• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Is Retrenchment A Bad Word?

tomychua

Article Source: http://bit.Iy/29GxM7W

“You have been retrenched.”

What June dreaded had finally come to pass. She had lost her job as a production planner at a semi-conductor firm.
“It felt like the sky had fallen down on me!” recalls June Lim who had been working with the company for some six years.

ntuc-brown-bag-data.jpg

The day she was retrenched, the company handed her a brown paper bag to pack her things and a pack of tissue paper for her tears.

Although she had prepared herself, when the blow came it cut deeply.
“Everybody would be looking at you (packing your belongings from your desk)”.

“That feeling is really sad. You really cannot describe that feeling.”

June’s retrenchment came when she was pregnant with her second child. It was a complicated pregnancy that saw her on hospitalization leave.

She had no inkling that the company was cutting staff until she started receiving text messages from her ex-colleagues.

“I was home all this while. I did not hear any rumours from colleagues till the day of actual retrenchment” she recalls.
“I totally could not sleep. At all.” she says emphatically.

“So many, thousands of questions, repeating and repeating in my head.”

“If I am one of them what would I do? Everything comes to you in one shot. I have one girl in childcare, would I lose all the working mother benefits? How am I going to survive without the pay? My new house is coming ...” .

Read the full article from ChannelNewsAsia, Singapore: http://bit.Iy/29GxM7W

Article Source: http://bit.Iy/29GxM7W

“You have been retrenched.”

What June dreaded had finally come to pass. She had lost her job as a production planner at a semi-conductor firm.
“It felt like the sky had fallen down on me!” recalls June Lim who had been working with the company for some six years.

ntuc-brown-bag-data.jpg

The day she was retrenched, the company handed her a brown paper bag to pack her things and a pack of tissue paper for her tears.

Although she had prepared herself, when the blow came it cut deeply.
“Everybody would be looking at you (packing your belongings from your desk)”.

“That feeling is really sad. You really cannot describe that feeling.”

June’s retrenchment came when she was pregnant with her second child. It was a complicated pregnancy that saw her on hospitalization leave.

She had no inkling that the company was cutting staff until she started receiving text messages from her ex-colleagues.

“I was home all this while. I did not hear any rumours from colleagues till the day of actual retrenchment” she recalls.
“I totally could not sleep. At all.” she says emphatically.

“So many, thousands of questions, repeating and repeating in my head.”

“If I am one of them what would I do? Everything comes to you in one shot. I have one girl in childcare, would I lose all the working mother benefits? How am I going to survive without the pay? My new house is coming ...” .

Read the full article from ChannelNewsAsia, Singapore: http://bit.Iy/29GxM7W

Yes, the dreaded "R" word strikes again.
The 1st half of the year is pretty bad, I expect the 2nd half to get worse......
Heard from friends and relatives that someone they know has kena retrenched recently........

Two here, one there, three here, eight there...... It all adds up.

Its not only the impacted staff that is affected but the whole family, relatives and dependent. The immense sense of being at a loss is palpable. The saddest is school kids who worry about a roof over their head and their future. Its not something this Government or the well paid PAP MPs will understand.

I remember when ex PAP MP Dr Michael Lim gave an interview about his palatial home I realised that he would not have a clue about retrenchment and the plight of some of his residents he served.

Do click on the link to see the pictures of his home. The word ostentatious would be appropriate.
http://business.asiaone.com/property/showcase/chateau-de-holland-rdChateau de Holland Rd

Tay Suan ChiangThe Business TimesThursday, Feb 20, 2014
bt_hollandchateau.jpg

A VISIT to Michael Lim's home is much like visiting a chateau in France but without having to endure a 12-hour long flight. The European experience starts right at the compound gate, where a pair of larger than life centurion statues stand guard.

Like with most chateaus, this one, off Holland Road, comes with an immensely long driveway, before a two-storey mansion with elaborate columns, a steeply-pitched roof, and a water fountain right up front, comes into view.

