Major Major Cockup by MIW. No satisfactory Explanation

enterprise2

What can I say? SMRT CEO gave a talk about improving service levels during his watch just hours before the biggest shutdown in MRT history! On top of things the Board (and gahment) approve almost a doubling of his salary earlier!! This looks really bad, almost Najib situation like! The emperor got no clothes but he will still try to convince his subjects otherwise!
And what about the 1.12 m corridor issue?? No sound no picture?? Everyone's confused now! Is it 1.12m or 1.2m or some other dimensions??
These r no small issues. What the gahment is doing is ducking the issues hoping they will go away? Fat chance with the elections round the corner.

The CEO of the SMRT has risen to the occasion and fixed the problems in a timely manner. For that he should be commended.

All will be forgiven with another round of GST vouchers, Economic Restructuring Shares, New Singapore Shares, or whatever they wish to call the pre-election bribery. ;)

Oh, and free train rides. :cool:

The CEO of the SMRT has risen to the occasion and fixed the problems in a timely manner. For that he should be commended.

u need no tell them what to do.
ah loong already reserved a medal for him on coming national day award.

to be fair , problems occuring now mainly due to past
negligence , mis management of Cleopatra
and also of a greedy board
as long as cleopatra brought in more $
she was left alone.

What can I say? SMRT CEO gave a talk about improving service levels during his watch just hours before the biggest shutdown in MRT history! On top of things the Board (and gahment) approve almost a doubling of his salary earlier!! This looks really bad, almost Najib situation like! The emperor got no clothes but he will still try to convince his subjects otherwise!
And what about the 1.12 m corridor issue?? No sound no picture?? Everyone's confused now! Is it 1.12m or 1.2m or some other dimensions??
These r no small issues. What the gahment is doing is ducking the issues hoping they will go away? Fat chance with the elections round the corner.

to them it is not at all bad ,
for they know very well
at the end of the day
sillypootians still vote for them.
the reality is % may drop
but that won't be enough alternate parties to form a gavberment

as long as cleopatra brought in more $
she was left alone.
He became CEO on 1 October 2012. Till now, 2 years 9 months have past. How much more time should we give to him to fix the system? Another 2 yrs?

2 years should be enough for a capable guy to right any wrong. However, he must be a hands on chap. Not someone who sit behind his desk and set standards of good service or give excuses like this breakdown is different, it's new, so it is not our fault.

That "ah lui" got it left, right and center from so many sinkies, below are some of the comments from his "concern home page".

Lui Tuck Yew
12 hrs · Edited ·

I am extremely concerned with today’s incident. This is the first time that services on both the North-South and East-West Lines were affected at the same time. I am sorry that so many commuters experienced massive disruptions to their journeys during the evening peak hours.

I am at LTA’s Operations Centre and they have briefed me about what happened and what could have caused it, but it is too early to conclude definitively. We need to get to the bottom of what caused tonight’s disruption. I have told SMRT and LTA to work through the night to fully recover train services and ensure that services run properly tomorrow.
Like · Comment

Top Comments
Thomas Chua Peng Kuang, Liaw Jin Poh, Lau Bee Huat and 421 others like this.
355 shares

Randy Lee We don't need you to feel concerned. We need you to fix this. You should feel sorry. You should apologize to Muslims who could not break fast on time, to the parents who could not have dinner with their children today, to the people who are tired and just want to be home, to the people who bore the fare hikes because they had no choice. But we have one choice, and we would exercise it wisely this time.
754 · 12 hrs

26 Replies · 1 hr

Keith Lang Dear Minister, I feel sorry for you. A lot of these issues probably are not your fault, but you will face the brunt of public anger because of your position, just like your predecessor, Raymond Lim, who was removed from the Cabinet.

To me, the real p...See More
294 · 11 hrs · Edited

62 Replies · 15 mins

Lynn Lim I was at Somerset stn, spend almost 2 hours to help a helpless autistic young gal to go home in Woodlands cos SMRT staff can't cope with such situation nor suggestions.
Moreover, I also can't bear to leave her there by herself.
263 · 12 hrs

32 Replies · 48 mins

Shinn Ng "In Japan, the CEO and board of directors will call a press conference and take a deep bow, and in the good old days, they may even commit hara-kiri." Since your party chairman got the guts to say that, can we expect the same from you or Desmond Kuek, the SMRT CEO?
458 · 12 hrs

17 Replies · 46 mins

Kumar Laxman That's all? Extremely concerned and sorry? Dont you feel ashamed to say this again and again to justify your incompetency? For God's sake, you are the highest paid minister, earning millions. I was stuck in that bloody train. If you even have teh least of remorse, step down NOW. 
385 · 12 hrs · Edited

29 Replies · 42 mins

Kwok Chao Yang Mr Lui, i posted something similar on SMRT's own Facebook page earlier. But after my initial comment drew quite an amount of likes, their admin deleted my comment. I guessed I hit the nail on their head.

Anyway, I have several suggestions. And I thin...See More
279 · 11 hrs · Edited

12 Replies · 34 mins

Rudy RR Your public transporation system is in shambles.

After raising COE, ERP, fuel duties, the loan downpayment, all in a bid to force lower/middle income Singaporeans to not be able to afford their own cars/motorcycles anymore, and shunting them towards u...See More
71 · 11 hrs

2 Replies · 40 mins

James Teo No use to say sorry! Get it done.

Why can't we ensure reliability? ...See More
74 · 12 hrs · Edited

6 Replies · 28 mins

RJ Mitchell So you drive your car there, listen to the noise and give some instructions, and happily drive home and sleep while staffs work over the night. That's what you are telling us.
68 · 10 hrs · Edited

9 Replies · 56 mins

Jon Chua Can SMRT do something to compensate us for the disruption their operations cause us as commuters? I walked home tonight but others may not be so lucky to be close enough to home to do the same.
50 · 12 hrs

4 Replies · 3 hrs

Marcus Chen I am extremely concerned that this is not the first time that tuck yew is extremely concerned over SMRT breakdowns... I am even more extremely concerned that SMRT is allowed to raise fares and Tuck Yew isn't extremely concerned about the fare hikes. Should this be of extreme concern?
49 · 11 hrs

5 Replies · 9 hrs

Samuel Lim Dear minister, with regards to fare hikes over the years .. Instead of solving the problem , we got bigger disruption?
Also just last month I saw this post and I thought it might interest you fyi if you weren't aware?...See More
SMRT CEO's pay of over $2m beats predecessor's
News- Mr Desmond Kuek's compensation had doubled...
business.asiaone.com
44 · 12 hrs

9 Replies · 34 mins

Roy Koo Dear Mr Liu, this is totally unacceptable . The elections are coming and yet in spite of us having paid more fare, things have not improved. This gives the PAP a bad name. I dun blame the staff of smrt , it is the CEO that has to go. You can't put a mi...See More
41 · 12 hrs

1 Reply

Allan Choo the coe went up. we cant afford a car now so no choice we have to use public transport. but now public transport always break down. what else can we expect from you? in future u will see the road full of bicycles... 2nd china. got to teach my kids how to cycle asap. cos in future cycling is the main transport. might have a lane just for bikes only. or maybe a lane is not enough?
27 · 11 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

Yi Jing You are not sorry nor concerned. YOU NEED TO FIX THIS IF NOT, STEP DOWN! Stop increasing the god damn transport fares just because you "have to".
You should be put into the brokendown trains that every commuter is facing while being angry, hungry and...See More
29 · 11 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

Dennise Chew We had a long day at work today! Left work at 6plus close to 7pm this evening! Cant wait to be home to spend time with love ones! Been told of train fault, no train services at all for all stations except Circle Line! Despite the free shuttle bus servi...See More
25 · 10 hrs · Edited

2 Replies · 11 hrs

Elijah Chen You are paid millions to ensure reliability, not to say sorry and coming up with excuses time and time again. Might I suggest that you step down from your position and hand it over to someone more competent, to show that you are at least feeling remorseful and apologetic about your incompetency.
35 · 12 hrs · Edited

2 Replies · 9 hrs

Chen Longtai SMRT ltd just gave us the "best SG50" gift to the public! Because of all this disruption, it take me 3 hours and 45 minutes to get home! There isn't any direct free bus from one mrt to another mrt! I have to aligh at bishan and walk to ang mo kio mrt T...See More
23 · 12 hrs
Bobby Ong It is not only train faults. The buses in town area all the way to Stamford road are having "their own issue". They are NOT MOVING. Please do something now
25 · 12 hrs

2 Replies · 11 hrs

Junwei Loh You would think that all these years of breakdown would have taught SMRT and SBS Transit or even the LTA on how to deal with a crisis like this.

But NOPE. MRT stations are in chaos, no signs or directions to where those free buses are, no staff to red...See More
22 · 12 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

Kyann Lim Dear Sir, I am fortunate to be able to avoid the train breakdown and got home early to rest but many of my friends are still out there trying to grab buses & taxis to get home at this hour. Many had a long day and still have to wake up early tomorrow f...See More
15 · 11 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

Xing Chew As transport minister, there is only so much you can do. Unfortunately, your office makes you the face of any breakdown. Having returned to Singapore after spending years in NYC, I have to say I am missing the New York subway. Yes, it is smelly, dirty,...See More
13 · 9 hrs

1 Reply

Brenda Wilfred I think it would be fair if smrt provided a week's worth of free rides to make up for this massive disruption in which we wasted time looking for alternative ways home and half of us had to cab back unnecessarily - unless we can send SMRT the receipt for reimbursement. Please consider your dismal standards before you up the transport fares again.
14 · 11 hrs
Toh Hai Hoe Extremely concerned? Is that the only thing that you can say? Each time this happened and you can be heard saying you are "extremely concerned"? You are extremely concerned and yet you can be seen pushing hard for smrt fare increases? Are you even thi...See More
21 · 11 hrs
Vito Moe Ang At least should rebate for all taxi fares and issue 50$ meal voucher to at least please a bit to customers for their physical and mental suffering in a cabins without AC for half an hour
16 · 12 hrs · Edited
Angeline Ng After the countless breakdowns I am extremely concerned that the ministry still haven't worked with the various transport providers to put in place a solid contingency plan in the event of MRT breakdown. My cab fare tonight is $30 dollars as a result of the incident, is there an email address that I can email the receipt to to get reimbursement? Thanks.
13 · 11 hrs
Према Наир Dear minister
I have been waiting for a bus for an hr. All buses were full. Could u send some empty buses to ease the situation?
The problem when train breakdown there is no alternative solution. Eg. Im staying in woodlands and my only means of transportation to town is the train. No direct bus available....See More
17 · 12 hrs

8 Replies · 2 hrs

Valerie Tan Why are you at LTA operations centre instead of going to one station to see for yourself the mass first hand??? How could Singapore aspire to be like Switzerland all these years and their train system is even older than ours but never breakdown and on...See More
20 · 12 hrs

3 Replies · 11 hrs

Jonathan Lee The government has done such a great job in making the MRT to be such an important and critical public infrastructure for Singaporeans. It is a shame that it is failing at such high frequency when so many Singaporeans are dependent on it for commute. S...See More
9 · 11 hrs
Jessie Chia our own public transport shouldn't let the private company run and if the train for faulty and they always get the blame and fined heavy penalty and is very unfair to them and the train is meant for the citizens price shouldn't raises and raised
13 · 12 hrs
Danny Kong "I have told SMRT and LTA to work through the night to fully recover train services and ensure that services run properly tomorrow."

