Starbucks vs Office Pantry's Coffee and Tea

welcome back sister. glad your flu bout is over. tech firms where i am are providing not only multiple coffee, tea and fruit break kiosks in campuses and offices but also expresso machines with freshly roasted beans in pods for auto-grinding. an all-in-one grinding and brewing machine would cost around us$50k to us$100k plus maintenance. peets coffee beans are usually featured. this practice is to attract and retain employees and also to prevent them from going out and wasting time lining up at retail coffee stores such as philz, peets or starbucks. going up one notch further, google provides cafés in several locations in their campus fully staffed with baristas and custom-made beverages - juices, tea, coffee. employees don't pay. they just walk up to the various counters and order their drinks. facebook invited philz coffee to set up a store in their campus, and all drinks are provided free to employees and guests. apple has some nifty automated coffee machines and stations in their campuses. drip coffee the old fashioned way with ground coffee in bags in old corporate cultures will no longer do in the valley. those companies have a hard time retaining the best and brightest.

Sigh, we only have a nespresso machine. But its better then the 3-in-1 coffee blends I suppose.

Sinkapore will soon follow ...NTUC will provide that service. NTUC will do anything and everything to squeeze out local business.

for companies, providing gourmet coffee is not a business to make any profit. it's an overhead. for employees, it's a benefit and privilege depending on how you look at it. companies, especially in high tech, prefer to keep their employees happy and productive by offering opportunities for discussions and adhoc meetings within the campus among various disciplines and groups away from their desks and core duties. many innovative ideas, inventions and patents are generated from brainiacs getting together by chance over coffee and lunch. don't know how ntuc will make money from this in sg unless companies sponsor them.

Sigh, we only have a nespresso machine. But its better then the 3-in-1 coffee blends I suppose.

tell your ceo that investing in an auto-grind and auto-brew expresso machine will reap intellectual property rewards by creating a focus point for caffeinated junkies to hang out together. :p

I am aware that many business entities provide free in house coffee and tea, as well as bottled water.

As for the annual Christmas party, most business entities did not cut that, and a few will provide free or discounted overnight stay at the hotel to prevent drunk driving.

Would not mention names, over here, there are companies who provide a very well stock staff canteen, with fruits, juices, beverages like coffee, tea, soft drinks , a wine bar & even gourmet cook to cook lunches & dinners.....company menu of course per day & season...

Like I had mentioned I used to manage a pantry, all you get is a beverage bar, one that dispenses, coffee, milo , etc plus creamer & a hot water dispenser. That was later upgraded to a coffee maker, then with , tea bags of standard tea you find outside, that is, English Breakfast Tea, Twinings Earl Grey & Japanese Brand Green Tea, Milo, anything else you buy yourself...plus biscuits, cookies & the occasional, whoever donates food.

This is part of the company's welfare for staff, DEPENDING ON BUDGET & THE STATE OF THE PROFIT...

3-in-1 coffee quite good on par with kopitiam kopi. D&D is catered buffet from Neo Gardens leh. Don't play play. Employees eat until stomach want to burst, and the cleaner aunties still want to tapao back the fried noodles and leftover food.

Cheapskate.....3-1 coffee, that cost $5.30 per bag, NEO GARDEN , please, it is ok....gourmet cook, cooking for the staff, together with choices of wine, then you please 'trumpet'...other than 3-1 plus Neo Garden....& take home leftovers...DON'T NEED TO MENTION.

Would not mention names, over here, there are companies who provide a very well stock staff canteen, with fruits, juices, beverages like coffee, tea, soft drinks , a wine bar & even gourmet cook to cook lunches & dinners.....company menu of course per day & season...

Like I had mentioned I used to manage a pantry, all you get is a beverage bar, one that dispenses, coffee, milo , etc plus creamer & a hot water dispenser. That was later upgraded to a coffee maker, then with , tea bags of standard tea you find outside, that is, English Breakfast Tea, Twinings Earl Grey & Japanese Brand Green Tea, Milo, anything else you buy yourself...plus biscuits, cookies & the occasional, whoever donates food.

This is part of the company's welfare for staff, DEPENDING ON BUDGET & THE STATE OF THE PROFIT...

Wow, a privilege to work for that company.

In the past, there were many companies in Toronto, which have in house cafetaria which "sells" a delicious and nutritious hot lunch for about Cdn $5.00.

I am not sure it is still available at the Royal Bank of Canada, at 20 King St West, Toronto, after RBC asked its employees to switch from a defined benefit pension plan to defined contribution plan,
but in the past, RBC at that location (although the Head Office is at Royal Bank Plaza, less than 5 minutes walk away) provided staff lunches at about $5.00.

When my wife was a university student, before we got married, during the summer holidays, she used to work at the staff cafetaria at one of the Molson Brewery Office Buildings, and they had very good lunches and beer at subsidized prices.
They even gave the leftover food to my wife at that time.

Wow, a privilege to work for that company.

In the past, there were many companies in Toronto, which have in house cafetaria which "sells" a delicious and nutritious hot lunch for about Cdn $5.00.

