• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Taxi drivers here could be obsolete in three years

VonClaudia

SANTA CLARA, USA — Singapore could be the first country in the world to get a widespread transport service made up entirely of self-driving cars.

That’s the view of Glen De Vos, the chief technology officer of Delphi Corporation, a major automotive supplier that is working to launch just such a robot taxi business here.

Delphi already has one self-driving car on the road here, and will introduce two more this month to gather more data as it prepares to operate an on-demand taxi service minus taxi drivers.

The company has been working with the Land Transport Authority since August last year on an autonomous taxi trial. The project is designed to figure out what is needed on the infrastructure side — in terms of the road network, data centres and so on — to make robot cabs viable here.

If all goes to plan, by 2020 you should be able to summon a driverless car with your smartphone to take you wherever you want.

More at https://sg.yahoo.com/news/taxi-drivers-could-obsolete-three-223246289.html

banglat

aiyo...what's going to happen to our krafty?

SANTA CLARA, USA — Singapore could be the first country in the world to get a widespread transport service made up entirely of self-driving cars.

That’s the view of Glen De Vos, the chief technology officer of Delphi Corporation, a major automotive supplier that is working to launch just such a robot taxi business here.

Delphi already has one self-driving car on the road here, and will introduce two more this month to gather more data as it prepares to operate an on-demand taxi service minus taxi drivers.

The company has been working with the Land Transport Authority since August last year on an autonomous taxi trial. The project is designed to figure out what is needed on the infrastructure side — in terms of the road network, data centres and so on — to make robot cabs viable here.

If all goes to plan, by 2020 you should be able to summon a driverless car with your smartphone to take you wherever you want.

More at https://sg.yahoo.com/news/taxi-drivers-could-obsolete-three-223246289.html

There are still alot of issues with this driverless cars. That is why it's not being launched in the USA yet. In Singkieland due to lax regulations can still launch here. Anyway heard that with regards to the screw ups in driverless cars..the industry is keeping it quiet to prevent back lash.

When pap says u don get yr cpf at 55 in 1992 no sinkies bother to protest ir start a revolution

Now sinkies still dont know what to do with driverless taxis.

Bolumpar sinkies never wake up.

Testing

This one has to go through a few couple more years, meanwhile, it is a known fact that Uber or Grab, which uses App and charging lower fees, are taking over the helm liao.

Taxi drivers today are already blaming Uber and Grabcar drivers providing substandard service, breaking traffic laws etc... It will be really hilarious when they start bitching about robots and algorithms

shiokalingam

The acticle is a red herring. Its has already happened. Thanks to Grab and Uber.

• IMG-20170607-WA0005_1.jpg
    IMG-20170607-WA0005_1.jpg
    87.9 KB · Views: 2,760

spotter542

No more political conversation with taxi uncle :eek:
They whine and rant too much , payback is such a bitch
One less outlet for Singaporeans to bitch about the gahmen
Taxi drivers going the way of the dinosaurs ...

nayr69sg

Staff member
If that's the case, say bye bye to owning your own car as well.

Singapore govt will mandate that everyone use public transport ie self driving cars, buses, trains. No more car ownership.

Agoraphobic

This is due to technological progress. I wouldn't blame the gahmen for this. It is inevitable. AI will slowly replace human labour in almost every area. Wait till robots start becoming more human, even prostitutes will be replaced. Just wait and see.

gahmen trying hard 2 ramp up jobless sinkies ...

Agoraphobic

This will only happen if the public supports and go along with the polices laid down by the policy-makers.. Personal car ownership will soon become a thing of the past. In North America, the working class is seeing the light for leasing a car rather than owning one. Why pay exorbitant prices for something that depreciates and rusts? It is time Singaporeans starts seeing this, and decide whether it is worth the money for something that depreciates totally in ten years!

If that's the case, say bye bye to owning your own car as well.

Singapore govt will mandate that everyone use public transport ie self driving cars, buses, trains. No more car ownership.

nayr69sg

Staff member
This will only happen if the public supports and go along with the polices laid down by the policy-makers.. Personal car ownership will soon become a thing of the past. In North America, the working class is seeing the light for leasing a car rather than owning one. Why pay exorbitant prices for something that depreciates and rusts? It is time Singaporeans starts seeing this, and decide whether it is worth the money for something that depreciates totally in ten years!

Over a period of time it costs more to lease a car than own one if you do not factor in costs for repairs etc. The people who like to lease cars are the ones who cannot afford to own the car they like but want to drive that car (above their means) and also those lazy and do not plan to maintain the car.

It is kind of the same with renters and home owners although that one is different because owning a home actually has chance for asset appreciation. But it is the same characteristics in the type of people.

Agoraphopbic, are you still in Singapore?