If I am the minister, I "WILL WORK WITH SMRT and LTA through the night to fully recover and ensure that services run properly tomorrow." unsure emoticon
7 · 9 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

Yeow Min Quan Dear Mr Lui, as much as we understand no machineries are perfect, the recent spat of train breakdowns are affecting us in more ways than ever. How are we, average Singaporeans, going to switch effectively from private transport to public transport when...See More
A sad commentary on state of affairs in town council: Khaw Boon Wan, Opinion...
straitstimes.com
97 · 11 hrs · Edited

11 Replies · 2 mins

Kenny Ang I feel sorry for the engineers having to work overnight... They are the ones ensuring that everyone got home on time daily, yet they are the ones that got blamed when shit happens.

Minister Lui, I'm sure u will be there throughout the night to help t...See More
10 · 11 hrs

1 Reply

Leon Chow Train cannot, buses cannot, cars also cannot. Why are you here? Even Tony Tan shakes hands. You do what? Breakdowns getting worse and worse. SMRT still earning millions but you never fight for us. You concerned my ass. If you are a bit concerned, you would have frozen the fare. Bastard.
17 · 11 hrs

2 Replies · 18 mins

Cannis Seng The case for nationalization of SMRT and the train network of Singapore
Dear Mr Lui,
A monopoly arises when a dominant company provides an important service which is irreplaceable. This company is SMRT and it's provision of train services is a monopoly...See More
5 · 9 hrs

1 Reply

Shafiq Rahman Mr Minister, don't you feel tired of having to keep saying sorry? I am surprised that you are still sticking to your job even though you have to keep saying sorry all the time. Having said that, I think this time sorry is not enough. Fares keep rising ...See More
17 · 12 hrs
Bluedolphin Ac Dear minister , looking forward is to ensure such massive disruption of train services do not recurred again. Even the bus services provided cannot catered to the massive effected citizens. The buses from the upper stream would be fully loaded and non ...See More
4 · 11 hrs
Bernard Low Dear Minister pls hire experts from Japan,Hong Kong, Taiwan and Germany to revamp our infrastructure, contingency systems and staff training. You also need to focus on beefing up maintenance costs and resources. Get SMRT and SBS to focus on their core ...See More
7 · 11 hrs · Edited

3 Replies · 2 hrs

Rick Koh Dear Minister, I understand the position that you are in right now, but that does not give you the excuse to not keep a strict check on the public transport sector, especially after the incident tonight. The promises that the services will be improved ...See More
4 · 10 hrs
Eunice Ong Desmond Kuek 2.2 millions for this shits. Let me take the job, i will take the heat. No too much heat apparently to be largely concerned about as it can be brushed under the carpet after a few days. Singapore logic.
11 · 12 hrs
Bryan Ng Please resign Lui tuck yew if you are sorry. Together with all those management people from smrt. What is the point of keeping apologising. Time to take responsibility. If CEO can't perform, then change him. If transport minister can't perform, then why are you still here??
12 · 12 hrs
Alicia Tay Then you should ensure that cab drivers are all fully activated and not in hiding when we need them! What if there are emergencies and people without cars (which happen to be ridiculously expensive in Singapore) would desperately need to call for a cab, only to find that there is none available after using all sorts of apps like Uber, Grab, Easy, Comfort, SMRT etc???
5 · 11 hrs
Gerrard Tam Dear Mr Lui, can declare public holiday tomorrow? So our poor SMRT engineer can have more then 24hrs to repair and you can sleep at home peacefully. Don`t need to extremely concerned lah. Thanks for your hard work!!!
7 · 10 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

T Tan Carter Sir we are also concern about the increase in bus fare. Many of us are just normal folks frown emoticon
16 · 12 hrs
Yong Kang Mr. Minister, I believe that you've been extremely concerned with many incidents and not just today's. Being extremely concern is certainly not sufficient because it does not resolve nor improve the situation. As the governing minister for transport, y...See More
2 · 9 hrs
Zach Hcaz Trains, buses, taxis will break down. That's an inevitable, irrefutable fact but the contingency plan regarding the shuttles were poorly planned out and executed. My wife was stuck in the train heading towards Ang Mo Kio. And with 2 young children and ...See More
5 · 9 hrs · Edited
Robby Lee Are you sure you at LTA's operation centre or at home having your dinner at that point of time? You have told SMRT and LTA to work through the night and where will you be tonight? This is not the first major incident and we have kept on facing all this...See More
2 · 8 hrs
Mel Lim Sir Lui, I came from Sgh after work ytd. At outram and chinatown area there were a lot of elderly. In event of a MASSIVE brkdown, can the elderly, unwell and the young (or parents with young kids) get priority on board a bus or can bus charters be avai...See More
2 · 2 hrs
Donald Tan I am also concerned that you've always been very concerned about the breakdown.

Why don't the government just openly admit that these incidents were caused by the trains having to go overdrive due to over population?!...See More
11 · 11 hrs · Edited
Liong Tuan Hi Mr Lui, I am very upset with today‘s disruption. I was forced to alight at Outram mrt at 740pm after stucked in the tunnel for 20mins without aircon and without air. After that, the smrt staff at station control did not provide guidance at all. She ...See More
5 · 10 hrs
Mn Faridzul First thing is you hike up the prices but the services are getting poorer as the prices go higher..and the best part is the very least you could do is extend the bus timings but you didnt and i ended up missing my last bus from woodlands to tampines. Well done! ������
5 · 10 hrs
Kel Vin Stop bullshit. We had enough of your bullshit. Either you do something else we will kick you out. Jolly well remember is us who pay for your salary not SMRT or LTA so please stand at our side and work for us.
10 · 12 hrs · Edited

Chris A S Das Maybe you should take a HUGE paycut and effectively resign as Transport Minister, Mr. Lui. Nothing you can say now will ever compensate for the severe disruptions in our public transport system and the inexplicable breakdowns. How many people have lost...See More
7 · 12 hrs

3 Replies · 11 hrs

JAck OW Go LTA ops centre and asked what happened and got brief and lastly say get the train by tomorrow. Then go home eat supper and sleep and wait for feedback on the next day. Like this Everyone also can be transport minister Liao lo. Then take bonus. I heard is 2 mil bonus.
6 · 11 hrs
Paul Chong Dear Mr. Lui,

Please check with operator on the ground. The staff what happen to your maintain and repair procedure. ...See More
1 · 1 hr · Edited
Tan Pei Ying "I am sorry" does not even begin to describe the massive inconvenience and helplessness caused to majority of commuters, many whom have no alternative ways to get home, mind you. At the insanely crowded bus stops, all bus numbers zoomed past w/o stoppi...See More
3 · 9 hrs · Edited
Jacques Lee Dear Mr. Lui, let's not put the blame on anyone, including SMRT. What has happened is a lot of factors put together that led to this. Firstly, the surge in the population in Singapore is not something that has been carefully thought of when building th...See More
1 hr
Orson Chua Dear Minister Lui, I observe that SMRT had been breaking down for a variety of reasons (track fault, power surge, train signal fault, etc) thus it seems that SMRT is facing a multitude of issues that when stacked up, is causing the frequent breakdowns....See More
4 · 11 hrs
Elizabeth Tao My parents and I waited for over 2 hrs to get on a bus on Scotts rd while I'm trying to call for a taxi w tips but to no avail. We are now on 171 to yishun via bukit panjang. We would hv got to yishun from orchard in 25min max turned out to be a 3hr+ journey. Well done, million dollar minister.
6 · 10 hrs
Sim Chai Heng Will you be working through the night with them, Tuck Yew?
11 · 12 hrs

1 Reply

Thomas Daddyofmabrynnamabrylbelle Don't you forget the rose in fare was approved by you, Mr Lui Teck yew?
23 · 12 hrs
Alfred Tam LTA might want to consider technical and cost feasibility study to construct a 3rd train track for stations that currently only have 2. If operationally sound in tandem with well designed redundant power and control systems, the 3rd track can act as t...See More
11 hrs
Jessie Chia I think our MRT gonna breakdown soon...... usually I seldom take train home cos will go home together with my hubby and today I personally experienced so much inconvenience and lots of hassle reached home 1.5 hours late
so I can understand those commuters their frustration and every now and then our train breakdown
5 · 12 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

Ong Yu Jun Dear minister, even as many are slamming you for this, thank you for bearing the brunt of this, sticking to your guns and doing your job despite all the criticism. Many may not see what you and your team are doing, but shall trust along with the minori...See More
10 hrs

2 Replies · 8 hrs

Yappilee Yap I am extremely concerned that u have to say sorry so many times.
6 · 11 hrs
Daniel Pang and it is also about time where we put our bus system into test during this crisis. On a daily basis, I must say our bus system does drives quite a number of us crazy. Can you imagine bus captain driving buses at speed of almost constant 40kph? I am not sure why? Just take a look at Service 70...
1 hr
Li Tzuan Saying about quality service behind increasing fares?
Its only degrading service with the depreciation of those old models of tracks and trains .
With all this coming along, how is it fair for fees to be increase? And disruption has been reported to be steadily increasing ?...See More
2 · 11 hrs
Desmond Lee I am extremely disappointed and embarrassed that a first world country can have such frequent breakdown, this one being massive and affected everyone directly or indirectly. Desmond needs to take responsibility, you have said sorry once too many times
1 · 2 hrs

1 Reply

Ong Chee Kien Mr Lui, this is my second time in a year to meet such incident. Too coincident , you will say. My answer to you is NO. Our MRT system has deteriorated to an unacceptable level and you must acknowledge this rather then saying that we have fewer breakdow...See More
1 · 11 hrs
Kenny Goh Wei Xiang M1 breakdown also must kenna fine but government take the money instead of the civilians suffering from the incident. Please dont issue fines etc. If it doesnt benefit the people affected by it unless we can see that effort has been put in.
10 hrs
Ng Chun Yi Dear Minister, although I was lucky to avoid the train breakdown as I commute by bus to and from work, it took me longer than usual to get home because the buses were packed with commuters affected by the train breakdown.

