Wishing Bro & Sis A Happy Vesak Day ( 1st June 2015 )

Your argument for believing in karma is silly , Just like delusional Christians who said that atheist do not understand the bible ;) .

How do you justify karma is real when bad things happens to good people and good things happens to bad people . In life we can experience bad and good things it does not mean karma at work .

Why must you interfere the work of karma and help a person who deserved it ;) . It make no fucking sense at all !! So if the person received the help from you does it mean karma is not working for him ;) . See , this fucking karma thing is full of bullshit and no logic at all .... Just like other religion ;)

Correct! Christians also say you not intelligent enough when you question their teachings, but never really answer your point.

I give you 2 examples why karma strictly in the buddhist concept has many loopholes.

1st, on a very big scale: The 2004 tsunami which killed 250,000. If karma is at work, it means that these 250,000 did so much wrong that the karmic laws decreed and arranged that they all die AT THE SAME TIME, regardless of age, race or religion. Doesn't it sound ridiculous?

I prefer the Taoist explanation: They are just unlucky!

2nd, on a small scale. I committed a cruel act. I abandoned my aged parents in the mountains, leaving them to die. According to karma, my parents deserved this inescapable end because of what they did in the past. Fine, what about me? What am i going to get? If Will i end up the same way too? Buddhists will tell me that if i can end this sad cycle by not abandoning my parents. Fine then, but wait? What about my parents' karmic debts? If i bring them back home how the hell are they going to pay for the 'wrong' they did in the past? Let's say they wrongly killed man they mistook for a thief, for arguments sake. How can the karma laws seek justice for the dead man then, if i bring my parents home?

And if i dont bring them home, then i have committed a cruel act myself. Fine, who will execute the karma retribution on me? My children? You mean the karma laws will force my otherwise kind hearted children to kill me? If so, how will they repay their own karma debts? If they don't kill me then do i get scot-free from the cruel act of sending my parents to die?

I can go on and on, but i think i have said enough to prove my point the karma is basically nonsense. I agree largely there is cause and effect, but to say that EVERY act has a karmic effect or is a result of one, is just nonsense.

and of course there is retribution, if you commit crime? Why? Because there are laws! The laws are there waiting to get you if you commit a crime, not karma. You neighbour will be waiting to take revenge, if you pick a fight with him. And of course there are many people who commit wrongdoing who will have no retribution at all. Eg, the banksters of wall street are living better than before! That's life, just accept it.

i see so much hypocrisy on vesak day
espeically equating goodness of a person to his her money

halo deh mai luan sian lah boh ki bio geng kia tam poh hway ah

Attachment is suffering but without attachment there will be no responsibility. Responsibility comes after attachment ;) no wonder Buddha leave his parents and family behind in search of " the truth " . He doesn't have any responsibility at all ;)

What cause and effect you talking about when the effect and cause is not related ;) ( it's not the same as the example you given as eating food ) and how can you proof it's the work of karma and not the work of Radomness ;)

so you are saying getting hungry or not is randomness?????

yes, it is cause and effect..

If i eat healthily, i can live long and healthy life.. this is called karma..

which cause and effect are not related..pls specified..

i see so much hypocrisy on vesak day
espeically equating goodness of a person to his her money

yeah, i also see those fake vegetarian queuing up at those vegetarian stalls forming up long queues and where are they when it is not the 1st and 15th day of the month???

That does, karma is not some magic or fantasy...

karma means cause and effect...

then just say Law of cause and effect.. "Karma" this term is from Sanskrit..if you are not used to this term..then use English.. Law of cause and effect.

you are saying the law of cause and effect is bullshit???

if you don't eat, you will not be hungry??? then what are you?

you can ask me anything on karma..

ball-less sinkies will be screwed in no time. this is the Law of cause and effect ( karma)

Cause and effect is not bullshit. The buddhist concept of karma is bullshit. If i dont eat i will die. If i steal a blind beggar's money doesn't mean i will 100 percent be caught.

I will use your own example to refute the karma nonsense. There are balless sinkies i know of. Many are living their dreams in singapore. Big house, no debts, many cars, countless properties to collect rents. Why are they not screwed? Karma police sleeping on the job? And dont give me the bullshit that they will 'get it' in their next lives!

