• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New Survey, License to Kill Nature - Ubin's days are numbered

Fuck the Braddell brothel, fuck the PAP! Survey survey survey

More than half of 500 people say they want more modern facilities for Ubin in survey
But suggestions from poll and residents spark worry of losing isle's charm

Published on Nov 3, 2014 9:09 AM
By Melody Zaccheus

At least half of 500 people surveyed say they want the rustic island of Pulau Ubin to take on some features of modern, mainland Singapore.

They said they would like to see more public facilities, including shelters, footpaths and toilets; attractions such as cycling trails and boardwalks; and the restoration of the island's kampung houses for overnight stays.

Their opinions were captured in an ongoing online survey, launched on Sept 8 by the Ministry of National Development (MND). This is part of efforts to gather ideas on how to preserve the rustic charm and heritage of Ubin, while enhancing public access sensitively.

The poll aside, some of Ubin's 38 residents have also told MND what they wished to see on the island. The wishlist included improved mobile network coverage; more street lights, a better waste disposal system and wider roads. Some had also asked for ATM machines, said an MND spokesman.

They should leave Ubin alone

Ubin will be all HDB flats to fulfill the 10m population

I don't mind moving to ubin....Singapore is too damn crowded....as long as they set up running water.

They should leave Ubin alone

They're going to fuck up Pulau Ubin like how they have fucked up Chinatown, Katong, Jurong, Mandai (soon).

As I have said, the pappies know the price of everything and the value of nothing.

I bet some of their cronies in the property development industry are already making plans for waterfront property on Pulau Ubin. Oh, and don't forget a (Capitalmalls) megamall too. Breadtalk Group needs another location for its franchise eateries. ;)

They're going to fuck up Pulau Ubin like how they have fucked up Chinatown, Katong, Jurong, Mandai (soon).

As I have said, the pappies know the price of everything and the value of nothing.

I bet some of their cronies in the property development industry are already making plans for waterfront property on Pulau Ubin. Oh, and don't forget a (Capitalmalls) megamall too. Breadtalk Group needs another location for its franchise eateries. ;)

You have a Govt who sees $$$$$ more than anything else...the 60.1% voted in this shit govt...so lan lan lor...

This is the Pulau Ubin survey. Notice how skewed the questions are, as if urging you to suggest 'improvements' to Pulau Ubin. :rolleyes:

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1maAlTynq--aTVwxHIdh7ZL_DQo2UIquICPAf0ejf5So/viewform?c=0&w=1

Suggestions for Ubin
Here are some suggestions we have received for Ubin, and we would like to know what you think about them. Please rate the suggestions based on whether you prefer to see them implemented. *
Highly not preferred
Not preferred
Neutral
Preferred
Highly preferred
Open up quarries to accommodate more recreational activities

Provide research facilities for researchers and students

More boardwalks, hiking and cycling trails

More water-based activities and facilities (e.g. kayaking trails)

Set key biodiversity-sensitive zones where visitorship is minimised

More campsites

More reforestation and biodiversity species recovery programmes

More signages/markers around island to improve way-finding and convey educational material on biodiversity, history and heritage of Ubin

More cultural facilities and activities on Ubin (e.g. wayang performances, artist village, art exhibitions)

Restore and rebuild kampong houses for various uses, including visitors' overnight stays

Colour-coding of hiking and cycling trails to convey difficulty of trails

Showcase the heritage of the island: its quarries, plantations, etc.

Open up farms to visits

More public amenities (e.g. toilets, lighting, seating, footpaths, shelters, water points)

Implement sustainable technologies (e.g. potable water, electricity, waste and refuse disposal)

They should appoint Toothpick Zorro Lim as the ministar-cum-MP in charge of Ubin.

Must be based there. ;)

Ubin going to be the next IR! If this info not zhun, i TOK! :D

they better improve transportation to ubin. Oh yeah a bridge will definitely be built there so the bum boats ferrying services might suffer.