Serious Doctor Jailed 9 Months For Lying About m&d's Cause Of Death! Guess The Race?

No lah I only hate my barbarian MALAYSIAN CHINESE neighbours and those MALAYSIANS in JB forum who slandered me and my ex colleague MALAYSIAN INDIAN SPR who sabotaged me. And you didn't see me always praise MALAYSIA govt very smart and protective of their citizens?

Oh I am just curious as always read from their newspapers reporting car accident death about them sending the body to hospital for autopsy. Never see Spore papers reporting like that. So I think there could be difference in death procedure. Maybe their procedure more thorough to do autopsy on car accident death bodies whereas Spore don't?

after a car accident or industrial accident, die on the street, no doctor in his right mind would certify death lah. That one automatic should be coroner's case. The problem is if the death occured elsewhere and the body was brought home and then they claim death occurred at home......

Mind you SPF and Casket and the family would rather the GP sign the death cert and they can all be on their way. So GP is.....clairvoyant?

As I said before, if GP is good doctor, discerning, objective and ethical, and sometimes refuse to certify death, they will be called "unhelpful" by everyone. (Not to mention won't get paid for that "unhelpful" no death certificate in the end housecall )

And that would be the end of his career as a "death certificate doctor". SPF will not refer cases to him/her. Casket will not refer to him/her.

I know of very few family doctors who offer death certification services to their own patients.

http://www.nea.gov.sg/public-health...-matters/death-registration/when-death-occurs

Scenario B: If the death occurs at home

Step 1: Obtain Certificate of Cause of Death

Contact your family doctor who has been attending to the deceased. If you do not have a family doctor or if the family doctor is not available, contact any of the neighbourhood doctor who is willing to make a house call.

If the doctor is able to certify the death, he will issue the CCOD on the spot. If he is unable to certify the death, call the Police for the body to be sent to Mortuary@HSA (located at Block 9 Singapore General Hospital) in a Police Hearse. The family will be told by the Police when to go down to the Mortuary@HSA (usually the next day).

If you are unable to contact a doctor, call the Police. The body will be sent to the Mortuary@HSA in a Police Hearse. The family will be told by the Police when to go down to the Mortuary@HSA (usually on the next day).

Mortuary@HSA operating hours:
Monday to Friday - 8:00am to 4:30pm
Sat, Sun and Public Holidays - 8:00am to 12:30pm

At the Mortuary@HSA
• The Police Investigator will arrange for the family to view and identify the deceased's body in the presence of the Coroner.

• The Coroner will review the case and determine if an autopsy is required.

• The family will be informed of the Coroner's decision and the time to claim the body for the funeral.

If the autopsy reveals that the death is unnatural, the Police will need to conduct further investigations into the cause of death and the family will need to assist. Once the investigation is completed, the family will be told by the Police to attend a Coroner Inquiry at the Subordinate Courts.

Step 2: Engage a Funeral Director

After the Certificate of Cause of Death has been obtained, the family may engage a funeral director who will

(i) collect the body from the home/hospital mortuary
(ii) send the body for embalming (if required), and
(iii) deliver the body to the location of the wake

Looks like Malaysia has one more step indeed to send the body to hospital for record.

Yes it seems 3rd world matland is even more proper and serious than sinkieland when dealing with this issue.
Had a relative who died while on family holiday.
Big hassle getting the body back to Sg as the hospital doctor refused to sign off.....then I thot it was their red tape or the hospital guys want kopi money.....turned out the doctor explained they couldn't just suka suka sign the death certificate.

So can get the body back to Spore? I read in that same website says cannot. Have to cremate and repatriate the ashes.

"Burial or Cremation

Malaysian law determines whether a person can be buried or cremated. This is determined by the visa status of the deceased. If the deceased was a Malaysian citizen then the body must be buried in Malaysia. If they were a non-citizen then the body must be cremated and repatriated. "

Now there is another practice in Singapore which I cannot fully understand to this day.