This is highly unacceptable. I suggest you not only push LTA and SMRT to get to the bottom of it, free rides should be given on public transport for the rest of the week.
3 · 11 hrs · Edited
Gum Ang We are extremely concerned too where we will place our cross on the ballot papers next time round.
4 · 10 hrs
Blitzz Zach Maximus Is there train services tommorow?As i need to get the early train to work.How can we know?
2 · 11 hrs
Alicia Ang Dear Minister Lui, I am also extremely concern over your concern. We have been facing several breakdowns and train faults in the recent years, yet nothing has been done to settle it.
2 hrs
Czk Wong It's getting to look more and more like circus and the clowns must go! You have your concerns but I am more concerned with people getting such high pay and still cannot solve this long term issue!
2 · 9 hrs · Edited
Hwee Peng Khng Dear sir, please ensure that mrt breakdown does not also equate communication Breakdown: 1. The monitor at bugis mrt station still shows NORMAL train service, even indicating the arrival times of the train @9pm when there were still NO trains along t...See More
2 · 10 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

Ryan Chng I know that these issues may happen and it may be an accident and we did not plan to have this disruption, but the fare increase does not look good at a time like this, because the breakdown is unprecedented. Perhaps we need a moratorium on fare increases again, or else people might complain... but thanks to LTA for doing all that it can.
5 · 12 hrs · Edited
Wei Zhang Chuan I am extremely disappointed with the CEO's record pay increase. Its unfair commentators here do not know who to fault in times like this.
http://business.asiaone.com/.../smrt-ceos-pay-over-2m...
business.asiaone.com
11 · 11 hrs · Edited
Qiaowei Dan Dear Mr Lui, think the operations for post train breakdown contingencies and handling needs to be improved. Information dissemination is important to convey message to both commuters and to service operation personnel. Crowd controls at major points an...See More
2 hrs
Lee Leng Leng Who should I feedback to to improve the bus service to Sembawang ?

There is no free shuttle bus service at Bishan to Sembawang. Was told to take a bus to Ang Mo Kio, then take another bus to Woodland. Just because Sembawang and Woodland is lumped as ...See More
1 · 11 hrs
Jason Lam You are extremely concerned with today's incident? People are even more concerned you are paying SMRT CEO $2.5 million, up from $600k, to produce crap results like these. And even more people are concerned if you are fit at all to be the Transport minister. You have no idea how many people are disgusted by you.
1 · 9 hrs · Edited
Andy Chan We are also extremely concerned for both your jobs.
6 · 11 hrs

1 Reply

Bobby Yee No lah not millions. Nevertheless, due to the years that SMRT was not engineering focused, we now have these problems. Most likely the MTBF of the crucial eqpt have been exceeded. I used to work in the Air Force. When the hours are near or up, we just ...See More
3 · 12 hrs

1 Reply

Apple Alissa So what has SMRT or the government been doing?

What's so good about the free bus service? Beeline queues everywhere. Do you think that free bus service is the correction to train faults?...See More
7 · 10 hrs · Edited
Derrick Ong I was stranded at bishan, goin towards woodlands. I knock off at 6. Reach home at 10. I have part time study while working full time. Im supposed to work on my assignments at woodlands and now i cant get it done. Bishan have no much eateries thats affo...See More
11 · 11 hrs
Zann Tan singapore really need to stop allowing foreigners frm migrating into singapore. this causes the overload in the trains which caused all the train faults recently over the years. take mrt breakdown, take bus cant go up overloaded, hv car expressway jam ...See More
2 · 10 hrs

1 Reply

Daniel Pang its unfortunate that this train system had a massive break down and hope that it will be brought up as soon as possible. But most importantly the authority have to ensure that SMRT and relevant party meet regulatory standards and minimise down time. We can't be saying that well it happen again which is not being responsible of the relevant transportation parties.
1 hr
Siew Tin My children's friends had to walk all the way home. One from Thomson to AMK and another from Bishan to Woodlands. The buses was packed one after another and there was no taxis on the road or on call. It took him close to 3 hours!
On their way back, th...See More
7 · 9 hrs
Ng Lydia Public transportation system constantly breaking down is a vulnerability in a small city like ours, a matter of national defence much like water, housing and power. Breakdowns doesn't mean terrorism will happen, but we must not give any chance for our ...See More
1 hr
Frank Singam Minister, you, LTA and SMRT have a thankless job. Sporeans tend to be "I, me & myself". Spore transport system has come a long way, given the constraints and demands. I welcome any of the critics here to run your job and other jobs in our transport sys...See More
1 hr
Kaimeng N Huimin Tuck yew lah..always say concern..always allow their unjustified fare hike..net profit over 2mil still hike..

Sg 50 then over 57 stops affected..hari raya coming then on off train light do testing is it....See More
4 · 11 hrs
Dickson Goh Ever notice he keeps using "I" in his statement? We don't care how you feel or where you've gone, we just want to know how WE can be assured that the transport operators keep their core competencies in check before giving us more fare hikes. Take a cue at HK's MTR system and how they manage their once in a blue moon "train fault".
2 · 10 hrs · Edited
Wayne Lim I am extremely concerned for your future Tuck Yew. If this incident happened in any other country your head would probably roll already. Desmond Kuek ought to share the blame together with you considering the fact that his salary have increased by as ...See More
8 hrs
Helen Tan Very chaotic...i got hit by 3 guys consecutively trying to squeeze out of mrt station n at bus over sensitive areas...hungry, and rushing for exams revisions. Extremely long and unpleasant rides as i also witnessed Chinese Migrant workers hog bus seat...See More
2 · 10 hrs
Asmah Ahmad my sister has to walk home from amk hub to toa payoh as she cant get any bus or taxi and has cause her giddy due to crowds everywhere.. no choice walk home in the dark..
3 · 10 hrs
Hamidah Binte Mistam Dear Sir, I was there to witness people rushing to board the bus to go home. You are considered lucky because there are no casualty. As a fellow Singaporean, we are at the limits of hearing sorry and apologies. What we want is a normal transportation ...See More
11 hrs
Tony Tang Kok Yong Jia you to all ground staff and engineers.. They are the hand and leg, very important. . Btw, please chop off the head..
9 · 12 hrs
Chew Jia Rui Gary I think the other problem the authorities should be concerned with is the security gap in our key public transport system. If a power outage can cause such a massive unprecedented breakdown, its hard to imagine how a deliberate attack on our major transport artery would play out.
1 · 11 hrs
Sim Yunying Hi Mr Lui, appreciate if you could also help ensure the Smrt staff and drivers, who got mobilised due to this incident, get compensated duly for their hard work. Thank you.
4 · 11 hrs

1 Reply

Jáñ Âmý It not only disrupted train commuters. We were told to take the buses, but you should see the crowd at the bus stops. Worst still the traffic was so bad that the bus wasnt able to move too! I boarded a bus trying to get out of City Hall to any place I could detour but in the end??? The bus was not even moving from the spot for 30 minutes! It took me more than 1 hour to get from City Hall to Selegie.
3 · 12 hrs · Edited
Christine Toh I would rather SMRT stop operation for half a day or so for a super thorough check on the fault so as not to risk another breakdown tomorrow. If the problem is really serious.
11 hrs

1 Reply

Jase Ng Please raise the fare more even if oil prices drop further so we can pay the CEO more than 3 million. 2.2 million is too little for him to ensure no breakdowns.
5 · 11 hrs

John Ong I happened to b in e train to clementi @ buno vista. First time experienced first hand. They saidgot free shuttle cannot c any. Took a bus fare got deducted. Where got free not to mention e commotion n stress going up e bus. SMRT shld gve all affected tis evening SG50 free $50 ride ticket to appease all affected commuters. It's really frustrating as no guides around to tell us next thing to do. V bad service.
3 · 12 hrs
MingXia Chorny Ho I was riding in a jeepney in Philippines just last week. Despite the massive traffic in metro Manila, there is no such thing as not being able to board a bus because it is packed and full. Same for their trains. They are a 'third world' country but the...See More
9 hrs · Edited
Ang MH They shd delist smrt ! Public transport shd focus on service and not profit!
3 · 11 hrs
Shakuan Adam While you are extremely concerned, the majority of Singaporeans who commute around our country are ANGRY (quite plainly) going by the reaction so far. It's a very big difference in both parties' views on the incident today. Apologizing again just doesn...See More
9 hrs · Edited
Christopher Bok Announcements made about the 'free bus services' were unclear and confusing. People mistook this as bus bridging services between MRT stations when it was not. It meant that public bus services along the affected routes were free. Announcements should have stated 'PUBLIC bus services' with the line added: "All bus services between MRT stations are free."
8 hrs
Sorensen Lkh There has been a downward trend in the performance of SMRT and LTA. If SMRT fails in operating the train services, LTA fails more in performing its role as the regulator.

It is time for an overhaul of the regulatory and operation regimes of the MRT systems by LTA and SMRT respectively. A 'bold' review of both the management is in fact overdue.
8 hrs
Teng Wee Kheat and the welfare for the staffs sucks. If richard brandson know by treating the staff welfare well including the cabin drivers and mrt pax agents .

why can't your take care of them . I am really disappointed.
10 hrs
Lim Suu Swen 'first time that services on both North-South and East-West Lines were affected at the same time"...wow... but not first time mrt break down hor. Dont sound so innocent please
1 · 11 hrs
Andy Lim With regards to this evening mass breakdown, I urge the authorities don't rush to open the downtown line this December, do not compromise safety, do a thorough check especially stations along Bukit Timah Road, December is a rainy season, make sure the stations not affect by water leaking & floods.
3 · 11 hrs
Tan Ding Kai Is it really that difficult to come up with a new set of protocol in managing problems like this? A more proactive approach instead of a reactive one? What is in place now is obviously not working . This breakdown was pretty major . Do you have to wai...See More
1 · 10 hrs
Ng Lydia Mr Lui, this situation is extremely dangerous for our internal security.
Just telling LTA and SMRT to work through the night isn't going to cut it! The buck must stop here. Breakdown after breakdown, and now, a power surge was all that's needed to bri...See More
1 · 9 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

Mün Léé May I simply suggest to swallow our SG ego once and for all and invite the core team from HK MTR to come here and study and fix our MRT systems? Versus ours, their systems is older yet more reliable, efficient and more robust. Does that sound like a pragmatic suggestion?
2 · 10 hrs
武士影子 Seriously ah tuck, today is day where your "traffic light" in the train station, has the red light blinking and yet does it do anything? No. And today is the day you make the whole nation, "feel the love of one another" in the freaking bus to a whole new level. Seriously you trying to train us to do the 42km road March is it?
10 hrs
Connie Chia If feel sorry should pay back the cab fare to all. Should provide a course to SMRT staff let them know in details about their bus services and timing. Base on incident was happened yesterday, SMRT staff totally not sure about their bus timing and can't guide us to take the correct bus.
2 hrs
Peter Tent We don't need you to feel concerned, we just need you to step down for a better person to manage the system
2 · 12 hrs
Bobby Teo People unable to,get home. You are at the LTA Ops Centre ?
What can you do there ?
Anyway, what can you for us getting paid millions all these years ?
5 · 10 hrs

2 Replies · 10 hrs

Nur Aisyah Narshia You are at home typing this down, in the comfort of your own home, maybe.

