Serious GIC rate of return fall now to only 4% per annum over last 20 years!!

Gay Loong sleeping on the job? How about Lim Siong Guan? This is really pathetic returns. 4% per annum don't even cover inflation rate. That means they have been sufffering a loss for years. The indirectly pay CPF holders 2.5%, then the remianing 1.5% eaten up by overhead, admin, salaries, rental, etc. So, they are suffering a big loss.

[h=1]Dip in annualised real rate of return for GIC[/h]

gic.jpg

The GIC office building in Singapore. (Photo: AFP/Roslan Rahman)

• Email
  • More

• A
    • A

SINGAPORE: Sovereign wealth fund GIC generated an annualised real rate of return of 4 per cent over the 20-year period that ended Mar 31 this year, down from 4.9 per cent a year ago, according to its annual report published on Thursday (Jul 28).
As the rate is calculated based on a rolling return, the investment firm attributed the decline partly to a bumper year in 1996 dropping out from the rolling 20-year return period.
gic-1-data.png

[h=3]Annualised Rolling 20-Year Real Rate of the GIC Portfolio since 2001. (Graph: GIC)[/h]​
GIC explained that the 4 per cent rate of return also takes into account major events over the last 20 years, including the Dot Com Bubble and Bust in 2000 and the Global Financial Crisis in 2008.
The investment firm has well over US$100 billion in assets under management and its portfolio is distributed across six core asset classes – developed market equities, emerging market equities, nominal bonds and cash, inflation-linked bonds, real estate and private equity.
Over the past year, the investment firm said it has taken a more defensive approach, increasing its allocation to bonds and cash at the expense of some equity exposure.
Asset allocation to nominal bonds and cash rose to 34 per cent for the year ending Mar 31, edging down from 32 per cent the year before.
Over the same period, the asset mix in developed market equities fell to 26 per cent, compared to 29 per cent a year ago.
gic-2-data.png

[h=3]Asset Mix of the GIC Portfolio. (Table: GIC)[/h]​
Looking ahead, GIC says real returns are expected to be lower in a protracted period of all-time low-interest rates, modest global growth prospects and high valuations of financial assets.
GIC Deputy Group President and Group Chief Investment Officer Lim Chow Kiat said the challenges include high debt and an exhaustion of policy options, especially in the area of monetary policy.

Valuations of financial assets are also high and returns based on starting valuations are low by historical standards, according to GIC.

The company estimated that a portfolio comprising 65 per cent US stocks and 35 per cent US bonds is expected to generate real returns of 1 to 2 per cent over the next 10 years, well below the historical average of 5.2 per cent.

Still, GIC said it saw opportunities for active investment in the current environment of low yield and high uncertainty by taking a bottom-up approach rather than allocating based on geographies and industries.

Mr Lim said there were two main situations that offered a "good starting point": Markets which have experienced a crash or bad sell-off - such as natural resources, commodities or even financials in some regions - and sectors that are fundamentally doing well such as healthcare.

Like that, fucking GIC should just liquidate itself and put its money into mutual funds. then they don't need a risk analysis team, they don't need high paid chiak liao bees, they don't need expensive office towers and offices all over the world. If they had spread out all the money and invested it with the top 20 mutual funds, their annual returns would have been around 10% for the last 20 years. Big difference between 10% and 4%. Fucking PAP is really the most incompetent pieces of asshole dogshits around. Look at the performance of these top funds.

[h=2]Large-Company Stock Funds - 20 years[/h]
-5.31%11.1%12.22%8.8%

[TD="class: hed hed_wide hed_left"]FUND NAME[/TD]
[TD="class: hed"]SYMBOL[/TD]
[TD="class: hed"]1-YR
RETURN[/TD]
[TD="class: hed"]3-YR
RETURN[/TD]
[TD="class: hed"]5-YR
RETURN[/TD]
[TD="class: hed"]10-YR
RETURN[/TD]
[TD="class: hed hed_highlight"]20-YR
RETURN[/TD]
[TD="class: hed"]VOL RANK[/TD]
[TD="class: hed"]MAX. SALES CHARGE[/TD]
[TD="class: hed"]EXPENSE RATIO[/TD]

[TD="class: col"] Vanguard Capital Opportunity Inv [/TD]
[TD="class: col"] VHCOX [/TD]

[TD="class: col highlight"]11.61%[/TD]
[TD="class: col center"]7[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]none%[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]0.45%[/TD]

[TD="class: col"] Calamos Growth A [/TD]
[TD="class: col"] CVGRX [/TD]

[TD="class: col highlight"]11.56[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]4.75[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]1.31[/TD]

[TD="class: col"] Principal Capital Appreciation A [/TD]
[TD="class: col"] CMNWX [/TD]

[TD="class: col highlight"]11.17[/TD]
[TD="class: col center"]4[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]5.50[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]0.84[/TD]

[TD="class: col"] Fidelity New Millennium [/TD]
[TD="class: col"] FMILX [/TD]

[TD="class: col highlight"]11[/TD]
[TD="class: col center"]5[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]none[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]0.71[/TD]

[TD="class: col"] Vanguard Primecap Inv [/TD]
[TD="class: col"] VPMCX [/TD]

[TD="class: col highlight"]10.79[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]0.4[/TD]

[TD="class: col"] Mairs & Power Growth Inv [/TD]
[TD="class: col"] MPGFX [/TD]

