Hsbc survey: 33% of s'poreans unable to save money due to high cost of living

[h=1]HSBC SURVEY: 33% OF S'POREANS UNABLE TO SAVE MONEY DUE TO HIGH COST OF LIVING[/h]
Post date:
22 Jan 2015 - 10:47am

According to the HSBC’s The Future of Retirement Survey, 1 in 3 Singaporeans are finding it hard to save as their cost of living is higher than their incomes.

There were 33% in Singapore who said they were unable to save while globally, only 28% of people said the same.

It seems that the number of people who are struggling to save here will only increase in the future as 58% of respondents also said that their incomes were not growing as fast as the cost of living was increasing.

Globally, only 45% of people indicated that they faced a similar problem.

The survey also found that 15% of working adults thought they would never be able to fully retire.

78% of adults are worried about having enough money for daily expenses and most (58%) believe they will have to cut back on spending after they retire such as eating out less.

Related:
HSBC SURVEY: 1 IN 3 SINGAPOREANS EXPECT WORSENING QUALITY OF LIFE AFTER RETIREMENT

i also say...you see my samsung phone so old with not so good camera still can use...young people nowadays every few months change phone...siao! my samsung use 3 years liaozz still power.
LOL You just bought a Piaget!!!!

The inability to save has nothing to do with the high cost of living. It is all about the sinkie habit of living beyond their means.

If a cleaning lady can save $400,000, anybody can do it.

http://www.tnp.sg/news/woman-conned...fer#sthash.9OIQlLeG.dpufhttp://buff.ly/Tc0aVH

U get lost !

how much one can save depends on how one live and the quality of life.
the cleaning lady can save all her salary if she wanted to , by skipping meals ,
eating what's left over from customers at hawker centers , using public toilet.

but this is not the kind life of a normal person , especially someone who is
educated.

in the end the 400K she saved goes to a relative , to a hospital.
no wonder sillypooreans have no life.

U get lost !

how much one can save depends on how one live and the quality of life.
the cleaning lady can save all her salary if she wanted to , by skipping meals ,
eating what's left over from customers at hawker centers , using public toilet.

Frugal living does not mean poor quality living.

It's not about skipping meals. It's all about not splurging on food. A home cooked meal is cheaper and far more healthy.

y u keep talking cock .
how much can a cleaner earn a month ?
easy to save 400K with a meagre income without great sacrifice ?

Don't tell me this 33% belongs to the 60.1% group?

Who did they vote for? LoL

This bank will not get their license renewed in near future.

y u keep talking cock .
how much can a cleaner earn a month ?
easy to save 400K with a meagre income without great sacrifice ?

Of course it involves sacrifice. All achievements require sacrifice.

That's the problem with sinkies... they aren't willing to make sacrifices in order to reach their goals. They expected everything on a platter.

Ello! Canned food nowadays also expensive you know? Loti price also go up. 1 pcs Gu You cost S$5 plus. 1 roti prata kosong cost $1.20. :oIo:

I suggest you stick to fresh food from the wet market.

I dun save! God provides!!

When I dun have money, God tops it up again for me!!

Jehovah Jireh my provider!

[video=youtube;yy2FFM9Kjqw]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yy2FFM9Kjqw[/video]

Of course it involves sacrifice. All achievements require sacrifice.

That's the problem with sinkies... they aren't willing to make sacrifices in order to reach their goals. They expected everything on a platter.

The inability to save has nothing to do with the high cost of living. It is all about the sinkie habit of living beyond their means.

one cleaning lady managed to saved 400K and u concluded everyone can do the same.

fallacies of your statement:
1] using an isolated , exceptional case to make a generalisation.
u simply spouted : he did it , so u can do it too.
2] ignoring other influencing factors such as life style differences , etc.
u just tried to bullshit your way through with a weak argument,
with a statement that seems logical on the surface.

lackeys like to say : if you don't like it here , just leave , go to other countries.
it is same as saying to a primary 5 student : if u don't like the math teacher ,
just go to another class.
my president earns 4 millions a year , others countries president should be earning
the same amount without problem.
all of us know very well the above are not possible.

things can happened only if situation is within one's control AND there
are no other influencing factors involved.
like : if you don't like the boss , you can always resign ;
if you thinks MP pay is too low , one can always opt out ;
if your has a bad neighbour , you can always change house.

http://www.tnp.sg/news/woman-conned...fer#sthash.9OIQlLeG.dpufhttp://buff.ly/Tc0aVH

I think if you live alone, you can save a lot. this will be impossible if you have a family. So do your best and save before you get married or have a girl friend. If cannot do this, then best live by yourself.