I sincerely propose that Singapore stop sending folks to compete at the olympics, because frankly we embarrass ourselves.

You're right... Another one just finished last in diving n in the heats as well !
What's wrong with our sportsmen / women?

Fat hopes, no olympics means no free trips for many people leh

The default top-level competition should be the SEA Games
The better ones should be allowed to take part in the Asian Games.
Only the good ones can go to the Commonwealth Games.
And, once in 50 years, there will be an exceptional one that deserves to go to the Olympic Games. Like Joseph Schooling in 2016 Olympics.

For those who want to take part "to gain experience", the Asian and Commonwealth Games offers good enough exposure. Wait until the Sinkie athletes can match the British, Australians, Canadians, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, athletes then we can talk about gaining experience in the Olympic Games.

Embarrass ourselves ? No lah,They have face as thick as elephant skin.

Nothing to be embarrassed about. Just do your best and stop hyping up the athletes, giving needless pressure.

Too many Sinkies want immediate results and ignore the journey.

By the way, removing those SAF clowns will do wonders for the proper development of sports.

We should just focus on sports our south east Asian genetics can have an edge in. Like badminton or bowling.

To our Sinkies at the Olympics.
Accept that you are not ready for the world stage. Stick to national competitions. Do not blame your horse, or you miss your mothers’ cooking or weather was just too hot or your injury. Cannot swim don’t say your lumpar are too heavy. I know you all feel the experience was all worth it. I too will say the same thing if someone is willing to pay for my vacation.

In sports just like in life, there will always be winners and losers. There's a role for everyone. If sinkies don't participate, then who will be the losers?

Can qualify for Olympics already very good liao.

Send local born singaporean ok
But send China born table tennis or Malaysian badminton is an insult