• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Standard Chartered job cuts to hit Singapore: Source

Technology and Operations is an area in Singapore targeted for job cuts, according to a source close to Standard Chartered.

SINGAPORE: Following Standard Chartered’s announcement that it will axe 15,000 jobs globally, the bank has declined to reveal how many of these job losses will come from Singapore.

However, recent high-profile departures are said to include the bank's global head of FX research Callum Henderson and global head of aviation finance Simon Perkins.

A source familiar with the Asia-focused British lender told Channel NewsAsia on condition of anonymity that Technology and Operations is an area in Singapore targeted for cuts.

When contacted by Channel NewsAsia on Friday (Nov 6), a StanChart spokesperson said a large number of the total headcount reductions will be through attrition. The spokesperson said the bank was unable to provide further details at this point in time.

Standard Chartered currently employs around 7,000 people in Singapore.

The bank on Tuesday said it will cut 15,000 of 86,000 jobs around the world, meaning that nearly one in five employees will lose their jobs.

- CNA/xq

Technology and Operations is an area in Singapore targeted for job cuts, according to a source close to Standard Chartered.

When contacted by Channel NewsAsia on Friday (Nov 6), a StanChart spokesperson said a large number of the total headcount reductions will be through attrition. The spokesperson said the bank was unable to provide further details at this point in time.

Standard Chartered currently employs around 7,000 people in Singapore.

The bank on Tuesday said it will cut 15,000 of 86,000 jobs around the world, meaning that nearly one in five employees will lose their jobs.

- CNA/xq

Attrition or retrenchment is the same, they don't want you they can just tekan you until you cannot take it and leave on your own, worse no retrenchment benefits.

If there is no retrenchment then I worry.

No retrenchment. It is attrition lah, with the help of the pass issuing MOM. Government responding to peasant concerns. Can also take opportunity to blame xenophobic sinkies for causing economy to worsen. What is there not to like about this?

More sinkie needs to be retrenched in order for pap to lose their seats.

i hope that's it! no more retrenchment from other firms, it also affect me as a taxi driver.:(

More sinkie needs to be retrenched in order for pap to lose their seats.

how come almost everyone got risk of retrenchment but PAP machiam iron rice bowl huanz hor... nabei :oIo:

song boh?over the last 8 years they have build over 20 condos in parkway,amber road,east coast and tan jong rhu,lots will be reaching completion soon and will be vacant thanks to the soft economy and massive job layoffs.thanks for ruining my hometown with ur reckless construction and trash importation,i hope this country burns in hell.

Another example of paying the highest salaries in the world makes no difference. Will paying them more means they will do a better job ?

What are the highest paid ministers in the world doing to prevent/reduce/solve this problem?
After 6 months also cannot figure out what cause a hepatitis outbreak in hospital?

I hope most, if not all of the sinkies get retrenched. Even a child knows that non-resident Indian nationals make better bankers. Profits should rise once we can weed out all the parasitic sinkies who think the world owes them a living just because they are graduates from NUS, NTU or SMU.

I feel extreme joy when I hear such news.. Sinkies getting screwed.

I think it's nice to mention that Temasek Holding is the biggest shareholder in Standard Charterered Bank.

I hope most, if not all of the sinkies get retrenched. Even a child knows that non-resident Indian nationals make better bankers. Profits should rise once we can weed out all the parasitic sinkies who think the world owes them a living just because they are graduates from NUS, NTU or SMU.

I think that the new generation sinkies need a wake-up call. They grow up in affluence. They never experience survival mode and they have been cushioned from the reality of competition since young. They are living in a well, in a dream world of their own, unaware that someone out there is moving their cheese.

Sinkies need to continue to learn, relearn, strive for excellence in their professions no matter what the profession is, whether he is an engineer, an accountant, a banker, a doctor, a lawyer or even a Minister.

Your time will come. Given your unwavering support of the PAP, you deserve the worst. Sadly, your family will have to suffer because of your stupidity.

I think that the new generation sinkies need a wake-up call. They grow up in affluence. They never experience survival mode and they have been cushioned from the reality of competition since young. They are living in a well, in a dream world of their own, unaware that someone out there is moving their cheese.

Sinkies need to continue to learn, relearn, strive for excellence in their professions no matter what the profession is, whether he is an engineer, an accountant, a banker, a doctor, a lawyer or even a Minister.

Please lah ...don't blame sinkees. It is the government that should be cursed. LHL and his bunch of entitled clowns should be the targets, not sinkees.

"Standard Chartered currently employs around 7,000 people in Singapore. The bank on Tuesday said it will cut 15,000 of 86,000 jobs around the world, meaning that nearly one in five employees will lose their jobs."

The 1 in 5 for SCB Singapore are Stinkperporeans.... that, they will CUT & CHOP, the 4/5 composed of a lot of Ah nehs, will be retained. SBEU will be 'on the employer' side..as usual...Merry Christmas SCB SBEU members...don't complain..DON'T....they will tell you, it is external forces BEYOND THEIR CONTROL...don't grumble....you ask for it!....

"Standard Chartered currently employs around 7,000 people in Singapore. The bank on Tuesday said it will cut 15,000 of 86,000 jobs around the world, meaning that nearly one in five employees will lose their jobs."

The 1 in 5 for SCB Singapore are Stinkperporeans.... that, they will CUT & CHOP, the 4/5 composed of a lot of Ah nehs, will be retained. SBEU will be 'on the employer' side..as usual...Merry Christmas SCB SBEU members...don't complain..DON'T....they will tell you, it is external forces BEYOND THEIR CONTROL...don't grumble....you ask for it!....

3 cheers for tripartism...

I actually gave up on Sinkies after the last election result

give up on this country totally,how to find happiness in a country of daft and stupid?madness is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.10 years is more than enough.

my campaign for 2020 is :give up on SG 2020.

look at this forum,half the people here who praise SG and PAP to high heavens dont even live in SG,some in malaysia,some in USA,some in australia,some in new zealand,some in thailand,the other half that are actually here are depressed,suicidal, and in various five stages of grief,anger,denial,depression,detachment,one flew over the cuckoo's nest.