Polyclinic consultation fees UP, but will stay 'affordable'

http://mypaper.sg/top-stories/polyclinic-consultation-fees-will-stay-affordable-20150709

Published on Jul 09, 2015
[h=2]Polyclinic consultation fees up, but will stay 'affordable'[/h]

LINETTE LAI

A VISIT to the neighbourhood polyclinic now costs more as operators have raised consultation fees, with one doing so as recently as this month.

Singaporean adults pay between $11.80 and $11.90 for a basic consultation, while children and non-pioneer generation seniors are charged between $6.50 and $6.80.

This is on top of what they would be charged for medication, laboratory tests and so on.

Neither SingHealth nor the National Healthcare Group (NHG) - which together run all of Singapore's 18 polyclinics - were willing to disclose exactly how much fees have increased.

However, The Straits Times obtained data showing that a basic consultation for adult Singaporeans cost between $11 and $11.30 in October last year. Children and seniors paid between $6.10 and $6.40.

This means an increase of 60 cents to 80 cents per visit for adults, and a jump of up to 40 cents for seniors and children.

The fee hike for permanent residents and foreigners is steeper, with both groups paying up to $1.60 and $2.90 more respectively.

NHG said that it raised fees in April, with SingHealth following suit this month.

When The Straits Times visited one polyclinic from either group, there were no signs indicating that consultation fees had gone up.

Both polyclinic operators said that the higher fees were a reflection of increased operating costs.

"We revised our fees to manage rising operating costs such as utilities, infrastructure, equipment upgrades and inflation," said David Kok, director of finance at NHG Polyclinics.

However, SingHealth and NHG Polyclinics also assured patients that the prices would remain affordable and that no one would be turned away if he could not pay the bill.

"We are committed to ensuring that the total bill continues to be affordable for our patients," said SingHealth Polyclinics' chief operating officer, Luna Lee.

"Our fees remain heavily subsidised for Singapore citizens, especially the elderly."

[email protected]

To the PAP, ppl who use their Poly Clinic are the lowest denominator in their society.

To that, I agree.

So for any screwing or screw-up, these ppl cannot complain! LoL

Well... Singhealth and the NHG need their profits and bonuses. ;)

Also, some polyclinics had spent a fortune renovating their premises... surely they need to recoup some money?

http://mypaper.sg/top-stories/polyclinic-consultation-fees-will-stay-affordable-20150709

Published on Jul 09, 2015
[h=2]Polyclinic consultation fees up, but will stay 'affordable'[/h]

LINETTE LAI

A VISIT to the neighbourhood polyclinic now costs more as operators have raised consultation fees, with one doing so as recently as this month.

Singaporean adults pay between $11.80 and $11.90 for a basic consultation, while children and non-pioneer generation seniors are charged between $6.50 and $6.80.

This is on top of what they would be charged for medication, laboratory tests and so on.

Neither SingHealth nor the National Healthcare Group (NHG) - which together run all of Singapore's 18 polyclinics - were willing to disclose exactly how much fees have increased.

However, The Straits Times obtained data showing that a basic consultation for adult Singaporeans cost between $11 and $11.30 in October last year. Children and seniors paid between $6.10 and $6.40.

This means an increase of 60 cents to 80 cents per visit for adults, and a jump of up to 40 cents for seniors and children.

The fee hike for permanent residents and foreigners is steeper, with both groups paying up to $1.60 and $2.90 more respectively.

NHG said that it raised fees in April, with SingHealth following suit this month.

When The Straits Times visited one polyclinic from either group, there were no signs indicating that consultation fees had gone up.

Both polyclinic operators said that the higher fees were a reflection of increased operating costs.

"We revised our fees to manage rising operating costs such as utilities, infrastructure, equipment upgrades and inflation," said David Kok, director of finance at NHG Polyclinics.

However, SingHealth and NHG Polyclinics also assured patients that the prices would remain affordable and that no one would be turned away if he could not pay the bill.

"We are committed to ensuring that the total bill continues to be affordable for our patients," said SingHealth Polyclinics' chief operating officer, Luna Lee.

"Our fees remain heavily subsidised for Singapore citizens, especially the elderly."

[email protected]

With our gahmen trying to Bull shit its way into Pioneer generation's vote,

you can truly see the their BS if u visit Polyclinic, example your High Cholesterol
generic medicine for 6 months cost $18.00 you take these medicine with No Effect except it harm your Kidney and Liver! If you want some thing more effective like Crestor than you will have to pay
$260.00 for 6 months with No Subsidy another No discount, the same medication can be purchase over the counter in JB with a saving of S$90.00, No need to show your Pioneer card!!

Polyclinic increase consultation like 500% and gave 70% subsidy to Pioneer, come on
who you trying to Bluff!! We are not 5 year kid!!

SG 50 yes! the gahmen gave S$50.00 top up MRT card, but just wonder why Gahmen except kopitiam with such a Fcukard offer to Pioneer !!! You can only get 30% discount food and drink at T3 Airport, off course price there being the Highest and most expensive in STinkapore!!