[TD="class: col highlight"]10.72[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]0.65[/TD]

[TD="class: col"] Legg Mason ClearBridge Aggressive Growth A [/TD]
[TD="class: col"] SHRAX [/TD]

[TD="class: col highlight"]10.53[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]5.75[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]1.12[/TD]

[TD="class: col"] Matthew 25 Fund [/TD]
[TD="class: col"] MXXVX [/TD]

[TD="class: col highlight"]10.24[/TD]
[TD="class: col center"]8[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]2.00r[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]1.06[/TD]

[TD="class: col"] Fidelity Export & Multinational [/TD]
[TD="class: col"] FEXPX [/TD]

[TD="class: col highlight"]9.98[/TD]
[TD="class: col center"]4[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]0.75r[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]0.76[/TD]

[TD="class: col"] American Funds Growth Fund of America A [/TD]
[TD="class: col"] AGTHX [/TD]

[TD="class: col highlight"]9.93[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]5.75[/TD]
[TD="class: col"]0.65[/TD]
r Maximum redemption fee charged when you sell shares. — Fund has not existed for the specified time. s Front-end sales charge; redemption fee may apply. Source: Morningstar, Inc..

Read more at http://www.kiplinger.com/tool/inves...ng-mutual-funds/index.php#TbmbiE3S2GP6Ctaz.99

im pretty sure the S&P 500 just broke the all time high of 2100 even after the 2001 crash and the 2008 crash.

IVV the S&P 500 ishares returned a annual average of 4 percent per year if u invested at inception in 2000 right at the top of the bubble before the crash.......if u invested 20 years before in 1995 im pretty sure the return would have been skyhigh.or in 1990 or 1985 or 1976.......

why do we need the Temasek Holdings for?A passive index fund would have beaten the shit out of Temasek,and without all the financial manipulation and socializing cost and privatizing profits.

SPY has data going back to 1993,if u invested in SPY 20 years ago in 1995 dividends reinvested,ur annualised return would have been 8.5 percent,way better than Temasek's 4 percent.

im pretty sure the S&P 500 just broke the all time high of 2100 even after the 2001 crash and the 2008 crash.

Someone forgot to break this news to Gay Loong at GIC. He is too busy doing sudoku?

He is busy with the rear end doctor in Moscow, went looking for the merlion in Japan & having a good time in korea & later went mongolia & got a gift horse...soon, he will post his exploit in POKEMAN GO.....what GIC?

The late LKY told us.....GIC etc...is not for us to know....:p but if it was LKY running it....begrudgingly I would trust him...his son, NO!:mad:

total fucking fail,if Temasek holdings simply put their money in the US market and sit on their ass they would have gotten 8 percent returns,can u imagine how big would our soverign wealth fund will be today?maybe 500 or 600 billion.they have literally cheated sinkies of a massive fortune and their future.

oh by the way they say the real rate of return is 4 percent,what was the inflation rate used for adjustment?maybe ho jinx is a investment genius after all.

Temasek must have many skeletons. Probably one of the reasons the FamiLee cannot afford to loose control of Spore's parliament.

If they loose a GE they would have to run road.

Rubbish lah Papsmearer. Sing dollar too has steadily risen over the last 20 years. If money invested outside sg twenty years ago of course must beat Sing dollar appreciation plus inflation on top of the usual rate of return. So simple you dunno? :rolleyes:

U truly are one of the dumbest pieces of dogshit here in this forum. In fact, i have to say I am insulting dogshit when i say that. because, u are dumber then even that.

The sing dollar appreciating means that overseas assets that GIC wants to buy is also cheaper relative to the exchange rate. If SGD goes up 10% versus the USD, then the asset in the US that GIC wants to buy is 10% cheaper. The onus is on GIC to find investments in countries whose currency is not going to tank and devalue their investments. If they keep pumping money into the US and the US dollar keeps weakening against the SGD, that means they are idiots.

U truly are one of the dumbest pieces of dogshit here in this forum. In fact, i have to say I am insulting dogshit when i say that. because, u are dumber then even that.

The sing dollar appreciating means that overseas assets that GIC wants to buy is also cheaper relative to the exchange rate. If SGD goes up 10% versus the USD, then the asset in the US that GIC wants to buy is 10% cheaper. The onus is on GIC to find investments in countries whose currency is not going to tank and devalue their investments. If they keep pumping money into the US and the US dollar keeps weakening against the SGD, that means they are idiots.

Alamak. You dense or what? Invest of course have to pay first collect later lah. Last year you pay 10S$ this year you pay 9S$ you paid already of course that means you sitting on paper loss of 1S$. Understand? Even if that thing price remains unchanged at 8US$ all the while. Understand? No change in us$ value but s$ keep appreciating while our sovereign funds seeking investment overseas means you need to beat exchange rate appreciation EVERY year. EVERY FUCKING YEAR. You must be one of those ah laus look at your usd investment make 10% pa over 10 years thinking you so smart when you actually convert back to sgd it barely make 3% pa before taxes. :rolleyes: Who the dogshit now, dumb dumb? :rolleyes:

oh by the way they say the real rate of return is 4 percent,what was the inflation rate used for adjustment?maybe ho jinx is a investment genius after all.
That's why Buy-High-Sell-Low is paid about 45,000,000 USD annually after the last GE.