• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Singapore] - French girl kena scolded jialat jialat by NUS chicken rice stall auntie, coz she ask lots of qns abt how the chicken was raised on farm

What a disgusting hypocritical frog! They invented sadistic dishes like foie gras and ortolans.
Fucked up french.

She should go to Paris and ask those african immigrants the same questions.

If she is so worried and concerned about what she puts in her body then please.....buy your own raw materials from supplier prepare your own food to eat.

Again shows the lack of depth in thinking of people who are able to study... the price and food portion alone should have been a clear indicator of the source of the food: "wherever cheapest possible". Hence her grandiose idea of happy, healthy chickens running around on a big plain, cage-free and rice that comes from fair-trade, best practice, organic rice fields should not even have germinated in the first place. Not to mention the hawker stall auntie who maybe wasn't even paid enough to do what she does.

Couple Of Points:

1. Bonsoir Mademoiselle. :geek:

2. You should ask these questions at a Michelin star restaurant and not a chicken rice stall. Next time ask yourself whether you want to have your meal at a restaurant (where you can ask your inane questions), food court, coffee shop or hawker centre (where you should just eat and not ask questions). Merci! :wink:

Your No.2 very familiar.

Hmmm, I am very sure I had read that phrase here before.
Think I even wrote it before??!!!

Hey ultima try this :

mademoiselle. je ma excuse. c'est pas possible requestez un comment d' raison des hawkers. Les hawkers travaille seulement pour l'argent. Parlement avec les hawkers egalement les moins des argents et un absolutement perte de temps pour les hawker. Bonne chance en Singapour m'mselle. :thumbsup:

see whether she replies.

Why you speak Burmese here?.:biggrin:

I only learn this.

Screenshot_2019-12-11-00-00-54-1.png

French girl was probably from a smaller town in France. The people there are friendlier and see nothing wrong with making small talk with strangers.

This is Sporeta! Dense urban jungle of the orient.

If she were a regular customer, and on friendly speaking terms with the aunty, then can ask over some small talk. Because basically the aunty in all probability dont know and don't care about the questions she asked coz no one ever asks.

More appropriately she should have asked her friends who would be able to point her to the different types of chickens used. Normal farmed shit, "kampong breed type" like at 5 star chicken rice, and some specialty free-range type chicken rice stalls (think I saw one at PLQ)

And also some other hawkers would consider these probing questions as inappropriate because they regard it as trade secrets (like what goes into a sauce, or even the blend of rice they use etc)

Basically French girl received a free lesson in local culture the hard way. She should try asking her friends instead for tips to survive in this strange, exotic city of the orient where people are guarded and defensive by nature. It is a function of survival in a densly populated urban center.

Again shows the lack of depth in thinking of people who are able to study... the price and food portion alone should have been a clear indicator of the source of the food: "wherever cheapest possible". Hence her grandiose idea of happy, healthy chickens running around on a big plain, cage-free and rice that comes from fair-trade, best practice, organic rice fields should not even have germinated in the first place. Not to mention the hawker stall auntie who maybe wasn't even paid enough to do what she does.

It's a millennial thing.

Wait for it...

...Someone for sure is gonna call us Boomers! :laugh:

It's a millennial thing.

Like all generations before them, they simply want the world to be a better place than it is. We all hope to evolve towards something better. But in the exuberance of youth and all in good intent, they fail to realize the sacrifices required to sustain this level of urban density.

We can't all afford to eat organic chickens and rice. The amount of land required for organic chickens to feed Singapore alone would be mind boggling.

'in 2016 alone, approximately 49 million chickens were slaughtered in Singapore."

Why you so hard on her? She is from an advanced country with values totally different from sinkapore. Cut her some slack lah.

Like all generations before them, they simply want the world to be a better place than it is. We all hope to evolve towards something better. But in the exuberance of youth and all in good intent, they fail to realize the sacrifices required to sustain this level of urban density.

We can't all afford to eat organic chickens and rice. The amount of land required for organic chickens to feed Singapore alone would be mind boggling.

'in 2016 alone, approximately 49 million chickens were slaughtered in Singapore."

Don't we buy our chicken from Mudland?
SINKapore has no land for anything except shopping complexes and housing.

culture shock for her. blame it on nus for not providing a good orientation program for foreign sexchange students. at least in the orientation program nus can provide helpful tips, advice, and information on day to day sexperience in sg, from choping tables using tissue packets, student passes and umbrellas to watching out for pmd's going at 69 kmh on footpaths trying to kill pedestrians to looking out for phones taking videos while having showers in dormitory restrooms. and then there's the food subculture at sinkie hawker centers. must advise them that they are often wet, greasy, and slippery without signage to warn them of tripping and falling. and also must forewarn them that sinkie hawker food subculture is all about chope chope, chop chop, choose choose, chiak chiak, and chau chau kar liao leaving dirty plates, bowls, and trays around for some ah ma and ah pek to clean up after them. the moment a cumstomer ask a question hell freezes over and the sinkie clock of tick tock precision cums to a grinding halt. so better get in line like a robot get your food and not utter a word. messaging on phone while in line can.

French people from smaller towns are very warm and friendly.

Why you so hard on her? She is from an advanced country with values totally different from sinkapore. Cut her some slack lah.

The desire to post everything on social media for likes and shares is universal and clouded her ability to think. Pretty sure her friends around her have told her the cause of auntie's reaction (it's an exchange program after all), but still, she chosed to paint locals as uncouth and ignorant. She should post on her IG and Fb that the train stations and streets in SG do not reek of urine unlike Paris.

I see your pov.

culture shock for her. blame it on nus for not providing a good orientation program for foreign sexchange students. at least in the orientation program nus can provide helpful tips, advice, and information on day to day sexperience in sg, from choping tables using tissue packets, student passes and umbrellas to watching out for pmd's going at 69 kmh on footpaths trying to kill pedestrians to looking out for phones taking videos while having showers in dormitory restrooms. and then there's the food subculture at sinkie hawker centers. must advise them that they are often wet, greasy, and slippery without signage to warn them of tripping and falling. and also must forewarn them that sinkie hawker food subculture is all about chope chope, chop chop, choose choose, chiak chiak, and chau chau kar liao leaving dirty plates, bowls, and trays around for some ah ma and ah pek to clean up after them. the moment a cumstomer ask a question hell freezes over and the sinkie clock of tick tock precision cums to a grinding halt. so better get in line like a robot get your food and not utter a word. messaging on phone while in line can.

I hope she goes back to France and tell her fellow country mates to avoid coming to SINKapore.

don't need to. after spending 6.9 months in sg, she will realized that the sugar-flour-egg-butter combo in all atas bakery and confectionery shops is way more toxic and deadly than cheap hawker food. sinkies will die first from pastries and cakes in french-style patisseries than comfort food in foodcourts and hawker centers.