• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Temasek 101: What PAP does not want you to know.

This could be a long thread, but I want to focus on mainly just this, and not on the well documented Temasek losses, etc.

Temasek Bloated bureaucracy - What many people fail to understand is that Temasek is a fund manager incorporated as a Pte Ltd. In this sense, they are similar many other mutual fund companies around the world. They build a portfolio of companies for their investor, which in this case is MOF. And they try to earn them a return.

The overhead and fixed costs at Temasek are outrageous. In its 2009 financial statements and balance sheets, Temasek had $140.953 billion in assets. This was down from $169.844 billion in 2008. However, total expenses were $31.170 billion dollars or a whopping 22.11% of assets. (% of assets is usually how funds are judged). Why was It was only $25.7 billion in 2008, a year in which Temasek's net profit was almost 3 times that of 2009!! So, how is it that in a year when net profit was 3 times less than in 2008, it incurred 21.28% higher expenses!!

The expenses for 2009 are broken down as follows:

Selling and Distribution $5.042 billion or 3.57% of assets
Administrative $8.068 billion or 5.72% of assets
Finance charges $2.727 billion or 1.93% of assets
Other operating expenses $15.333 billion or 10.88% of assets

The thing that really jumped out to me was the administrative expenses. This is expenses for salaries, rents, etc. How can a staff of only 350 incur $8 billion in admin expenses! Do they have their own private jets, gold water faucets, etc.

Also, the selling and distribution expense is incredibly high too. In the US, mutual funds are restricted to just 0.75% for distribution fees, and most expense ratio in international funds are around 1%. Generally speaking, management fees in total can fluctuate depending on the type of fund. if a fund actively buys and sell, and we are talking hundreds, maybe thousands of stocks a year, the MER (Management expense ratio) can be high. This is not the case for Temasek. Worldwide, mutual funds are able to charge a 1% fee and this fee pays for its admin costs, salaries, etc. and still affords them a profit. In Temasek`s case, this is 22.11%. An astounding number. The taxpayer has no problem 22% of assets as an expense if Temasek management produced a say 150% increase in assets. But this is a year when Temasek lost $40 billion. It is very hard to justify.

The fact is that Temasek is out of control. There is no reign or oversight on its expenses. the truth of the matter is the PAP would have been better off parking S`pores money with 50 of the best fund managers in the world. Not only would they not have lost billions on Shincorp, Merrill Lynch, barclays, etc., their management expenses would have been much lower than what Temasek is charging the public. I am very interested in the salary component of Temasek`s expenses but I am sure it will not be revealed. In addition, if S`pore has its money with 50 top funds, the lowest 20% of performing fund managers can be culled every year, and replace with other fund managers. Well, when was the last time any underperforming personnel was culled at Temasek.

Its obvious that Temasek is a huge golden feeding trough for the PAP elite, a trough that the BOD is not overseeing, and may even be participating in. I am sure they make NKF look like peanuts. Temasek should be dismantled and the funds parked with the best reputable fund managers around the world. The taxpayer does not need a shiny new building, and $8 billion a year in admin costs. Politically, the PAP should do that. Its obvious the antiquated and unprofessional way that Temasek is run reflects badly on them when such large sums of money are lost. At least if the money was with a fund manager, and he lost that much, the PAP can deflect the blame to the fund manager. But money is power, and the PAP wants to hold all the money.

Anyway, just my 2 cents on something that I don`t think the public is too aware off.

Dear PAP

Whilst a detailed breakdown of Temasek's own expenses would be enlightening. The high numbers u indicated are a result of consolidated group performance, and consolidated group accounting in which Temasek has a share.

Locke

Would be helpful if you could put a link to your sources, e.g- Annual Report

Where do you think the money to travel round the world, first class accomo, come from! and all the perks and bonuses to the Leegime!

In short, you call this

Leegalized Corruption

Dear PAP

Whilst a detailed breakdown of Temasek's own expenses would be enlightening. The high numbers u indicated are a result of consolidated group performance, and consolidated group accounting in which Temasek has a share.

Locke

Locke, once again, you are barking up the wrong tree. Unfortunately, at this point, I do not have access to detailed breakdown of Temasek's expenses. I for one would sure like to know what the executive salaries are, and what bonuses they earn. But we are not privy to that. If any bros know, please share.