Doctor models Holland Rd home after European chateaus

The European experience starts right at the compound gate, where a pair of larger than life centurion statues stand guard.A visit to Michael Lim's home is much like visiting a chateau in France but without having to endure a 12-hour long flight. Like with most chateaus, this one, off Holland Road, comes with an immensely long driveway, before a two-storey mansion with elaborate columns, a steeply-pitched roof, and a water fountain right up front, comes into view."When you look at the house, you think you are somewhere in Europe rather than in Singapore," quips Dr Lim, medical director at the Singapore Heart, Stroke & Cancer Centre, who drew up the design of his home after visiting several French chateaus and the Palace of Versailles for inspiration."I am someone who loves art, and wanted my home to have the same European architecture."
<br>The staircase is not the only wow feature of the home. Dr Lim is especially proud of the formal dining room located at an adjoining wing. Indeed, the mansion is very much a conversation starter. Throw open the doors and a grand marble staircase with ornate floral balustrades, and topless nubile female statues on both sides, greet visitors. Working with an architect, Dr Lim designed the home to have plenty of voluminous space, "so as to not feel boxed in", he explains. "A spacious home also makes you feel more relaxed."The ceilings are all two-storeys high, and the presence of numerous marble columns in the home create that visual height.The home, which also comes with an attic and basement, is definitely big enough for the 53-year-old Dr Lim, his wife, Wendy Huang, the centre's CEO, and their five children, aged from five months to 25 years old.Dr Lim is clearly lord of the manor. "Wendy prefers a modern kind of home, something which needs less upkeep," he says. The family has domestic helpers, but the annual cleaning is outsourced to a cleaning company.The room is expansive, with crystal chandeliers, an ornately decorated ceiling, and gold curtains with silk tassels. Should a count or countess in period costume walk through, no one would bat an eyelid.The area comes alive during festive periods, when Dr Lim has family and friends over. "Once, we hosted over 100 people, and there was still plenty of room for everyone," he says.Each piece was personally selected by Dr Lim. "Since I sketched the design of the home, I knew exactly what pieces I would need and where to place them," he says. The home took three years to build and furnish.One of his precious finds is a 100-year-old grand piano made from malachite with gold embellishments. Dr Lim's youngest plays it. Dr Lim prefers to keep the bedrooms private, but will gladly take visitors to the attic, where he has his "art room".One wall is lined with watercolour and oil paintings of scenes in Singapore, all painted by him. "Painting is one of my hobbies," he says, and the Singapore Watercolour Society invites him to showcase his pieces at its annual exhibitions.On the opposite wall is a collection of artworks by Chinese masters including Xu Beihong, Fu Baoshi and Wu Guanzhong. "The pieces belong to Wendy, and they have been in her family for years," says Dr Lim.Apart from painting, Dr Lim's other love is collecting ceramics. That's evident from the display shelf holding Chinese ceramics, such as vases and bowls that date back to the Han and Ming dynasties. His favourite Chinese ceramic pieces, however, are kept under lock and key, in his room.On the other side of the room, are "Western antiques" - including a collection of gold rimmed crystal glassware from Moser which in the old days, supplied to French royalty. Another gem is a jewellery box from French label Tahan, which also supplied pieces to French royalty.When it comes to buying antiques, he has some advice. "Don't buy thinking that you can make money from it, otherwise you'll regret it," he says. "Ask yourself if it is worth the price, because you must enjoy what you buy."Apart from the art room, the karaoke room in the basement displays less of an European touch. It's modern for a reason, as Dr Lim explains. "There was no such thing as a karaoke room in 19th century."Dr Lim takes pride in knowing that his home is vastly different from the typical glass homes in Singapore. "The architecture is different, but yet the home is functional, and I always look forward to coming home."
"When you look at the house, you think you are somewhere in Europe rather than in Singapore," quips Dr Lim, medical director at the Singapore Heart, Stroke & Cancer Centre, who drew up the design of his home after visiting several French chateaus and the Palace of Versailles for inspiration.

"I am someone who loves art, and wanted my home to have the same European architecture."

Indeed, the mansion is very much a conversation starter. Throw open the doors and a grand marble staircase with ornate floral balustrades, and topless nubile female statues on both sides, greet visitors.

Working with an architect, Dr Lim designed the home to have plenty of voluminous space, "so as to not feel boxed in", he explains. "A spacious home also makes you feel more relaxed."

The ceilings are all two-storeys high, and the presence of numerous marble columns in the home create that visual height.

The home, which also comes with an attic and basement, is definitely big enough for the 53-year-old Dr Lim, his wife, Wendy Huang, the centre's CEO, and their five children, aged from five months to 25 years old.

Dr Lim is clearly lord of the manor. "Wendy prefers a modern kind of home, something which needs less upkeep," he says. The family has domestic helpers, but the annual cleaning is outsourced to a cleaning company.

The staircase is not the only wow feature of the home. Dr Lim is especially proud of the formal dining room located at an adjoining wing.

The room is expansive, with crystal chandeliers, an ornately decorated ceiling, and gold curtains with silk tassels. Should a count or countess in period costume walk through, no one would bat an eyelid.

The area comes alive during festive periods, when Dr Lim has family and friends over. "Once, we hosted over 100 people, and there was still plenty of room for everyone," he says
When it comes to furnishing the home, it was only natural to have pieces that would complement the European architecture.

Each piece was personally selected by Dr Lim. "Since I sketched the design of the home, I knew exactly what pieces I would need and where to place them," he says. The home took three years to build and furnish.

"I like pieces which show artistic effort, such as the wooden hand carving on the back of a chair or the fine detailing on the edge of a mirror," he says.

One of his precious finds is a 100-year-old grand piano made from malachite with gold embellishments. Dr Lim's youngest plays it. Dr Lim prefers to keep the bedrooms private, but will gladly take visitors to the attic, where he has his "art room".

One wall is lined with watercolour and oil paintings of scenes in Singapore, all painted by him. "Painting is one of my hobbies," he says, and the Singapore Watercolour Society invites him to showcase his pieces at its annual exhibitions.

On the opposite wall is a collection of artworks by Chinese masters including Xu Beihong, Fu Baoshi and Wu Guanzhong. "The pieces belong to Wendy, and they have been in her family for years," says Dr Lim.

Apart from painting, Dr Lim's other love is collecting ceramics. That's evident from the display shelf holding Chinese ceramics, such as vases and bowls that date back to the Han and Ming dynasties. His favourite Chinese ceramic pieces, however, are kept under lock and key, in his room.

On the other side of the room, are "Western antiques" - including a collection of gold rimmed crystal glassware from Moser which in the old days, supplied to French royalty. Another gem is a jewellery box from French label Tahan, which also supplied pieces to French royalty.

"I appreciate the work that goes into making these intricate pieces," says Dr Lim.

When it comes to buying antiques, he has some advice. "Don't buy thinking that you can make money from it, otherwise you'll regret it," he says. "Ask yourself if it is worth the price, because you must enjoy what you buy."

Apart from the art room, the karaoke room in the basement displays less of an European touch. It's modern for a reason, as Dr Lim explains. "There was no such thing as a karaoke room in 19th century."

Dr Lim takes pride in knowing that his home is vastly different from the typical glass homes in Singapore. "The architecture is different, but yet the home is functional, and I always look forward to coming home."

[email protected]

- See more at: http://business.asiaone.com/property/showcase/chateau-de-holland-rd/page/0/1#sthash.al9sCeN3.dpuf

If there were no retrenchments I'd be extremely worried.

