• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

OVERHEARD: How To Escape Reservist Training Forever

ahleebabasingaporethief

[COLOR="_______"]Was having breakfast at Binjai Park coffeshop (bak kut teh) and overheard 1 lau lun father telling his kakis how he 'fixed' both his sons escape from reservists training.

Ready to hear this?

He told his kakis as long as he pay his sons close to $10K a month (sons working for him) and annual income is around $200K, Mindef lun lun will write letter if sons will do reservists training for minimum sum from Mindef.

Of course the answer is NO! So there u go. Just pay yourself a high salary and escape reservist training.
[/COLOR]

dc7176

10k?? u must b jokin... i hav a buddy who is earning ard 12k a month n he is there digging trench beside me...:confused:

Brightkid

I don't think the amount is that low to avoid reservist.

My manager (and some colleagues/friends) are earning few times that amount (my guess is closer to $500K per annum including bounes/commission) in MNCs. Some are just CPL or LCP (actually vocation is RP :rolleyes:) in PDF. Every year also look forward to go for ICT to happily relax (of course seen them working during rest time in ICT too la).

ahleebabasingaporethief

I don't think the amount is that low to avoid reservist.

My manager (and some colleagues/friends) are earning few times that amount (my guess is closer to $500K per annum including bounes/commission) in MNCs. Some are just CPL or LCP (actually vocation is RP :rolleyes:) in PDF. Every year also look forward to go for ICT to happily relax (of course seen them working during rest time in ICT too la).

Bro many high earners volunteered by waiving their pro-rated salaries. Don't believe ask them. that's why they so happy to "jiat hong" and relax. To some escape from work and do reservist is better.

I have since check with my 3 sons and they concurred that it is true. if you have high paying job, reservist got NO enough money or budget for you.

Bro, do you by any chance stay at Toa Payoh? I know a chap who goes to the Binjai Park Bak Kut Teh regularly to meet his khakis who are drivers for the rich. They all hang around there waiting for bosses to call. Best place to hear gossip.

The offer is made to family business and self employed. Most agree to avoid probe by tax department. Anyway most of the reservist pay fraud comes from self employed and family business where the pay is artificially increased.

Any way, a lot of people are placed in holding list by the time they are 35. I am sure they can afford to pay for the remaning.

The rich normally go see medical specialist who can detect things. If you pay enough money, they will find something for you.

[COLOR="_______"]Was having breakfast at Binjai Park coffeshop (bak kut teh) and overheard 1 lau lun father telling his kakis how he 'fixed' both his sons escape from reservists training.

Ready to hear this?

He told his kakis as long as he pay his sons close to $10K a month (sons working for him) and annual income is around $200K, Mindef lun lun will write letter if sons will do reservists training for minimum sum from Mindef.

Of course the answer is NO! So there u go. Just pay yourself a high salary and escape reservist training.
[/COLOR]

hairylee

I know of many officers looking forward to reservist so that they could be somebody and feel their rank once a year.

Derrick

My friend, 10k a month/200k a year is high ? MINDEF has been allocated 6% of the govt's annual budget which amonunts to several billions for this purpose.

OK, so u decide to declare for yourself an annual salary of 200K hoping u dun get called back. Unfortunately you will still be called back.

So come April the following year when it comes to filing your income tax returns, what do you do ? Lan lan fill in 200k as your income. At 200K, your tax bracket is about 18% which works out to 36K of tax payable. Your make up pay for 2 weeks of ICT would be about 8K. The net gain for the govt is 28K !!!!

So go ahead and declare as much as you want .... 1 million even better. Come April next year oyu'll have a major headache.

commoner

my friend pay was 8,000 in the private sector in the 80s and his vocation a clerk and never call back for reservist....

another one a S4, 5 figure salary also kena call back,,,,

i think no guarantee how to siam NS reservists except by getting a overseas posting and return to singapore less than 1 month everytime, get exit permit till you 40 y/o,,,,

PAPsupporter

Ready to hear this?

[/COLOR]

This is not true. The great PAP government won't do such a thing.

The only way to your so-called 'escaped' from reservist is either you downgrade yourself to PES E or being exempted with medical evidences and records from doctors and specialists.

alvin36

This is not true. The great PAP government won't do such a thing.

The only way to your so-called 'escaped' from reservist is either you downgrade yourself to PES E or being exempted with medical evidences and records from doctors and specialists.

one question, if you committed of any crime.. and serve prison sentense for 2 years, are you exempted from reservist after your release from prison ?
is there any rule about this ?

I got a friend, he got a 2 yr jail term for a CBT (cheating) case about 6 years ago, and he served his term and got released in 2005. He is only 32 yr old now, and he has never being called for any NS notice or reservist (ippt also dont have) after his release since 4 years ago. before his jail term, he has went got 5 cycle of in-camp.

how can he ask mindef to clarify this ?
he was jokingly asking me.. if he can throw away all this army uniform and other stuffs.

shelltox

Ready to hear this?

[/COLOR]

My boss own business makes more $$$$ than the man's sons, still got to report for reservist but as a driver(active also driver) .His pay is definitely higher than the officers he drives around.

PAPsupporter

one question, if you committed of any crime.. and serve prison sentense for 2 years, are you exempted from reservist after your release from prison ?
is there any rule about this ?

I got a friend, he got a 2 yr jail term for a CBT (cheating) case about 6 years ago, and he served his term and got released in 2005. He is only 32 yr old now, and he has never being called for any NS notice or reservist (ippt also dont have) after his release since 4 years ago. before his jail term, he has went got 5 cycle of in-camp.

how can he ask mindef to clarify this ?
he was jokingly asking me.. if he can throw away all this army uniform and other stuffs.

I am not sure about this. But you can call up the MINDEF hotline and ask them regarding this matter. I am sure they are more than pleased to answer all your queries.

ah_phah

earning big fat income higher than minister also no guarantee u can siam reservist la. there's only a few key factors to justify, if your service is at all necessary. if u're cook/ clerk/ driver, n u earning big bucks as civilian, paying your taxes punctually, AssAF may forget to call u back for reservist. the moment u lose your job, back to ground zero......... they will invite u with lion +dragon dance liao.

if u're key appointment holder, even if u earning more than ministers, they will still call u back.

the best way to siam enlistment once and for all, is be very religious, declare u're a tangki in the temple, or u're a religious worker...... then most likely they not interested to enlist u.

Ah Guan

I believe it's got something to do with your pay as well as your rank and vocation

More important appointment holders (like orificers and chief storemen/clerks) will definitely get called up ... even it you are a partner/director of a firm

If you are paid $10k/mth and an S1 clerk, you are probably safe

I know of many officers looking forward to reservist so that they could be somebody and feel their rank once a year.

Going for reservist is no holiday if you're working in the private sector. How many companies have extra people to take up the slack while you are away doing reservist :confused:

Not everyone can work for a GLC :smile:

When you come back from your "holiday", very terok with all the work waiting

Pica_NA

10K per month to escape reservist ?? that father still stay in cave ?

my fren is drawing 30K per month and the annual is added up to (30K x 12) + 30K AWS + (30K x 3) bonus = 480K per annual ... is crawling beside me during reservist... now SAF is rich... they can get those rich fellow to crawl back to camp ....

Char_Azn

Yeap, I can testify to this. 1 of my reservist mate and another close friend are actually earn more then 10K outside and still getting call up every year.