Chitchat MSF, Grassroots Leader John Tan And Religious Group To Provide Jobless Sam With $2.3k A Month + Free Groceries + Laptop! PAP Welfare Good Or Not?

You may have read a Sunday Times news report dated 19 April 2020 about “Sam”, his wife and his family of 4 children. Many readers voiced concern why the family was left with only $200 until their next ComCare payout in May. We are encouraged by the public’s outpouring of offers of assistance to the family. Indeed, during this pandemic, many low-income households will be badly affected, and we need to coordinate and pull together to support them.

As for “Sam” and his family, MSF, along with our community partners, schools and grassroots organisations, have been helping them before the Circuit Breaker period and will continue to do so. “Sam” and his family have been receiving the following support:

ComCare and financial assistance

1) The family was first assisted with ComCare in September 2010. Since March 2020, they have been receiving ComCare assistance of $1,200 in cash every month. ComCare separately covers their HDB rent, utilities, service & conservancy charges and medical expenses. The family most recently received ComCare assistance on 3 April 2020 to support their daily needs, including food and groceries.

2) As “Sam” had lost his job since he was last assessed by the SSO, he and his family will receive $2300 in monthly ComCare assistance from 4 May 2020, for 6 months.

3) To support the family before the increased ComCare in May, MUIS has provided them with Zakat Emergency Assistance of $300 cash and $120 in vouchers.

4) On 14 April 2020, husband and wife received $1200 in Solidarity Payments from the Ministry of Finance.

5) Community partners, Mendaki and Al-Muttaqin Mosque, are also supporting the family. They had reached out to the family before the closure of mosques, and the mosque continues to check in on the family.

6) The family’s four children are recipients of the MOE Financial Assistance Scheme.
They do not need to pay school fees and receive full subsidies for standard miscellaneous fees.
• Their meals in school are covered.
• During the Circuit Breaker period, the children are further supported by MOE’s extended school meal subsidies ($60 for each primary school student and $120 for each secondary school student) and additional subsidies of $20 from public donations for each primary school-going child. They will receive top-ups to their School Smartcard which the family can use to purchase food and essential groceries at some hawker centres, food courts, minimarts, convenience stores and supermarkets.
• Each of the primary school-going children also receive $60 monthly from The Straits Times School Pocket Money Fund.

Food and meals for the family

7) Other community partners, such as Ang Mo Kio Family Services Centre (FSC) and Food from the Heart, provide monthly food rations to the family.

SSO@Ang Mo Kio (SSO@AMK) is also linking the family up with the Community Development Council (CDC) to place the family on the Student Meals scheme, which provides meal vouchers.

9) In addition, Kebun Baru Grassroots is working on providing halal dinners for the family, and have offered them food delivery if they require it.

Laptops for home-based learning

10) The children’s schools and several community partners, including AMK FSC, have offered to support the children’s home-based learning by providing them with laptops/tablets. The family previously turned down the schools’ offer and recently collected a tablet from AMKFSC. SSO@AMK is coordinating with the schools, FSC and Mendaki on the provision of laptops for the family.

Employment assistance and counselling

11) SSO@AMK had earlier arranged for “Sam” to meet with the Employment and Employability Institute (e2i) for employment assistance in February 2020. “Sam” did not turn up for the appointment. SSO@AMK will continue to reach out to him to provide guidance and support on employment.

12) Community partners, Ang Mo Kio FSC and WE CARE Community Services also provide the family with counselling support and study programmes to support their various needs.

We contacted “Sam” on 19 April 2020 to assess if his family required further support. “Sam” shared that he had not left any voice mail messages on the SSO mainline nor his case worker’s direct line, and was not expecting a response from our SSO colleagues. Nevertheless, we have encouraged the family to approach our SSOs anytime they require further assistance. Our SSO colleagues and community partners will continue to look out for “Sam” and his family, and support them.

Building an inclusive and caring society is a collective effort. If members of the public would like to volunteer with our SSOs or community partners to support lower income households, or other vulnerable groups, such as rough sleepers and seniors who need help during the pandemic, you can drop us a private message on our MSF FB page.

U have got to be kidding me.

My taxes go towards some irresponsible asshole who decided to have as many kids as he want without caring about whether he can afford to feed them? $2,300 per month for 6 months! U got to be fucking kidding me!

“Sam”, his wife and his family of 4 children

C6A53003-2061-489C-BF9B-359AC652E2E9.gif

When the presstitutes publish a sob story about some people needing money, you can bet that the motive is to get donations.

Alternatively, it provides govt institutions the opportunity to virtue signal, as exemplified in this case. Could have easily helped them from behind the scenes, without getting the presstitutes involved.

reporter got hoodwinked by abang sam...

why work for next 6 months?

MSF exposed his ruse..

KNN my uncle dare to say this irresponsible wise marder farker purposely don't find job to qualify for all the assistance totally more than what a typical low wage worker that work hard gets every month KNN

U have got to be kidding me.

My taxes go towards some irresponsible asshole who decided to have as many kids as he want without caring about whether he can afford to feed them? $2,300 per month for 6 months! U got to be fucking kidding me!

Not kidding you. See how well PAP takes care of the weak? Here's the ST article.

ST_20200419_TZLOWER_5609837.jpg

A few packs of instant noodles, some cooking oil, a half-full bag of rice, and a bottle scraped nearly clean of chilli sauce - that was all on the kitchen shelves for a family of six living in a two-room rental flat.

That was a little over a week ago, on April 10. With only $200 left for his wife and four children over the next three weeks, Sam (not his real name), 37, has to stretch every dollar to make ends meet.

What little and unstable daily allowance he had from helping his mother as a school canteen vendor was gone when the Ministry of Education (MOE) closed all schools and instituted home-based learning for the circuit breaker period.

His next cash payout from the ComCare assistance scheme, typically $1,200 in cash for three months, is due on May 4, a day before the circuit breaker measures are lifted.

The Solidarity Payment of $600, which he and his wife received, has been of help for desperately needed supplies and groceries.

He has tried calling the Social Service Offices hotline on his financial aid document, but says that from experience, it seldom gets picked up - and the increased call traffic during the pandemic is likely to make this worse.

"It will go to voicemail, then I will need to leave my number. Sometimes I wait nine days for them to get back," he said.

In addition, the closure of schools means he has to provide meals for his children that would have been subsidised under financial assistance at school. To make matters worse, his home in Ang Mo Kio Avenue 3 has no broadband Internet to be used for his children's home-based learning.

For now, volunteers have helped by providing him a donated laptop and linked him up with a limited but free data plan which he has used to set up a Wi-Fi hot spot. They have also helped him with government forms to get broadband Internet.

Although the MOE has said that students from low-income families can go to school for their learning needs during the circuit breaker, Sam wants to protect his children from getting infected while commuting to school.

"There were new cases nearby, even teachers. Why should I take that risk with my kids?"

Instead, his children - two in primary school and two in secondary school - share the one laptop. He is afraid of getting a device from MOE as the terms of the loan state that he has to pay if something happens to it, and he would not be able to afford it.

Ms Joyz Tan, assistant director at Fei Yue Family Service Centre, said immense support is needed for large families who find themselves now squeezed into small flats all day long.

"Some of our clients have nine people in the family, and seven of them are children. One can imagine how much they need to support their home-based learning and food needs," said Ms Tan.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/200-left-with-family-of-6-to-get-through-3-weeks

How come huan kia got Sam this name ?
Short form for Samsuddin ?

Hope those crassroot people give him Durex or Okomoto also :biggrin: