• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

You cannot win a game of votes with the MIWs...

Agoraphobic

I have been observing the happenings of the general election, the moods of the electorate, the media and all the events leading up to the results last night, keeping shut my mouth and views to myself. It is over now, the results are known. All I can say is, it was orderly, people went around doing what they are expected to do, the candidates acted as politicians (somewhat tame), and the voters acted as regular citizens. The result was a little unexpected; the PAP won, and the others lost, but more share was expected to the opposition sensing from the tone of the forums, kopitiams, and general discussions. I expected WP and even SDP to win a little bit more, but the PAP got the lion's share.

I have no political affinities, nor am I inclined to any party or group. However, with such a large swing of voters casting for the PAP, it is clear the sort of society that is Singapore. The blokes here are more concerned with char kwey teow and laksa than what happens at the political and governance levels. It was interesting though to observe the fervent moods running into the election day. I have never seen in Singapore such energy and enthusiasm for sporting events, music concerts, or public festivals as seen for the political rallies. Singapore should hold these more often, it makes the society vibrant!

dredd

There was an outcry in 2011 and they lost considerable support as a result.

If Singapore had slide further downhill and ended up like Malaysia or Pinoyland, the people would vote the PAP out.

However the PAP pulled up their socks and worked harder and they did much better over the following 5 years and have been rewarded by an appreciative electorate.

As far as I can see democracy is live and well. The fear factor is gone. The monopoly on information and news is gone. However the PAP still got a 70% mandate. It shows what a good job they are doing.

What I mean is that there are other forces at play. Has anyone ever wondered why the hold on to power is so important to the MIWs that they have to resort to gerrymandering, converting foreigners into new citizens, using state funds to fund their campaigns... These are things done that will almost guarantee victory. Its like killing an ant with a hammer. No government that has its citizens interests at heart will go to these means. Clearly, their policies have failed domestically but still we see a huge shift towards their rule. Why and how did they do it?

Clearly, their policies have failed domestically but still we see a huge shift towards their rule. Why and how did they do it?

How can you say that their policies have failed when Singapore is the shining star of Asia and hoards of foreigners want to work and live there?

Failed policies result in a sick countries like Greece not a thriving Metropolis like Singapore.

I've been having debates of this nature with Madam Tracy over the last 3 to 4 years. Taken as a complete package the PAP is wildly successful. Of course there are many unpopular policies but that does not mean they are failed policies. In fact they could be the exact opposite.

Just because there are some people who become victims of a policy does not mean it has failed. It simply means that some are not up to the challenge the policy presents.

Ohhhhh................. for a moment there, I thought you typed Micropolis. :biggrin:

How can you say that their policies have failed when Singapore is the shining star of Asia and hoards of foreigners want to work and live there?

Failed policies result in a sick countries like Greece not a thriving Metropolis like Singapore.

takashi

A country that is governed by a party which has been given a clear mandate can always be run far more efficiently than one where a coalition is cobbled together to the extent that the tail wags the dog.

NZ does not progress because the smaller parties hold the large parties to ransom. Building a short stretch of new road takes 20 years because some obscure Maori tribe claims that it runs through their sacred burial grounds. The government capitulates and the project is put on hold because they depend on a couple of Maori Party votes to function in Parliament.

If Singapore ended up in the same situation it would a disaster for the country.
However the PAP pulled up their socks and worked harder and they did much better over the following 5 years and have been rewarded by an appreciative electorate.

As far as I can see democracy is live and well. The fear factor is gone. The monopoly on information and news is gone. However the PAP still got a 70% mandate. It shows what a good job they are doing.

I've been having debates of this nature with Madam Tracy over the last 3 to 4 years. Taken as a complete package the PAP is wildly successful. Of course there are many unpopular policies but that does not mean they are failed policies. In fact they could be the exact opposite.

Just because there are some people who become victims of a policy does not mean it has failed. It simply means that some are not up to the challenge the policy presents.
So, are you tempted to finally move back to Singapore for good and retire there? :wink::p

Without PAP protection, more death and destruction heading my way - Page 2
So you might want to consider moving back to Singapore, especially since you're pro-PAP, right? :wink:
I certainly wouldn't want to move back to that shit hole.
So the admirable PAP government can protect NZ from being destroyed by a typhoon, but cannot get rid of the shit in Singapore? :p

dredd

When an out-of-touch government puts forth policies with no resistance, causing widespread unhappiness and hardship... it has failed in its obligations to serve, govern and protect. Its not a matter of meeting up to the challenges of a policy they have no say whatsoever.

And please don't hold Sinkeepoo in such high esteem.. we are no longer the brightest penny in the fountain.

When an out-of-touch government puts forth policies with no resistance, causing widespread unhappiness and hardship... it has failed in its obligations to serve, govern and protect. Its not a matter of meeting up to the challenges of a policy they have no say whatsoever. And please don't hold Sinkeepoo in such high esteem.. we are no longer the brightest penny in the fountain.

Since u so unhappy with Singapore, please pack up and fuck off with your whole family. The people have spoken. U don't respect democracy then u fuck off to another country la!

When an out-of-touch government puts forth policies with no resistance, causing widespread unhappiness and hardship... it has failed in its obligations to serve, govern and protect. Its not a matter of meeting up to the challenges of a policy they have no say whatsoever..