Sometimes patients do go to the ED and die there.

Now hospital policy is that if a patient dies at the ED, no doctor at the hospital can certify death. It should be made a coroner's case.

However, there are cases where the hospital wants to be "helpful" to the family as the cause of death is pretty clear. So they call the "hotline" and they get the death certificate doctors to go to the ED and sign the death certificate. That way the family can go ahead with funeral preparations and be assured there will be no autopsy. Everyone happy. But it has to be a non hospital doctor drive down to the ED and sign the death certificate.

Up to this day I have no idea what is correct or wrong? So obviously hospital has reason not to allow A&E doctors to certify death. On the other hand, getting a GP to do it is a mere formality if the hospital doctors are in agreement with the cause of death. Frankly these cases were good cases to certify as there is support from the assessment by the A&E. But why go through all these hoops?

The key is we want to pick up the cases of unnatural death. Not all this protocol nonsense for the sake of protocol.

after a car accident or industrial accident, die on the street, no doctor in his right mind would certify death lah. That one automatic should be coroner's case. The problem is if the death occured elsewhere and the body was brought home and then they claim death occurred at home......

Mind you SPF and Casket and the family would rather the GP sign the death cert and they can all be on their way. So GP is.....clairvoyant?

As I said before, if GP is good doctor, discerning, objective and ethical, and sometimes refuse to certify death, they will be called "unhelpful" by everyone. (Not to mention won't get paid for that "unhelpful" no death certificate in the end housecall )

And that would be the end of his career as a "death certificate doctor". SPF will not refer cases to him/her. Casket will not refer to him/her.

I know of very few family doctors who offer death certification services to their own patients.

Oic so death from car accident in Spore all bodies will end up with autopsy?

By and large yes. During my med school in NUS, we had a week attachment with the forensic pathology department.

I remember them saying that Singapore has one of the highest autopsy rates in the world which is why the forensic pathologists in Singapore are so good. They have lots of practice.

car crash must check if alcohol was a factor. Poisoned? Had heart attack? I guess the insurance companies want to know cos it impacts them.

Now there is another practice in Singapore which I cannot fully understand to this day.

Now hospital policy is that if a patient dies at the ED, no doctor at the hospital can certify death. It should be made a coroner's case.

However, there are cases where the hospital wants to be "helpful" to the family as the cause of death is pretty clear. So they call the "hotline" and they get the death certificate doctors to go to the ED and sign the death certificate. That way the family can go ahead with funeral preparations and be assured there will be no autopsy. Everyone happy. But it has to be a non hospital doctor drive down to the ED and sign the death certificate.

Up to this day I have no idea what is correct or wrong? So obviously hospital has reason not to allow A&E doctors to certify death. On the other hand, getting a GP to do it is a mere formality if the hospital doctors are in agreement with the cause of death. Frankly these cases were good cases to certify as there is support from the assessment by the A&E. But why go through all these hoops?

The key is we want to pick up the cases of unnatural death. Not all this protocol nonsense for the sake of protocol.

Good info. Now we know have to check into hospital to die if not end up coroner's case.

By and large yes. During my med school in NUS, we had a week attachment with the forensic pathology department.

I remember them saying that Singapore has one of the highest autopsy rates in the world which is why the forensic pathologists in Singapore are so good. They have lots of practice.

car crash must check if alcohol was a factor. Poisoned? Had heart attack? I guess the insurance companies want to know cos it impacts them.

Ok thanks for the info.

Good info. Now we know have to check into hospital to die if not end up coroner's case.

Actually best to check into hospital lah. But if you die at hospital MORE likely you will be coroner's case.

Mind you, NOT ALL coroner's cases result in an autopsy. There are cases where I have made a death coroner's case and the coroner signed it up (ie no autopsy). Family was pissed with me for wasting their time, scaring all the relatives and being "unhelpful". Well yeah sure. But being helpful all the time means maybe coroner will call you up one day to explain.

