• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Forest City

snowbird

What 40 years of free rental? At most 12 years lah, unless the owner had special circumstances....

Why not 40 years?
They bought the flat 40 years ago and sold it now with a capital gain of 20 times which means technically all those 40 years is free rental!
And how you arrive at 12 years??

freekazoid

When those first birders bought into East Ledang or HH, semis were RM 600k plus. People say they sure die cos nothing is in place. Absolutely nothing. Not even Highways or shops.. factories? No

Have to disagree with you this time.

Years back while driving KL to SG using Tuas Link...I saw Nusajaya signboard....decided swing in have a look. Next couple of weeks I went down UEM office and booked on the spot.

Rational are simple
1: Premium housing concept never before in Johor
2: Premium housing at nearest point to Singapore
3: Premium housing at large size at generous price (very rare)
4: Premium housing priced moderately higher than any house found in malaysian cities (KL excluded)
5: Superb highway infra and under use - North south highway up to Senai and Bukit Indah
6: Nearby booming township - Bukit Indah

Not able to visit were the land clearing sites for Medini, PH, Educity and Coastal Highway. Remote and secluded...no problem...Ledang Height and Leisure Farm even more lonely yet price still very expensive. Further more I view rich people love remote and secluded.

Sign was everywhere....up for interpretation. Only thing is my coincidence curiosity happened 2years late for the RM600k semidee....damn...that is absolute no brainer for multiple units grab.

RedsYNWA

Why not 40 years?
They bought the flat 40 years ago and sold it now with a capital gain of 20 times which means technically all those 40 years is free rental!
And how you arrive at 12 years??

Sorry I misinterpreted your comments, as I thought you are referring to 40 years of subletting.

ECboy

Strange that u think Astaka will do well. I thot the surroundings are far from nice ? I wont wanna stay there as the surrounding area upkeep is very important to me...

I'm local boy, grew up nearby there. I have only good memories for that area :smile:

snowbird

Technically it won’t be wrong to simply count all condo units and conclude glut. But it would not be right either to then conclude that anyone who has bought or is going to buy a condo would be screwed because he cannot find tenant or buyer due to glut. It has to depend on which project we are talking about, as you also pointed out. It may be hard to separate the condo projects, but choosing the easier “lump them together” perspective may not give an accurate picture either. Perhaps we should aim to give a more balanced views, adding in qualifiers to our comments.

Then how do you define a property glut?
And what is exactly is a "balance view" of a glut?
Or are you going to say something like : there is a huge glut in Bandar area but great demand in Terbrau area; there is a another major glut in Danga Bay area but no glut in Senibong?
So in the end, glut or no glut?

Just like the bull and bear in the stock market.
The bear market is when there are more selling, and worse is panic selling, hence pressuring the stock prices downwards.
Just like the recent bloodshed in the market when indexes can plunge by as much as 5% in one single day where billions just evaporated into the thin air.
Fortunately many markets disallowed short selling, otherwise it will be even worse.
But in a bear market, there are also some gems that held on well and even appreciated and there are also many people making good money in a bear market!
And buying selectively and wisely during a bear market, you may even make more money then in a bull market!
But despite this, it is still a bear market, it's the overall situation of the market sentiment.
So again, what is your point?

cybermad

Then how do you define a property glut?
And what is exactly is a "balance view" of a glut?
Or are you going to say something like : there is a huge glut in Bandar area but great demand in Terbrau area; there is a another major glut in Danga Bay area but no glut in Senibong?
So in the end, glut or no glut?

Just like the bull and bear in the stock market.
The bear market is when there are more selling, and worse is panic selling, hence pressuring the stock prices downwards.
Just like the recent bloodshed in the market when indexes can plunge by as much as 5% in one single day where billions just evaporated into the thin air.
Fortunately many markets disallowed short selling, otherwise it will be even worse.
But in a bear market, there are also some gems that held on well and even appreciated and there are also many people making good money in a bear market!
And buying selectively and wisely during a bear market, you may even make more money then in a bull market!
But despite this, it is still a bear market, it's the overall situation of the market sentiment.
So again, what is your point?

I thot Frodo already made it v clear ? Glut in some areas but not so in others ? Whats your beef ?

mpan12

Good points raised.

No offence. But I find Frodo sometimes just argues for the sake of it, holding on strongly to mere definitions and the whole discussion becomes quite meaningless after that. I suspect Frodo used to study some Philosophy last time. :smile:

For eg, since people may think I'm biased for saying investing in Iskandar is questionable, I suggested seeking opinion from investors who are neutral. But Frodo kept insisting there is no such thing as "neutral" opinion. Either the person supports or is negative. "Neutral" to him means the person knows nothing at alll about Iskandar, like Can Iskandar be eaten? What is Iskandar?

I find such a comparison very amusing. What is there to discuss if the person you are talking to knows nothing about the subiect? In fact, I think if you ask someone who knows nothing about Iskandar, all the more he will not want to invest there about he doesn't know what it is, which makes him negative about Iskandar, which means he is not neutral at all. Hahaha... Interesting paradox huh?

A glut is simply a glut. There is definitely a housing glut in Iskandar now because developers are building a huge excess of properties there and many rushed in to buy, especially in 2013/14. Some are less of a risk than others. For eg, those who have bought the 9,000 units CG Danga Bay will face a much greater risk of failure to rent/sell next time. But a glut is a glut. You got to call a spade a spade. As long as you feel your money is put into somewhere you feel comfortable, so be it. But that does not change the definition of a market driven by glut.

Frodo

Haha, I have close to S$1m in debt leh (both spouse combined)..... so it's confirmed I have more debt lah......hehehe......

Your debt supported by two income earners, I more chum...whole debt supported by one salary...:(

eric3417

Everybody agrees that SG is having a supply Glut issue since 2014.
Everyone say rentals are free falling so is prices since 2014.

I would like to share my personal experience.
My unit was rented at the same $ since 2013 again in early 2015 for 1yr.
It was again renewed at the same $ this month for 2years till 2018.

So… Glut or No Glut? $ Up or down? Rental $ Up of down?
Property Crash bo? Rental crash bo?
I say Yes & No.

It depends on many other factors.
No 1 size fits all theory.

So… Glut in JB = Doom & Gloom?

:confused:

xebay11

Everybody agrees that SG is having a supply Glut issue since 2014.
Everyone say rentals are free falling so is prices since 2014.

I would like to share my personal experience.
My unit was rented at the same $ since 2013 again in early 2015 for 1yr.
It was again renewed at the same $ this month for 2years till 2018.

So… Glut or No Glut? $ Up or down? Rental $ Up of down?
Property Crash bo? Rental crash bo?
I say Yes & No.

It depends on many other factors.
No 1 size fits all theory.

So… Glut in JB = Doom & Gloom?

:confused:

Glut in Johor is more serious as they have lots of land too.

Tekkun

Even in glut, we make money. There's always opportunities in every crisis.

If everything is so transparent upfront, then it is not astute investment anymore. It is called buying properties in supermarkets with a fixed price tag. It is a matter how marketing people term it, differentiation and segmentation.
Iskandar is very big, land is limitless. One size does not fit all. Look for the gem in the mixed bag of properties and location.
There are limited land in a limitless land. You will find it if you try hard.

Frodo

Even in glut, we make money. There's always opportunities in every crisis.

If everything is so transparent upfront, then it is not astute investment anymore. It is called buying properties in supermarkets with a fixed price tag. It is a matter how marketing people term it, differentiation and segmentation.
Iskandar is very big, land is limitless. One size does not fit all. Look for the gem in the mixed bag of properties and location.
There are limited land in a limitless land. You will find it if you try hard.

Agreed. That's what I meant when saying that glut does not mean sure die if buy because it will affect people differently depending on what and where they buy. The question of when to buy i.e. should have bought many years ago to huat big time is, in my opinion, really a moot point for many of us because we are relatively late comers. Same with HDB property...those who bought in early 80s all huat...but most of us at that time were probably just si gin nah running around in school shorts, where got money to buy HDB then?

Frodo

Glut in Johor is more serious as they have lots of land too.

But to a Singaporean who bought $1.5 million condo as investment but cannot rent out or have difficulty selling because of glut in Singapore, unless he rent out or sell cheap, is it any real consolation to tell him glut in JB is more serious?

Frodo

One million Singapore dollars...RM 3 million....wah ... so rich.

Not me lah....I am one of those people whom if you peek over my shoulder to see my ATM balance you would um chio and say "wah lau eh....This Singaporean cannot make it liao."

Tekkun

Not me lah....I am one of those people whom if you peek over my shoulder to see my ATM balance you would um chio and say "wah lau eh....This Singaporean cannot make it liao."

I never like to peek one's ATM. We all know Fixed Deposits do not sit in ATMs.Be it Singaporean or Malaysian, those who dare to commit have my highest respect. In fact without any shame, I started my first property purchase with a borrowed RM12,000 from my inlaws back in 1984. So I also no different. At least you still got ATM balance, mine is negative balance, :smile: