• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dr Koh Poh Koon: It’s not easy for most people to understand petrol pricing

Bastard liar: no need to bluff anymore. Just tell us why Australia charges A$0.99 and Malaysia charges S$0.80 for Ron 97.............. NO subsidy in Malaysian price!!

How can this govt be trusted when they keep on cheating us with lies?? IF you want to drive all motorists to the wall, say so!! Say our roads are for papigs making million bucks salaries

And where is our Competition Commission of Singapore?

I cant stand to fly
I'm not that naive
I'm just out to find
The better part of me

I'm more than a bird, I'm more than a plane
More than some pretty face beside a train
Its not easy to be me

I wish that I could cry
Fall upon my knees
Find a way to lie
'bout a home I'll never see

It may sound absurd but don't be naive
Even Heroes have the right to bleed
I may be disturbed but wont you concede
Even Heroes have the right to dream
It's not easy to be me

Up, up and away, away from me
Well its alright. You can all sleep sound tonight
I'm not crazy or anything

I can't stand to fly
I'm not that naive
Men weren't meant to ride
With the clouds between their knees

I'm only a man in a silly red sheet
Digging for kriptonite on this one way street
Only a man in a funny red sheet
Looking for special things inside of me
inside of me ...... inside of me ...(x2)

I'm only a man in a funny red sheet
I'm only a man looking for a dream

I'm only a man in a funny red sheet

It's not easy ... wu.. hoo.. hoo..
It's not easy to be me...

[video=youtube;GRz4FY0ZcwI]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GRz4FY0ZcwI[/video]

spinn

truly a super 1st world cuntry. gahmen gotta explain high petrol prices while petrol company bosses sit cosily in their super luxurious offices sipping champagne and smiling all the way to the bank

What I understand is that he is only qualified to look at backsides

Yes. What is a medical specialist doing in trade and industry?
If put him in health or health related I got nothing to say.
Machiam like whore jinx a trained engineer doing investments.....you know we're fucked

Ralders

This dr koh talk like A selfish proud ass.
He should really go onto the ground n understand.
N not talk n give view from own high n selfish view.

This dr koh talk like A selfish proud ass.
He should really go onto the ground n understand.
N not talk n give view from own high n selfish view.

give him a chance, he is new. hope tht he can be honest about the taxes on the oil part and not hide something that he knew. haha..i think i caught him.:biggrin:

Wunderfool

Dr Koh had also mentioned in parliament that Australia imports petrol from Singapore, so my question to Dr Koh is why the hell is petrol price much lower in Australia than in Singapore??

Former "Son of Punggol" flees to AMK to enter parliament and ministar job through the backdoor, and he now gives this crap in parliament to Sinkie consumers. Song boh 69% dumbfucks, you voted for this PAP shit.

http://theindependent.sg/dr-koh-poh-koon-its-not-easy-for-most-people-to-understand-petrol-pricing/

Dr Koh Poh Koon: It’s not easy for most people to understand petrol pricing

By The Independent - March 9, 2016

Responding to Mr Low Thia Khiang’s question in Parliament if petrol companies were profiteering at the expense of consumers, Minister of State for Trade and Industry, Dr Koh Poh Koon, said he did not think the companies, though they make profits, were doing that.

Reflecting further on his answer in his Facebook page Dr Koh said that, “it’s not easy for most people to understand petrol pricing.”

“Crude oil is unrefined. MOPS (Mean of Platts Singapore) price is the price of refined petroleum and is the internationally traded price for refined petroleum,” the MOS said.

“MOPS constitute less than 30% of the listed retail price of petrol. The other 70% comprises of costs of land tax, operating costs, petrol tax etc. So if MOPS price which mirrors Crude price drops by 50% but this only contributes to less than 30% of the final retail price, then the final retail price will only drop by (0.3 x 50%= 16%),” he explained why even though crude oils price drops by 50%, you see only 16% drop in pump price.

In trying to further simplify petrol pricing for Singaporeans, Dr Koh said that “it’s like saying yellow noodles is only one of the ingredients of fishball noodles so even if the price of the yellow noodles drop by 50%, you will not see the price of the entire bowl of noodles get sold for half its usual price!”

I understand. He is saying that the cost structure of petrol is 30% refined petroleum and 70% Others. He should also mention what is the profit percentage in the 70% Others.

If sinkies want free or cheap oil, feel free to migrate to Brunei or some Gulf country. I hope you don't get your throat slit by an ISIS supporter!

yinyang

If sinkies want free or cheap oil, feel free to migrate to Brunei or some Gulf country. ...your throat slit by an ISIS supporter!
Cheap shot :rolleyes:. What people here are asking, is only to understand why pump prices are not in tandem with crude oil's record low. All (possibly you included) are not enlightened, despite blame put on non-core product costs.

And we all know too well, before when crude went up marginally, pump prices were ultra sensitive without losing a beat. So by same token, the 70% component weightage doesn't hold?
:kma:

Cheap shot :rolleyes:. What people here are asking, is only to understand why pump prices are not in tandem with crude oil's record low. All (possibly you included) are not enlightened, despite blame put on non-core product costs.

And we all know too well, before when crude went up marginally, pump prices were ultra sensitive without losing a beat. So by same token, the 70% component weightage doesn't hold?
:kma:

Petrol kiosks are leased for 10-30 years. Given the cost of land in Singapore, my guess is that the average monthly rent would make up a large part of the fixed cost of pump prices.

you are right... i think it is time to close down these petrol kiosk and let them go hide some dark alley along geylang with a drum of petrol to sell on the cheap.

when biz is brisk, they can use it to play a deck of cards and some roulette, just to exercise themselves and pass time.