More than 40% of Singapore workers quit job due to lack of skills training: Survey

Johnrambo

SINGAPORE — More than two in five employees in Singapore have left a company because they felt that it did not provide enough learning and development (L&D) opportunities. And this was mainly because the workers did not have time to take up these opportunities.

There is also a huge mismatch between what is offered by employers and what employees want, with only 17 per cent of employees in Singapore satisfied with their company’s L&D programmes.

These are the findings from a report published on Wednesday (June 19) by job networking site LinkedIn.

The survey was done with respondents from the Asia Pacific, namely Australia, India, Japan and Singapore.

In Singapore, it polled more than 1,000 employees and more than 200 L&D professionals, who are company employees who set L&D strategies, such as those in human resources.

The percentage of employees in India who left a company because of a lack of L&D opportunities (45 per cent) were comparable to Singapore, but it was lower for those working in Australia (29 per cent) and Japan (16 per cent).

The survey findings come after the Singapore Government has been trying for years to encourage workers to upskill or go for retraining and for companies to offer such courses.

More at https://www.todayonline.com/singapo...kers-quit-job-due-lack-skills-training-survey

This is typical bullshit that HR churns out year in year out. Ranjiao Learning and development. Fug lah, the best way to learn is to kick the person into the deep end of the swimming pool. If he or she finds a way to float and stay alive, he or she is a worthy member of my team. Otherwise, please fug off to another job that match your intuitive abilities. Nothing beats experiential learning.

I hire workers to work, not go for training. If they keep skipping work to go training, then who will cover their duties?

You lor, because you are stupid to hire such clowns, who at interview stage already asking questions on Learning and Development. Once I hear this type of questions from interviewees, straight away NO GO. Lol :D

If you offered yourself cheaply, you are already a step ahead of someone with PHD.. Let's say, you are a branded good and during Singapore sales, you slashed your price by 40%, all the consumers will be queuing up to get you 1 week before the launch. That is what the employer want of you: cheap and good. Talk about upgrading, reskilling, training and tapping on funding are simply TRASH TALK the employers themselves don't beleive in.

Totally agree if a pmet is retrenched at 50 and last drawn salary was 8k a mth do u think the hospital will pay him the same to retrain as a staff nurse, regardless of how good and adaptable he is...fresh nurses are only 2.5k to 3.5k a mth not even mentioning the cheaper foreign ones

most important skill sinkie orifice workers learn is how to chope table during lunch with tissues, biz cards, company passes, umbrellas and line up for makan.

If you offered yourself cheaply, you are already a step ahead of someone with PHD.. Let's say, you are a branded good and during Singapore sales, you slashed your price by 40%, all the consumers will be queuing up to get you 1 week before the launch. That is what the employer want of you: cheap and good. Talk about upgrading, reskilling, training and tapping on funding are simply TRASH TALK the employers themselves don't beleive in.

As a towkay, I want my employees to be cheap, good and willing to work 669!!

as a towkay
i need slaves more than employees
i will join powerful clandestine Rc and Pa and Cc as a top dog member
in order to persuade my master to import slaves from 3rd and 4th world cuntries.