Chitchat Sinkie Auntie Upgraded Herself at 60+ Years old Up for New Digital Jobs!

Pinkieslut

Jobseekers’ Diaries: I couldn’t keep up with tech changes, so I quit my job at 62 to upgrade myself​

Jobseekers’ Diaries: I couldn’t keep up with tech changes, so I quit my job at 62 to upgrade myself
Catherine Pak
Quantity surveyor Catherine Pak.
CATHERINE PAK
Published February 1, 2022
Updated February 1, 2022
WhatsAppTelegramFacebookTwitterEmailLinkedIn
As jobs are a top concern for Singaporeans in the Covid-19 crisis, TODAY’s Voices section is publishing first-hand accounts from jobseekers in which they reflect on their experiences and what keeps them going.
In this instalment of Jobseekers’ Diaries, quantity surveyor Catherine Pak, a veteran of the built environment sector, recounts her struggles with the pace of digital transformation in her previous workplace. At age 62, she took a leap of faith and quit her job to upgrade herself, and returned to the workforce armed with the necessary digital know-how.

ADVERTISEMENT​

Based on Chinese astrology, a person completes a life cycle at age 60 and a new cycle begins at 61.
Three years into this new life, I was blessed with a new job opportunity that I never thought would come.
I have been working in the built environment sector for more than 40 years, and was a senior quantity surveyor doing project contract administration for more than 10 years in my last job.
I consider myself to be diligent and I am also unafraid of challenges.

READ ALSO​

Jobseekers’ Diaries: I was retrenched but going back to school in my 50s helped me get a new job

I was aware that my O Level qualification was insufficient and had upskilled myself many times while working, including earning a nine-month specialist diploma in building cost management in 2019.

ADVERTISEMENT​

But I found myself struggling to keep up with the rapid advancement of technology.
I heard about digitalisation wherever I went.
My boss told me about plans to transform the built environment sector, which emphasised digital skills.
My younger colleagues seemed comfortable, yet I was like a fish out of water. Worse still, I was expected to be their mentor.
In June 2020, I took a leap of faith, quit my job and plunged myself into the deep end to gain the digital skills needed to stay relevant.

READ ALSO​

Jobseekers' Diaries: I was laid off twice in 8 months but landed a job through networking, humility

ADVERTISEMENT​

It was a decision that took lots of courage. I was already 62 and could retire.
Many people asked why I wouldn’t just rest or look for an easier job.
But I am not one to give up. My family, especially my daughter, was supportive and encouraged me to pursue my goal.
From June to September 2020, I went through brochures on courses related to building information modelling and digitalisation.
And in October 2020, I enrolled in BCA Academy’s SGUnited Skills conversion diploma in integrated digital delivery (built environment). It had all the elements I needed in one programme.

ADVERTISEMENT​

The course lasted 10 months and cost about S$800, which could be offset further with SkillsFuture Credits.

READ ALSO​

Jobseekers’ Diaries: My months-long job search has been futile so far, but I’ll never give up

The building information modelling skills I learnt gave me a good foundation in how work processes were being digitalised in the sector.
I was exposed to programming and had a much better understanding of how costing software works.
I am no longer just taking the software’s data at face value. I can now analyse and add value to a project.
More important, I no longer have to be envious of others as I am more confident about using such software programmes on my own.
The course required me to do an internship. I sent off a few applications and a multinational infrastructure construction firm called me in quickly.
Perhaps they saw my willingness to transform through the course.
I started not as an intern but as a full-time quantity surveyor under probation in March 2021, worked hard, and was made a full-time employee because of good performance during the probationary period.
I am writing this article to encourage those at the career crossroads.
Change is never easy. Take charge of your career and take that first step.
ABOUT THE WRITER:
Ms Catherine Pak, 63, has been working in the built environment sector for more than 40 years. Overwhelmed with the pace of digital transformation at her workplace, she resigned from her previous job as a senior quantity surveyor and enrolled in a course to build her skills in integrated digital delivery. She is now a quantity surveyor at a multinational infrastructure construction company.

All industries are in web based IT. Go learn Web based IT software. Once you know one the rest of software the same.

1. OOP... object oriented programing.
2. Functions and variables.
3. Condition... if and else
4. Loop...
That's basics all you need to learn...