In Singapore if the customer is paying they call the shots. I think every Singaporean will know what I mean lah hor? I say it is a rubbish system when you want people to act and work professionally. It just pushes the boundaries for unprofessionalism in the name of business.

The system is set up that way. Payer is king. System ripe for corruption and unethical and unprofessional practices.

It is the same with having government forbid SMA from publishing a guide to medical fees in the name of competition (when in actual fact the SMA guideline on fees is meant to be a ceiling on charges) and then say that people like Dr Susan Lim have an "ethical limit" to how much they can charge.

It is ridiculous. It is like saying there are no limits or guidelines to how painting from Van Gogh are sold. Then later say that the auction house that sold the painting for 1 billion is too much.

What is the ethical limit for a politician's salary?

Actually best to check into hospital lah. But if you die at hospital MORE likely you will be coroner's case.

Mind you, NOT ALL coroner's cases result in an autopsy. There are cases where I have made a death coroner's case and the coroner signed it up (ie no autopsy). Family was pissed with me for wasting their time, scaring all the relatives and being "unhelpful". Well yeah sure. But being helpful all the time means maybe coroner will call you up one day to explain.

In Singapore if the customer is paying they call the shots. I think every Singaporean will know what I mean lah hor? I say it is a rubbish system when you want people to act and work professionally. It just pushes the boundaries for unprofessionalism in the name of business.

The system is set up that way. Payer is king. System ripe for corruption and unethical and unprofessional practices.

It is the same with having government forbid SMA from publishing a guide to medical fees in the name of competition (when in actual fact the SMA guideline on fees is meant to be a ceiling on charges) and then say that people like Dr Susan Lim have an "ethical limit" to how much they can charge.

It is ridiculous. It is like saying there are no limits or guidelines to how painting from Van Gogh are sold. Then later say that the auction house that sold the painting for 1 billion is too much.

What is the ethical limit for a politician's salary?

Die in ED coroner's case I can understand. Die in hospital from illness should be very straight forward. How come more likely to be coroner's case?

Actually in finance work is the same, the internal customer I.e the management already decided to buy the equipment and you then be helpful to do the reverse engineering to work out the numbers to support the replacement of equipment. Also stupid right? My stupid ex GM already decided to replace the four year old equipment that cost millions and you then go find out ways to work reverse to show the replacement will save money. Common sense also know something wrong right to buy multi million dollars equipment only to replace with new ones after four years. And this sinkie chap Cheng GM and the India Indian manager went traveling to USA to test out the new equipment........

Die in ED coroner's case I can understand. Die in hospital from illness should be very straight forward. How come more likely to be coroner's case?

Actually in finance work is the same, the internal customer I.e the management already decided to buy the equipment and you then be helpful to do the reverse engineering to work out the numbers to support the replacement of equipment. Also stupid right? My stupid ex GM already decided to replace the four year old equipment that cost millions and you then go find out ways to work reverse to show the replacement will save money. Common sense also know something wrong right to buy multi million dollars equipment only to replace with new ones after four years. And this sinkie chap Cheng GM and the India Indian manager went traveling to USA to test out the new equipment........

Sorry to have confused you. Yes if die at ED before go up to the hospital bed in the ward/unit then coroner's case.

If die up in the ward then the ward doctors will sign up the death usually.

If die after any surgery/operation must be coroner's case also. Cannot sign up. If die after a fall in the ward also coroner's case.

What I meant was if you are dying, please go to the hospital. But if you die at the ED then it is a coroner's case. So hopefully you get up to the hospital ward and are saved before dying.

Your account reminds me of a story my relative told me. He said his chairman asked him to call in Deloitte to do a study about whether privatizing a particular stat board would be feasible and desirable. At the first meeting they asked him whether he wanted them to write a report that says it is feasible or not feasible!!!! ?????

He replied I thought that is what we hired you guys to determine? I am not in favor of privatizing but the chairman is.

