Chitchat Employers warned for illegally deploying maids could be fined

bobby

Employers warned for illegally deploying maids could be fined

The Ministry of Manpower (MOM) is reviewing its guidelines to see if employers who have received warnings for illegally deploying their maids to work at a different place should get a fine instead, Minister of State for Manpower Gan Siow Huang said yesterday.

"This is so employers will take their responsibility towards their foreign domestic workers (FDWs) seriously," she said in her reply to Mr Louis Ng (Nee Soon GRC) in Parliament.

MAXIMUM PENALTY

The ministry, however, has no plans to review the maximum penalty for the illegal deployment of FDWs, she said, adding that the number of such cases has remained relatively stable in the past few years.

The issue of illegal deployment of FDWs came under the spotlight after Indonesian Parti Liyani, a domestic worker employed by Changi Airport Group's former chairman Liew Mun Leong and his family, was acquitted last month of stealing from them.

Ms Parti had been told by Mr Liew's wife, Madam Ng Lai Peng, to help at the home of her son Karl. She said she also cleaned his office once a week for a year.

The ministry said it had consulted the Attorney-General's Chambers and, in May 2018, issued a caution to Madam Ng and an advisory notice to Mr Karl Liew.

The review of the penalty framework for employers who illegally deploy their FDWs was announced on Oct 5 by Ms Gan in Parliament.

Currently, the fine for employers who illegally deploy their FDWs is up to $10,000. - THE STRAITS TIMES

WTF...what's the point of issuing warnings if you breach the law ?

Will motorists also get "warning" if they are caught speeding ?

KNN my uncle think this issue will never be leesolve becas
1. The maid will agree themselves when employer leequest KNN then later kpkb when they unhappy KNN
2. Mom issue warning and at most fine instead of no warning and straight to changi KNN

This type of simple straightforward rule also talk until sunrise KNN leelee hopeless KNN

It would be more effective if MOM fines the maids instead...and also fine the other household that uses them.

Some maids do get paid extra for doing other households.

KNN my uncle think this issue will never be leesolve becas
1. The maid will agree themselves when employer leequest KNN then later kpkb when they unhappy KNN
2. Mom issue warning and at most fine instead of no warning and straight to changi KNN

This type of simple straightforward rule also talk until sunrise KNN leelee hopeless KNN
Becas of this simple thing mom didn't want to enforce my uncle only know the real leeson is becas mom say if no offense then I worry KNN leaving some grey areas is good KNN can collect fine don't waste KNN

This is a signal that they are not going to do anything about LML.

Employers warned for illegally deploying maids could be fined
KNN if my uncle is present as oppie he will say lan jiao hor Lee kum KNN could be fine smlj KNN then he will proceed to ask can employer redeploy maid to another location KNN the answer already stated could be fine so my uncle leepeat can employer redeploy maid to another location KNN then leepeat KNN

The more prudent things is , to allow the maids to take other deployment and part time jobs for extra bucks ...in that way all would be happy , and the prettier lot can always do party time in Geylang , that would keep the Banglas going for a free ride

capitalist society should work this way only communist will restrict free enterprises

The more prudent things is , to allow the maids to take other deployment and part time jobs for extra bucks ...in that way all would be happy , and the prettier lot can always do party time in Geylang , that would keep the Banglas going for a free ride

capitalist society should work this way only communist will restrict free enterprises
KNN my uncle think the problem with this prudent leecomendation is the employer will want to fully utilise the actual pay with the actual work location KNN this will mean the employer will only offer a slight extra $ for the extra work leesulting with the same outcome i.e maid accepting it and later unhappy and comprain KNN

This is the problem with Sinkie mentality , always assume matters negatively and prempt it with sledgehammer , Yes ! Things may turn out worse , but what if it turns out better for both the party ? That’s how the principle of private enterprise works ...you let the market force decide

meaning in such a scenario where maids allowed to work outside their contact ...it could very well be the norm later because The Maid could eventually turn out to a be a service provider instead of a contractual worker and that a maid time is better used and eventually reducing the quantity and increasing the quality , not to mention that maids in Sinkie will earn at least 1 k per month and attracting a better qualified cohorts of maids force

This is the problem with Sinkie mentality , always assume matters negatively and prempt it with sledgehammer , Yes ! Things may turn out worse , but what if it turns out better for both the party ? That’s how the principle of private enterprise works ...you let the market force decide

meaning in such a scenario where maids allowed to work outside their contact ...it could very well be the norm later because The Maid could eventually turn out to a be a service provider instead of a contractual worker and that a maid time is better used and eventually reducing the quantity and increasing the quality , not to mention that maids in Sinkie will earn at least 1 k per month and attracting a better qualified cohorts of maids force
KNN my uncle think no choice lo this is how the domestic worker market works in sg KNN actually many poor sinkies are squeezing themselves and squeezing govt for financial assistance to be able to afford a maid due to aging population so this model of your scenario will not work in sg KNN

He is very loaded and what the use of fine pay $$$
SONGAPORE is a joke.
What he has done is more evil then asking maid to work multiple location.

KNN my uncle think no choice lo this is how the domestic worker market works in sg KNN actually many poor sinkies are squeezing themselves and squeezing govt for financial assistance to be able to afford a maid due to aging population so this model of your scenario will not work in sg KNN

your uncle jin experience on this matter :D

your uncle jin experience on this matter :biggrin:
KNN becas my uncle always import his own maid and conduct meet the employer sessions with his maid and his maids gang :biggrin: KNN so my uncle know the inside out of maid 心事 KNN

I've seen some elderly shopkeepers have a maid help them to open/close the shop. You want to penalize them too? :rolleyes:

An overly efficient govt is always tyrannical by nature. And that's not a good thing. Sinkies need to be educated. :cool:

20:30 to 27:00

Small and limited govt, with checks and balances.

Summary:
1) A govt is always meddling by nature.

2) A govt contributes nothing to the economy. The private sector does.

3) A govt doesn't solve problems, more often than not it creates problems.

4) An overly powerful govt, once it does a bad thing, will find it very hard to reverse course. The damage done isn't worth the few minor accomplishments.

I've seen some elderly shopkeepers have a maid help them to open/close the shop. You want to penalize them too? :rolleyes:

An overly efficient govt is always tyrannical by nature. And that's not a good thing. Sinkies need to be educated. :cool:

20:30 to 27:00

Small and limited govt, with checks and balances.

Summary:
1) A govt is always meddling by nature.

2) A govt contributes nothing to the economy. The private sector does.

3) A govt doesn't solve problems, more often than not it creates problems.

4) An overly powerful govt, once it does a bad thing, will find it very hard to reverse course. The damage done isn't worth the few minor accomplishments.

In one of my business trips to India , I inquired my counterparts , how come your IT sectors thrive whereas all else in a shit , the immediate answer

Oh ! We don’t have a minister in charge

in those days IT sectors in India was unregulated by the government

Oh no. My maid is deployed to my brother's place once a week. And she is paid extra by my brother for the work at his place. Like tat how ah?