• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Here's why you need $2m saved for a comfortable retirement

Janine Starks05:00, Dec 01 2018

Westpac's KiwiSaver calculator shows the value of getting started saving early in your working life.

OPINION: Have you ever been at that dinner party where someone throws the retirement grenade?

"How much money do you need for a decent retirement?"
It's casual chat, but ears prick up and napkins rustle as we wonder what fund-size friends and colleagues are aiming for.
Throwing all caveats out the window and removing platitudes to happiness versus cash, I'd spurt-forth with an answer; $2 million. That'll put the rooster in the hen-house.

READ MORE:

* Women fall further behind in retirement savings race
* $101,774 in savings needed at 65, just to get by in retirement
* What to do when your retirement savings fall short

Of course for many New Zealanders $2m seems like a ridiculous number.

Call it what you like, but it's also my honest opinion. For someone with a well-paid professional background who ends their career earning $200,000 a year, that's the amount I'd expect to see in investments.

That means each of us need ten times our final salary in savings to retire.

Ouch. Sorry if it offends, but I can live with that. This model comes from one of the largest US fund managers, Fidelity, and assumes people would like to retire on 45 per cent of their final salary.

1543365119982.jpg

MARION VAN DIJK/STUFF

Janine Starks: "Sometimes I wish I told the truth more often."

Middle aged complacency

Sometimes I wish I told the truth more often. Straightforward no cotton-wool answers are uncomfortable. They risk alienating or disincentivising those who are doing their best to scrape up any retirement fund.

Are you aged 40? Then you should already have three times your annual salary in savings. 50? There should be six times your salary in a retirement fund already. Haven't started saving yet? If that's the case and you're a 50-year-old, you need to put away half your annual salary.

Rules-of-thumb are as dangerous as they are useful, but I'm relaxed if they serve as a poke and make people save more. The proper thing to do is to take financial advice and review your plan every year to get a personalised model.

In New Zealand our savings scheme is only 10 years old and we don't like scaring people off. We like to educate and encourage. Yet we run the risk of simply not telling the financial truth in a forceful enough way.

KiwiSaver has the option of investing 3, 4 or 8 per cent of your salary with a further 3 per cent coming from an employer. It's inadequate.

In the past I've suggested 10 per cent should be the minimum and then taken cover behind a rock while I got pelted for numbers that many families simply can't afford.

No one wants to scare the masses, but there are plenty of middle-class professionals who need a jolly good fright and some strong direction. It's time to take the gloves off.

1543365119982.jpg

No one wants to scare the masses, but there are plenty of middle-class professionals who need a jolly good fright and some strong direction, if they are to have a happy retirement.

You need to save 15 per cent of your salary from the age of 25, or 23 per cent if you didn't start until you were 35.

For professional couples in their 50s, ask yourself why you aren't turbo-saving and stashing away one whole salary to play catch-up?
Lifestyle inflation

Those aged in their 40s and 50s run a high risk of complacency.

Mortgages are paid off, salaries rise and disposable income swells. The risk is your lifestyle swells as well. It's called lifestyle inflation. The temptation of a new car, upsizing a property and having a relaxed attitude to family holidays are all culprits, along with university costs and house deposits for children.

"We can afford it" is lovely to hear, but I seldom truly believe it. Life is all about individual choices and some people prefer to live-and-give now and have a very restrained retirement. Others don't even realise they're making that decision.

The simple rules provided by the salary multiplier model can make you stop, think, review and then spend. If you are 50, do you have six times your current salary in savings? Think carefully about your choices if not.

These numbers are supported by one of the largest US retirement fund managers, Fidelity. While the assumptions behind the calculations won't apply fully to New Zealanders, they're close enough for a general discussion. The salary multiplier model assumes wage growth of 1.5 per cent a year during your life, an age of death of 93 and the fund providing retirement income of 45 per cent of your pre-retirement final salary from age 67 with a 90 per cent confidence level.

1543365119982.jpg

Life is all about individual choices and some people prefer to live-and-give now and have a very restrained retirement. Others don't even realise they're making that decision.

Building retirement savings
Age 30: 1 x annual salary
Age 40: 3 x annual salary
Age 50: 6 x annual salary
Age 60: 8 x annual salary
Age 67: 10 x annual salary

Janine Starks is a financial commentator with expertise in banking, personal finance and funds management. Opinions in this column represent her personal views. They are general in nature and are not a recommendation, opinion or guidance to any individuals in relation to acquiring or disposing of a financial product. Readers should not rely on these opinions and should always seek specific independent financial advice appropriate to their own individual circumstances.

Stuff

in sinkielan, dey retrench u early 2 give ur place 2 sum ceca ... picking cardboards after dat how 2 save so much? ...

whoami

in sinkielan, dey retrench u early 2 give ur place 2 sum ceca ... picking cardboards after dat how 2 save so much? ...

70% said is ok picking cardboards. Exercise. Facing 4 walls at home can kana dementia.

Retirement isn't about doing nothing. It's all about achieving financial independence.