But your passengers?...See More
2 · 9 hrs
Kevin Neo I do not feel feel the sincerity in your apology as I believe you are way out of touch with commoners like us.
4 · 11 hrs
Sharon Liew Do you know that after 3 hours if waiting I am still stranded at CBD? There is no free bus service at all. Even normal buses are packed like sardines. How is SMRT going to compensate us? I don't need a refund. I just want to go home!!!!!!
3 · 11 hrs
Hillord Zulhilmi Not sure you are concerned or not but this need to change and fixed once and for all. This poor lady have to break-fast at the staircase because unable to eat on time. http://www.thelocalsociety.com/nsewl-down-biggest-train.../
(NSEWL) down! Biggest train distruption in Singapore history
Singapore’s two key train lines were on Tuesday evening...
thelocalsociety.com
10 hrs
Shaun Moo Whatever happens, as the Minister for transport, these troubles were brought on by your previous administration. However you could have chosen NOT TO INCREASE the bloody fares.
4 · 10 hrs

2 Replies · 3 hrs

Tay Chin Peng Instead of making SMRT pay fines again, why don't LTA make them reduce the price of the MRT fares. The concept is still the same as paying fines, just that WE the affected people get to be compensated for once.

In any case the fine doesn't seem to work, neither do we have an idea where the money goes to. Who knows it could even go a full circle.
2 · 11 hrs
Wilson Soo I have seem good and bad side of the disruptions.

Bad:- SMRT are not operational ready to deal with a major breakdown. No clear instruction on whether they are free transport. In Bishan, passenger are inquiring what happen, the staff just stayed in t...See More
10 hrs
Peter Lin Ping Hoe SMRT too good already. Operate everyday with no off days and only do servicing in the middle of the night that' s why will have occasionally breakdowns.

If SMRT got schedule maintainence - like shutting down their systems for 1 or 2 days over the w...See More
22 mins
Dominic Well, let's hope the problem can get rectified ASAP
Some of us have to get to the office tomorrow to do ACTUAL work and produce ACTUAL results or there will be ACTUAL repercussions ...See More
1 · 10 hrs · Edited
Ben Teo Teck Chye You should stop saying sorry and start taking responsibility. The only thing that we CAN conclude definitively is SMRT CEO must go and at the same time find time to type your resignation letter!
3 · 11 hrs
Kanesh Murty Going to increase transport fares again? I was stuck at Tiong Bahru. No announcements were given for pax to get off the train or to stop boarding. I got off as I didn't want to get trapped in the tunnel. As I got out people were still coming into the s...See More
2 · 12 hrs · Edited
Benjamin Cheong It has been 4 years since the 2011 MRT disruptions and I have yet to see any improvement. What have LTA been doing for these past years?
1 · 1 hr
Lim Jia Cheng Mr Lui , got one thing I concern that from now to 2016/17 more new train are putting into service , i afraid that got even more broke down on all lines,
Mr Lui u should ask those 2 operations specialist SMRT to make clear announcement in 4 languages an...See More
1 · 10 hrs · Edited
Fisher Manias The hefty coe and deposit policy should not be imposed on Singaporeans. It is us, "we the citizens of Singapore" who needs the transportation more and yet we can't afford. To some foreigners, the amount is just peanuts to them which doesn't make any difference. At the end of the day, we are the ones suffering.
1 · 11 hrs
Jeremy AY 'Apology' not accepted. How come Tokyo and Hong Kong have bigger, more complex train systems yet Singapore has more breakdowns? Why are fare increases inversely proportional to SMRT's standard of service? Please enlighten us.
4 · 11 hrs · Edited
Robert Chen If only we could use the same excuse at work. We would have been fired 10 times by now. If your salary is tagged to match private companies', why not tag performance based on private companies' as well?
3 · 11 hrs
Aaron Tan Exactly this is of National Concern, cos you have promised that fare raises are to improve service quality. AND THAT doesn't come from the Public transport operators profit, but from the government. You are always sorry, but you have kept on pay lip service only. You should really be ashamed of yourself for doing such a poor job.
11 hrs
Cherie Lee I suppose as a minister, you'll have to make a statement. But at some point, there's a need to acknowledge that the current SMRT CEO and his team are not worth their salt, and recognize the management of the transport system has to be outsourced.

I o...See More
2 · 11 hrs
Jingxian Li fares up by 5 cents ... but still the same service... i was stuck inside 30 mins. why didnt they let us down earlier? is it becoz they are waiting to activate the bus .. then they let us down?? un un un un un unbelievable... i am so stunned like vegetable...
2 · 12 hrs · Edited
Looi Sing Lai Mrt breakdown & delay in Singapore is worse while pay of CEO doubled. There is a disconnect between pay & performance.
If employees in MRT company are rewarded based on revenue & profit, this is not in the best interest of the public.
LTA may impose a ...See More
3 · 12 hrs

1 Reply

Kevin Tan Dear Mr Lui, your dearest ex-SAF general Desmond Kuek with no experience in managing a transportation did not improve SMRT's standards by a lot yet his compensation was. Does he deserve the $ or is he suitable for this position? Perhaps everyone can start thinking. This is one of the worse breakdown, with all NSEW lines affected. I do not think we should fine SMRT, you should know who has to go.
1 · 9 hrs · Edited
Jimmy Tan Dear Minster Sir,

Really thank you for you care and concern, but end day commuters, SMRT front line, mid level & backend staff are the ones that face the difficulty and frustration. ...See More
10 hrs · Edited
Shirley Wong Dear Mr Lui, many of us are still stranded at this hour trying to get transport to go home. We really appreciate real action to be taken please. Thank you
1 · 12 hrs
Albert Wong I also extremely concerned that u will need more money from us in a few months to fix the technical problems leh.. Of course lah, you can say it's good service and responsibility for whole Singapore to be part SMRT's growth lah..
1 · 11 hrs

1 Reply

Ing Loong Yang I am extremely concerned that you are only "extremely concerned" and nothing else. Maybe convene another commission of inquiry?
1 · 10 hrs
Chi Sao So it is normal for the individual to breakdown?

Or maybe you shd just resign.
11 hrs
Leslie Sun I think you are just gonna have to write you are disappointed once a year. What have you and the Public Transport Council done, except to increase the coffers of SMRT and salary of its higher echelons of leadership?
1 · 11 hrs
严宗 Our silent and extremely concerned protector, not the minister we need but the one we deserve.

...See More
10 hrs · Edited
Thomas Daddyofmabrynnamabrylbelle If the amount of profit was properly channelled into servicing and maintenance works not long, say 10years then I think such breakdowns will not be as frequents as what is today... and I stress again, we are still paying for the fare hike ..
1 · 11 hrs
Denise Chan Pls! Instead of being extremely concerned, pls go down to one of the mrt stations and see how bad and chaotic the situation is. No buses and taxis.
1 · 10 hrs
Goandflykite Johnny We all can claim $50 on our ezlink for our sg50 birthday....
8 hrs
Jack FC Thank you the staff of Smrt and lta for working hard during the incident. They have a thankless task. Let us be patient and understanding to them. It's not the end of the world.
34 · 12 hrs · Edited

4 Replies · 11 hrs

Nexx Bao Ruu Expensive public transport with a jia lat service yet still can plan to increase transport fare... even a kindergarten kid can tell me why public transport so expensive but always spoil? Pls enlighten our sg'rean kids what is gg on... kids nowadays not goon do like last time..
3 · 11 hrs

2 Replies · 10 hrs

He became CEO on 1 October 2012. Till now, 2 years 9 months have past. How much more time should we give to him to fix the system? Another 2 yrs?

2 years should be enough for a capable guy to right any wrong. However, he must be a hands on chap. Not someone who sit behind his desk and set standards of good service or give excuses like this breakdown is different, it's new, so it is not our fault.

ok u got a point. it has truth in it if that ceo has experience in running a similar industry
but in sillypoore
in garberment owned business vacancy in top management posts
are filled by soldier , ex mp , ex minister , close relate-thief.
all without any experience.

my friend who works in smrt said when SMRT began service , there was nothing to do in the first 3 years.
subsequent years only involved in minor repair and maintenance works.
in short the technical expertise is no there.
thats why when major problem occurs they are guessing the cause.

All will be forgiven with another round of GST vouchers, Economic Restructuring Shares, New Singapore Shares, or whatever they wish to call the pre-election bribery. ;)

Your wish for GST vouchers, free rides..etc..etc will come true if we have another major break down before the week is up..

Let"s wish we can get the free rides and free vouchers...

Oh..we forgot to thank Saw Phiak Hwa for making this come true.
We also thank Ho ching for giving her good friend the job to run our National train system with more retail outlet.
We also thank PM LHL for turning his head the other way and did not intercede and hamper Saw Phaik Hwa 's running of the National train system...for the 9 years when Saw helm this top job...

Your wish for GST vouchers, free rides..etc..etc will come true if we have another major break down before the week is up..

Let"s wish we can get the free rides and free vouchers...

Oh..we forgot to thank Saw Phiak Hwa for making this come true.
We also thank Ho ching for giving her good friend the job to run our National train system with more retail outlet.
We also thank PM LHL for turning his head the other way and did not intercede and hamper Saw Phaik Hwa 's running of the National train system...for the 9 years when Saw helm this top job...

Free wifi, free McDonald's vouchers, free NTUC vouchers, free durians, free neh nehs to squeeze during commuting.

u need no tell them what to do.
ah loong already reserved a medal for him on coming national day award.

Sinkie peasants have no right to tell what natural aristocrats can or cannot do.

