It’s time to introduce mental health education in schools

TerrexLee

Apart from climbing suicide rates, there has also been a rise in the number of persons grappling with mental health issues here in Singapore.

In the report in the Sunday Times “Breaking the silence on suicide” (Sunday, February 24, 2019), Ms Elaine Lek spoke about how she tragically lost her lost son to suicide in October last year. She asked why sex education can be taught in schools, yet the topic of mental illness was hardly broached.

Research has revealed that 90 percent of people afflicted with mental disorders begin to develop symptoms during their teenage years.

In addition, 13 percent of children under the age of 18 suffer from several mental conditions such as anxiety attacks, Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) and Disruptive Behavior Disorders (DBD).

Society has to learn to accept that mental illness will be part of an increasing complex urban lifestyle. But the good news is that like any other ailment, most mental illnesses can be controlled and managed. With love, understanding and early medical intervention, it is possible for many mentally ill persons to lead perfectly normal lives.

Bottom line: We need to manage mental illness, before it manages us.

More at https://www.domainofexperts.com/2019/03/its-timely-to-introduce-mental-health.html

signs of sinkies suffering from mental health issues everywhere at makan place.
1551455331542.jpeg

signs of sinkies suffering from mental health issues everywhere at makan place.
View attachment 54890
it's a self-absorbed victim-paranoia mental disorder associated with "die die must chope table to deprive other (mentally) sick sinkies of the space so i can spend 69 minutes queueing up at my favorite makan stall and catching up on social and sexual media."

I've seen Sinkies actually do that to chope seats at the cafeteria on board a cruise ship. Never mind if there's usually no queues and the food almost never runs out.

oh mine. sinkies have spread their diseases and mental illness abroad and aboard.

The education system has gone to shit. Enough of this breeding of strawberry kids, introduce back the old punishment system - cane and slap. Mental illness? Fuck that, this nonsense has gone far enough.

That's a damn shame. If I were you, I would unchope the seats. The ship's in international waters, fuck your sickening sinkie chope system. :biggrin:

Sinkies should be getting smarter from all the extra tuition, enrichment classes and SkillsFuture workshops that they are attending, be it little kids or adults.