the lousy interest rates

how much is the standard bank rates now? 0.5%? or lesser?

how much especially POSB/DBS charging for maintaining minimum deposit? $2 a mth?

does this equation look fair? we put money in the bank and they charge for not upkeeping minimum monthly sum and yet the amount of interest they pay a year is so bloody pathetic?

sound familiar? yep! the pap's policy.:oIo:

how much especially POSB/DBS charging for maintaining minimum deposit? $2 a mth?

does this equation look fair? we put money in the bank and they charge for not upkeeping minimum monthly sum and yet the amount of interest they pay a year is so bloody pathetic?

MAS allows banks to rob us............ since CPF alslo allows GIC n Temasick to do same

Other countries need funds, sg has more than enough from the money flown in to be laundered. The banks are doing you a favour to keep money that they don't need for you.

What is the interest rate for home loans? Get the figures n work backwards.

ex-peoples' bank POSB is now peoples' leeching bank. pay minimumest interest rate and leech u higher and dryer when ur saving is almost already high and dry .

so can a singaporean open an account with the malaysia bank with capitial or any minimum sum guaranteed?:confused:
if so i wonder why singaporean are not putting their money in the malaysia banks

Malaysia is giving 2.45% for savings account & 3+% for fixed depsites

http://malaysia.deposits.org/providers/maybank.html

Spore rates has always been lower than elsewhere.
That was one of the reasons I moved my funds elsewhere.

so can a singaporean open an account with the malaysia bank with capitial or any minimum sum guaranteed?:confused:
if so i wonder why singaporean are not putting their money in the malaysia banks

singapore pap has all their tentacles in our pockets. it's called CPF.

Sinkies are really sinking. First, you do not even called it Savings anymore because it is losing its purchasing value daily due to a government tax called inflation.
Considered that Sinkies everything also want cheap and good, I am surprised that no one complain about the savings rates.
The bestest angmoh has a proverb to describe this ... Penny Wise and Pound Foolish.

What is the interest rate for home loans? Get the figures n work backwards.

Got count capital lost?

Because all the savings are tied up in CPF :D

There is this thing called WAKE UP, but too many sleepwalkers in Sinkapore.

Under Mahathir it might have been difficult for Sporeans to open an account. It is now quite easy. In Thailand it is also possible to open a bank account. However over there it depends on the branch. Some branches will insist on seeing a work permit while others branches not so fussy.

How do you know that Sporeans aren't already outting $$ into Malaysian banks:confused:
This is something you will not read about in the local news.

The only danger is the Spore dollar appreciating against the ringgit. Since I use the ringgit to re-invest & for my visits to Malaysia, this is not a problem for me.

Current/Savings account: can consider CIMB Starsavers with some interest 0.5-0.8% + cheque book
Fixed deposits: Hong Leong, Maybank, UOB, giving 1.2%pa at least.

The only danger is the Spore dollar appreciating against the ringgit. Since I use the ringgit to re-invest & for my visits to Malaysia, this is not a problem for me.

Are interests income from deposits n bonds taxable in malaysia?
I know they are taxable in indonesia.

Are interests income from deposits n bonds taxable in malaysia?
I know they are taxable in indonesia.

Only have investment in equities.
Whether the US, Malaysia, or Spore there is a 33% tax on dividens. Sorry I don't invest in bonds so don't know about the liabilities.

Also don't know if they charge taxes on money earned from interest rates. I keep very little cash.
Only have a few thousand in my Malaysian account so I've never made enough to know if they have taxes on interest earned?

Only have investment in equities.
Whether the US, Malaysia, or Spore there is a 33% tax on dividens. Sorry I don't invest in bonds so don't know about the liabilities.

Also don't know if they charge taxes on money earned from interest rates. I keep very little cash.
Only have a few thousand in my Malaysian account so I've never made enough to know if they have taxes on interest earned?

Thank you, I will also let you know if i ever find out.

is STANDARD CHARTERED BANK still as "big, strong and friendly" and not big strong and hairy?

a better choice to park my $$$$? heard got free checking and interest on the current account too.

because malaysian ringgit is worthless toilet paper?australian bank accounts give 2.5% to 3% too.....better open a aussie account instead,AUD is much stronger.