Retrenchments are part and parcel of the renewal process and ultimately everyone benefits.

what chootchiew said was right,u only see people with zero savings,new house mortgage,and a kid on the way get retrenched,u will never see people with proper financial planning,800k in investments,insurance and mortgage fully paid get retrenched.......u can sense the aura,people who plan their adult lives well and people who lives from day to day,one broken refrigerator away from being homeless.u can just sense the desperation and the beads of sweat rolling down their armpits.....the stink of desperation that animals can sense from a mile away.

the beat goes on,the story never ends,history repeats itself over and over again.it is inevitable,it is human nature.when robert kiyosaki published his book "rich dad poor dad" in 1997,when he described his experience in 1975 watching people on local news network,kneeling outside the company gates,begging his bosses to give him one more chance,he has a new mortgage and a baby on the way.

im clicking on ocbc secureincome now and buying unemployment insurance policy,this way i am prepared for retirement at anytime with ease of mind stretched out on my deck chair at my villa at kho pagan,thailand.

Singapore introduce unemployment insurance policy??!!

Retrenchment happens all the time, even in good times, when company change direction or a change of bosses.

2 extreme cases, with many in between scenarios, I can never forget. Both in MNCs. One, the target ran away from office with the laptop, calling his sugar-mummies in HQ to save him, but due to time difference, cannot get any support. We sent security to look for him and finally found him at home. Escorted him back to office with all company's items, and served him retrenchment notice and escorted him out of office immediately. Everyone clapped. This guy must be a assho*e in the department.

Another retrenchment excercise in another MNCs, a long queue formed outside my office urging me to be faster to process the excercise. They been informed earlier who were on the list. After that, those affected booked a lunch in a seafood resturant to celebrate. I was invited too! It was a happy meal! Not long later, I put myself in for the package too :-)! We still have our annual dinner celebration till today!

Retrenchment a bad word? Not If you are prepared for it and never assume it won't happen to you even if you think you have HQ backings.

Retrenchment happens all the time, even in good times, when company change direction or a change of bosses.

2 extreme cases, with many in between scenarios, I can never forget. Both in MNCs. One, the target ran away from office with the laptop, calling his sugar-mummies in HQ to save him, but due to time difference, cannot get any support. We sent security to look for him and finally found him at home. Escorted him back to office with all company's items, and served him retrenchment notice and escorted him out of office immediately. Everyone clapped. This guy must be a assho*e in the department.

Another retrenchment excercise in another MNCs, a long queue formed outside my office urging me to be faster to process the excercise. They been informed earlier who were on the list. After that, those affected booked a lunch in a seafood resturant to celebrate. I was invited too! It was a happy meal! Not long later, I put myself in for the package too :-)! We still have our annual dinner celebration till today!

Retrenchment a bad word? Not If you are prepared for it and never assume it won't happen to you even if you think you have HQ backings.

Either way I guess if one is on the receiving end, it's bad either way.

in the valley, getting laid and getting laid off are desired events. in a lay off, a long time employee may receive a generous severance package of 6 months to a year's worth of pay plus bonuses, vested stocks and cash from paid time off (pto) hours not used. it's stupid to leave any company voluntarily and or not take the package when offered. by the time such a package is offered, the employee should already have paid down on all his properties, secured a nest egg that pays interest or roi on a sizable principal, chalked up more than half a million bucks in 401k, held cash of at least another half a million, carried zero debt, liquidated his insurance policy, enrolled in an affordable health insurance plan, and planned and prepared for retirement. if a long time highly compensated employee (hce) doesn't have all these checked and done by age 45, he deserves to jump the golden gate bridge.

RETRENCHMENT is good for Singapore workers...every 5 years cycle there must be massive retrenchment or they would not know, to be hungry, mean & lean....same goes for the government.....but alas!..the younger generation of workers are spoilt & the government is slow & cumbersome like a dying dinosaur...

