Chee Hong Kia to the rescue of insurers gang raped by sinkies: ≥5% co-payment for shield plans

Johnrambo

SINGAPORE: Patients must bear a minimum 5 per cent co-payment for new Integrated Shield plan riders, Senior Minister of State for Health Chee Hong Tat announced on Wednesday (Mar 7).
Policyholders will have a cap on the co-payment amount each year, Mr Chee said during his ministry’s Committee of Supply debate, adding that most insurers are planning to launch their new riders with an annual cap of S$3,000.

This places an upper limit on the risk exposure for policyholders, to protect them against very large bills, he said

The changes in requirements will affect those who have paid for what is known as “full riders”, on top of Integrated Shield Plans. Such riders cover the entire co-payment amount, so the policyholder ends up paying nothing regardless of the bill size.

Currently, about 29 per cent of Singapore residents have these full riders, Mr Chee said.
He said that new riders will be available within a year.

In the meantime, insurers can continue selling their existing rider plans, but must inform new policyholders that they will transit to the new riders with co-payment from Apr 1 2021.

More at
≥5 per cent co-payment for new Integrated Shield plan riders

I'm glad that before this new ruling kicks in, I took all those extra tests and checkups that my doctor suggested, since they were all covered under my rider plans. I got my money's worth.

MhabS0x.png

So instead of going after the doctors who over charged, over services and over prescribed, they go after the patients??

Fuck the govt!! First they bailed out the public transport companies at the slightest troubles, now insurance companies which make obscene profits year after year. Are they for us or corporations?

This is blatant corruption,collusion and nepotism between the PAP Govt and Businesses to exploit the Singapore Citizens.

The 70% allowed this. I don't understand the blame on on us consumers as usual, who are often accused of "ABUSING" the insurance?? How about the medical 'abusing' the patients with their high cost of medication, treatment & unnecessary use of medical equipment. One example, last year I accompanied an elderly relative to a government structured hospital to see a small lump near his knee. I suspected it was Bursitis. We went to the recommended "leg" specialists referred to...first, a x-ray was called for & done, after reviewing, said it was "bursitis" & scheduled a MRI at a later date & another visit to review. We paid for the consultation plus the X ray & fix a new appt. for the MRI & review. The cost came to $xxx.xx , no discounts, the next visit , MRI alone cost $800+ not including consultation, medicines if any plus GST!.

The bursitis subsided after many days of cold compress rub, the appointment for MRI was cancelled. Say, had that relative, gone back & say..could use medical insurance to pay....would the insurer be complaining that the patient, "ABUSE" the claim? to review a bursitis using MRI?

This "chee hong" is helping the insurance companies, instead of helping the people...this is the kind of politicians you people voted for. I remember the insurance companies including, "INCUM", had been bombarding me, with advertisements on paying for riders for my "shield", touting the fact that it will cover all my HOSPITALISATION BILLS, I DO NOT HAVE TO PAY A SINGLE CENT.

Now, the insurance companies is accusing us of abusing the insurance & want us to pay 5% of the cost for bills, that have riders!. Now, who is being ABUSED?. Your government help...

Pay and pay..

The insurers aggressively market the riders to add to the existing policies, touting it as, " no cash paid, when you are hospitalised"..now, they want MOH to make sure, patients pay 5% of the bill...The insured are at the mercy of MOH who can, will squeeze their 'balls', plus the insurers. Now, you have the insurers & MOH, together, plus a politician, all together now...you think, HUAT Ah!, for you?. No, they altogether squeeze our 'balls'.

To improve this & that...YOU PAY MORE!

You are right ...

Insurer, MOH and a Politician in cohoot to squeeze balls of citizens.

SINGAPORE: Patients must bear a minimum 5 per cent co-payment for new Integrated Shield plan riders, Senior Minister of State for Health Chee Hong Tat announced on Wednesday (Mar 7).
Policyholders will have a cap on the co-payment amount each year, Mr Chee said during his ministry’s Committee of Supply debate, adding that most insurers are planning to launch their new riders with an annual cap of S$3,000.

This places an upper limit on the risk exposure for policyholders, to protect them against very large bills, he said

The changes in requirements will affect those who have paid for what is known as “full riders”, on top of Integrated Shield Plans. Such riders cover the entire co-payment amount, so the policyholder ends up paying nothing regardless of the bill size.

Currently, about 29 per cent of Singapore residents have these full riders, Mr Chee said.
He said that new riders will be available within a year.

In the meantime, insurers can continue selling their existing rider plans, but must inform new policyholders that they will transit to the new riders with co-payment from Apr 1 2021.

More at
≥5 per cent co-payment for new Integrated Shield plan riders

Willing buyer willing seller. How can sell already say no count actually it costs more? Government got say insurers make too much money ask them charge less or not? :mad:

You are right ...

Insurer, MOH and a Politician in cohoot to squeeze balls of citizens.

You are right too. Fuck the PAP scums. Insurance companies are already making obscene amount of money. It's not the govt's job to ensure corporations make money in EVERY segment of their business.Fuck the 70% for emboldening the PAP scums.

I was talking to one of my classmates. I told him why doesn't the insurance companies go after those bad doctors who overcharge and cheat?

So he said those big cheat cases are not common. Also the patient don't complain. Insurance company also have no interest to complain. Why?

Simple.

Why complain to SMC about a handful of bad doctors? Then the SMC discipline them. So what? Insurance company get more money? More profits? No leh. They get nothing.

Whereas look at the alternative

1) Media blitz to use medical profession as easy scapegoats. Paint them ALL as evil. Say problem is HUGE.

2) Work with government to lower usage by patients. Also co-pay, lowers cost for the insurance companies and the government. = HIGHER PROFIT MARGINS!

Smart right?

Sigh only sinkies the dumb dumb cannot see between the lines. All out there slam the doctors.

I was talking to one of my classmates. I told him why doesn't the insurance companies go after those bad doctors who overcharge and cheat?

So he said those big cheat cases are not common. Also the patient don't complain. Insurance company also have no interest to complain. Why?

Simple.

Why complain to SMC about a handful of bad doctors? Then the SMC discipline them. So what? Insurance company get more money? More profits? No leh. They get nothing.

Whereas look at the alternative

1) Media blitz to use medical profession as easy scapegoats. Paint them ALL as evil. Say problem is HUGE.

2) Work with government to lower usage by patients. Also co-pay, lowers cost for the insurance companies and the government. = HIGHER PROFIT MARGINS!

Smart right?

Sigh only sinkies the dumb dumb cannot see between the lines. All out there slam the doctors.

I just said that in less words. If every GP I visit come and lor li lor sor like you it is no wonder healthcare costs are rising! :eek:

You got explain how they use Drs as scapegoat?

No wonder you not doctor. You more like Heng Swee Keat lah. LOL! "YOU KNOW!"