Agoraphobic

Leasing makes more sense if one does not want the burden of upkeep, and also the opportuity for a new model every three years or so. Woth the rate of new models appearing so often, why should one get stcuk with something obsolete and out of trend after a few months of ownership? The mpth;uy rate are much the same as installments towards owneership. Now, if one were to facotr in the depreciation of the car (higher for somem high - end models), then it make more sense to lease a car. And some models may be difficault to dispose of after a while. Obviously the intangible value of the car is quite difficult to count (sentiumental, purists value) but this again is personal (eg. some people value a DeLorean as priceless, but to others, it is a piece of junk., just like a DeTomas Pantera) Owning a home is different. The value of the land it sits on is likely to hold its own, even in recession or inflationary times).

Am now in Toronto for short break.

Over a period of time it costs more to lease a car than own one if you do not factor in costs for repairs etc. The people who like to lease cars are the ones who cannot afford to own the car they like but want to drive that car (above their means) and also those lazy and do not plan to maintain the car.

It is kind of the same with renters and home owners although that one is different because owning a home actually has chance for asset appreciation. But it is the same characteristics in the type of people.

Agoraphopbic, are you still in Singapore?

nayr69sg

Staff member
Leasing makes more sense if one does not want the burden of upkeep, and also the opportuity for a new model every three years or so. Woth the rate of new models appearing so often, why should one get stcuk with something obsolete and out of trend after a few months of ownership? The mpth;uy rate are much the same as installments towards owneership. Now, if one were to facotr in the depreciation of the car (higher for somem high - end models), then it make more sense to lease a car. And some models may be difficault to dispose of after a while. Obviously the intangible value of the car is quite difficult to count (sentiumental, purists value) but this again is personal (eg. some people value a DeLorean as priceless, but to others, it is a piece of junk., just like a DeTomas Pantera) Owning a home is different. The value of the land it sits on is likely to hold its own, even in recession or inflationary times).

Am now in Toronto for short break.

Leasing is for those who want to drive a NEW car that they cannot afford and plan to change to NEW models every 1-3 years.

The comparison between owning vs leasing is usually made between getting a loan for a NEW car vs leasing a NEW car. However if you buy a 2nd hand car that has already had the bigger hit of depreciation, the numbers may convince you otherwise. Of course if the desire is to always be driving a NEW car aged 1-2 years old then of course leasing makes sense. However bear in mind that those monthly leasing fees with the higher interest rates will be forever.

http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/2012/12/buying-vs-leasing-basics/index.htm

Understanding leasing
To decide whether or not to lease your new car, it’s important to understand how the financial mechanics of leasing compare with a loan. In some ways, leasing is just like taking out a loan. When you lease, you borrow the entire value of the car (minus any trade-in or down payment). For example, when you drive away in a $36,000 leased vehicle, you’re immediately tying up the entire $36,000 that the finance company gave the dealership, the same as if you had bought the car with a loan. And just as with a loan, you’ll be charged monthly interest on that amount, minus what*ever you pay back along the way.

And it’s the amount you pay back that’s the biggest difference between a lease and a loan.

With a loan, your payments are based on the entire cost of the vehicle. For a 36-month loan on that $36,000 car, for example, the principal por*tion of the payment averages $1,000 a month. But with a lease, you pay back only the vehicle’s decline in value—the depreciation—while you’re using it.

Since that $36,000 vehicle might depreciate about $18,000 over that same 36 months, the principal portion of the monthly lease payment would be based on $500, about half as much as for the loan. Of course, at the end of the lease, you have to return the car (unless you come up with the remaining $18,000 of the residual value to buy it).

Note that in both cases, the net principal you pay back is $18,000.

Add finance charges
In addition to the principal portion of the payment, there are also finance charges, the interest rate to borrow money. These are much higher for a lease because you’re paying back the cost of a leased car more slowly, $500 a month compared to $1,000 with a loan. That leaves a greater unpaid balance that’s subject to that finance charge month after month.

Put another way, in exchange for those lower monthly payments that come with a lease, you pay significantly higher finance charges compared to an equivalent loan, about $1,435 more for that $36,000 car. That additional cost would be partly offset by the sales tax break lessees get in most states. Also, lessees can invest the extra amount that otherwise would go toward a monthly loan payment.

Taken together, those benefits might offset the higher lease finance charges. But even then, lessees often have to contend with various fees and other extra costs, including lease initiation and disposal fees, which can add hundreds more to the total cost.

All these additional costs are multiplied if you keep leasing whenever your old lease runs out, although some may be waived through lease-loyalty programs

new fisker model, the emotion. will compete with tesla s model soon. but this one is better with range at 400 miles per charge and can charge up very quickly to full capacity in 6.9 minutes. will have self-driving or autopilot firmware when rolled out. not for taxi drivers.

IMG_0161.JPG