According to natural aristocrat Josephine Teo, Sinkie peasants are the real cause of the problem as they decide to get onto trains all at the same time.

" you peasants are bunch of jokers !!!! deal with it !!!! LOL "

lhl-laughing.jpg

That "ah lui" got it left, right and center from so many sinkies, below are some of the comments from his "concern home page".

Lui Tuck Yew
12 hrs · Edited ·

I am extremely concerned with today’s incident. This is the first time that services on both the North-South and East-West Lines were affected at the same time. I am sorry that so many commuters experienced massive disruptions to their journeys during the evening peak hours.

I am at LTA’s Operations Centre and they have briefed me about what happened and what could have caused it, but it is too early to conclude definitively. We need to get to the bottom of what caused tonight’s disruption. I have told SMRT and LTA to work through the night to fully recover train services and ensure that services run properly tomorrow.
Like · Comment

Top Comments
Thomas Chua Peng Kuang, Liaw Jin Poh, Lau Bee Huat and 421 others like this.
355 shares

Randy Lee We don't need you to feel concerned. We need you to fix this. You should feel sorry. You should apologize to Muslims who could not break fast on time, to the parents who could not have dinner with their children today, to the people who are tired and just want to be home, to the people who bore the fare hikes because they had no choice. But we have one choice, and we would exercise it wisely this time.
754 · 12 hrs

26 Replies · 1 hr

Keith Lang Dear Minister, I feel sorry for you. A lot of these issues probably are not your fault, but you will face the brunt of public anger because of your position, just like your predecessor, Raymond Lim, who was removed from the Cabinet.

To me, the real p...See More
294 · 11 hrs · Edited

62 Replies · 15 mins

Lynn Lim I was at Somerset stn, spend almost 2 hours to help a helpless autistic young gal to go home in Woodlands cos SMRT staff can't cope with such situation nor suggestions.
Moreover, I also can't bear to leave her there by herself.
263 · 12 hrs

32 Replies · 48 mins

Shinn Ng "In Japan, the CEO and board of directors will call a press conference and take a deep bow, and in the good old days, they may even commit hara-kiri." Since your party chairman got the guts to say that, can we expect the same from you or Desmond Kuek, the SMRT CEO?
458 · 12 hrs

17 Replies · 46 mins

Kumar Laxman That's all? Extremely concerned and sorry? Dont you feel ashamed to say this again and again to justify your incompetency? For God's sake, you are the highest paid minister, earning millions. I was stuck in that bloody train. If you even have teh least of remorse, step down NOW.
385 · 12 hrs · Edited

29 Replies · 42 mins

Kwok Chao Yang Mr Lui, i posted something similar on SMRT's own Facebook page earlier. But after my initial comment drew quite an amount of likes, their admin deleted my comment. I guessed I hit the nail on their head.

Anyway, I have several suggestions. And I thin...See More
279 · 11 hrs · Edited

12 Replies · 34 mins

Rudy RR Your public transporation system is in shambles.

After raising COE, ERP, fuel duties, the loan downpayment, all in a bid to force lower/middle income Singaporeans to not be able to afford their own cars/motorcycles anymore, and shunting them towards u...See More
71 · 11 hrs

2 Replies · 40 mins

James Teo No use to say sorry! Get it done.

Why can't we ensure reliability? ...See More
74 · 12 hrs · Edited

6 Replies · 28 mins

RJ Mitchell So you drive your car there, listen to the noise and give some instructions, and happily drive home and sleep while staffs work over the night. That's what you are telling us.
68 · 10 hrs · Edited

9 Replies · 56 mins

Jon Chua Can SMRT do something to compensate us for the disruption their operations cause us as commuters? I walked home tonight but others may not be so lucky to be close enough to home to do the same.
50 · 12 hrs

4 Replies · 3 hrs

Marcus Chen I am extremely concerned that this is not the first time that tuck yew is extremely concerned over SMRT breakdowns... I am even more extremely concerned that SMRT is allowed to raise fares and Tuck Yew isn't extremely concerned about the fare hikes. Should this be of extreme concern?
49 · 11 hrs

5 Replies · 9 hrs

Samuel Lim Dear minister, with regards to fare hikes over the years .. Instead of solving the problem , we got bigger disruption?
Also just last month I saw this post and I thought it might interest you fyi if you weren't aware?...See More
business.asiaone.com
44 · 12 hrs

9 Replies · 34 mins

Roy Koo Dear Mr Liu, this is totally unacceptable . The elections are coming and yet in spite of us having paid more fare, things have not improved. This gives the PAP a bad name. I dun blame the staff of smrt , it is the CEO that has to go. You can't put a mi...See More
41 · 12 hrs

1 Reply

Allan Choo the coe went up. we cant afford a car now so no choice we have to use public transport. but now public transport always break down. what else can we expect from you? in future u will see the road full of bicycles... 2nd china. got to teach my kids how to cycle asap. cos in future cycling is the main transport. might have a lane just for bikes only. or maybe a lane is not enough?
27 · 11 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

Yi Jing You are not sorry nor concerned. YOU NEED TO FIX THIS IF NOT, STEP DOWN! Stop increasing the god damn transport fares just because you "have to".
You should be put into the brokendown trains that every commuter is facing while being angry, hungry and...See More
29 · 11 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

Dennise Chew We had a long day at work today! Left work at 6plus close to 7pm this evening! Cant wait to be home to spend time with love ones! Been told of train fault, no train services at all for all stations except Circle Line! Despite the free shuttle bus servi...See More
25 · 10 hrs · Edited

2 Replies · 11 hrs

Elijah Chen You are paid millions to ensure reliability, not to say sorry and coming up with excuses time and time again. Might I suggest that you step down from your position and hand it over to someone more competent, to show that you are at least feeling remorseful and apologetic about your incompetency.
35 · 12 hrs · Edited

2 Replies · 9 hrs

Chen Longtai SMRT ltd just gave us the "best SG50" gift to the public! Because of all this disruption, it take me 3 hours and 45 minutes to get home! There isn't any direct free bus from one mrt to another mrt! I have to aligh at bishan and walk to ang mo kio mrt T...See More
23 · 12 hrs
Bobby Ong It is not only train faults. The buses in town area all the way to Stamford road are having "their own issue". They are NOT MOVING. Please do something now
25 · 12 hrs

2 Replies · 11 hrs

Junwei Loh You would think that all these years of breakdown would have taught SMRT and SBS Transit or even the LTA on how to deal with a crisis like this.

But NOPE. MRT stations are in chaos, no signs or directions to where those free buses are, no staff to red...See More
22 · 12 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

Kyann Lim Dear Sir, I am fortunate to be able to avoid the train breakdown and got home early to rest but many of my friends are still out there trying to grab buses & taxis to get home at this hour. Many had a long day and still have to wake up early tomorrow f...See More
15 · 11 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

Xing Chew As transport minister, there is only so much you can do. Unfortunately, your office makes you the face of any breakdown. Having returned to Singapore after spending years in NYC, I have to say I am missing the New York subway. Yes, it is smelly, dirty,...See More
13 · 9 hrs

1 Reply

Brenda Wilfred I think it would be fair if smrt provided a week's worth of free rides to make up for this massive disruption in which we wasted time looking for alternative ways home and half of us had to cab back unnecessarily - unless we can send SMRT the receipt for reimbursement. Please consider your dismal standards before you up the transport fares again.
14 · 11 hrs
Toh Hai Hoe Extremely concerned? Is that the only thing that you can say? Each time this happened and you can be heard saying you are "extremely concerned"? You are extremely concerned and yet you can be seen pushing hard for smrt fare increases? Are you even thi...See More
21 · 11 hrs
Vito Moe Ang At least should rebate for all taxi fares and issue 50$ meal voucher to at least please a bit to customers for their physical and mental suffering in a cabins without AC for half an hour
16 · 12 hrs · Edited
Angeline Ng After the countless breakdowns I am extremely concerned that the ministry still haven't worked with the various transport providers to put in place a solid contingency plan in the event of MRT breakdown. My cab fare tonight is $30 dollars as a result of the incident, is there an email address that I can email the receipt to to get reimbursement? Thanks.
13 · 11 hrs
Према Наир Dear minister
I have been waiting for a bus for an hr. All buses were full. Could u send some empty buses to ease the situation?
The problem when train breakdown there is no alternative solution. Eg. Im staying in woodlands and my only means of transportation to town is the train. No direct bus available....See More
17 · 12 hrs

8 Replies · 2 hrs

Valerie Tan Why are you at LTA operations centre instead of going to one station to see for yourself the mass first hand??? How could Singapore aspire to be like Switzerland all these years and their train system is even older than ours but never breakdown and on...See More
20 · 12 hrs

3 Replies · 11 hrs

Jonathan Lee The government has done such a great job in making the MRT to be such an important and critical public infrastructure for Singaporeans. It is a shame that it is failing at such high frequency when so many Singaporeans are dependent on it for commute. S...See More
9 · 11 hrs
Jessie Chia our own public transport shouldn't let the private company run and if the train for faulty and they always get the blame and fined heavy penalty and is very unfair to them and the train is meant for the citizens price shouldn't raises and raised
13 · 12 hrs
Danny Kong "I have told SMRT and LTA to work through the night to fully recover train services and ensure that services run properly tomorrow."

If I am the minister, I "WILL WORK WITH SMRT and LTA through the night to fully recover and ensure that services run properly tomorrow." unsure emoticon
7 · 9 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

Yeow Min Quan Dear Mr Lui, as much as we understand no machineries are perfect, the recent spat of train breakdowns are affecting us in more ways than ever. How are we, average Singaporeans, going to switch effectively from private transport to public transport when...See More
A sad commentary on state of affairs in town council: Khaw Boon Wan, Opinion...
straitstimes.com
97 · 11 hrs · Edited

11 Replies · 2 mins

Kenny Ang I feel sorry for the engineers having to work overnight... They are the ones ensuring that everyone got home on time daily, yet they are the ones that got blamed when shit happens.

