Most sinkies are first and foremost $ minded then whatever else.
Doesnt matter what you do. Agreed?
we have been engineered from young to know the importance of money.
I have to say that this debate between you and @zhihau is emblematic of the problem between professionals and laypeople. The knowledge gap. Most laypeople unfortunately can be very superstitious believers for lack of a better word. They believe that if ankle pain, xray is good, got cough antibiotics is good. They all want a silver bullet and the doctor in this case is seen as provider of silver bullets. In many cases as you say, the patient already indoctrinated by family, friends and internet about what silver bullet should be. For the most part, us laypeople, even the ones who are more knowlegeable, usually have no clear idea what the process of diagnosis entails.No more liao. Why you think so many complaints to SMC?
Problem is they still train doctors that there is a right way of doing things according to what doctors think.
There is only one right way.....whatever the patients wants way. Seriously. The so called "good" doctors you always hear about are the ones give patient what they want.
Well said. I have added to your points.I have to say that this debate between you and @zhihau is emblematic of the problem between professionals and laypeople. The knowledge gap. Most laypeople unfortunately can be very superstitious believers for lack of a better word. They believe that if ankle pain, xray is good, got cough antibiotics is good. They all want a silver bullet and the doctor in this case is seen as provider of silver bullets. In many cases as you say, the patient already indoctrinated by family, friends and internet about what silver bullet should be. For the most part, us laypeople usually have no clear idea what the process of diagnosis entails.
OTOH, many doctors also really fed up and tired because day in day out see the same old bleating sheep shit. Give good advice, no need antibiotics, go home and rest get labelled quack doctor. So a lot just look at patients suspiciously and warily almost like druggies looking to get a fix. But some patients truly don't know much and trust the doctor implicitly, really as the most reliable source of information on health. Part of the problem is that there's no database where one can get a semblance of information to at least relate to the doctors diagnosis. So without any background training or information, the patient has no choice but to accept what's been told. Of course you can refuse and get a 2nd opinion, but in most minds how is that better than the 1st?
So the patient is always stuck in a hole of ignorance and lan lan usually has to accept what's been told.
I have to say that this debate between you and @zhihau is emblematic of the problem between professionals and laypeople.
So the patient is always stuck in a hole of ignorance and lan lan usually has to accept what's been told.
Sorry zhihau, was not referring to you because I feel that I'm exactly in the same situation as you. I was answering nary69sg about similar general complaints I hear from other doctors about patients in general, not you.I trusted the Dr, I don’t play Dr.
I know very well that very little knowledge can kill.![]()
I trusted the Dr, I don’t play Dr.
I know very well that very little knowledge can kill.
Sorry zhihau, was not referring to you because I feel that I'm exactly in the same situation as you. I was answering nary69sg about similar general complaints I hear from other doctors about patients in general, not you.
In our case, we lan lan. If we don't follow the doctor what can we do? We have no choice, no recourse.
At some point, because we don't have access to their training and knowledge, we have to put our trust in them and that means having to buy their advice wholesale and obediently follow. There are no landmarks for us to decide if we are going the right direction or not. That is the defining characteristic of a professional, layperson relationship whether doctor or engineer or lawyer.
So to use a lawyer as an example instead, if he tells us that we have to plead this way because it's our best chance, what choice have we got? See another lawyer or believe the 1st one? How do we know the 2nd is better than the 1st? We don't. So back to lan lan.
sorry if my post read as you not being logical about health choices. I was trying to say too many things in 1 para.paiseh. Writing is not as easy a medium as chatting.
![]()
Sorry zhihau, was not referring to you because I feel that I'm exactly in the same situation as you. I was answering nary69sg about similar general complaints I hear from other doctors about patients in general, not you.
In our case, we lan lan. If we don't follow the doctor what can we do? We have no choice, no recourse.
At some point, because we don't have access to their training and knowledge, we have to put our trust in them and that means having to buy their advice wholesale and obediently follow. There are no landmarks for us to decide if we are going the right direction or not. That is the defining characteristic of a professional, layperson relationship whether doctor or engineer or lawyer.
So to use a lawyer as an example instead, if he tells us that we have to plead this way because it's our best chance, what choice have we got? See another lawyer or believe the 1st one? How do we know the 2nd is better than the 1st? We don't. So back to lan lan.
sorry if my post read as you not being logical about health choices. I was trying to say too many things in 1 para.paiseh. Writing is not as easy a medium as chatting.
![]()
So feel free to complain. You can only win. After getting a few complaints the dr will learn to pander to the wishes of the customers and be a better dr.
So can go ahead and complain this Dr overcharged for medication?![]()
Nobody will stop you. Entirely up to you. At least you will get an explanation.
But better just tell the dr next time what you were hoping to get and see what he or she says.
Remember that all drs are taught to take into account ICE. And come to a common decision on the plan.
Patients Ideas. Concerns and Expectations. So tell them what you think about their suggestions and what you were expecting. I think most drs would grant your request if it isnt unreasonable.
Of course!In this case, the doctor suspected it’s secondary infection and prescribed the antibiotics, generally in accordance to the ICE you’re talking about.
Are we as patients still allowed to reject the antibiotics because it is too expensive?
Of course!
I find it strange you are asking such questions. Either you are sarcastic or you really are that gullible and authority phobic
I’m a bit authority phobic, that’s why I can fuck the PAP only at the polls.
Doctors only know as much as the books that tell them. The books that tell them are designed to sell pills and procedures by big pharma and big food corporations.
Doctor: Drink milk for strong bones.
Scientific facts: Not only does milk not build strong bones, it actually weakens them and hasten osteoperosis and is related to other health hazards, sometimes suspected direct causal factor.
Trust doctors blindly at your own risk, listen to their diagnosis though.. draw own conclusion and read, read read. It's not their fault, they are trained this way. They are the cogs in the multi-billion industry..
KNN most medical insurance will not cover supplements items but they should identify the supplements is purely a supplement or a necessity KNN e.g some elderly osteoporosis patient requires sufficent vit d in order to have the injection for osteoporosis and insurance companies refuse to cover and vit d is damn fucking expensive and not a subsidized drug KNNMedical insurance has spoiled the market in Singapore.
Are you serious? Vit D is damn expensive? You crazy or what. Vit d is damn CHEAP!KNN most medical insurance will not cover supplements items but they should identify the supplements is purely a supplement or a necessity KNN e.g some elderly osteoporosis patient requires sufficent vit d in order to have the injection for osteoporosis and insurance companies refuse to cover and vit d is damn fucking expensive and not a subsidized drug KNN