If the government was out of touch, it would not have gained a 10% swing this time round. It would have gone the other way.

The surge in support means that the PAP is very much in touch with the electorate and they know exactly what policies are needed in order to win votes.

dredd

If the government was out of touch, it would not have gained a 10% swing this time round. It would have gone the other way.

The surge in support means that the PAP is very much in touch with the electorate and they know exactly what policies are needed in order to win votes.

Yes, I think a lot of the electorate would like to know why and how after everything it did. It's like when David Copperfield made the Statue of Liberty disappear, people like you would likely say he is a God not an illusionist.

When something is too good to be true, it usually is.:rolleyes:

kingat33

What I mean is that there are other forces at play. Has anyone ever wondered why the hold on to power is so important to the MIWs that they have to resort to gerrymandering, converting foreigners into new citizens, using state funds to fund their campaigns... These are things done that will almost guarantee victory. Its like killing an ant with a hammer. No government that has its citizens interests at heart will go to these means. Clearly, their policies have failed domestically but still we see a huge shift towards their rule. Why and how did they do it?

because no money oredi?....................:confused:

Yes, I think a lot of the electorate would like to know why and how after everything it did. It's like when David Copperfield made the Statue of Liberty disappear, people like you would likely say he is a God not an illusionist.

When something is too good to be true, it usually is.:rolleyes:

Life is an illusion and perception is reality. It has always been that way for mankind. As a species, we live our lives according to how we feel.

dredd

because no money oredi?....................:confused:

Maybe... but its something we will never know. In Sinkeepoo, everything is kept in the dark. We are like mushrooms, existing in the dark. The best part is, most sinkees don't care as long as they get some freebies once in a while. This kind of mindset is very dangerous in the long run. The effect will not be felt now but its ripples will be felt down the line, to our children and grandchildren.

dredd

Life is an illusion and perception is reality. It has always been that way for mankind. As a species, we live our lives according to how we feel.

Agreed. But where is the justice? GE2015 is an illusion as far as I am concerned.:wink:

In NZ, National (centre right) and Labour (centre left) swap seats every few years.

National gives the illusion that they are pro business. Labour gives the illusion that they are pro worker.

The reality of the situation is that neither makes the slightest difference to the realities that kiwis have to face on a daily basis.

No political party is going to change your life. The only person who can change your life is you. Life is what you make of it.

Choose one path and you may become wealthy. Choose another and you may end up broke. The party in power makes no difference to the outcome.

takashi

No political party is going to change your life. The only person who can change your life is you. Life is what you make of it.

Choose one path and you may become wealthy. Choose another and you may end up broke. The party in power makes no difference to the outcome.
Except the PAP, right? :wink::p

Without PAP protection, more death and destruction heading my way - Page 2
Yesterday I prayed to the PAP to deflect the eye of the storm so that it doesn't hit NZ.

Lo and Behold!.... I wake up this morning and found that it will be veering off to the East and the brunt of the storm will miss us.

If this is not convincing proof of the almighty power of the PAP, I don't know what is.

I am truly grateful to LHL for answering my prayers. God bless you and your family and I wish your dad a speedy recovery.

dredd

I have no political affinities, nor am I inclined to any party or group. However, with such a large swing of voters casting for the PAP, it is clear the sort of society that is Singapore. The blokes here are more concerned with char kwey teow and laksa than what happens at the political and governance levels. It was interesting though to observe the fervent moods running into the election day. I have never seen in Singapore such energy and enthusiasm for sporting events, music concerts, or public festivals as seen for the political rallies. Singapore should hold these more often, it makes the society vibrant!

Cheers![/QUOTE]

For some, election is a time when their hopes can be realised and they take it very seriously. So don't think its all fun and carnival.

Dun blame the pap.
However skewed the elections were.....at the end of the day sinkies DO have a vote and a choice. They chose it yesterday.
It's not the result I wanted but it's the result of 7 out of 10 sinkies.
You can kpkb about new citizens, scare tactics, cowardly voters etc etc....but end of the day these people chose the PAP.
We're not North Korea or China yet.....minimal basic democracy right to vote is still there and sinkies voted. End of story

dredd

Dun blame the pap.
However skewed the elections were.....at the end of the day sinkies DO have a vote and a choice. They chose it yesterday.
It's not the result I wanted but it's the result of 7 out of 10 sinkies.
You can kpkb about new citizens, scare tactics, cowardly voters etc etc....but end of the day these people chose the PAP.
We're not North Korea or China yet.....minimal basic democracy right to vote is still there and sinkies voted. End of story

A win through chicanery and underhanded method is a hollow victory to me. Of course, there are elections to show democracy. You find it even in Zimbabwe. Converting foreigners to "new citizens" to prop up votes is not democratic to me.

What are you going to do about it then?
Probably nothing you can do.
Also dun discount the fact many true blue sinkies did actually vote pap this time.....maybe 30-35%
Call then stewpig or cowards what you may but they each have a vote just like you and me. It's not like now it's 50% new citizens vs 50% sinkies.
No point getting angry since likely you also can't get even.
They win we lose. Get back the cuntry by violent means or fuck off from here.
This shithole with the shit fellow sinkies ain't worth it. I throw in towel and find my own niche. Good luck to those who still harbour hope. Best of luck