Minister Lui, I'm sure u will be there throughout the night to help t...See More
10 · 11 hrs

1 Reply

Leon Chow Train cannot, buses cannot, cars also cannot. Why are you here? Even Tony Tan shakes hands. You do what? Breakdowns getting worse and worse. SMRT still earning millions but you never fight for us. You concerned my ass. If you are a bit concerned, you would have frozen the fare. Bastard.
17 · 11 hrs

2 Replies · 18 mins

Cannis Seng The case for nationalization of SMRT and the train network of Singapore
Dear Mr Lui,
A monopoly arises when a dominant company provides an important service which is irreplaceable. This company is SMRT and it's provision of train services is a monopoly...See More
5 · 9 hrs

1 Reply

Shafiq Rahman Mr Minister, don't you feel tired of having to keep saying sorry? I am surprised that you are still sticking to your job even though you have to keep saying sorry all the time. Having said that, I think this time sorry is not enough. Fares keep rising ...See More
17 · 12 hrs
Bluedolphin Ac Dear minister , looking forward is to ensure such massive disruption of train services do not recurred again. Even the bus services provided cannot catered to the massive effected citizens. The buses from the upper stream would be fully loaded and non ...See More
4 · 11 hrs
Bernard Low Dear Minister pls hire experts from Japan,Hong Kong, Taiwan and Germany to revamp our infrastructure, contingency systems and staff training. You also need to focus on beefing up maintenance costs and resources. Get SMRT and SBS to focus on their core ...See More
7 · 11 hrs · Edited

3 Replies · 2 hrs

Rick Koh Dear Minister, I understand the position that you are in right now, but that does not give you the excuse to not keep a strict check on the public transport sector, especially after the incident tonight. The promises that the services will be improved ...See More
4 · 10 hrs
Eunice Ong Desmond Kuek 2.2 millions for this shits. Let me take the job, i will take the heat. No too much heat apparently to be largely concerned about as it can be brushed under the carpet after a few days. Singapore logic.
11 · 12 hrs
Bryan Ng Please resign Lui tuck yew if you are sorry. Together with all those management people from smrt. What is the point of keeping apologising. Time to take responsibility. If CEO can't perform, then change him. If transport minister can't perform, then why are you still here??
12 · 12 hrs
Alicia Tay Then you should ensure that cab drivers are all fully activated and not in hiding when we need them! What if there are emergencies and people without cars (which happen to be ridiculously expensive in Singapore) would desperately need to call for a cab, only to find that there is none available after using all sorts of apps like Uber, Grab, Easy, Comfort, SMRT etc???
5 · 11 hrs
Gerrard Tam Dear Mr Lui, can declare public holiday tomorrow? So our poor SMRT engineer can have more then 24hrs to repair and you can sleep at home peacefully. Don`t need to extremely concerned lah. Thanks for your hard work!!!
7 · 10 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

T Tan Carter Sir we are also concern about the increase in bus fare. Many of us are just normal folks frown emoticon
16 · 12 hrs
Yong Kang Mr. Minister, I believe that you've been extremely concerned with many incidents and not just today's. Being extremely concern is certainly not sufficient because it does not resolve nor improve the situation. As the governing minister for transport, y...See More
2 · 9 hrs
Zach Hcaz Trains, buses, taxis will break down. That's an inevitable, irrefutable fact but the contingency plan regarding the shuttles were poorly planned out and executed. My wife was stuck in the train heading towards Ang Mo Kio. And with 2 young children and ...See More
5 · 9 hrs · Edited
Robby Lee Are you sure you at LTA's operation centre or at home having your dinner at that point of time? You have told SMRT and LTA to work through the night and where will you be tonight? This is not the first major incident and we have kept on facing all this...See More
2 · 8 hrs
Mel Lim Sir Lui, I came from Sgh after work ytd. At outram and chinatown area there were a lot of elderly. In event of a MASSIVE brkdown, can the elderly, unwell and the young (or parents with young kids) get priority on board a bus or can bus charters be avai...See More
2 · 2 hrs
Donald Tan I am also concerned that you've always been very concerned about the breakdown.

Why don't the government just openly admit that these incidents were caused by the trains having to go overdrive due to over population?!...See More
11 · 11 hrs · Edited
Liong Tuan Hi Mr Lui, I am very upset with today‘s disruption. I was forced to alight at Outram mrt at 740pm after stucked in the tunnel for 20mins without aircon and without air. After that, the smrt staff at station control did not provide guidance at all. She ...See More
5 · 10 hrs
Mn Faridzul First thing is you hike up the prices but the services are getting poorer as the prices go higher..and the best part is the very least you could do is extend the bus timings but you didnt and i ended up missing my last bus from woodlands to tampines. Well done! ������
5 · 10 hrs
Kel Vin Stop bullshit. We had enough of your bullshit. Either you do something else we will kick you out. Jolly well remember is us who pay for your salary not SMRT or LTA so please stand at our side and work for us.
10 · 12 hrs · Edited

Chris A S Das Maybe you should take a HUGE paycut and effectively resign as Transport Minister, Mr. Lui. Nothing you can say now will ever compensate for the severe disruptions in our public transport system and the inexplicable breakdowns. How many people have lost...See More
7 · 12 hrs

3 Replies · 11 hrs

JAck OW Go LTA ops centre and asked what happened and got brief and lastly say get the train by tomorrow. Then go home eat supper and sleep and wait for feedback on the next day. Like this Everyone also can be transport minister Liao lo. Then take bonus. I heard is 2 mil bonus.
6 · 11 hrs
Paul Chong Dear Mr. Lui,

Please check with operator on the ground. The staff what happen to your maintain and repair procedure. ...See More
1 · 1 hr · Edited
Tan Pei Ying "I am sorry" does not even begin to describe the massive inconvenience and helplessness caused to majority of commuters, many whom have no alternative ways to get home, mind you. At the insanely crowded bus stops, all bus numbers zoomed past w/o stoppi...See More
3 · 9 hrs · Edited
Jacques Lee Dear Mr. Lui, let's not put the blame on anyone, including SMRT. What has happened is a lot of factors put together that led to this. Firstly, the surge in the population in Singapore is not something that has been carefully thought of when building th...See More
1 hr
Orson Chua Dear Minister Lui, I observe that SMRT had been breaking down for a variety of reasons (track fault, power surge, train signal fault, etc) thus it seems that SMRT is facing a multitude of issues that when stacked up, is causing the frequent breakdowns....See More
4 · 11 hrs
Elizabeth Tao My parents and I waited for over 2 hrs to get on a bus on Scotts rd while I'm trying to call for a taxi w tips but to no avail. We are now on 171 to yishun via bukit panjang. We would hv got to yishun from orchard in 25min max turned out to be a 3hr+ journey. Well done, million dollar minister.
6 · 10 hrs
Sim Chai Heng Will you be working through the night with them, Tuck Yew?
11 · 12 hrs

1 Reply

Thomas Daddyofmabrynnamabrylbelle Don't you forget the rose in fare was approved by you, Mr Lui Teck yew?
23 · 12 hrs
Alfred Tam LTA might want to consider technical and cost feasibility study to construct a 3rd train track for stations that currently only have 2. If operationally sound in tandem with well designed redundant power and control systems, the 3rd track can act as t...See More
11 hrs
Jessie Chia I think our MRT gonna breakdown soon...... usually I seldom take train home cos will go home together with my hubby and today I personally experienced so much inconvenience and lots of hassle reached home 1.5 hours late
so I can understand those commuters their frustration and every now and then our train breakdown
5 · 12 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

Ong Yu Jun Dear minister, even as many are slamming you for this, thank you for bearing the brunt of this, sticking to your guns and doing your job despite all the criticism. Many may not see what you and your team are doing, but shall trust along with the minori...See More
10 hrs

2 Replies · 8 hrs

Yappilee Yap I am extremely concerned that u have to say sorry so many times.
6 · 11 hrs
Daniel Pang and it is also about time where we put our bus system into test during this crisis. On a daily basis, I must say our bus system does drives quite a number of us crazy. Can you imagine bus captain driving buses at speed of almost constant 40kph? I am not sure why? Just take a look at Service 70...
1 hr
Li Tzuan Saying about quality service behind increasing fares?
Its only degrading service with the depreciation of those old models of tracks and trains .
With all this coming along, how is it fair for fees to be increase? And disruption has been reported to be steadily increasing ?...See More
2 · 11 hrs
Desmond Lee I am extremely disappointed and embarrassed that a first world country can have such frequent breakdown, this one being massive and affected everyone directly or indirectly. Desmond needs to take responsibility, you have said sorry once too many times
1 · 2 hrs

1 Reply

Ong Chee Kien Mr Lui, this is my second time in a year to meet such incident. Too coincident , you will say. My answer to you is NO. Our MRT system has deteriorated to an unacceptable level and you must acknowledge this rather then saying that we have fewer breakdow...See More
1 · 11 hrs
Kenny Goh Wei Xiang M1 breakdown also must kenna fine but government take the money instead of the civilians suffering from the incident. Please dont issue fines etc. If it doesnt benefit the people affected by it unless we can see that effort has been put in.
10 hrs
Ng Chun Yi Dear Minister, although I was lucky to avoid the train breakdown as I commute by bus to and from work, it took me longer than usual to get home because the buses were packed with commuters affected by the train breakdown.

This is highly unacceptable. I suggest you not only push LTA and SMRT to get to the bottom of it, free rides should be given on public transport for the rest of the week.
3 · 11 hrs · Edited
Gum Ang We are extremely concerned too where we will place our cross on the ballot papers next time round.
4 · 10 hrs
Blitzz Zach Maximus Is there train services tommorow?As i need to get the early train to work.How can we know?
2 · 11 hrs
Alicia Ang Dear Minister Lui, I am also extremely concern over your concern. We have been facing several breakdowns and train faults in the recent years, yet nothing has been done to settle it.
2 hrs
Czk Wong It's getting to look more and more like circus and the clowns must go! You have your concerns but I am more concerned with people getting such high pay and still cannot solve this long term issue!
2 · 9 hrs · Edited
Hwee Peng Khng Dear sir, please ensure that mrt breakdown does not also equate communication Breakdown: 1. The monitor at bugis mrt station still shows NORMAL train service, even indicating the arrival times of the train @9pm when there were still NO trains along t...See More
2 · 10 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

Ryan Chng I know that these issues may happen and it may be an accident and we did not plan to have this disruption, but the fare increase does not look good at a time like this, because the breakdown is unprecedented. Perhaps we need a moratorium on fare increases again, or else people might complain... but thanks to LTA for doing all that it can.
5 · 12 hrs · Edited
Wei Zhang Chuan I am extremely disappointed with the CEO's record pay increase. Its unfair commentators here do not know who to fault in times like this.
http://business.asiaone.com/.../smrt-ceos-pay-over-2m...
business.asiaone.com
11 · 11 hrs · Edited
Qiaowei Dan Dear Mr Lui, think the operations for post train breakdown contingencies and handling needs to be improved. Information dissemination is important to convey message to both commuters and to service operation personnel. Crowd controls at major points an...See More
2 hrs
Lee Leng Leng Who should I feedback to to improve the bus service to Sembawang ?