Udemy.com go take IT course from this site. Cheap but powerful.

How to get cheap $13-$30 course.
1. Subscribe.
2. They will send email promotion course for $20 which cause $100+ usually... this is 90% discount.

Tips:

1. Take Python programming.... hot course....
2. Take JS.... the mother of software course for Web site development ... from there any other programing come easy.

Learn html5.... easy to learn for Web development.

Why html5? Every Web pages you see is a html5 page. And each line of texts you put in a tag code <p></p>.... that's it.

Why JS? It all started in year 2002 after dotcom crash. JS is about performance that is when you click a button it perform a task.

The problem with learning programing is you must have good problem solving skills, solving man-made mistakes are hard. And solving logical errors are harder... will make you hate writing codes and quit....

Sometimes it takes myself 1 week to solve my logical error codes.... how to trace back your mistakes is hard. But if you make a mistake fuck the wrong hole of your chiobu and when she scream you know you poke her ass instead, that's easy. But logical error codes pass through and don't yell back....

Go to udemy.com can take a lot of courses...

All industries are in web based IT. Go learn Web based IT software. Once you know one the rest of software the same.

4. Loop...

1. Subscribe.
2. They will send email promotion course for $20 which cause $100+ usually... this is 90% discount.

Tips:

2. Take JS.... the mother of software course for Web site development ... from there any other programing come easy.

Why html5? Every Web pages you see is a html5 page. And each line of texts you put in a tag code <p></p>.... that's it.

Why JS? It all started in year 2002 after dotcom crash. JS is about performance that is when you click a button it perform a task.

The problem with learning programing is you must have good problem solving skills, solving man-made mistakes are hard. And solving logical errors are harder... will make you hate writing codes and quit....

Sometimes it takes myself 1 week to solve my logical error codes.... how to trace back your mistakes is hard. But if you make a mistake fuck the wrong hole of your chiobu and when she scream you know you poke her ass instead, that's easy. But logical error codes pass through and don't yell back....

My CSS has gone to hell.

4. Loop...

1. Subscribe.

Tips:

My uncle think auntie has problem even doing data entry. The course she talking about likelee is just some data entry into a software for the construction industry. No pun intended becas My uncle orfit got such worker and dare to take up a IT job being IT illiterate after working in a IT leelated job for 45 years (soon par) aka jiak liao bee + tam chia ter nao + xia suay

I dunno why quantity surveyor needs to upgrade herself in IT? Looks more like she does not know how to use excel.

Correct lah KNN my uncle orfid auntie doesn't know how to use a pc but can survive in a IT environment for 45 years (soon par)

How to survive in a orfid job without any basic computer knowledge ?
Answer is be verlee on the ball for the job I.e never late seldom mc just leeport to work and show yourself is a human being even when you are a sotong.

In June 2020, I took a leap of faith, quit my job and plunged myself into the deep end to gain the digital skills needed to stay relevant.
lying. Either been leetrenched or finallee came a boss like my uncle style booted her out

You don't need to know, all you need to know where is the camel cunt... just fuck it...

This type of worker like to say my daughter say my son say etc whenever being challenged and facing difficulty with work so my uncle will say your daughter working or you working now

My uncle think auntie has problem even doing data entry. The course she talking about likelee is just some data entry into a software for the construction industry. No pun intended becas My uncle orfit got such worker and dare to take up a IT job being IT illiterate after working in a IT leelated job for 45 years (soon par) aka jiak liao bee + tam chia ter nao + xia suay
I was a QS and use QS software. Excel is obsolete. Accuracy and speed is important win contract.

Thanks to the PAP, even old farts can upgrade themselves at 60 years old and keep their job skills relevant. Where else can you find such a caring government like the PAP?

Yes this certainly shows just how good the PAP is.

There are many many IT jobs. The highly paid ones dont need to type a line of code. Study customer process and find a way for computers to do it. No more manual work.

Once this is done they get coders to do the work.

My uncle think pap better send them continuouslee for skills upgrading while still getting celery rather than letting them come back orfid and cause inconvenience to other people.

Loong administration is great... Biden is shit.. authoritarian state good... democracy no good run by wicked lawyers... lawyercarzy...

She can instantly get a new digital job by creating an Onlyfans account. There's a good demand for content made by mature ladies.