S'pore in Deflation Mode

dancingshoes

SINGAPORE'S headline inflation in May remained in negative territory for the seventh straight month, just as the market had expected.

But with core inflation sinking to a new five-year low of 0.1 per cent, the question to be asked is whether the persistent weakness in core inflation reflects not only policy measures, but a deterioration in real demand as well.

And how the question is answered could hold implications for Singapore's growth and monetary policy.

Overall inflation inched up slightly to -0.4 per cent in May, from -0.5 per cent in April, due to the higher cost of private road transport. With higher Certificate of Entitlement (COE) premiums and petrol pump prices undergoing a smaller correction than a year ago, private road transport costs rose by one per cent, after having fallen by 2.1 per cent in April.

The -0.4 per cent headline figure was the same as the median forecast of 17 economists polled by Bloomberg before the Department of Statistics released the data on Tuesday.

Reflecting the soft housing rental market, accommodation costs fell by 2.5 per cent in May, similar to the previous month.

Core inflation, which strips out the costs of private road transport and accommodation, dropped to its lowest reading since January 2010. In joint comments, the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) and the Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) said that this "mainly reflected the impact of budgetary measures on services costs, as well as softer food inflation".

Indeed, both services and food inflation eased; services inflation moderated to 0.5 per cent from 1.1 per cent in April, and food inflation, to 1.8 per cent from 2.1 per cent.

MAS and MTI said that the easing in services inflation was largely due to the reduction in the concessionary foreign domestic worker levy and the waiver of national examination fees - measures announced in this year's budget - as well as a smaller increase in telecommunication services fees.

With the government's suite of measures to alleviate consumer price pressures (including medical subsidies and one-year road tax rebates), MAS and MTI flagged that core inflation could "remain subdued at around the current rate in the next few months".

This means that, going forward, core inflation could again fall out of the government's forecast range of 0.5 to 1.5 per cent, as it did in April and May. Economists from DBS, Credit Suisse and StanChart flagged the growing risk that full-year core inflation could undershoot the government's projection, necessitating another downgrade in the official forecast.

Still, several economists - including those from ANZ, Barclays and UOB - believe that May's lower-than-expected core inflation is just a reflection of government policy measures.

Barclays's Leong Wai Ho said: "Despite the downside surprise in core inflation, it continues to be attributable mostly to administrative measures (mostly health) or the supply side (for example, lower oil prices and lower food prices due to higher supply), which is offsetting the continued rise in labour costs for the time being."

UOB economist Francis Tan added: "This is different from the drivers of deflation in the past, where falling prices were due to a contraction in aggregate demand and (when) unemployment rate spiked."

Other economists were less sanguine: they said that the decline in core inflation reflected weaker demand and growth and merited close attention, because a change in monetary policy stance could later be required.

Said DBS economist Irvin Seah: "I'm not denying that (the fall in core inflation) is partly due to supply-side factors, but there are demand-side factors that should be highlighted as well. This is essentially the result of decelerating growth momentum, so I think domestic demand is weakening. And that, to some extent, has resulted in a decline in inflationary pressure."

Noting that demand-side factors "are already slackening", Mr Seah pointed out that Singapore's output gap - the difference between the economy's actual output and its potential output - is turning more negative as growth wanes. Apart from headline gross domestic product (GDP), he cited other high-frequency data, such as muted retail sales and dips in consumer and business loans growth, as evidence of softening economic activity.

Credit Suisse economist Michael Wan said that the impact of lower foreign domestic worker levies and national exam fee waivers on core inflation would probably be small, since when combined, they take up less than 10 per cent of the consumer price index or CPI basket; this suggests that more than supply-side and administrative factors are at play, he said.

And while the lower rate of core inflation may come as a welcome reprieve, StanChart economist Jeff Ng said that it "does show the sluggish nature of the whole Singapore economy as well".

Despite the varying views on the drivers behind lower core inflation, economists generally agree that MAS is likely to maintain its weak appreciation policy in October.

But they warned that any significant darkening in the growth outlook could change the status quo. Said Citi's Kit Wei Zheng: "While MAS and MTI's expectation that inflation will pick up only 'towards the end of the year and into 2016' seems to downplay the low inflation prints in Q3, any material downside surprise in Q2 job creation versus MAS's expectation of a pick-up may raise the risk of an MAS easing in October, or at least re-ignite market expectations of such a move."

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/con...-weak-prices-pose-demand-questions#xtor=CS1-3

what happens when singapore goes into Depeche mode?

[video=youtube;M2VBmHOYpV8]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2VBmHOYpV8[/video]

i suspect that we already stuck one foot in the recession pool of m&d with slowing and spiralling down demand.

So the election must be held sooner rather than later. ;)

I saw big unnecessary S50 posters everywhere reminding us of our past history
waulau those contractors must be laughing to the banks
how much one poster

so much advertisements for what
give the money to the poor lah

go to gilbert website and donate to the needy
they need the money
not advertising posters

you agree

So it means we can implement more price hikes in petrol, electricity, water, bus fare and GST to fight deflation.

Not sooner, later...after the 'bribe' money have all been collected in July, August......

no bribery
already all the seniors and pgs all agreed to vote pap
so wonderful so generous and so kind
all public servants also rewarded

where got a government in the world so good so kind so generous
oppo garment will just abscond and turn coat

all my public servants friends sure vote pap and their families too
pap is the best government the best party and the best to govern singapore

vote pap and have a bright and prosperous future guaranteed!!!

a flash in the pan......... what abt those years with inflations?????
BTW I dun see my hawkers dropping price.....why??????????????????????????

Deflation... a balloon which loses some air becomes deflated. :D

8JK7Wa6.gif

no bribery
already all the seniors and pgs all agreed to vote pap
so wonderful so generous and so kind
all public servants also rewarded

where got a government in the world so good so kind so generous
oppo garment will just abscond and turn coat

all my public servants friends sure vote pap and their families too
pap is the best government the best party and the best to govern singapore

vote pap and have a bright and prosperous future guaranteed!!!

Vote for PAP to have miserable lives for your children n grandchildren as they have to compete with F Trashes with fake degrees staying in our condos!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 cheers to PAP

a flash in the pan......... what abt those years with inflations?????
BTW I dun see my hawkers dropping price.....why??????????????????????????

But I'm sure they have dropped the quantity of food served e.g. one less fishball, less meat, less rice etc. :D

I saw big unnecessary S50 posters everywhere reminding us of our past history
waulau those contractors must be laughing to the banks
how much one poster

so much advertisements for what
give the money to the poor lah

go to gilbert website and donate to the needy
they need the money
not advertising posters

you agree

its like they are mocking us,reminding us what sinkapore used to be like,showing us pictures of rickshaws and samsui women and chap tehs and old buildings and streets,when its PAP who destroyed our culture and nation identity,flooded this country with a tsunami wave of foreigners,turning singapore into this mockery society of shopping malls and consumerism and condos and man made attractions.

you spot on lah
I saw so many big posters
planting along the major roads
waulau also got samsui women and satay man
multiracial and multi multi
damned boleh one

you think all these will work
nobody seems to go and admire the posters
big ones

money wasting? no?

pap is still the best
our glorious past
our glorious future
all vote pap for a bright future

i suspect that we already stuck one foot in the recession pool of m&d with slowing and spiralling down demand.

spent so much money liao
give this and give that
mainly seniors and public servants

the money must come from somewhere

no need to give so much liao
all wasted on feebled minds and retarded heads

in the end
pap still win
give or no give
singaporeans will vote in the pap
for sure

just look at the oppo
all dead like muddy ponding

spent so much money liao
give this and give that
mainly seniors and public servants

the money must come from somewhere

no need to give so much liao
all wasted on feebled minds and retarded heads

in the end
pap still win
give or no give
singaporeans will vote in the pap
for sure

just look at the oppo
all dead like muddy ponding

i agree kopi O eh Dog.......alot of oppo IBs and 40.1 percent losers on this site like to criticize our government,point fingers at our politicians,say theres something wrong with our system.say we have to change our government,we have to change the system.

But i say NO!!!!!there is nothing wrong with our government,there is nothing wrong with our policies,there is nothing wrong with Singapore at all!!!!maybe what is wrong is the people,maybe its sinkies that are faulty,maybe they are sick,maybe theres something wrong with their minds!!!after all Singapore is a democracy,in a democracy you vote for what you like,thats how democracy works.how can u vote for something you do not like?thats plain lunacy!!!you get what you ask for!!!!democracy is the will of the majority,doesnt matter if the majority is sick,retarded,looney or batshit insane.before you go around criticizing the PAP and asking for change,ask yourself,is it the system that is wrong or the people?

if you feel there is something wrong with sinkies,then i advise you to stay far far away,like tonychat.

as the wise tonychat once said,a soursop a day keeps the sinkie loser away.