There is no free shuttle bus service at Bishan to Sembawang. Was told to take a bus to Ang Mo Kio, then take another bus to Woodland. Just because Sembawang and Woodland is lumped as ...See More
1 · 11 hrs
Jason Lam You are extremely concerned with today's incident? People are even more concerned you are paying SMRT CEO $2.5 million, up from $600k, to produce crap results like these. And even more people are concerned if you are fit at all to be the Transport minister. You have no idea how many people are disgusted by you.
1 · 9 hrs · Edited
Andy Chan We are also extremely concerned for both your jobs.
6 · 11 hrs

1 Reply

Bobby Yee No lah not millions. Nevertheless, due to the years that SMRT was not engineering focused, we now have these problems. Most likely the MTBF of the crucial eqpt have been exceeded. I used to work in the Air Force. When the hours are near or up, we just ...See More
3 · 12 hrs

1 Reply

Apple Alissa So what has SMRT or the government been doing?

What's so good about the free bus service? Beeline queues everywhere. Do you think that free bus service is the correction to train faults?...See More
7 · 10 hrs · Edited
Derrick Ong I was stranded at bishan, goin towards woodlands. I knock off at 6. Reach home at 10. I have part time study while working full time. Im supposed to work on my assignments at woodlands and now i cant get it done. Bishan have no much eateries thats affo...See More
11 · 11 hrs
Zann Tan singapore really need to stop allowing foreigners frm migrating into singapore. this causes the overload in the trains which caused all the train faults recently over the years. take mrt breakdown, take bus cant go up overloaded, hv car expressway jam ...See More
2 · 10 hrs

1 Reply

Daniel Pang its unfortunate that this train system had a massive break down and hope that it will be brought up as soon as possible. But most importantly the authority have to ensure that SMRT and relevant party meet regulatory standards and minimise down time. We can't be saying that well it happen again which is not being responsible of the relevant transportation parties.
1 hr
Siew Tin My children's friends had to walk all the way home. One from Thomson to AMK and another from Bishan to Woodlands. The buses was packed one after another and there was no taxis on the road or on call. It took him close to 3 hours!
On their way back, th...See More
7 · 9 hrs
Ng Lydia Public transportation system constantly breaking down is a vulnerability in a small city like ours, a matter of national defence much like water, housing and power. Breakdowns doesn't mean terrorism will happen, but we must not give any chance for our ...See More
1 hr
Frank Singam Minister, you, LTA and SMRT have a thankless job. Sporeans tend to be "I, me & myself". Spore transport system has come a long way, given the constraints and demands. I welcome any of the critics here to run your job and other jobs in our transport sys...See More
1 hr
Kaimeng N Huimin Tuck yew lah..always say concern..always allow their unjustified fare hike..net profit over 2mil still hike..

Sg 50 then over 57 stops affected..hari raya coming then on off train light do testing is it....See More
4 · 11 hrs
Dickson Goh Ever notice he keeps using "I" in his statement? We don't care how you feel or where you've gone, we just want to know how WE can be assured that the transport operators keep their core competencies in check before giving us more fare hikes. Take a cue at HK's MTR system and how they manage their once in a blue moon "train fault".
2 · 10 hrs · Edited
Wayne Lim I am extremely concerned for your future Tuck Yew. If this incident happened in any other country your head would probably roll already. Desmond Kuek ought to share the blame together with you considering the fact that his salary have increased by as ...See More
8 hrs
Helen Tan Very chaotic...i got hit by 3 guys consecutively trying to squeeze out of mrt station n at bus over sensitive areas...hungry, and rushing for exams revisions. Extremely long and unpleasant rides as i also witnessed Chinese Migrant workers hog bus seat...See More
2 · 10 hrs
Asmah Ahmad my sister has to walk home from amk hub to toa payoh as she cant get any bus or taxi and has cause her giddy due to crowds everywhere.. no choice walk home in the dark..
3 · 10 hrs
Hamidah Binte Mistam Dear Sir, I was there to witness people rushing to board the bus to go home. You are considered lucky because there are no casualty. As a fellow Singaporean, we are at the limits of hearing sorry and apologies. What we want is a normal transportation ...See More
11 hrs
Tony Tang Kok Yong Jia you to all ground staff and engineers.. They are the hand and leg, very important. . Btw, please chop off the head..
9 · 12 hrs
Chew Jia Rui Gary I think the other problem the authorities should be concerned with is the security gap in our key public transport system. If a power outage can cause such a massive unprecedented breakdown, its hard to imagine how a deliberate attack on our major transport artery would play out.
1 · 11 hrs
Sim Yunying Hi Mr Lui, appreciate if you could also help ensure the Smrt staff and drivers, who got mobilised due to this incident, get compensated duly for their hard work. Thank you.
4 · 11 hrs

1 Reply

Jáñ Âmý It not only disrupted train commuters. We were told to take the buses, but you should see the crowd at the bus stops. Worst still the traffic was so bad that the bus wasnt able to move too! I boarded a bus trying to get out of City Hall to any place I could detour but in the end??? The bus was not even moving from the spot for 30 minutes! It took me more than 1 hour to get from City Hall to Selegie.
3 · 12 hrs · Edited
Christine Toh I would rather SMRT stop operation for half a day or so for a super thorough check on the fault so as not to risk another breakdown tomorrow. If the problem is really serious.
11 hrs

1 Reply

Jase Ng Please raise the fare more even if oil prices drop further so we can pay the CEO more than 3 million. 2.2 million is too little for him to ensure no breakdowns.
5 · 11 hrs

John Ong I happened to b in e train to clementi @ buno vista. First time experienced first hand. They saidgot free shuttle cannot c any. Took a bus fare got deducted. Where got free not to mention e commotion n stress going up e bus. SMRT shld gve all affected tis evening SG50 free $50 ride ticket to appease all affected commuters. It's really frustrating as no guides around to tell us next thing to do. V bad service.
3 · 12 hrs
MingXia Chorny Ho I was riding in a jeepney in Philippines just last week. Despite the massive traffic in metro Manila, there is no such thing as not being able to board a bus because it is packed and full. Same for their trains. They are a 'third world' country but the...See More
9 hrs · Edited
Ang MH They shd delist smrt ! Public transport shd focus on service and not profit!
3 · 11 hrs
Shakuan Adam While you are extremely concerned, the majority of Singaporeans who commute around our country are ANGRY (quite plainly) going by the reaction so far. It's a very big difference in both parties' views on the incident today. Apologizing again just doesn...See More
9 hrs · Edited
Christopher Bok Announcements made about the 'free bus services' were unclear and confusing. People mistook this as bus bridging services between MRT stations when it was not. It meant that public bus services along the affected routes were free. Announcements should have stated 'PUBLIC bus services' with the line added: "All bus services between MRT stations are free."
8 hrs
Sorensen Lkh There has been a downward trend in the performance of SMRT and LTA. If SMRT fails in operating the train services, LTA fails more in performing its role as the regulator.

It is time for an overhaul of the regulatory and operation regimes of the MRT systems by LTA and SMRT respectively. A 'bold' review of both the management is in fact overdue.
8 hrs
Teng Wee Kheat and the welfare for the staffs sucks. If richard brandson know by treating the staff welfare well including the cabin drivers and mrt pax agents .

why can't your take care of them . I am really disappointed.
10 hrs
Lim Suu Swen 'first time that services on both North-South and East-West Lines were affected at the same time"...wow... but not first time mrt break down hor. Dont sound so innocent please
1 · 11 hrs
Andy Lim With regards to this evening mass breakdown, I urge the authorities don't rush to open the downtown line this December, do not compromise safety, do a thorough check especially stations along Bukit Timah Road, December is a rainy season, make sure the stations not affect by water leaking & floods.
3 · 11 hrs
Tan Ding Kai Is it really that difficult to come up with a new set of protocol in managing problems like this? A more proactive approach instead of a reactive one? What is in place now is obviously not working . This breakdown was pretty major . Do you have to wai...See More
1 · 10 hrs
Ng Lydia Mr Lui, this situation is extremely dangerous for our internal security.
Just telling LTA and SMRT to work through the night isn't going to cut it! The buck must stop here. Breakdown after breakdown, and now, a power surge was all that's needed to bri...See More
1 · 9 hrs · Edited

1 Reply

Mün Léé May I simply suggest to swallow our SG ego once and for all and invite the core team from HK MTR to come here and study and fix our MRT systems? Versus ours, their systems is older yet more reliable, efficient and more robust. Does that sound like a pragmatic suggestion?
2 · 10 hrs
武士影子 Seriously ah tuck, today is day where your "traffic light" in the train station, has the red light blinking and yet does it do anything? No. And today is the day you make the whole nation, "feel the love of one another" in the freaking bus to a whole new level. Seriously you trying to train us to do the 42km road March is it?
10 hrs
Connie Chia If feel sorry should pay back the cab fare to all. Should provide a course to SMRT staff let them know in details about their bus services and timing. Base on incident was happened yesterday, SMRT staff totally not sure about their bus timing and can't guide us to take the correct bus.
2 hrs
Peter Tent We don't need you to feel concerned, we just need you to step down for a better person to manage the system
2 · 12 hrs
Bobby Teo People unable to,get home. You are at the LTA Ops Centre ?
What can you do there ?
Anyway, what can you for us getting paid millions all these years ?
5 · 10 hrs

2 Replies · 10 hrs

Nur Aisyah Narshia You are at home typing this down, in the comfort of your own home, maybe.

But your passengers?...See More
2 · 9 hrs
Kevin Neo I do not feel feel the sincerity in your apology as I believe you are way out of touch with commoners like us.
4 · 11 hrs
Sharon Liew Do you know that after 3 hours if waiting I am still stranded at CBD? There is no free bus service at all. Even normal buses are packed like sardines. How is SMRT going to compensate us? I don't need a refund. I just want to go home!!!!!!
3 · 11 hrs
Hillord Zulhilmi Not sure you are concerned or not but this need to change and fixed once and for all. This poor lady have to break-fast at the staircase because unable to eat on time. http://www.thelocalsociety.com/nsewl-down-biggest-train.../
(NSEWL) down! Biggest train distruption in Singapore history
Singapore’s two key train lines were on Tuesday evening...
thelocalsociety.com
10 hrs
Shaun Moo Whatever happens, as the Minister for transport, these troubles were brought on by your previous administration. However you could have chosen NOT TO INCREASE the bloody fares.
4 · 10 hrs

2 Replies · 3 hrs

Tay Chin Peng Instead of making SMRT pay fines again, why don't LTA make them reduce the price of the MRT fares. The concept is still the same as paying fines, just that WE the affected people get to be compensated for once.

