• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Sinkies Get Betrayed By Saudis! Saudi Arabia Terminates Changi's Contract To Manage Jeddah Airport!

ST_20180222_XSAUDI_3781607.jpg

Changi Airport has lost a key contract to operate and manage an airport in Saudi Arabia - a major setback to its overseas ambitions.

The termination notice served yesterday comes less than a year after Changi Airports International (CAI) - Changi's foreign investment and airport management arm - and Saudi Naval Services were awarded a 20-year contract to operate King Abdulaziz International Airport in Jeddah.

While CAI has won several airport consultancy and development projects in growing aviation markets, including China, India, Russia, Brazil and the Middle East, the Jeddah contract was a significant one.

CAI owns 75 per cent of the consortium that was awarded the contract in June last year.

In a statement to The Straits Times last night, a spokesman for the consortium confirmed that the firm had received the notice of termination from Saudi Arabia's General Authority of Civil Aviation (Gaca). He added that the contents of the notice are being reviewed.

"The consortium strictly observed the request for proposal process stipulated by Gaca. It submitted all required documentation for Gaca's review and had obtained all requisite approvals prior to the award of the concession," he stressed.

StrategicAero Research chief consultant Saj Ahmad said that while the latest development will mean a loss of revenue for CAI and its consortium partner, CAI can "still look to other growth areas in the Middle East going forward".

"If anything, the Saudi authorities will be under pressure to replace Changi's presence - there's no clarity thus far on that," he added.

Spreading its wings overseas is a growing focus for Changi Airport, which has so far left its mark on over 50 airports in more than 20 countries. But business has been challenging. CAI's revenues have increased from $18.5 million in the 2012/2013 financial year to $41 million in the 2015/2016 financial year.

But high operating costs, including taxes, in an already capital-intensive industry, as well as foreign exchange losses, have put pressure on profits, which fell to $6 million during the same period.

Still, the long-term prospects are strong, experts said.

Global passenger traffic is expected to almost double from now to 2036 and this will put pressure on airport infrastructure to expand, providing opportunities for CAI and other industry investors, they said.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapo...ses-20-year-contract-to-operate-saudi-airport

ST_20180222_XSAUDI_3781607.jpg

Changi Airport has lost a key contract to operate and manage an airport in Saudi Arabia - a major setback to its overseas ambitions.

Y betrayed? Should be good news for u. Afterall in ur eyes Saudi is a terrorist country.

In your eyes, countries whose majority share your religion are by default not terrorist countries? Simply because they share your religion? That's the way you choose sides? No wonder you cannot be trusted.

don’t tell me the bozos from changi airport impose a restrictive use of “free pubic” wi-fi in jeddah vagina looking airport by requiring travellers to submit their mobile number and wait 69 minutes to forever for a 6.9-digit pin to be sexted to their device? bunch of moronic nincompoops. it still is the case at changi while the rest of the world’s airports make it so easy by popping up a page for a user to click to accept the terms. and those wi-fi systems are already tracking your devices and have records of previous use without asking for your mobile number again and again and again. cumbersome authentication software requiring user submission of personal info is fucking old. today the software methodology is so sophisticated they know who, when and where you are without you knowing it. nobody with the right mind should ask changi airport bozos to manage their airports.

Just buy a $15 Singtel prepaid card lah. Automatic connection to wireless@sgx hotspots after one-time setup. Pretty good speed to watch YouTube videos.

already using prepaid nanosim from m1. only $30 for 100gb. allows tethering with any number of devices to hotspot mode. can steam video, listen to internet radio, and surf sbf night and day. shiok!

In your eyes, countries whose majority share your religion are by default not terrorist countries? Simply because they share your religion? That's the way you choose sides? No wonder you cannot be trusted.

No lah. Unlike u. U trust no Muslims cos u dont share their religion. U chose side.

The Saudi's have a new 'broom' that is sweeping clean right?. The old contract must have been signed by the previous Saudi's royals etc..must have greased some palms for palm greasing & camel rumps are common in those parts.

maybe someone ask-what benefits do the Saudi's get by giving CIA the contract?-do they operate like in their homebase by giving jobs to mainly foreigners like Pinoys, Indian nationals and PRC's?

Many things done in Singapore cannot be tolerated in most other countries-like giving preferences and most jobs to foreigners.
I'm purely speculating here but knowing how they work they probably think making profits is everything and could have offended local sensitivities there.

gaca muz b run by morons ...

changi airpot is world crass, world bestest, world lumpar 1 ... n yet dey dare sack such a world pedigree coy ...

dey wil definitely regret n repent ...

juz wait dey cum crawling back n beg cai 2 resume operations ...

Contract will go to manila airport. Or jakarta airport. Those people treat saudis like king unlike sinkies.

The Saudi's have a new 'broom' that is sweeping clean right?. The old contract must have been signed by the previous Saudi's royals etc...

possible reason...........or because we are too close to Qatar.

and more importantly it hints that SGX will not get the secondary listing of Aramco

To the saudis, why singapore?:D
Park money in sg ok la
Let sg come in our country earn our money, we bodoh meh?:D

Saudi Arabia must have been pissed off by Changi Singapore!

Maybe we should send in our warships to show our dis pleasure and register our unhappiness.
What's the use of spending 14 billion a year when you can't use it when you need it.