So, RETRENCHMENT will wake up everybody..better still a massive civil service retrenchments , we must clean the deadwoods to the CORE.... a massive unemployment would be the best...to wake up the 'zombies' in the 70%...

RETRENCHMENT is good for Singapore workers...every 5 years cycle there must be massive retrenchment or they would not know, to be hungry, mean & lean....same goes for the government.....but alas!..the younger generation of workers are spoilt & the government is slow & cumbersome like a dying dinosaur...

So, RETRENCHMENT will wake up everybody..better still a massive civil service retrenchments , we must clean the deadwoods to the CORE.... a massive unemployment would be the best...to wake up the 'zombies' in the 70%...

In the 70% there are quite a % that were retrenched before . They voted for pap in ge2016 so that they can get help from cdac ,wda and e2i and upgrade themselves. They worry that if pap no longer around they have no one to turn to.

It does not make sense if everyone has the SAME certs from the SAME training schools looking for help from the SAME agency.

As the 2nd half of the year wores on and the retrenchment gets higher with the retail sector and F & B sector not looking well. It's going to get worse..........

I happened to be in MBS over then weekend and saw a Job Fare event in the Expo area. Curious, I went in and spoke to most exhibitors ( WDA, training providers, etc), recruitment companies and employers. I came out saddened and a reality hits home talking to these training providers, recruitment companies and employers directly.

Most training providers offers trainings in security, F&B and some IT knowledge, which HOPE the jobless can be 'trained' to do such roles. Most claim skillsfuture fund from you.

Job wise, mostly low level jobs in F&B, bus drivers/co-ordinations, security guards, etc., most salary pays below $2000 a month for full time work. Only 1 that I came across said they pays $3000, but on probing, they admitted to earn that amount, you need work a base 10 hours shift, 6 days week (think have a off day, can't remember) and include overtime and weekend work, i.e., all your awake hours! Compare to a FT in IT from 3rd world country who recently claimed his $8000 salary may not support his lifestyle, not including salary of his spouse!

If you have chance to talk to e2i, cdac, etc., try find out what they can offer the jobless!

Comparing with world's highest paid PM at around $250,000 a month, most workers earning $2000 a month need to work at least 10 years to earn what PM earns a month excluding his bonus! That's just to put living standard in perspective!

It does not make sense if everyone has the SAME certs from the SAME training schools looking for help from the SAME agency.

As the 2nd half of the year wores on and the retrenchment gets higher with the retail sector and F & B sector not looking well. It's going to get worse..........

Yes. Actually is very weird that gov encourage pme to get retrain in other areas . That means they should also terminate all the current academic courses that those pme were from.
If not after get trained, they take over the jobs of others and those people get retrain back to their opponent courses...like a musical chair

this is why we need to bring back the hokkien huay guan and all the other chinese "tongs" or halls or clan associations,Singapore Foochew Association, Singapore Kiung Chow Hwee Kuan,Singapore Kwangtung Hui Kuan and the Singapore Teo Chew Poit Ip Huay Kuan.these were grassroots organizations set up during the early colonial days to help the newly arrived immigrants from china to settle in a strange foreign land by giving them social,financial and psychological support,these were run by their fellow dialect speakers and prominent chinese leaders and businessmen that already had a established foothold in singapore.they were responsible for looking out for the well being of their fellow communities,the education of their children and acted as a form of union for the chinese migrant workers and labourers.these is what the pioneer generation needs,a hokkien huay guan or teo chew huay guan,u cannot trust the PAP to look out for ur interests for you.u must look out for your fellow men,like the high caste shitskins.

Another strange thing I notice is cyber security is also an area gov recommended. I wondering if it is that easy to get train in cyber security , why the need for sinkie to spend so many years in polytechnics and university and later also specialist in cyber security.

These married women are the worst. I am not saying all. But seen many abuse the system. Join company then get pregnant, leave for new job after finish maternity. Not saying that one need to be loyal or anything. Just way too many of such cases.