale, they can rent out somemore to make even more money. One agent friend told me that one of his PR clients bought a 3 rm HDB, family of husband, wife and kid stay in 1 room. Another room rent out to 4 FTs collecting $200 each. The utility room rent out to 1 FT collecting $400. Total collection is $1200. wife not working. Husband work in IT with $4-5K salary.

Spot on!!

Was visiting an old buddy to bai nian yesterday in his new 40-storey SERS flat at Toa Payoh Central directly opposite HDB HUB. His immediate neighbour had rented out the entire 5-room unit to a PRC couple who then subdivided the flat and rented out to their countrymen. I took a peep into the flat and that unit looked like a lodging house with double decker beds even lining the hall. My buddy told me there were more than 20 "residents" staying there.

Bro, just call HDB and complained lah!

Possibly Red Dot is the only farking country in the world that allows PRs to buy Public Housing.In other countries,PRs are only allowed to buy private properties BUT NOT PUBLIC HOUSING which are built :Donly for the citizens.

Cause in this country, PAP treats PRs as citizens too... some more an ever higher class one...

PR damn smart

denture drop out issit

didn't you also rent out your room

nabei

ok lah, even if you shrink it to 10-15 years, the point is this, it is still better for them to buy HDBs and sell it later than to rent it all the way.

using the numbers in your first post
cost of hdb $350k
mortgage rate 3.5%
= opportunity cost ie interest cost $12250 = $1021 per month

if can get $1200 rental (mentioned in your other post), the family are staying in a room for free, no matter 10 years or 30 years..:D

using the numbers in your first post
cost of hdb $350k
mortgage rate 3.5%
= opportunity cost ie interest cost $12250 = $1021 per month

if can get $1200 rental (mentioned in your other post), the family are staying in a room for free, no matter 10 years or 30 years..:D

Even, considering without renting out to make that side income, it also makes a lot of sense during the last couple of years when capital appreciating is the order of the day and our government is loud hailing about bring more FT.

It becomes foolish for a PR to rent instead of buying a HDB Flat.

:rolleyes: