Is voting compulsory for HDB HIP ?

NanoRay

If I do not want the HIP do I need to even appear at the polling station to vote against ? Just as in GE ?

Or I can simply bochap, and I would be considered as having voted against ?

Yes, you have to vote.

And you will get the chance to witness the 'uniquely Sinkie' style of 'democracy' in action. They will cajole, threaten, 'bribe' and gaslight the dissenters.

Can't blame them, plenty of money at stake. Each upgrading project = huat big time for the town council and their cronies. Remember, you're still paying for it, one way or another. :biggrin:

Remember to take photos and videos of your pre-renovated kitchen and bathroom.

And enjoy the experience of sharing a communal shower/toilet with your block's neighbours. It's usually located at or near the void deck. :wink:

In all their notices and brochures, there is nothing that says voting is compulsory or the penalty for not voting.

If I do not want the HIP do I need to even appear at the polling station to vote against ? Just as in GE ?

Or I can simply bochap, and I would be considered as having voted against ?
You can bochap take it as void vote but they will still come to your unit to perform water test. If the water test fail i.e water found to leak to your below neighbour it will become mandatory for hip

You can still choose not to go for hip but you will need to engage own contractor to leepair the floor which will cost many x more than the hip cost so noone would take this option.

The HIP will be imposed if 75% sheep decide to do so. The 25% will have to lan lan siao siao follow. No issue of having to engage your own contractor.

But that is not my question. My question is I don't want to even go to the polling station. In all the paperwork sent to me, there is nothing to say that voting is mandatory and the penalty if you fail to turn up.

The HIP will be imposed if 75% sheep decide to do so. The 25% will have to lan lan siao siao follow. No issue of having to engage your own contractor.

But that is not my question. My question is I don't want to even go to the polling station. In all the paperwork sent to me, there is nothing to say that voting is mandatory and the penalty if you fail to turn up.
Voting is not compulsorlee. Anyway my uncle think so long 50 to 60% agreed to it it will proceed as peasants cannot leelee tell the 75%. Once is a go ahead and you voted not to proceed or never turn up for the vote, you still will need to do the water test which is mandatory.