Other than that you'll get 30% discount drinks only at all Kopitiam!! Please lah Kopitiam if you'e Sincere in your offer give 30% discount to all Kopitiam outlet!! If a Pioneer resides in Woodland you think he'll take the trouble to go T3 just to get 30% ?? used your common sense!! The stupid opitiam card only valid up to December 2015 with 500 purchase!! You are sincere in your offer ??? Don't restrict the usage we have to use money to make purchase you are not offering FREE meal OK??

SG50 committee in the first place should have told off the Kopitiam management for being for
so chicken heart in the their offer~~!!

you can truly see the their BS if u visit Polyclinic, example your High Cholesterol
generic medicine for 6 months cost $18.00 you take these medicine with No Effect except it harm your Kidney and Liver! If you want some thing more effective like Crestor than you will have to pay
$260.00 for 6 months with No Subsidy another No discount, the same medication can be purchase over the counter in JB with a saving of S$90.00, No need to show your Pioneer card!!

Polyclinic increase consultation like 500% and gave 70% subsidy to Pioneer, come on

SG 50 yes! the gahmen gave S$50.00 top up MRT card, but just wonder why Gahmen except kopitiam with such a Fcukard offer to Pioneer !!! You can only get 30% discount food and drink at T3 Airport, off course price there being the Highest and most expensive in STinkapore!!

Other than that you'll get 30% discount drinks only at all Kopitiam!! Please lah Kopitiam if you'e Sincere in your offer give 30% discount to all Kopitiam outlet!! If a Pioneer resides in Woodland you think he'll take the trouble to go T3 just to get 30% ?? used your common sense!!

SG50 committee in the first place should have told off the Kopitiam management for being for

Did not my read my reply?

You are the lowest denominator ...

so either you use the fucking service or..

Shut the fuck up and find some other medical service that 'is in your level' of affordability, which I am sure in your fucking stink hole...

there will be none! LoL

Other than that you'll get 30% discount drinks only at all Kopitiam!! Please lah Kopitiam if you'e Sincere in your offer give 30% discount to all Kopitiam outlet!! If a Pioneer resides in Woodland you think he'll take the trouble to go T3 just to get 30% ?? used your common sense!! The stupid opitiam card only valid up to December 2015 with 500 purchase!! You are sincere in your offer ??? Don't restrict the usage we have to use money to make purchase you are not offering FREE meal OK??

Relax... it's a strategy to entice the Pioneer Generation into voting for the PAP.

The PAP will have no use for the oldies after the election, because most of them will probably be dead by 2020. :D

Aunties and Uncles collecting cardboards can afford to pay or not?

Its they daily meal allowances. They will go hungry when they see doctor.

I have predicted this to the "wah, sibei hall!" uncle, who got his PG card, can deduct this & deduct that...that his medical fees will go UP, UP & UP soon..but don't worry...it will affordable!!

ha ha ha ha.....it came true!!

many goto polyclinic to get monthly supply of medicines...... but still see Dr in order to get them - extortion when consultation is a 30 second job!!

That is why they drag their feet on the implementation of buying medicines from Pharmacies, like in western countries, removing the sale of medicine from the doctors, like now. Many of the medicines dispensed by the doctors, can be bought OTC ( over the counter) unless they are class...this or that, under the poison act.

For example, paracetamol, some antibiotics, diabetes, high blood pressure medicine etc...even creams etc... for example a bottle of Duro-Tuss Cough Linctus, from Guardian Pharmacy cost $17, you go see doctor....it is going cost you, consultation plus the Duro-Tuss...it will come to $60-$70. I bought a bottle of behalf of a person..so I know the cost.

The consumers here are held hostage by M.O.H. here who control the supply of medicine...there is one, OTC eye drops that had been around for decade is now , not on sale here. You go ask why....!! same with some medicines I use to know, like Lomotil for too much shitting, Agarol for not shitting, & Conbatrim for worms in digestive system & Norgelsic for muscle ache..for example.

We have to pay more for "affordable" medical services...AFFORDABLE!!

That is why they drag their feet on the implementation of buying medicines from Pharmacies, like in western countries, removing the sale of medicine from the doctors, like now. Many of the medicines dispensed by the doctors, can be bought OTC ( over the counter) unless they are class...this or that, under the poison act.

For example, paracetamol, some antibiotics, diabetes, high blood pressure medicine etc...even creams etc... for example a bottle of Duro-Tuss Cough Linctus, from Guardian Pharmacy cost $17, you go see doctor....it is going cost you, consultation plus the Duro-Tuss...it will come to $60-$70. I bought a bottle of behalf of a person..so I know the cost.

The consumers here are held hostage by M.O.H. here who control the supply of medicine...there is one, OTC eye drops that had been around for decade is now , not on sale here. You go ask why....!! same with some medicines I use to know, like Lomotil for too much shitting, Agarol for not shitting, & Conbatrim for worms in digestive system & Norgelsic for muscle ache..for example.

We have to pay more for "affordable" medical services...AFFORDABLE!!

We don't want sinkies to down cough syrups just for kicks.

Anyone use Family Physician (FP) service at polyclinic?

I was subsidised by company for CRESTOR 10mg from GP, but new company does not subsidise and GP also not on company's health insurance panel of doctor.
Checked SingHealth and NHG web-sites, FP consult from $25 - $30, around normal GP rates.

But anyone know the price of 1 box CRESTOR 10mg from poly pharmacy?