Abolishing Streaming in Secondary Schools: Netizens React

TerrexLee

On 4 March 2019, several elected members of parliament beseeched the Ministry of Education to eliminate streaming entirely in secondary schools and instead replace it with subject-based banding, proffering that "evergreen" template of a rationale about how sorting students into classes based solely on academic ability only served to dent individual self-esteem. (As if subject-based banding wasn't merely a stale repackaging of the current state of affairs, but hey that's besides the point here)

A day later, Education Minister Ong Ye Kung officially announced that indeed streaming shall become a thing of the past by 2024. In his own words, this is what he said about the new assessment system: "For secondary schools, we will use G1, G2 or G3. G stands for "General". G1 will roughly correspond to today's N(T) standard, G2 to N(A) standard, and G3 to Express standard. Singapore and Cambridge will co-brand this new certificate, as both are strong international brand names in education, which will enhance the recognition and value of the certificate."

Wow talk about efficiency, bloody impressive. Even Harry Potter probably couldn't pull the wand out of his ass that fast to do battle with Lord Voldemort. Nor that extra large plate of chicken rice eaten for supper last night sliding down the entire length of the alimentary canal. Round of applause for the government in suddenly becoming astonishingly receptive to feedback.......*[coughs] General Election looming [coughs]*

Surely enough, the local internet erupted. Some lauded Mr Ong for getting things done on his watch, others expressed skepticism about whether anything had really changed. One popular opposition political figure even went as far as accusing the Education Minister of plagiarizing his party's idea. Ah well. We sifted through the online chatter and compiled a collection of interesting opinions (from Reddit Singapore and Facebook) which hopefully provides a reasonable snapshot of public sentiment:

By Twrd4321 (Reddit Singapore):

"Those MPs must be clairvoyant to be able to say streaming must be abolished only for the education minister to do exactly that the next day.

It’s a good move, though I would wanna know in greater detail the changes surrounding admissions into polytechnics and JCs."

By hellosugar (Reddit Singapore) :

"The PAP do it for the theatrics especially when an upcoming election is just around the corner. They plan it this way to make themselves look efficient, to show that the MPs are really hardworking and the government is very responsive to feedback.

We already do not air Singapore's parliamentary proceedings live on television unlike UK and other liberal democracies, therefore when SPH and Mediacorp's CNA report on a certain parliamentary discussion topic and the government announces new plans immediately at the snap of a finger, it is almost certain that everything was deliberately planned to win hearts."

Basically the incumbent MPs want you to know this: "Hey look at us - we are extremely productive, so please vote for the PAP in GE2019 yo".

By MerRyanSG: (Reddit Singapore)

"MOE is really nimble and flexible; its openess to feedback is astounding.

Yesterday many MPs proposed abolishing streaming altogether and today detailed plans were laid out!"

By triface1(Reddit Singapore):

"I think this is a step in the right direction. No longer will students be disproportionately penalized just because they are weak in only one or two subjects.

On the other hand, if the Education Ministry is striving to remedy the stratification issue... then meh. Elitism will never truly go away as long as elitist mindsets are encouraged by parents and seniors. Read: a student offering 7 G3 subjects thumbing his nose at someone offering 7 G2 subjects.

I personally feel the new system would make it more difficult to forge lasting friendships. With the current system, you'd face the same set of folks daily because everyone is assigned to the same class. Fast forward to the future it's probably more akin to studying in a university; kids will end up with more friends but aren't able to establish deep, meaningful connections."

By slaiyfer (Reddit Singapore):

"What a farce of a proposal when it's already been long decided."

By Yan Tan (Facebook):

"Ong Ye Kung has done quite a bit since taking on the education portfolio and there have been many good changes made. Keep it up sir!"

More at https://www.domainofexperts.com/2019/03/abolishing-streaming-in-secondary.html

Singapore Parliament is like this. Cabinet writes the script, the PAP MPs play the music.

69.9% of Singaporeans love it, because they only tune into this music and nothing else besides it.

giphy.gif

Doing away with streaming is brilliant. You get to choose the subjects that motivates.now can we have dancing, sports and movie making in the curriculum?

G1, G2, G3 - the new form of streaming. They even state the equivalent of O and N level. Just a rename.

Now all it takes is temasek to seed and groom more local companies, not the sim lim square ah beng type though..

all the changes all these years damned bloody messy...the teachers go bonkers..the students go bonkers...the parents go lagi bonkers...the system just go amok..

no matter , the smart ones will survive - streaming or not. the street-wise ones will survive and make it good..