In any case the fine doesn't seem to work, neither do we have an idea where the money goes to. Who knows it could even go a full circle.
2 · 11 hrs
Wilson Soo I have seem good and bad side of the disruptions.

Bad:- SMRT are not operational ready to deal with a major breakdown. No clear instruction on whether they are free transport. In Bishan, passenger are inquiring what happen, the staff just stayed in t...See More
10 hrs
Peter Lin Ping Hoe SMRT too good already. Operate everyday with no off days and only do servicing in the middle of the night that' s why will have occasionally breakdowns.

If SMRT got schedule maintainence - like shutting down their systems for 1 or 2 days over the w...See More
22 mins
Dominic Well, let's hope the problem can get rectified ASAP
Some of us have to get to the office tomorrow to do ACTUAL work and produce ACTUAL results or there will be ACTUAL repercussions ...See More
1 · 10 hrs · Edited
Ben Teo Teck Chye You should stop saying sorry and start taking responsibility. The only thing that we CAN conclude definitively is SMRT CEO must go and at the same time find time to type your resignation letter!
3 · 11 hrs
Kanesh Murty Going to increase transport fares again? I was stuck at Tiong Bahru. No announcements were given for pax to get off the train or to stop boarding. I got off as I didn't want to get trapped in the tunnel. As I got out people were still coming into the s...See More
2 · 12 hrs · Edited
Benjamin Cheong It has been 4 years since the 2011 MRT disruptions and I have yet to see any improvement. What have LTA been doing for these past years?
1 · 1 hr
Lim Jia Cheng Mr Lui , got one thing I concern that from now to 2016/17 more new train are putting into service , i afraid that got even more broke down on all lines,
Mr Lui u should ask those 2 operations specialist SMRT to make clear announcement in 4 languages an...See More
1 · 10 hrs · Edited
Fisher Manias The hefty coe and deposit policy should not be imposed on Singaporeans. It is us, "we the citizens of Singapore" who needs the transportation more and yet we can't afford. To some foreigners, the amount is just peanuts to them which doesn't make any difference. At the end of the day, we are the ones suffering.
1 · 11 hrs
Jeremy AY 'Apology' not accepted. How come Tokyo and Hong Kong have bigger, more complex train systems yet Singapore has more breakdowns? Why are fare increases inversely proportional to SMRT's standard of service? Please enlighten us.
4 · 11 hrs · Edited
Robert Chen If only we could use the same excuse at work. We would have been fired 10 times by now. If your salary is tagged to match private companies', why not tag performance based on private companies' as well?
3 · 11 hrs
Aaron Tan Exactly this is of National Concern, cos you have promised that fare raises are to improve service quality. AND THAT doesn't come from the Public transport operators profit, but from the government. You are always sorry, but you have kept on pay lip service only. You should really be ashamed of yourself for doing such a poor job.
11 hrs
Cherie Lee I suppose as a minister, you'll have to make a statement. But at some point, there's a need to acknowledge that the current SMRT CEO and his team are not worth their salt, and recognize the management of the transport system has to be outsourced.

I o...See More
2 · 11 hrs
Jingxian Li fares up by 5 cents ... but still the same service... i was stuck inside 30 mins. why didnt they let us down earlier? is it becoz they are waiting to activate the bus .. then they let us down?? un un un un un unbelievable... i am so stunned like vegetable...
2 · 12 hrs · Edited
Looi Sing Lai Mrt breakdown & delay in Singapore is worse while pay of CEO doubled. There is a disconnect between pay & performance.
If employees in MRT company are rewarded based on revenue & profit, this is not in the best interest of the public.
LTA may impose a ...See More
3 · 12 hrs

1 Reply

Kevin Tan Dear Mr Lui, your dearest ex-SAF general Desmond Kuek with no experience in managing a transportation did not improve SMRT's standards by a lot yet his compensation was. Does he deserve the $ or is he suitable for this position? Perhaps everyone can start thinking. This is one of the worse breakdown, with all NSEW lines affected. I do not think we should fine SMRT, you should know who has to go.
1 · 9 hrs · Edited
Jimmy Tan Dear Minster Sir,

Really thank you for you care and concern, but end day commuters, SMRT front line, mid level & backend staff are the ones that face the difficulty and frustration. ...See More
10 hrs · Edited
Shirley Wong Dear Mr Lui, many of us are still stranded at this hour trying to get transport to go home. We really appreciate real action to be taken please. Thank you
1 · 12 hrs
Albert Wong I also extremely concerned that u will need more money from us in a few months to fix the technical problems leh.. Of course lah, you can say it's good service and responsibility for whole Singapore to be part SMRT's growth lah..
1 · 11 hrs

1 Reply

Ing Loong Yang I am extremely concerned that you are only "extremely concerned" and nothing else. Maybe convene another commission of inquiry?
1 · 10 hrs
Chi Sao So it is normal for the individual to breakdown?

Or maybe you shd just resign.
11 hrs
Leslie Sun I think you are just gonna have to write you are disappointed once a year. What have you and the Public Transport Council done, except to increase the coffers of SMRT and salary of its higher echelons of leadership?
1 · 11 hrs
严宗 Our silent and extremely concerned protector, not the minister we need but the one we deserve.

...See More
10 hrs · Edited
Thomas Daddyofmabrynnamabrylbelle If the amount of profit was properly channelled into servicing and maintenance works not long, say 10years then I think such breakdowns will not be as frequents as what is today... and I stress again, we are still paying for the fare hike ..
1 · 11 hrs
Denise Chan Pls! Instead of being extremely concerned, pls go down to one of the mrt stations and see how bad and chaotic the situation is. No buses and taxis.
1 · 10 hrs
Goandflykite Johnny We all can claim $50 on our ezlink for our sg50 birthday....
8 hrs
Jack FC Thank you the staff of Smrt and lta for working hard during the incident. They have a thankless task. Let us be patient and understanding to them. It's not the end of the world.
34 · 12 hrs · Edited

4 Replies · 11 hrs

Nexx Bao Ruu Expensive public transport with a jia lat service yet still can plan to increase transport fare... even a kindergarten kid can tell me why public transport so expensive but always spoil? Pls enlighten our sg'rean kids what is gg on... kids nowadays not goon do like last time..
3 · 11 hrs

2 Replies · 10 hrs

In Taiwan, the talkshows would be inundated with "famous mouths" and call-in citizens demanding that the President, Prime Ministar and Transport Ministar all resign. ;)

Hopefully, one day Sinkies will rediscover their balls and outgrow the Lees, as the Taiwanese had outgrown the Chiangs. ;)

SMRT Breakdowns: What has happened since 2012?

JULY 8, 2015 BY THEONLINECITIZEN
By Jeannette Chong-Aruldoss

Yesterday (7 July 2015) saw an extensive MRT breakdown: the North-South and East-West lines were disrupted for hours. An estimated 250,000 commuters were affected by what could turn out to be the largest MRT breakdown in history.

Singaporeans are shocked, and are fully entitled to ask: what has happened since 2012?

After an unprecedented spate of breakdowns in 2011, a Committee of Inquiry was held in 2012 under the chairmanship of then Chief District Judge Tan Siong Thye, who concluded, in a 358 page report, that the incidents were preventable and that there was a “a gaping disconnect between what was formally on record and what was happening on the ground”.

Then Chief District Judge Tan highlighted that LTA as the regulator had to maintain effective oversight of the Public Transport Operator’s (“PTOs”) maintenance regime.

Where is the accountability, rectification, and implementation of the COI’s 2012 report? What’s happened since 2012?

Here’s what has happened.

The CEO of SMRT, Mr Desmond Kuek, has seen his remuneration increase from around $500,000 in 2013 to somewhere between $2.2 million – $2.5 million in 2015. Meanwhile, fares increased by 2.8 % in2015, just a few months ago.

With the increase in fares, the revenues of SBS Transit and SMRT are boosted with an additional $48.5 million.

What hasn’t increased is the reliability and soundness of our public transport system.

I understand that systemic infrastructural faults take time to rectify. But what I cannot accept, and Singaporeans should not be asked to accept, is the complete lack of accountability of our public transport operators and those who lead them.

I call on SMRT and the Minister of Transport to provide, without delay, a full and frank account of the steps taken to implement the 2012 COI’s proposal from 2012 to date.

I call on SMRT’s CEO, Mr Desmond Kuek, to commit to a pay freeze until the proposals of the 2012 COI are fully implemented and yesterday’s massive breakdown is explained and rectified.

I call on the Public Transport Commission to commit to not increasing fares until PTOs take all necessary steps to fully implement the 2012 COI report and account for the massive breakdown today.

I firmly believe that a good measure of accountability is the least Singaporean commuters deserve.
http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2015/07/smrt-breakdowns-what-has-happened-since-2012/

Sinkie peasants have no right to tell what natural aristocrats can or cannot do.

According to natural aristocrat Josephine Teo, Sinkie peasants are the real cause of the problem as they decide to get onto trains all at the same time.

S’poreans apologise to SMRT CEO for causing his trains to frequently break down
Posted on 24 February 2014
They are truly sorry they have to take his trains at the same time causing congestion.
Singaporeans from all walks of life, who like to take the MRT train because cars are for rich people, are feeling apologetic and sincerely sorry.
This after they caused the North South MRT Line to break down again this Monday morning during peak hour as they all got ready for work and school at the same time at 7am.
One Singaporean, Jin Soh Lee, said he would like to personally apologise to SMRT CEO Desmond Kuek for causing him inconvenience: “I’m sorry Desmond Kuek. I caused your MRT system to break down again. Please forgive me and my fellow commuters for making you work harder to oversee that there is no more train faults even when all of these problems are not your fault.”
Another Singaporean, Gei Ni Qian, went beyond apologising and insisted on doing more on his part to ensure the quality of MRT trains improve: “I would like to give myself and my fellow commuters the B grade for our performance as the paying public.”
“If we paid more for our fares every year, none of these would have happened.”
“Eh wait…”
http://newnation.sg/2014/02/sporeans-apologise-to-smrt-ceo-for-causing-his-trains-to-frequently-break-down/

Had it not been for the excellent work put in by Desmond and his team, there would be 10x as many breakdowns as there are today.

Be grateful.

Had it not been for the excellent work put in by Desmond and his team, there would be 10x as many breakdowns as there are today.

Be grateful.

Not up to your usual standard. Running out of ideas?:rolleyes:

Let's not forget the 1.12m corridor. Still waiting for some explanation on this! Companies have been fined and penalized for not complying. What to say now??

Well, that exactly will take place after 1 August 2015....when the money goes into the bank....:D:D:D