Restrict/Tightening of FTs inflow or CPF change or........

lifeafter41

A thought came into my mind, in which in the event of an alternate government being voted in via collective opposition, with the majority, what would Singaporean like to see or implement immediately,

1. Tightening of FTs coming in, restricting of the WPs?., CPF changes........etc

....in the event of an alternate government being voted in via collective opposition, with the majority, what would Singaporean like to see or implement immediately...

Give job and housing priorities to natives, not those newly imported sinkies, who are here to take over jobs and HDB flats by just converting citizenship papers.

Ban SPR from owning HDB flats because they are foreigners who should not be allowed to buy such Govt subsidized properties.

No need to implement anything immediately. I would simply be happy to see them as opposition. :p

A thought came into my mind, in which in the event of an alternate government being voted in via collective opposition, with the majority, what would Singaporean like to see or implement immediately,

1. Tightening of FTs coming in, restricting of the WPs?., CPF changes........etc

Sorry to disappoint you dude. Singapore is like a supertanker sailing at high speed. It takes miles and miles to stop or reverse. Any new government will need a decade or more to make basic changes without breaking too many things. They all know that .

No need to implement anything immediately. I would simply be happy to see them as opposition. :p

Yep....vote them out first then we talk.
Cos those who talk now are spreading fears of collapse.

Sorry to disappoint you dude. Singapore is like a supertanker sailing at high speed. It takes miles and miles to stop or reverse. Any new government will need a decade or more to make basic changes without breaking too many things. They all know that .
It is not easy to govern Sinkie Land to everyone's content. Just look at WP. In order to sympathize those who can't pay their Town Council charges on time, they are now being questioned to come clean about their fund management and its discrepancies. Those who have being paying promptly are obviously not happy about this.

While I do agree implementation of policy takes time.
I believe on the FTs restriction can be taken care of quite quickly, eg, most are on a WP passes, whether S, or whatever it is.

Most are here for economic purposes, once it expires, the idea would be to target to reduce, say, 30%, every year.
As for CPF, it is even easier as it only concerns Singapore citizen and PRs.

For one, I don't think Singapore is like a supertanker.
If it is China or the US, then it is more likely.

supertanker my ass,Japan is a supertanker,USA is a supertanker,japan is 10 trillion in debt,usa is 17 trillion.we are just sampan version 2.0 and nobody will give a shit which way we turn.we can get rid of 1 million fts today and seriously it wouldnt make a drop of difference to the world picture in question.

You can get rid of 1 million FTs right now, it wouldnt make a difference to the world. It makes a difference to Singapore. Singapore can disappear tomorrow and the world will be fine. It is Singaporeans we are concerned about. I am not a big fan of the MIW but at least they have brains , even if misapplied at times or on auto-pilot. Those who think we can make big changes fast are deluded. The priority right now is to prevent irreversible change.

All work permit passes will not be renewed automatically when they expire. Companies will have to prove that they have made a genuine effort to recruit Singaporeans (and that must take into account the salaries that they offer) as well as convince MOM that the job in question requires skills that no ordinary Singaporean can fit in. Over a period of 2 years, the Indians and Tiongs will disappear.

Implement the Universal Healthcare Scheme and allow Singaporeans to use our existing Medisave to pay for the premium.

ICA must review all existing PRs. PRs who have been in Singapore as PRs for 5 years or more must explain why they have not taken up citizenship. PRs who have been in Singapore as PRs for 10 years or more and have not taken up citizenship will have the PRs revoked.

PRs are allowed to buy HDB resale flats but will not be permitted to sublet their flats. Subletting of HDB flats is a privilege that is exclusive to Singapore citizens.

Revamp the CPIB and set up a special unit to go after .... huh huh !

You can get rid of 1 million FTs right now, it wouldnt make a difference to the world. It makes a difference to Singapore. Singapore can disappear tomorrow and the world will be fine. It is Singaporeans we are concerned about. I am not a big fan of the MIW but at least they have brains , even if misapplied at times or on auto-pilot. Those who think we can make big changes fast are deluded. The priority right now is to prevent irreversible change.

u really believe that?ireland was bankrupt 4 years ago and in 4 years time they bounced back.small countries can maneuver and adapt quickly because they are small and have very little inertia.u honestly think it was lee kuan yew's doing that led to singapore being from so called "3rd world" to first world in less than 30 years time?1960s to 1980s?small countries are easy to develop as u can see from taiwan and hong kong's progress,if u put LKY in charge of brazil i highly doubt he can reproduce the same results,turn brazil into a first world country in 30 years time.LKY only looked good because he was running a small country.

getting rid of 1 million fts is nothing,it would just be getting rid of excess fat,we are a small agile country and easily adaptable.we would still be plenty rich and high gdp even without the unnecessary fts.fts are only there to fulfill PAP's greed.

