Healthcare costs and insurance.

In a medical facility, you refuse medication prescribed by the doctors?

OF COURSE lah!

Nowadays all patients Google what they want first then go see doctor.

If you dotn open your mouth to ask and say no when you dont want something.......THEN dont CoMplain!

Wah lau eh. Keep quiet and take shit you dont want? That's sinkie lor.

I think you pointed out something important. As a patient, I didn’t know I can reject medication from the doctor, always thought it is a must to accept the prescription.

See what I mean. You dont get it do you?

Pharmacy chain buy medicine vs clinic chain buy medicine what's the difference in economies of scale? None. But your doctor who is prescribing is also making money from the dispensing. So of course will prescribe the ones he earns more from and prescribe MORE medicine ( which incidentally stupid sinkies like more medication equals better dr. What a joke!)

Also how many small solo pharmacy do you see vs solo GP clinic so you see? Solo GP cost of drugs to him is higher so he have to markup more to make money.

Economy of scale lies with having guardian pharmacy buy all the drugs for dispensing. Right now the pharmacies volume for prescription drugs is low because the GPs dispense. You got it opposite lah.

GPs and clinic chains make lots of profit from medicine because that is what you sinkies are willing to pay for. Whereas consult nobody want to pay.

Notice zhihao never mention consult fee how much?

Many clinic have lower consult fee but mark up the medicine costs to the patient cos to the patient ok to pay for medicine not ok pay for consult. Just talking only.

I know the sinkie market. It is damn cock up.
actually decoupling consult from dispensing will result in economies of scale. the pharmacy chain should have the buying power to centralize purchasing and in greater volumes than single clinics. The only question then is will they pass on the savings to the consumers...

I think you pointed out something important. As a patient, I didn’t know I can reject medication from the doctor, always thought it is a must to accept the prescription.
Hehehe...You must have kept lots of expired chlorphenamine and analgesic tablets in your medicine box at home. :D

That is absolutely ridiculous. It is your body your choice.

Old school mentality think Doctor prescribe must follow :confused::confused::confused:
No more liao. Why you think so many complaints to SMC?

Problem is they still train doctors that there is a right way of doing things according to what doctors think.

There is only one right way.....whatever the patients wants way. Seriously. The so called "good" doctors you always hear about are the ones give patient what they want.

In an expensive restaurant, there’s a bloody menu you can choose from.

In a medical facility, you refuse medication prescribed by the doctors?
KNN many pg patients refused medication given to them KNN nowadays the nurse just throw away instead of seeking alternatives KNN

No more liao. Why you think so many complaints to SMC?

Problem is they still train doctors that there is a right way of doing things according to what doctors think.

There is only one right way.....whatever the patients wants way. Seriously. The so called "good" doctors you always hear about are the ones give patient what they want.

You make it sound like it’s the education system too, parents teaching teachers how to teach.

KNN many pg patients refused medication given to them KNN nowadays the nurse just throw away instead of seeking alternatives KNN

I would think the Dr would know what’s wrong with me and how best to treat me. I’m ignorant about the nitty gritty downstream and upstream biochemical pathways.

not true, I go TCM usually and it’s good enough to clear the cough.

Truth is the cough will clear eventually on it's own anyway.

Just that sinkies impatient. Always think there is a "cure".

There is no cure lah. Lol. But whatever you want lor. If patient say I no take antibiotic cough no get better. Ok I give you powerful antibiotic. Expensive good one. Not cheap one like polyclinic. Patient say good good. Solid.

Lol!

You make it sound like it’s the education system too, parents teaching teachers how to teach.
Of course!

It is human nature. Nobody wants stuff they dont want. How can you make someone eat stuff he dont like and be happy?

Of course dr must be careful. Cannot follow until patient will die lah. Or is illegal lah. Or cause addiction lah.

I would think the Dr would know what’s wrong with me and how best to treat me. I’m ignorant about the nitty gritty downstream and upstream biochemical pathways.

Like I said the truth is most people dont need antibiotic lah. All viral.

But patient dowan to hear that.

Same with the guy who come in with sprained ankle can weight bear minimal swelling unlikely fracture you examine tell him no fracture ok. He wont believe. Say I do xray he will be happy.

Must always give patient choice. Is like you want chili? You want ice with your drink? You want chopstick or fork and spoon? Never assume. Coffee or tea? With or without milk?

Xray? Ultrasound? CT? MRI?

Antibiotics? Referral to specialist? Offer. If the patient say yes yes nod head means bingo.

Cos patient scared to say one. They scared dr day wah lau like that you want CT scan? So stupid. They dunno mah.

Sometimes I say xray? Ultrasound? Ankle. They say ok but like not very happy. I ask is there something you have in mind. They say MRI. I explain usually do xray and ultrasound first. Then if still need then MRI. MRI usually if need surgery.

Give choices.

Some just want referral. Then no need talk so much. Just refer.

I’m making mental notes on this.
Go Google the definition of chronic cough and then see what the 3 most common causes of chronic cough are.

First see if you meet the definition.

Second see if you think you have those 3 common causes. If you dont agree with all that then really you dont want the doctors honest answer and assessment. But just some bastardized customer satisfying reassuring pat over the back validation of whatever you think you have and how to resolve it.