Forget about eating vegetarian or eating meat, try fasting. Intermittent fasting is fantastic for detoxing your body. ;)

Cause and effect is not bullshit. The buddhist concept of karma is bullshit. If i dont eat i will die. If i steal a blind beggar's money doesn't mean i will 100 percent be caught.

I will use your own example to refute the karma nonsense. There are balless sinkies i know of. Many are living their dreams in singapore. Big house, no debts, many cars, countless properties to collect rents. Why are they not screwed? Karma police sleeping on the job? And dont give me the bullshit that they will 'get it' in their next lives!

I believe in multiple lifetimes, however I am not totally convinced about the Buddhist doctrine about lower/higher realms of existence.

There have been many documented cases of people remembering every little detail of their previous life, to astonishing accuracy.

My personal belief is that we keep coming back to the planet to learn some lessons. For some people, it is to be more generous. For others, it is to be more courageous or assertive. Once you have fully learnt from those lessons, you don't come back. ;)

Correct! Christians also say you not intelligent enough when you question their teachings, but never really answer your point.

I give you 2 examples why karma strictly in the buddhist concept has many loopholes.

1st, on a very big scale: The 2004 tsunami which killed 250,000. If karma is at work, it means that these 250,000 did so much wrong that the karmic laws decreed and arranged that they all die AT THE SAME TIME, regardless of age, race or religion. Doesn't it sound ridiculous?

I prefer the Taoist explanation: They are just unlucky!

2nd, on a small scale. I committed a cruel act. I abandoned my aged parents in the mountains, leaving them to die. According to karma, my parents deserved this inescapable end because of what they did in the past. Fine, what about me? What am i going to get? If Will i end up the same way too? Buddhists will tell me that if i can end this sad cycle by not abandoning my parents. Fine then, but wait? What about my parents' karmic debts? If i bring them back home how the hell are they going to pay for the 'wrong' they did in the past? Let's say they wrongly killed man they mistook for a thief, for arguments sake. How can the karma laws seek justice for the dead man then, if i bring my parents home?

And if i dont bring them home, then i have committed a cruel act myself. Fine, who will execute the karma retribution on me? My children? You mean the karma laws will force my otherwise kind hearted children to kill me? If so, how will they repay their own karma debts? If they don't kill me then do i get scot-free from the cruel act of sending my parents to die?

I can go on and on, but i think i have said enough to prove my point the karma is basically nonsense. I agree largely there is cause and effect, but to say that EVERY act has a karmic effect or is a result of one, is just nonsense.

and of course there is retribution, if you commit crime? Why? Because there are laws! The laws are there waiting to get you if you commit a crime, not karma. You neighbour will be waiting to take revenge, if you pick a fight with him. And of course there are many people who commit wrongdoing who will have no retribution at all. Eg, the banksters of wall street are living better than before! That's life, just accept it.

It is not nonsense..from the way you type..it show that you know nothing about karma ( cause and effect) and how thing works. You are saying that because you have misunderstood it when your limited knowledge ( or wisdom) of how karma works in a greater cosmic sense.

but to say that EVERY act has a karmic effect or is a result of one, is just nonsense.

it means every act will cause and effect.. but what effect.. is the effect neutral, wholesome and unwholesome..

According to karma, my parents deserved this inescapable end because of what they did in the past. Fine, what about me? What am i going to get? If Will i end up the same way too? Buddhists will tell me that if i can end this sad cycle by not abandoning my parents. Fine then, but wait? What about my parents' karmic debts? If i bring them back home how the hell are they going to pay for the 'wrong' they did in the past? Let's say they wrongly killed man they mistook for a thief, for arguments sake. How can the karma laws seek justice for the dead man then, if i bring my parents home?

if the children decided not to abandon their parents after consider for doing so, it means their parents do not have the destiny to be abandoned.. it is not that they still have the karmic debt to be paid off.. if the parents really got such karmic debt to pay, the children will never think of other options and just abandon them straight away.

and of course there is retribution, if you commit crime? Why? Because there are laws! The laws are there waiting to get you if you commit a crime, not karma.

that is only one aspect of the karma for getting the law to you..

having your reputation gone after committing the crime is also another bad effect of that and also other bad karma on you depend on the nature of the act. life is not just about the legal, it is about the whole range of things interconnected together.

And of course there are many people who commit wrongdoing who will have no retribution at all. Eg, the banksters of wall street are living better than before! That's life, just accept it

any example???

I believe in multiple lifetimes, however I am not totally convinced about the Buddhist doctrine about lower/higher realms of existence.