Guess what Deloitte said in their final report?

sinkies are known to be superstitious. they don't want to die at home and bring bad luck to other family members living in the same home. they also think the home value will remain intact for their beneficiaries. not just sinkies, but chinkies in general, including hongkies, taiwanese and tiongs have this notion that dying brings bad luck and it's best to do it somewhere else. sg should have a dying center called the death hub, where the dying can be dropped off and left to die with coroner on 24 by 7 duty to certify death of voluntary means. and if they don't die within a day, deduct from medisave and cpf and charge extra for occupying a bed. if bed is in corridor, they get a discount. :p

Another option. Medically assisted suicide centres. No need death certificate if die there.

sinkies will still need serial numbers on certificates to buy 4-d. perhaps a sinkie graduation from slavery certificate and not death certificate.

Die also need to 伤脑精 in Sinkieland. .haiz

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread....rife-over-Yishun-murder&p=2476246#post2476246

"Singapore Casket works hand in hand with Police. Police gets a call, they call Singapore Casket, Singapore Casket calls a "Helpful" GP willing to certify death. Usually costs about $200-$300 (back in the early 2000s dunno how much now)."

By way of sharing, just recently, I paid the GP who certified my mom' s death $300.00. It took all of 10 fuss-free minutes after going through some formal questions and answers and reading the relevant medical reports.

My understanding is that any death within 24 hrs of admission to a hospital whether sent to ward or not is an automatic coroner's case. This includes patients with long medical history. However it does not mean there will be an autopsy. They will look at the medical history and certify cause of death. No big hassle as body still has to collect at the morgue. So instead of getting the CCOD at the ward, you collect at the morgue when you collect the body.

This has always been pare for the course. GKS did that when he disagreed with the proposal to build MRT. He called for another consultancy review from Harvard I think. They recommended an all bus public transport infrastructure. Thankfully the cabinet disagreed and went with the first report.

In another case, the wife of the principal consultant from the UK engaged by the Civil Service to restructure a major department as a courtesy was shown around the Singapore's Tourist sites by a senior department female staff over a few days. The wife near the end shared with her the expected findings that the Perm Sec was looking for which the husband told the wife. The wife has no idea that it was not supposed to be the case. And this was the very first week of their 6 mths consultancy work. The staff shared what she heard with some of her colleagues and it was exactly what the wife said.

It is also something that you see in the private sector and around the World. The senior executive already has a vision and does not have the time to flesh it out and does not have the capacity to conduct the review. It also useful when sensitive decisions have to be made about key personnel and the consultants become the hatchet man.

A friend's daughter left McKinsey in the US when she realised that billings hours were singular main KPIs and the reviews are seldom independent. Apparently she struggle to sleep because of it.

Your account reminds me of a story my relative told me. He said his chairman asked him to call in Deloitte to do a study about whether privatizing a particular stat board would be feasible and desirable. At the first meeting they asked him whether he wanted them to write a report that says it is feasible or not feasible!!!! ?????

He replied I thought that is what we hired you guys to determine? I am not in favor of privatizing but the chairman is.

Sorry to have confused you. Yes if die at ED before go up to the hospital bed in the ward/unit then coroner's case.

If die up in the ward then the ward doctors will sign up the death usually.

If die after any surgery/operation must be coroner's case also. Cannot sign up. If die after a fall in the ward also coroner's case.

What I meant was if you are dying, please go to the hospital. But if you die at the ED then it is a coroner's case. So hopefully you get up to the hospital ward and are saved before dying.

Thanks very clear now. So external consultant also have to be helpful to customers lol.

My understanding is that any death within 24 hrs of admission to a hospital whether sent to ward or not is an automatic coroner's case. This includes patients with long medical history. However it does not mean there will be an autopsy. They will look at the medical history and certify cause of death. No big hassle as body still has to collect at the morgue. So instead of getting the CCOD at the ward, you collect at the morgue when you collect the body.

Oic good to know that die from stroke or heart attack within 24 hours will end up as coroner's case.