• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

We are taking the low SIBOR rates for granted

he current interest rates swaps are approximately:
1 Year: 1.1%
2 Years: 1.5%
5 Years: 2.2%
10 Years: 2.70%

There are three recent trends:
- Emergence of Singapore Saving Bonds
- Higher FD rates
- Resumption of issues for retail bonds

Currently the gap between 1-Yr IRS and 10-Yr IRS is about 1.1% (2.7% minus 1.1%)
I speculate that these 3 factors will increase competition for short-term liquidity in the financial system, we might see the gap between 1-Yr IRS and 10-Yr IRS to be reduced. I am quite sure about this.
Of course, this assumption is not valid if there are major macro-economic developments.

I am not trained in Economics, but economists term it "flatter yield curve" when the difference between 1-YR and 10-YR IRS is narrowed
It hints that the benefit of taking flexible-rate 3M SIBOR home loan diminishes, going forward

my housing interest rate...up from 1.1% to 1.7%

aiyah GG789 can afford lah, 0.6% increment is kachang puteh :D

Since the beginning of this thread, 3M-SIBOR has increased to 0.89% and some banks increased their board rate by 0.7% to 0.8% for the first time in recent memory.

Some home loans are based on a discount to board rate, eg. (Board minus 2.5%), they are misrepresented as "fixed-rate" loans, because the banks never adjust the board rate for >5 years. Now, some of these home owners are unhappy to pay a little higher.

what i can afford, i still serving hdb loan 280k..
280k*0.6% *35 yr

a lot of money, u know???

No sir,
I assume you pay off your loan principal evenly across 35 years (420 months)

This is additional interests that you pay for a 0.6% hike
Remaining Months:420 Principal Balance: $280000.00 Additional Interest Paid: $140.00
Remaining Months:419 Principal Balance: $279333.33 Additional Interest Paid: $139.67
Remaining Months:418 Principal Balance: $278666.67 Additional Interest Paid: $139.33
:
:
:
Remaining Months:3 Principal Balance: $2000.00 Additional Interest Paid: $1.00
Remaining Months:2 Principal Balance: $1333.33 Additional Interest Paid: $0.67
Remaining Months:1 Principal Balance: $666.67 Additional Interest Paid: $0.33

Total Additional Interest Paid for 35 years = $29470
Total Additional Interest Paid per day = $2.3068

$2.30 a day nia, GG789 can one lah.
Your problem is the long duration of your loan.

No sir,
I assume you pay off your loan principal evenly across 35 years (420 months)

This is additional interests that you pay for a 0.6% hike
Remaining Months:420 Principal Balance: $280000.00 Additional Interest Paid: $140.00
Remaining Months:419 Principal Balance: $279333.33 Additional Interest Paid: $139.67
Remaining Months:418 Principal Balance: $278666.67 Additional Interest Paid: $139.33
:
:
:
Remaining Months:3 Principal Balance: $2000.00 Additional Interest Paid: $1.00
Remaining Months:2 Principal Balance: $1333.33 Additional Interest Paid: $0.67
Remaining Months:1 Principal Balance: $666.67 Additional Interest Paid: $0.33

Total Additional Interest Paid for 35 years = $29470
Total Additional Interest Paid per day = $2.3068

$2.30 a day nia, GG789 can one lah.
Your problem is the long duration of your loan.

everyone also serving hdb loan so long what. any problem?

or should i use my all cpf(OA) + cash to settle the outstanding hdb loan?
like that, i will be very broke:(

everyone also serving hdb loan so long what. any problem?

or should i use my all cpf(OA) + cash to settle the outstanding hdb loan?
like that, i will be very broke:(

Historically, I agree everyone mostly takes up the 2.6% HDB loan and max. the loan duration. The historical average for SIBOR is between 2-5% in my memory. When SIBOR is trading above 1.5%, there is absolutely nothing wrong for taking a long loan from HDB because 2.6% loan is considered very very very cheap when SIBOR is 2-5%.

Besides, back then, people cannot choose bank loans for HDB loans. When SIBOR collapses below 1% in recent years, then risk-takers like GG789 decides to take up bank loans for HDB. Nothing wrong also, and your current 1.7% bank loan is also lower than 2.6% HDB loan. In financial context, you are still positively rewarded for your risk at this moment.

However, if you are a risk-taker, you will not want to be exposed to risks for an extended period of time. There is a saying in chinese, "If you keep going to the mountains, eventually you will run into the tiger one day".
This is why, the prudence ones who are exposed to bank-loans are less likely to loan 35years and have the firepower to reduce their loan exposure within a shorter notice when interest rates trend upwards.

I wish to take this opportunity to share the story of a PMET who bought a condo 6 years ago.
His timing was very good, his property value shot up a lot by now.
He was enjoying flexible 1.8 to 2.7% flexible rates for his loan in the first 5 years (depending on SIBOR).
However, he lost his job at the end of last year, coincidentially, the offer rates for 5-years ended.

Without an income, he couldn't refinance and stuck with the same bank, paying NON-PROMOTION Board Rates of 4.5-5.4% in the past 8 months.

His only choice now is to sell the condo, and resettle his family.
This is a true story.

I think that PMET can still make a profit out of it eventhough he needs to resettle his family.

Yes, his timing is very good.
Makes a little less now by offloading his condo but still better than facing a 5% board rate for housing loan at this moment.
5% is unbelievable, yet it is already happening. No income = cannot refinance.

Yes, his timing is very good.
Makes a little less now by offloading his condo but still better than facing a 5% board rate for housing loan at this moment.
5% is unbelievable, yet it is already happening. No income = cannot refinance.

sorry, if factoring loan interest for 6 yrs, still making profit?

Bank lending in Singapore down 1.1% in April: MAS
http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/banking-finance/bank-lending-in-singapore-down-11-in-april-mas
Business loans were down 1.8 per cent to S$357 billion from a month ago. Lending was hurt by weaker trade loans. There was also no growth in construction lending - the single-largest lending segment for business loans.

Consumer lending dipped 0.1 per cent to S$237 billion compared to March, hurt by a deeper fall in credit card loans. This comes amid new regulations for unsecured lending which will set in soon.

Run: Check with you if all shares in Singapore can do scrips dividends? Or only selected shares.

definitely still got.

Assuming he bought condo at 900psf/1,200sq.ft/1.08kk
Now sell at 1300psf profit at 480k.

Buy 5 room hdb, at 500k, use cpf to 300k and loan the remaining 200k.
Pocket the 480k profit.

I will be very happy if I were him.
1/2 million in my pocket, laughing away liao.

Assuming he bought condo at 900psf/1,200sq.ft/1.08kk
Now sell at 1300psf profit at 480k.

Buy 5 room hdb, at 500k, use cpf to 300k and loan the remaining 200k.
Pocket the 480k profit.

I will be very happy if I were him.
1/2 million in my pocket, laughing away liao.

but it is still disheartening to offload condo because kids can enjoy the condo facilities