Tinkering and tweaking the education system but after untold misery and damage has been done. Why don't they just simply admit that they were wrong in the first place! It seems that Dr Tan Cheng Bock who was the only one in the PAP camp who objected to streaming is the only wise man among fools!

er... what's the difference? As LordEl already pointed out. You just swap the names around. Still stratified. You call LP. I call PL. what's the difference? Still LPPL.

oso this quote :

"MOE is really nimble and flexible; its openess to feedback is astounding.

Yesterday many MPs proposed abolishing streaming altogether and today detailed plans were laid out!"

is farking stoopid. All detailed plans laid out oredi long long ago. It's a done deal and they just decided to mouthpiece it in session. And screw the feedback. Pinky already telegraphed the idea some time ago. You think he listens to you?

What a bunch of tai chi theatrics. Take people's complaints and simmering discontent, then issue news articles, statements and re-branding, but still G1 2 and 3.

The sheep can be fooled by a wolf wearing a pelt.

*sighz*

For a start, they should get rid of the scholar scheme. Produces lots of useless shit that need maintenance till they are into their 60s. Easily 4 decades down the drain for each scholar.

haiz... you ever heard of sacred cow or not? Ah kong (bless his soul and I'm not being sarcastic) in his finite wisdom and banana inferiority complex looked to his "roots" for inspiration and governance. Where do you think he found them?

士農工商

or for the non-Chinese reading : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Four_occupations

So this fugging silly ancient boondoggle of a money pit and intellectual straightjacket is enshrined into his creation sinkieland!

As much as I agree with your statement, I'm afraid that some cultural sacred cows will never be slaughtered, because too much of the population worships this particular golden calf.

What kind of idiot system is this?

Lump the lazy / stupid fucks in the class with the hardworking / smart bunch to create the illusion that everyone is the same?

Are all ministers paid the same? If not, why? Why is there a hierarchy?

Our education ministry's policy are from their great wise advisors based on the "Principle Of Kiasuism" - they think they can find a magical scheme to produce great minds. They make random changes thinking it is now better...At one time they even try to be "smart" and introduced "modern mathematics". It is better to set a very long term policy and to make minor changes along the way when needed.

I was told by my grand niece that school books are stipulated, e.g. two O level textbooks on mathematics used in all schools - schools are not free to recommend different books. The quality of their book example:

"Discover Chemistry, O Level"
Marshall Cavendish Education publishing.
4 authors.

No profile of the four authors given. From my reading of the very first chapter "The Kinetic Particle theory", I can tell that the authors don't even have a proper basic understanding of the physical sciences.

Chapter 1: "The kinetic particle theory states that all matter is made up of tiny particles and that these particles are in constant random motion." - molecules in solid vibrates - don't do random motion.

It should be "The atomic theory of matter". The kinetic theory - with the term "kinetic" - is specifically used to describe "the kinetic theory of gases". This is how they derive the ideal gas laws about PV = kT ...

I am not sure if it is the MOE setting syllabus as "Kinetic theory..." - you don't do kinetic theory at O level. Atomic or molecular theory is the proper term.

Chan Rasjid.

What kind of idiot system is this?

Lump the lazy / stupid fucks in the class with the hardworking / smart bunch to create the illusion that everyone is the same?

This idiot system is also known as socialism aka the 2nd fastest way to tank a country besides it's elder brother communism. :thumbsdown:

G1, G2, G3 - the new form of streaming. They even state the equivalent of O and N level. Just a rename.
"Dung by any other name still stinks".

If they really want to abolish streaming, just offer O level : General Science, Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Additional mathematics. Some students may start to really make effort when in Sec. 3 - give the late starters a chance.

Don't let the top students all have G3 subjects in their certificates; parents would ask: "How many G3 subjects is your son taking? "

Chan Rasjid.

Just playing with words-streaming has now shifted from Class based (EM1,2,3) to subject based-so by looking at your G1,2,3 , you can still be singled out as smart or kuku.
Better go back to the original -everybody study the same subjects with the same textbooks and if you are good you get A and stupid you get E or F, simple.
I will not even stream into Science or Arts at Sec3-students just choose whatever combination they want (including not having to take so called "mother" tongue) and attend classes accordingly. The smart can choose 9 subjects for O level while not so smart 6 subjects ect2

... students just choose whatever combination they want (including not having to take so called "mother" tongue) and attend classes accordingly. The smart can choose 9 subjects for O level while not so smart 6 subjects ect2

Best solution ever! :thumbsup:

second that all right