With regards to the consolidated group accounting, yes, this is probably the group financials. But unless Temasek's core business represents only a small part of the group, than these numbers are fairly accurate. The other group business like the foundation and trust and what not do not constitute a meaningful enough portion to change the numbers significantly.

Where do you think the money to travel round the world, first class accomo, come from! and all the perks and bonuses to the Leegime!

Yes, this is very true. Of course before they make such big investments like Merrill Lynch, they must travel to New York to "investigate" the company, where they will travel first class, live in 5 star hotels, eat in 5 star restuarants, etc. definitely, it can add up, but still $8 billion is a lot, I would say.

In short, you call this

Leegalized Corruption

Hahaha, makapaa, you want to hear legalized corruption. Look at Lee and Lee and HDB conveyancing. just imagine. Over the years, HDV has build 1 million flats. Of which say 800,000 were for sale and the rest rental. At an inflation adjusted cost of $1000 per flat, that means on new flats alone, $800 million in conveyancing fees were collected by all the law firms in S`pore. We know that Lee and Lee had almost sole exclusivity for the first 25 years or so, and lets say they took 80% of this market. Their fees would have been$640 million over the years, and that is for work that a junior lawyer does. Now you add in all the resale HDB flats that Lee and Lee have done, and you can see they have raked in probably close to $1 billion over the years just from the HDB. In most countries, if the PM`s wife was the senior partner of a law firm that was doing so much conveyancing it would be conflict of interest at he very least.

Kangaroos...Hop! Hop! Above board!.....Hop! Hop! Above board! Disagree? You will be made to put your money for what came out of your mouth.

Dear PAP

The expenses as u stated are correct and high because under group consolidated accounting rules, If Temasek owns 50% or 40% of company X or Company Y , then the expenses of X and Y are apportioned accordingly to the holding company which is Temasek.

Whilst I am all for greater transparency and calculation of Temasek's direct expenses I am afraid your initial assumptions are wrong.

Locke

Dear PAP

The expenses as u stated are correct and high because under group consolidated accounting rules, If Temasek owns 50% or 40% of company X or Company Y , then the expenses of X and Y are apportioned accordingly to the holding company which is Temasek.

Whilst I am all for greater transparency and calculation of Temasek's direct expenses I am afraid your initial assumptions are wrong.

Locke

Sinkie loser lock,

Once again u r here with ur " you are wrong here, you are wrong there", while you didn't provide anything useful or beneficial and at the same time trying to act.educated and know all.

R u trying to tell others that you possess such sinkie behavior? Dun be jealous of papsmear's wisdom. His wisdom is developed from not allowing such sinkie behavior into him.

Dear PAP

Locke

Yes, but also the profits and revenues of these companies are also apportioned accordingly. Either way you cut it, they suck. According to you than, Temasek invests in companies high in expenses, and low in profit. So, they are incompetent. I am saying not only are they incompetent, they are also paying themselves too much.

Sinkie loser lock,

Once again u r here with ur " you are wrong here, you are wrong there", while you didn't provide anything useful or beneficial and at the same time trying to act.educated and know all.

R u trying to tell others that you possess such sinkie behavior? Dun be jealous of papsmear's wisdom. His wisdom is developed from not allowing such sinkie behavior into him.

I am waiting for Lock to post one revelation here, that makes every one say, thats right, hor. I am not aware of any such posts if his. this clown just has an axe to grind with me. I welcome it. he looks like a retard when he replies to my posts.

More informative would be the segmental reports that show the financial performance of the various sectors and the company (HQ).

The consolidate financial statements of the group will not tell you very much, but helps the user to select areas to drill down. Also it must be read together with the disclosures. The financial statements and disclosures form the complete financial report.

If it is consolidated then the whole result of the individual companies in the group are summed. Have to look at minority interest and share of profit. Only associates are apportioned.

Just my 2c.

I am waiting for Lock to post one revelation here, that makes every one say, thats right, hor. I am not aware of any such posts if his. this clown just has an axe to grind with me. I welcome it. he looks like a retard when he replies to my posts.
This sinkie ass has some serious ego problem.

If it is consolidated then the whole result of the individual companies in the group are summed. Have to look at minority interest and share of profit. Only associates are apportioned.
Just my 2c.

This is more than 2c... :D