Teachers’ parking fees kept by schools, irate Singaporeans question if monetizing was the aim

TerrexLee

In a written reply by Education Minister Ong Ye Kung, the estimated revenue from charging teachers for parking was be $8 million to $10 million a year.

Mr Ong responded to a parliamentary question by Workers’ Party Non-Constituency MP Leon Perera, who had asked how much revenue will be collected from teachers’s parking fees in schools.

He also said that the revenue will be retained by the schools.

Amongst the 360 primary schools, secondary schools and junior colleges in Singapore, teachers of schools like Hwa Chong Institution (HCI), that owns the land it sits on, still have to pay for their parking just like everyone else.

Many netizens were shocked and angered to learn that the revenue from teachers’ parking will be kept by the schools.

President of Maruah Leong Sze Hian was one of them, who said, “Singaporeans are unhappy about the latest revelation that the revenue will be kept by the individual schools”.

He added, “when was it decided that the revenue will go to the individual schools – in March or later or only now?”

Mr Leong also questioned, “By the way, as to “All five polytechnics and the Institute of Technical Education started charging for parking on their premises in October last year” – have these six institutions been getting the revenues individually from the parking charges?

Like what my friends said – what may make Singaporeans even angrier than the subject “revelation” is that the reply in Parliament may have conveniently ignored the question of MPs paying just $365 a year to park in any HDB car park in Singapore and Parliament.

More at http://theindependent.sg/teachers-p...gaporeans-question-if-monetizing-was-the-aim/

Teachers become suckers who pay for the stationery issued by their magnanimous schools. Ownself pay for ownself but the school took the credit. Sounds familiar!

Teehee... I heard from the grapevine that a lot of the teachers now car pool to schools :laugh::laugh::laugh:
that’s the right attitude as there’s not enough farking spots in school. sinkies will do anything to save any amount more than $69.

Contrary to your observations, schools have a lot of parking lots prior to monetizing the car lots. Go to any neighborhood schools and you'll see plenty of empty car lots in them. You go to JCs and Polytechnics, lagi banyak.

Think about it, based on the figures given, SGD$8M to SGD$10M to come from some 360 odd institutions annually, that translates to some SGD$27000 per school annually, and that translate to about 30 open air car park lots taken annually.

I'm sure it will be more empty slots in the schools in the near future :whistling::whistling::whistling:

Contrary to your observations, schools have a lot of parking lots prior to monetizing the car lots. Go to any neighborhood schools and you'll see plenty of empty car lots in them. You go to JCs and Polytechnics, lagi banyak.

Think about it, based on the figures given, SGD$8M to SGD$10M to come from some 360 odd institutions annually, that translates to some SGD$27000 per school annually, and that translate to about 30 open air car park lots taken annually.

I'm sure it will be more empty slots in the schools in the near future :whistling::whistling::whistling:
no leh. the high ses schools in bukit timah have to borrow lots in churches to park their staff’s cars. and sometimes i see super cars in the church lot belonging to teachers. there are lots in schools but not enough when every staff and teacher has a car and trying to park it within the more secured compound as security petsonnel and usherers lock and man the gates. it proves that teachers are well rewarded (perhaps also from giving tuition after school) thanks to the pap! :D

President of Maruah Leong Sze Hian was one of them, who said, “Singaporeans are unhappy about the latest revelation that the revenue will be kept by the individual schools”.

Why cannot keep by the schools? Can use to help poor students good what. I fully support!

So who retain Mp farking fee of $365, why all got no discipline n ret back to finance

no leh. the high ses schools in bukit timah have to borrow lots in churches to park their staff’s cars. and sometimes i see super cars in the church lot belonging to teachers.

High SES aka atas schools have a longer heritage and built way before the modernization of Singapore. The compounds of these creme de la creme schools are limited to what-ever size they began with, with the exception of those that relocated.

Whilst the elite schools number to no more than 30, which is less than 10% of the entire community. My observations and the figures suggest that we have tonnes of parking space in schools, simply because there are just too few atas schools and a larger population of neighborhood schools. Savvy? :whistling::whistling::whistling:

High SES aka atas schools have a longer heritage and built way before the modernization of Singapore. The compounds of these creme de la creme schools are limited to what-ever size they began with, with the exception of those that relocated.

Whilst the elite schools number to no more than 30, which is less than 10% of the entire community. My observations and the figures suggest that we have tonnes of parking space in schools, simply because there are just too few atas schools and a larger population of neighborhood schools. Savvy? :whistling::whistling::whistling:
30 is still a small number. if every teacher and staff were to drive a car, they would need at least 69 farking spaces.

Don't know if you know the stats, if every teaching staff and office staff drives, you need minimum 120 fucking car lots in each of those 360 odd institutes.

there you go. at least 69 but don’t need 120 as spaces have to be over-subscribed or shared as like jo teo said not all will simultaneously fark (in tight spaces) at the same time. 30 is too small a number, thus it’s not enough as more teachers own cars. they have to plan ahead and put the foot down now. either expand farking or discourage teachers from driving to school by imposing a disincentive such as making them pay at least $69. now you just spilled the beans that 30 will not be enough as when time cums all teachers and staff get richer and buy cars, even 69 will not be enough. all these are good prosperous problems to solve, thanks to the pap! huat ah!

KNN... read my post when you're sober. The earlier post I made suggested about no more than 30 elite schools in a community of 360 odd institution, you twit.

My primary school Alma mater took over the compound of a old sec school next door,and dunman high near my house expanded twice in the last decade,they now have a hostel,a new block of classrooms,a auditorium and a big ass field and jogging track.

KNN... read my post when you're sober. The earlier post I made suggested about no more than 30 elite schools in a community of 360 odd institution, you twit.

sober? i was referring to this post of yours lah. you forgot so fast? thought you're a teacher. :rolleyes: