• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Johor Menteri Besar spearheaded Singapore invasion

SINGAPORE - A scheduled annual bilateral meeting between Singapore and Malaysia has been postponed following the intrusion by Johor Menteri Besar into Singapore territorial waters off Tuas, said Singapore's Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) on Saturday (Jan 12).

The intrusion into Singapore's waters off Tuas by Datuk Osman Sapian on Wednesday has made the 14th meeting of the Joint Ministerial Committee for Iskandar Malaysia (JMCIM) scheduled for Jan 14 "untenable", said an MFA spokesman in response to media queries.

"Singapore therefore proposed to postpone the JMCIM meeting, and Malaysia agreed," the spokesman added.

Malaysian newspaper The Star on Saturday cited sources as saying Malaysia's participation in JMCIM, which is supposed to be held next Monday in Singapore, is now in limbo and the meeting could be postponed.

The committee was set up in 2007 to study how both neighbours can work together in the South Johor economic zone of Iskandar.

The Malaysian delegation at this year's meeting was supposed to have been led by Economic Affairs Minister Azmin Ali, Johor Mentri Besar Osman Sapian and other Johor state leaders.

According to an official source who could not be named due to the sensitivity of the matter, Mr Osman's presence on the vessel was not sanctioned by the federal government.

"He was told not to do it, yet he went ahead anyway," the source said.

The two neighbours have been embroiled in a dispute over maritime boundaries.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...poned-after-johor-menteri-besar-intruded-into

Singapore belongs to johore. If the sultan of johore can anytime pass through immigration without any checks, i cannot see why the chief minister of johore cannot do the same.

whoami

Every year increased in defence budget. All in warehouse is it?

Singapore’s defence budget in 2018 will be SGD14.76 billion (USD11.2 billion), the government announced on 19 February.

The expenditure represents a 3.9% increase against the SGD14.20 billion defence allocation in 2017, budgetary figures show. “Defence expenditure is expected to increase by SGD0.6 billion due to higher military expenditure,” said the government.

The new defence budget also amounts to 18.5% of total Singapore government expenditure during 2018, which is set at approximately SGD80 billion.

Budgetary documents show that the 2018 defence allocation includes around SGD14.23 billion (or about 96% of the defence budget) for operating expenses, with the remaining SGD524 million for development expenditure.

https://www.janes.com/article/78021/singapore-announces-4-increase-in-defence-spending

Every year increased in defence budget. All in warehouse is it?

Singapore’s defence budget in 2018 will be SGD14.76 billion (USD11.2 billion), the government announced on 19 February.

The expenditure represents a 3.9% increase against the SGD14.20 billion defence allocation in 2017, budgetary figures show. “Defence expenditure is expected to increase by SGD0.6 billion due to higher military expenditure,” said the government.

The new defence budget also amounts to 18.5% of total Singapore government expenditure during 2018, which is set at approximately SGD80 billion.

Budgetary documents show that the 2018 defence allocation includes around SGD14.23 billion (or about 96% of the defence budget) for operating expenses, with the remaining SGD524 million for development expenditure.

https://www.janes.com/article/78021/singapore-announces-4-increase-in-defence-spending
Very heartwarming to know we have so much defence budget. We got hope to win any war!

Overspent leow lah. Half of the money could have been put in good use like helping the poor.....create jobs for sinkies, etc etc...
Ya that’s true should spare a little to build a hdb bto for me too. Need a roof over my head when my jb houses get burnt up by barbarians in war.

JustLikeThis

Should capture the whole team, including the menteri besar.
Jail them a few years as illegal immigrants.

Unfortunately, we are like pussies now. I really didn't know that Singapore is so ball-less.
If we go to international tribunal now, our indifference will not help our claims.