I am not sure it is still available at the Royal Bank of Canada, at 20 King St West, Toronto, after RBC asked its employees to switch from a defined benefit pension plan to defined contribution plan,
but in the past, RBC at that location (although the Head Office is at Royal Bank Plaza, less than 5 minutes walk away) provided staff lunches at about $5.00.

What I had mentioned belong to those companies that generate income that count by billions or at least , few hundred millions, USD...no need guessing, whom they are...

Every companies these days are 'tightening their belts' & many had been doing that, a few years back already...but there are those, you are lucky to work for, still provide well, of course, one has to have the require requisite that is beneficial to the company....or you get 3-1 coffee & cater food from some local companies...that all you need is to join...

welcome back sister. glad your flu bout is over. tech firms where i am are providing not only multiple coffee, tea and fruit break kiosks in campuses and offices but also expresso machines with freshly roasted beans in pods for auto-grinding. an all-in-one grinding and brewing machine would cost around us$50k to us$100k plus maintenance. peets coffee beans are usually featured. this practice is to attract and retain employees and also to prevent them from going out and wasting time lining up at retail coffee stores such as philz, peets or starbucks. going up one notch further, google provides cafés in several locations in their campus fully staffed with baristas and custom-made beverages - juices, tea, coffee. employees don't pay. they just walk up to the various counters and order their drinks. facebook invited philz coffee to set up a store in their campus, and all drinks are provided free to employees and guests. apple has some nifty automated coffee machines and stations in their campuses. drip coffee the old fashioned way with ground coffee in bags in old corporate cultures will no longer do in the valley. those companies have a hard time retaining the best and brightest.

Good morning Brother Eat. Do you mind using punctuation? :)

By the way, this is the Nespresso machine that is in my office. And yet, these young Singaporean grads would still waste money on Starbucks, Coffeebean and what have you.

nespresso_cs220.jpg

I often drink the free 3-in-1 coffee in my office pantry. It's actually quite good, better than some of the coffee shop's kopi.

Morning John. I do not like 3-1 coffee. It has sugar in it. What I usually buy from Giant is Kopi O kosong. :)

Strangely, I just do not like sugar in my coffee. :)

I washed a used Starbucks takeaway cup and put 3in1 coffee to be atas :D but it was my own used cup la

Morning Choot :)

Gosh! I can buy you a mug if you need. Those paper cup has lot of wax in them and I am sure they can't be reused safely.

Morning Hals :)

I am sure all these "welfare" expenses are a drop in the ocean for MNCs (if you compare to the expat pay and housing packages).

By the way, this is the Nespresso machine that is in my office. And yet, these young Singaporean grads would still waste money on Starbucks, Coffeebean and what have you.

nespresso_cs220.jpg

silly.. I find nesporesso pods good enough to be honest.

Hello Ash. Happy New Year:)

This machine also work on Nespresso pods. It is a much "flatter" pod than the one they sell for home use.

I have also eliminated refined sugar from my diet and drink all my coffee "kosong".

Once you drink unsweetened black, you'll never look back!

Good Morning Thick. Happy New Year:)

I am not a scientist, but I do believe that sugar is the prime cause of inflamation in our bodies. Hence I avoid it as much as I can. Sometimes, when I am at a food centre, I see some old people order KOPI GA TAI, I am wondering if he has lost his taste bud.

To me, consuming sugar is like consuming poison. It probably kills more people than tobacco without them knowing.

Good Morning Thick. Happy New Year:)

I am not a scientist, but I do believe that sugar is the prime cause of inflamation in our bodies. Hence I avoid it as much as I can. Sometimes, when I am at a food centre, I see some old people order KOPI GA TAI, I am wondering if he has lost his taste bud.

To me, consuming sugar is like consuming poison. It probably kills more people than tobacco without them knowing.

Happy New Year to you as well!

Sugar has been blamed for a wide variety of ailments and physical drawbacks, including obesity and even tooth decay and bad breath. In any case, regardless of the truth behind the idea that "sugar is poison", cutting it out eliminates one source of excess calories that one can do without. It can only be a good thing!

lack of paragraphing and caps are quirky characteristics of my posts. sometimes i embed nuggets within piles of messages within convoluted messages. it's like burying a coin within piles of shit. :p

young grads who are inducted to their new jobs with salaried income (finally after years of studies on peanut allowance) find these superficial segways a little luxury they can afford. they consider it a deserving reward upon landing gainful employment. when they start shouldering cost of home, family and car, they will find office coffee a wee bit more aromatic.

Starbucks coffee sucks. Period. The Old Town White Coffee 3-in-1 beats it hands down any day.

My favourite coffee is still the humble Balinese kopi luwak, harvested from the faeces of the musang (civet cat), cleaned, hulled and roasted on a charcoal stove in the foothills of Tegalalang. I grind the beans with an Italian-made hand-crank coffee mill and brew the grounds in a cafetière. A dollop of cream and there's my morning coffee.

All very manual. No high-tech espresso machine and steam and milk jets for me. After all, I'm a simple man.

I'm a heavy coffee drinker and I like my coffee black and strong, no sugar and milk. I'm ok with Starbucks regular black coffee, but I don't buy coffee there much, probably a couple of times a month.