Cam always sort out the chaff from the wheat later. ;)

Yep....vote them out first then we talk.
Cos those who talk now are spreading fears of collapse.

u really believe that?ireland was bankrupt 4 years ago and in 4 years time they bounced back.small countries can maneuver and adapt quickly because they are small and have very little inertia.u honestly think it was lee kuan yew's doing that led to singapore being from so called "3rd world" to first world in less than 30 years time?1960s to 1980s?small countries are easy to develop as u can see from taiwan and hong kong's progress,if u put LKY in charge of brazil i highly doubt he can reproduce the same results,turn brazil into a first world country in 30 years time.LKY only looked good because he was running a small country.

getting rid of 1 million fts is nothing,it would just be getting rid of excess fat,we are a small agile country and easily adaptable.we would still be plenty rich and high gdp even without the unnecessary fts.fts are only there to fulfill PAP's greed.

Fantastic. I can see an opposition party telling the people in their election campaign:

"We will get rid of 1 million FTs. Yes, this will plunge the country into recession. Government revenues will go off a cliff. No worries, we will draw from the reserves. Oh wait, who is the President? Never mind, we might have to raise taxes on the rich. If the rich vanish from Singapore, we will have to raise GST. But I am sure you don't mind a little sacrifice to get rid of the PAP."

No oppo party is that daft. To come in and let GDP shrink. All changes will be incremental.

Hey no need to get drastic…just dial everything back to pre 2000 levels…gradually of course.

Of course some companies will "threaten" to up sticks and leave but they need a clean, well oiled clockwork city like ours as much as we need them.

Many poor money managers who bought properties thinking expat rentals will pay their mortgage will lose their shirts…let them.

It might even further lower prices for property rents and sales.

Let's go back to a kinder gentler pace where growth is not just measured in % points.

Work Permit is just a small part of the problem. EP causes more damage because there is no quota and they are not real talents

Fantastic. I can see an opposition party telling the people in their election campaign:

"We will get rid of 1 million FTs. Yes, this will plunge the country into recession. Government revenues will go off a cliff. No worries, we will draw from the reserves. Oh wait, who is the President? Never mind, we might have to raise taxes on the rich. If the rich vanish from Singapore, we will have to raise GST. But I am sure you don't mind a little sacrifice to get rid of the PAP."

No oppo party is that daft. To come in and let GDP shrink. All changes will be incremental.

Let me ask u this back in 2001,when our population is 4.3 million,was Singapore on the verge of bankruptcy?was Singapore a third world country?were sinkies looking for employment in johor as maids and prostitutes?were our CPF coffers empty?no.our GDP was well above 30,000.our CPF reserves were over 100 billion enough to feed a small army.where are the signs we are slipping into poverty or bankruptcy?where are the signs that singapore is unhealthy.this 1m FTS is nothing more than the fatty layer on the bacon fat.we took them on in 10 years we can just as quickly get rid of them and it will not hurt us one bit.

If the rich wants to leave good fuck them,as far as I'm concerned most economic benefits come from the hard labour of the poor and middle classes.rich people contribute nothing at all except leeching and exploitation.why do u think PAP imported so many 3rd world laborers?for every CEO and executive u need 100 poor smucks to drive buses and cook and clear dishes.capitalism is a pyramid game.rich people contribute nothing.taxi drivers are there slogging day and night while LTA and SMRT collect millions in erp and taxi rental and coe.

Work Permit is just a small part of the problem. EP causes more damage because there is no quota and they are not real talents

WP/EP tightening is a good start, whether if the FTs are from India, Philippines, China, Myanmar, Vietnam etc,
Do keep the ball rolling for more suggestion and input.

The other thing I can think of is the REITs, that is causing rental to go sky high.
Anybody that says that rental does not affect cost/pricing has got to be a moron.
All the GLCs that is involved in REITs has got to be reined in.