Grab Driver, Nightclub worker and SIA Flight attendant...

SBFNews

SINGAPORE — With borders closed and airlines around the world grounded due to the Covid-19 pandemic, Mr Muhammad Ridhwan, 28, who works as an aviation security staff member at Changi Airport, saw his income plummet by 40 per cent since February because his allowances have been cut.

Though his 27-year-old wife, who gave her name as just Ms Nadhira, is drawing a salary as an administrator at a public hospital, the couple have seven mouths to feed in their household, including their three-month-old toddler.

Being the oldest child in their respective families, the couple also feel greater financial pressure to support their siblings, Ms Nadhira told TODAY.

“The situation is bad, because when he has lower income, I have to put in more effort to support the family,” she said.

The couple were among thousands of people who queued at community centres (CCs) and social service offices run by the Ministry of Social and Family Development (MSF) on Wednesday (April 1).

Grab driver See Han Wei, 30, told TODAY that he immediately went to the Pasir Ris East CC to apply for the fund after he heard about it from his friends on Wednesday.

Mr See, who lives with his parents, said that there has been a 75 per cent drop in the number of passengers he picks up a day since the end of January.

“It’s been stressful. It’s been hard to find the income to pay my bills,” he said, adding that he barely takes home any money after making his weekly car rental payments of S$400.

Another applicant, single father Muhammad Fadzli, 33, said that he has stopped getting an income as a public relations worker at a nightclub after the Government ordered the closure of entertainment venues until the end of April.

His chief worry during this period is providing for his two children who are still in primary school.

“I am worried about feeding them, about sending them to school.”

The S$500 from the fund may not be enough to support his family for now, but he is grateful for whatever aid he could get.

Similarly, a 50-year-old Singapore Airlines flight attendant who wanted to be identified only as Mr A, said he feared that S$500 would not be enough to tide his family through even two weeks, but if he receives it, he will be thankful for the support.

The sole breadwinner for his wife, father and three children, he applied for the fund because a drop in his work allowances meant that his overall pay had dived by 60 per cent, and he is anxious about not being able to pay housing bills and insurance loans.

“(My family) is on their toes and very sober. It is worrying for my kids to see that their father is not working, that he is not earning enough to support them,” he said.

Singapore Airlines announced last week that it is grounding 138 SIA and SilkAir planes, out of a total fleet of 147 until end-April.

Read more at https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/th...plications
https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/th...plications

7 mouths to feed! Wow!

Looks like most people pay has dropped 40 to 60%!

Same for me.

The democrats are the most evil bunch on the face of this earth.

They are willing to put pretty much the whole world out of work to try to take down Trump. That is how dirty politics has become in the USA.

In NZ the opposition threw their support behind the government because most decent people realise that there are livelihoods at stake here and now is not the time to try to score political capital.

The opposition IB in this forum are just as bad as the libs by trying to sow doubt, fear and discord regarding the PAP's method of controlling the outbreak while the whole world is singing praises of the PAP.

There should not be any unemployment if we send back all foreigners and PRs.
But those jobs sinkies wont do. Too low class.

For example I would strongly suggest they send home ALL maids!

Then get locals to work as maids. Wah really got thousands and thousands of ready jobs man!

They are willing to put pretty much the whole world out of work to try to take down Trump. That is how dirty politics has become in the USA.

In NZ the opposition threw their support behind the government because most decent people realise that there are livelihoods at stake here and now is not the time to try to score political capital.

The opposition IB in this forum are just as bad as the libs by trying to sow doubt, fear and discord regarding the PAP's method of controlling the outbreak while the whole world is singing praises of the PAP.

Singapore doing well. No matter how much I wish to see it go down it is doing very well!,

Darn!

Why so bad you? :biggrin:

Hey I left Singapore mah. I told everyone I was leaving cos i think Singapore has no long term future. In fact I think the chances of a Singapore collapse is higher than continued success and prosperity.

So it will be nice if I can tell everyone I TOLD YOU SO!

Hey I left Singapore mah. I told everyone I was leaving cos i think Singapore has no long term future. In fact I think the chances of a Singapore collapse is higher than continued success and prosperity.

Good for you!

Muhammad Ridhwan, 28, who works as an aviation security staff member at Changi Airport, saw his income plummet by 40 per cent since February because his allowances have been cut.

Though his 27-year-old wife, who gave her name as just Ms Nadhira, is drawing a salary as an administrator at a public hospital, the couple have seven mouths to feed in their household, including their three-month-old toddler.
KNN my uncle wonder why pap didn't want to temporary release their cpf to tide over the pandemic instead give them free money KNN

There is no CPF to give out lah. Already to pay those of us who migrated renounced sinkie shitship and want to withdraw our CPF is very painful for them liao.

Very rikely lo KNN the other leeson left is pap still want to keep for them for their future use which is very unrikely KNN

Right now I'd far prefer to be in Singapore. It's bloody boring here because all the cafes and the fuck shops are closed.

Similarly, a 50-year-old Singapore Airlines flight attendant who wanted to be identified only as Mr A, said he feared that S$500 would not be enough to tide his family through even two weeks, but if he receives it, he will be thankful for the support

A 50 year old flight attendant also need aid. No savings all these years?

Singapore education system for the matter almost all education systems around the world do not reach financial intelligence.

Many max out credit cards pay minimum sum. Spend and spend.

Jokers lah. I have relatives like that too. Nothing to do with what you do or how much you earn.

Singapore education system for the matter almost all education systems around the world do not reach financial intelligence.

Many max out credit cards pay minimum sum. Spend and spend.

Jokers lah. I have relatives like that too. Nothing to do with what you do or how much you earn.
In today Singapore society many people spend almost all their income monthly.
So nothing much Left then for saving.
We can blame them for poor financial management.
But looking deeper how many of us dont have a family with children to feed.
Especially you are single income earning only

its one thing for an opposition parliamentarian to vote with the government on a bail out, but its a whole other thing to become the thought-police and dictate how everyone should agree with one particular method of dealing with the crisis. especially when the cries are for more drastic measures rather than half-measures.

Let husband fuck maid as internal economy boom money goes to maid...

Wify watch husband do can learn from maid fucked by ahneh what position style is best...

Also let adult son fuck maid internal econmy than spend on Viet whores...

But those jobs sinkies wont do. Too low class.

For example I would strongly suggest they send home ALL maids!

Then get locals to work as maids. Wah really got thousands and thousands of ready jobs man!

Another applicant, single father Muhammad Fadzli, 33, said that he has stopped getting an income as a public relations worker at a nightclub after the Government ordered the closure of entertainment venues until the end of April.

A m&d working as a PRO in a nightclub ???