There have been many documented cases of people remembering every little detail of their previous life, to astonishing accuracy.

My personal belief is that we keep coming back to the planet to learn some lessons. For some people, it is to be more generous. For others, it is to be more courageous or assertive. Once you have fully learnt from those lessons, you don't come back. ;)

yes, i agree about the learning of lessons.

Let's take your example of "good life" that you mentioned. Having material comfort and material convenience is good life??? Have you really meet those people, talk to them , understand them and know them for a few years when you really think they have good life? who are the ball-less sinkies you know? can you name some of them? You just generalise everything based on what you see on the surface.

and once against you pair the law of cause and effect only to material comfort and didn't pair it to consciousness and aura..( your stealing of blind begger's money is only on the legal aspect of it, there are many things connected to it other than legal ) that is why many religious people do not quite advanced or understand the nature of real religious learning. that is why many misunderstood the meaning and use it surface reading of it to misunderstood what it means.

Apology for my ignorance, this lower/higher realm thingy anything to do with caste thing in India?

http://buddhism.about.com/od/basicbuddhistteachings/tp/Six-Realms-of-Existence.htm

1. Deva-gati, the Realm of Devas (Gods) and Heavenly Beings
In Buddhist tradition, the Deva realm is populated by godlike beings who enjoy great power, wealth and long life. They live in splendor and happiness. Yet even the Deva grow old and die. Further, their privilege and exalted status blind them to the suffering of others, so in spite of their long lives they have neither wisdom nor compassion. The privileged Deva will be reborn in another of the Six Realms.

2. Asura-gati, the Realm of Asura (Titans)
The Asura are strong and powerful beings who are sometimes depicted as enemies of the Deva. Asura are marked by their fierce envy. The karma of hate and jealousy causes rebirth in the Asura Realm. Chih-i (538-597), a patriarch of the T'ien-t'ai school, described the Asura this way: "Always desiring to be superior to others, having no patience for inferiors and belittling strangers; like a hawk, flying high above and looking down on others, and yet outwardly displaying justice, worship, wisdom, and faith -- this is raising up the lowest order of good and walking the way of the Asuras." You may have known an Asura or two.

3. Preta-gati, the Realm of Hungry Ghosts
Hungry ghosts (preta) are pictured as beings with huge, empty stomachs, but they have pinhole mouths, and their necks are so thin they cannot swallow. A hungry ghost is one who is always looking outside himself for the new thing that will satisfy the craving within. Hungry ghosts are characterized by insatiable hunger and craving. They are also associated with addiction, obsession and compulsion

4. Naraka-gati, the Hell Realm
As the name suggests, the Hell Realm is the most terrible of the Six Realms. Hell beings have a short fuse; everything makes them angry. And the only way hell beings deal with things that make them angry is through aggression -- attack, attack, attack! They drive away anyone who shows them love and kindness and seek out the company of other hell beings. Unchecked anger and aggression can cause rebirth in the Hell Realm.

5. Tiryagyoni-gati, the Animal Realm
Animal beings are marked by stupidity, prejudice and complacency. They live sheltered lives, avoiding discomfort or anything unfamiliar. Rebirth in the Animal Realm is conditioned by ignorance. People who are ignorant and content to remain so are likely headed for the Animal Realm, assuming they aren't there already.

6. Manusya-gati, the Human Realm
The Human Realm is the only realm of the six from which beings may escape samsara. Enlightenment is at hand in the Human Realm, yet only a few open their eyes and see it. Rebirth into the Human Realm is conditioned by passion, doubt and desire.

Ms Ruby Pan , i salute you.

attachment.php

Wishing Bro & Sis A Happy Vesak Day

so you are saying getting hungry or not is randomness?????

yes, it is cause and effect..

If i eat healthily, i can live long and healthy life.. this is called karma..

which cause and effect are not related..pls specified..

You moron , eating healthy does not guarantee you have a long life !! If your parents have cancer the risk of you having cancer is higher no matter how healthy you eat is still the same .

You idiot , eating food when hungry is not the same as cause and effect of karma , that's totally unrelated . Compare apple with Apple , We are talking about cause and effect of doing good and bad things as a human

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/apr/18/buddhist-monk-spreads-hatred-burma
Buddhist monk uses racism and rumours to spread hatred in Burma
Thousands watch YouTube videos of 45-year-old 'Burmese Bin Laden' who preaches against country's Muslim minority
The saffron-robed 45-year-old regularly shares his hate-filled rants through DVD and social media, in which he warns against Muslims who "target innocent young Burmese girls and rape them", and "indulge in cronyism".