For an in depth analysis of the meaning of retirement read all the great contributions in the retirement thread. https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/the-retirement-thread.151153/
KNN some kopi uncle define achieving financial independence differently as the uncle have no extra money in his bank throughout his entire working life, salary comes in and go and worse still need to borrow money in times of urgent family needs KNN thanks to pap forced savings he has about $400k in cpf after setting aside the basic retirement sum and drawing it a few mths time but he will need to use portion of it to clear his loans accumulated over the years. His definition of retirement is he will be financially free soon but he still need to work or else $400k will not be able to last him a lifetime with a family to feed KNN my uncle say KNN that's not retirement he say it is don't work do what KNN

Why would anyone want to retire. Retire and do what?
KNN some kopi uncle define achieving financial independence differently as the uncle have no extra money in his bank throughout his entire working life, salary comes in and go and worse still need to borrow money in times of urgent family needs KNN thanks to pap forced savings he has about $400k in cpf after setting aside the basic retirement sum and drawing it a few mths time but he will need to use portion of it to clear his loans accumulated over the years. His definition of retirement is he will be financially free soon but he still need to work or else $400k will not be able to last him a lifetime with a family to feed KNN my uncle say KNN that's not retirement he say it is don't work do what KNN

If you have $1 million, you can retire if you can live on income of $40k a year.

If you're used to living on $150k a year it's going to be tough living on 40k.

It's all about managing expectations. 3k per month does not buy you a very pleasant lifestyle.

Thick Face Black Heart

It all depends on your definition of retirement and how you want to live your life.

One of my pals became a childcare teacher and called it retirement. Expenditure of $3K per month is more than enough.

Another one decided to give up his company and he is now actively participating in gang bangs, organized by certain members of the sister forum (Sugardaddy folder). Retirement is a bit more expensive but he has a few million to burn through until he collapses from exhaustion or from disease, whichever occurs sooner.

Porlumpar angmoh highly again...

Go back become Burmese monks dont go hungry just beg for food when you are old enough to beg...

Westpac's KiwiSaver calculator shows the value of getting started saving early in your working life.

OPINION: Have you ever been at that dinner party where someone throws the retirement grenade?

It's casual chat, but ears prick up and napkins rustle as we wonder what fund-size friends and colleagues are aiming for.
Throwing all caveats out the window and removing platitudes to happiness versus cash, I'd spurt-forth with an answer; $2 million. That'll put the rooster in the hen-house.

READ MORE:

Call it what you like, but it's also my honest opinion. For someone with a well-paid professional background who ends their career earning $200,000 a year, that's the amount I'd expect to see in investments.

Ouch. Sorry if it offends, but I can live with that. This model comes from one of the largest US fund managers, Fidelity, and assumes people would like to retire on 45 per cent of their final salary.

1543365119982.jpg

MARION VAN DIJK/STUFF

Middle aged complacency

Sometimes I wish I told the truth more often. Straightforward no cotton-wool answers are uncomfortable. They risk alienating or disincentivising those who are doing their best to scrape up any retirement fund.

Are you aged 40? Then you should already have three times your annual salary in savings. 50? There should be six times your salary in a retirement fund already. Haven't started saving yet? If that's the case and you're a 50-year-old, you need to put away half your annual salary.

Rules-of-thumb are as dangerous as they are useful, but I'm relaxed if they serve as a poke and make people save more. The proper thing to do is to take financial advice and review your plan every year to get a personalised model.

In New Zealand our savings scheme is only 10 years old and we don't like scaring people off. We like to educate and encourage. Yet we run the risk of simply not telling the financial truth in a forceful enough way.

KiwiSaver has the option of investing 3, 4 or 8 per cent of your salary with a further 3 per cent coming from an employer. It's inadequate.

In the past I've suggested 10 per cent should be the minimum and then taken cover behind a rock while I got pelted for numbers that many families simply can't afford.

No one wants to scare the masses, but there are plenty of middle-class professionals who need a jolly good fright and some strong direction. It's time to take the gloves off.

1543365119982.jpg

No one wants to scare the masses, but there are plenty of middle-class professionals who need a jolly good fright and some strong direction, if they are to have a happy retirement.

You need to save 15 per cent of your salary from the age of 25, or 23 per cent if you didn't start until you were 35.

For professional couples in their 50s, ask yourself why you aren't turbo-saving and stashing away one whole salary to play catch-up?
Lifestyle inflation

Mortgages are paid off, salaries rise and disposable income swells. The risk is your lifestyle swells as well. It's called lifestyle inflation. The temptation of a new car, upsizing a property and having a relaxed attitude to family holidays are all culprits, along with university costs and house deposits for children.

"We can afford it" is lovely to hear, but I seldom truly believe it. Life is all about individual choices and some people prefer to live-and-give now and have a very restrained retirement. Others don't even realise they're making that decision.

The simple rules provided by the salary multiplier model can make you stop, think, review and then spend. If you are 50, do you have six times your current salary in savings? Think carefully about your choices if not.

These numbers are supported by one of the largest US retirement fund managers, Fidelity. While the assumptions behind the calculations won't apply fully to New Zealanders, they're close enough for a general discussion. The salary multiplier model assumes wage growth of 1.5 per cent a year during your life, an age of death of 93 and the fund providing retirement income of 45 per cent of your pre-retirement final salary from age 67 with a 90 per cent confidence level.

1543365119982.jpg

Life is all about individual choices and some people prefer to live-and-give now and have a very restrained retirement. Others don't even realise they're making that decision.

Janine Starks is a financial commentator with expertise in banking, personal finance and funds management. Opinions in this column represent her personal views. They are general in nature and are not a recommendation, opinion or guidance to any individuals in relation to acquiring or disposing of a financial product. Readers should not rely on these opinions and should always seek specific independent financial advice appropriate to their own individual circumstances.

Stuff

READ MORE:

1543365119982.jpg

MARION VAN DIJK/STUFF

Middle aged complacency

1543365119982.jpg

Lifestyle inflation

1543365119982.jpg

Stuff
No you only need a hdb flat and a condo to retire.