• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

End of Cheap Smokes - Ciggies to get new stamp

sunny302

Another innovation to smoke out duty unpaid ciggs :eek:

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Sep 10, 2008
Ciggies to get new stamp

cig.jpg

When the rule comes into effect, all duty-paid cigarettes sold in Singapore will be required to be marked with the letters 'SDPC' (pictured). Selling cigarettes without the letters will be illegal. -- PHOTO: SINGAPORE CUSTOMS

FROM Jan 1 2009, all duty-paid cigarettes sold in Singapore will need to be marked with the letters 'SDPC', which stands for Singapore Duty-Paid Cigarettes.
Once this new ruling kicks off, all unmarked cigarettes sold here would be deemed illegal.

This means that anyone caught selling, buying, or having in possession cigarettes without the SDPC marking would be committing an offence under the Customs and GST Acts.

'The availability of cheap duty-unpaid cigarettes will hamper our national effort to discourage to discourage smoking', said Mr Fong Yong Kian, Director-General of Customs.

'The marking will serve as deterrence against the peddling and buying of contrabrand cigarettes and help our officers in the enforcement efforts,' he added.

Under the Customs and GST Acts, smoking and possession of duty-unpaid cigarettes is an offence. For every packet of duty-unpaid cigarettes, the offender can be fined $500.

Members of the public can visit the Singapore Customs website for more information.

how difficult and expensive is it for counterfeit/unpaid taxes cigarettes to print that word??:confused:

not very ex or diff i suppose.. so in no time, all spore cigarettes, legal or illegal will have that stamp..:biggrin:

zack123

Give up smoking la. Dun burn away your money. 1 day $11.60....2 weeks you can get 1 gd screw already.

If you dont smoke, your health better, look better then better still get free screw. Then can use money to impress the date

sunny302

not very ex or diff i suppose.. so in no time, all spore cigarettes, legal or illegal will have that stamp..:biggrin:

U think they have not thought about that meh:(:....Market talk is that the stamp mark has "special" ink :eek:

sunny302

Give up smoking la. Dun burn away your money. 1 day $11.60....2 weeks you can get 1 gd screw already.

If you dont smoke, your health better, look better then better still get free screw. Then can use money to impress the date

Good advice :biggrin:....But u can be sure that diehards will be diehards unless ciggs are priced out of reach :eek:

Microsoft

U think they have not thought about that meh:(:....Market talk is that the stamp mark has "special" ink :eek:

N how much the "spessir" ink gonna cost?? On 1 hand they approve the sales of ciggy, jack up the price, make super profit, get u addicted then label u as dirt.

Custom fail badly in controlling ciggy smuggling so once again cum out with brilliant idea as such... They make smoker pay for their incompetence... Watch it PAP... Ur downfall may not b as far as u tot... :cool:

sunny302

Relax lah bro!!!:smile:......Have learned to live with this bloody system for many2 years liao :mad:

Microsoft

Relax lah bro!!!:smile:......Have learned to live with this bloody system for many2 years liao :mad:

Got 2 do something 2 4get the misery... I find kio kway n play games most effective...:biggrin::biggrin: Of course toking cok oso helps...:p:p

sunny302

why the gov so desperate for hung kee tax money?

What they cannot tahan is the loss of unpaid tax for all those ciggs that are smuggled across from our neighbours :p...First they hit smugglers and when it does not have the desired effect...they turn their attention to buyers :mad:

dc7176

i was stop twice by plain cloth custom officer...

but i m smokin duty paid cigs!! so no prob!!

caught at checkpoints for not declarin cigs is $200 per pack!

caught inland is $500 per pack!!

govt really earning a lot thru the fines!!