To ears untrained in the Burmese language, his sermons seem steady and calm – almost trance-like – with Wirathu rocking back and forth, eyes downcast. Translate his softly spoken words, however, and it becomes clear how his paranoia and fear, muddled with racist stereotypes and unfounded rumours, have helped to incite violence and spread misinformation in a nation still stumbling towards democracy.

"We are being raped in every town, being sexually harassed in every town, being ganged up on and bullied in every town," Wirathu recently told the Guardian, speaking from the Masoeyein monastery in Mandalay where he is based.

"In every town, there is a crude and savage Muslim majority."

It would be easy to disregard Wirathu as a misinformed monk with militant views, were it not for his popularity. Presiding over some 2,500 monks at this respected monastery, Wirathu has thousands of followers on Facebook and his YouTube videos have been watched tens of thousands of times.

The increasing openness of Burma, which was once tightly controlled under a military junta, has seen a wave of anti-Muslim sentiment spread across the 60 million-strong Buddhist majority – and Wirathu is behind much of it.

Rising to prominence in 2001, when he created a nationalist campaign to boycott Muslim businesses, Wirathu was jailed for 25 years in 2003 for inciting anti-Muslim hatred but freed in 2010 under a general amnesty.
Since his release, Wirathu has gone back to preaching hate. Many believe his words inspired the fighting last June between Buddhists and ethnic Rohingya Muslims in Rakhine state, where 200 people were killed and more than 100,000 displaced.

It was Wirathu who led a rally of monks in Mandalay in September to defend President Thein Sein's controversial plan to send the Rohingya to a third country. One month later, more violence broke out in Rakhine state.

Wirathu says the violence in Rakhine was the spark for the most recent fighting in Burma's central city of Meiktila, where a dispute in a gold shop quickly spiralled into a looting-and-arson spree. More than 40 people were killed and 13,000 forced to flee, most of them Muslims, after mosques, shops and houses were burned down across the city.

Wirathu says part of his concern with Islam is that Buddhist women have been converted by force and then killed for failing to follow Islamic rules. He also believes the halal way of killing cattle "allows familiarity with blood and could escalate to the level where it threatens world peace".

So he is back to leading a nationalist "969" campaign, encouraging Buddhists to "buy Buddhist and shop Buddhist" and demarcate their homes and businesses using numbers related to the Buddha (the number refers to his nine attributes, the six attributes of his teaching and the nine attributes of the Buddhist order), seemingly with the intention of creating an apartheid state.

Wirathu openly blames Muslims for instigating the recent violence. A minority population that makes up just 5% of the nation's total, Wirathu says Burma's Muslims are being financed by Middle Eastern forces: "The local Muslims are crude and savage because the extremists are pulling the strings, providing them with financial, military and technical power," he said.

Not everyone agrees with Wirathu's teachings, including those of his own faith. "He sides a little towards hate," said Abbot Arriya Wuttha Bewuntha of Mandalay's Myawaddy Sayadaw monastery. "This is not the way Buddha taught. What the Buddha taught is that hatred is not good, because Buddha sees everyone as an equal being. The Buddha doesn't see people through religion."

Critics point to Wirathu's lack of education to explain his extremism as little more than ignorance, but his views do have clout in a nation where many businesses are run successfully by Muslims.

The second son of eight children, Wirathu was born in 1968 in a town near Mandalay and only attended school until 14, after which he became a monk. Eager to leave "civilian life rife with its greed and spite", he said he had no intention of marrying: "I didn't want to be with a woman."

Wirathu claims he has read the Qur'an and counts Muslims among his friends, but said: "We're not so close because my Muslim friends don't know how to talk to Buddhist monks … I can accept [being friends] if they consider me an important and respected religious figure."

good job! kik the useless ah nehs out. wish our monks can do the same with our "talents"! too bad our monks here are all fake monks from china employed by conmen geomancers

Karma is invented by the loser to make themselves feel good that justice will be served . Like all religion the " feel good " factors must be there for delusional people .

If you do a goggle search most of those so called " documented " events of remembering the " past " turn out to be a hoax ;) http://www.skepticreport.com/sr/?p=482